728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw

20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw

The Ryobi 20 in. Gas 46cc Chainsaw is designed for aggressive cutting and ultimate control, and features a large 20 in. bar and chain with an automatic oiler for smooth, uninterrupted operation. The 46cc 2-Cycle engine provides reliable performance time after time, and the anti-vibe handle reduces fatigue to help you get the job done fast. The side-access chain tensioning and replacement make adjustments quick and easy.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(123 reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
72%of customersrecommend this product84 of 116reviews
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(59)
4
(23)
3
(8)
2
(7)
1
(26)
Features 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
72%of customersrecommend this product84 of 116reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
Review 1 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from ChicagoLand area

Great for cutting up Storm Damaged trees

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
had to pick this up to cut up some trees that had been blown onto a radio tower equipment shed. Cut threw the maple tree like butter, very easy to handle, the chain break is a nice safety feature. I recommend picking up the gas/oil premix blend to get you going right out of the box. the long bar is very nice for going threw thicker trunks, and I MUST say that the end of the bar has a chain guard on it, I LOVE IT, its great for keeping your chain sharp when cutting up logs on hard surfaces like concrete.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+58points
58out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Maine
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

An excellent saw, with one caveat

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Ryobi 20-inch chainsaw is a real workhorse. It's easy to operate, and the anti-vibration feature is noticeably effective. It creates a LOT of sawdust in a short time.
I've rated Features, Quality, Ease of use, and Value as excellent. I've given it only four stars as overall rating for one minor reason. I discovered that it's necessary to check chain tension about every 30 - 60 minutes. Other models of saws I've used would operate just fine with the chain a little bit slack. With this saw, the chain may come off the bar. I'll have to admit, when that happened I was working the saw pretty hard in a large maple log.
I would recommend it to anyone wanting a 20-inch saw that won't dissapoint you. Just remember to check and adjust chain tension often. It's a quick, simple task.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+37points
37out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome saw for the price, love it!

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked great, never had a problem starting, whether the saw was hot or cold. Just followed the instructions and it starts right up.
Comes with the standard multi tool for chain adjustments and maintenance. Also has a nice case that has slots to store files and othe tools. With the saw in the case, there is still room for a 1qt bottle of bar oil, and a little bottle of the pre-mix.
I left the saw in the case sitting upright. It dripped a small amount of bar oil into the case. It was coming from where the bar connects to the saw body. It didn't leak a lot and I think its stopped but nothing new should leak.
Vibration resistant hand made a huge difference after hours of cutting.
Overall, I'm totally satisfied with the saw. I cut down and cut up several trees with no problems.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets the job done

PostedOctober 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked right out of the box. Took down and chopped up a 24" diameter oak tree. This saw cuts great when chain is new, but the oak dulls chain quickly. Get a 3/16 sharpening file when you get the saw. A chain upgrade might hold the edge better. Follow the starting instructions to the letter and it will start up on a few pulls. Warm starting is hard if you don't follow the instructions. I increased the idle just a tiny bit, but that might just be my saw. Light weight and very little vibration. Gas and bar oil tanks could be bigger for longer work time. All in all a great value that does what it is suppose to do.
Pros: Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Covington, KY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This chainsaw is perfect for the price.

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this chainsaw to cut firewood for my lake house property when I am there. I opened the case, added some gas/oil mix, also added chain lube and this chainsaw started on the first pull. It cut the 16" diameter tree like a hot knife on butter. I have always been a huge fan of Ryobi products and this is another great product that they have produced.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store
Cons: the nose guard gets in the way
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from northern california

20" chainsaw - Medium duty

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Chainsaw came nicely packaged and was shipped very quickly. Searched and reviewed many chainsaws prior to purchase. Not disappointed. Good quality, good easy to read directions and easy to start. As good or slightly better than expected. I was somewhat surprised/disappointed to see this is Made in China.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Washington

Good for around the home

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I bought this saw over 2 years ago, it has ran trouble free for nearly 2 years until the carb went out. The unfortunate thing about these saws are that there are no rebuild kits for the carb. But, you can buy a new one for about $20. These saws are very easy to work on, I have torn mine down many times for maintenance.
I would probably buy this saw again, the only concern is the undercarriage wearing down. As I have noticed that the plastic has been worn down from the saw idling on the ground. I gave this a rating of 3 stars, as I believe this is a 3 star saw and performs like one. It is not a five star and anyone that rates it as such, has not used an actual 5 star saw. This is a good saw for the AVERAGE homeowner.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Neptune, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked right out of the box

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
After reading other reviews on various chainsaws I opted for this model. I used the pre-mixed fuel and used the cold startup procedure. It started exactly as outlined for a cold start. I had some big limbs to to cut up, probably 10 - 12 inches in diameter and it went through them effortlessly. In all I had run it for about 1 hour with no problems. Nice case included in the price.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Sahuarita, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked as it should

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Hello, yesterday after lots of reading of reviews in affordable Chainsaws, i narrowed it down to price, power and cutting streangth. Ater speaking with chainsaw owners and how the Sthil and Husq are the ultimate saws, Well lets just say, too costly. Well I bought this saw and fired it up out of the box, I oiled the bar checked the tension, filled the oil tank and gased her up. The Ryobi cut several trunks of Mesquite, Pecan and Oak. She did pretty good, i used the saw on Juniper and the saw cut with ease. I used up about a tank and a half and cut almost a cord of the hard wood without hisitation. I had no issue in binding and the vibration was almost none. If your thinking about buying, this 20" 46cc you should consider it, i think you would be satisfied. Ray in Sahuarita Az.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Salt Lake City Utah
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Amazing!

PostedApril 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As a professional landscaper for over 30 years I have to say it's the best chainsaw I've ever owned. It beats all my other pro saws hands down. My crew is very pleased with it's performance , and it's constantly abused. I plan on buying more of that type of saw. Ryobi has really stepped up with this one! Thanks-Mirage Landscape Design
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Great Engine, Long-Lasting, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Ocala, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Ryobi 20 in. chainsaw works great!

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
RYOBI 20 IN" 46 CC GAS CHAINSAW
Last year I got a good deal on a one acre wooded lot very close to were I live. A local realtor told me that if I cleared the lot it would make it more valuable and more sellable, that meant cutting down 90% of the trees which are as small as 2 inches in diameter and as large as 16 inches in diameter. My old gas chainsaw could not handle that much work, so I went on the Home Depot website and found the Ryobi 20 inch gas chainsaw for sale at a good price. After checking a lot of reviews on the saw I was convinced that it would work for me. So far I have cleared away about 50% of the lot with the Ryobi gas chainsaw with out any problems. I like the fact that this chainsaw has a lot of power and the saw automatically lubricates the chain as long as you keep the oil chamber full. Another good feature about this saw is that it is very easy to adjust the chain tension. So if any one out there is looking for a good gas chainsaw, the Ryobi 20 inch sold by Home Depot will do the job. John
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Follow Up

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This a quick follow up on my first review. I mentioned it took a minute of pulling out of the box first start. Since then perfect. Two pulls cold start, 1st pull warm start. Chain still sharp after two good size trees, tightens well. Nice power. My experience..can't go wrong for the money.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Choctaw, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to start after adjusting the idle. Worth the effort.

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My old Poulan Wild Thing served me well for 9 1/2 years, but it finally bit the dust. I wanted something more powerful, so I bought the Ryobi last week. I found it hard to start and hard to keep running until I was able to get the idle adjusted right. Now it starts within a couple of pulls and it cuts incredibly well. The chain doesn't need constant adjustment like my Poulan, it has much better power, and the oiler doesn't leak oil constantly into the case like my Poulan. I would have hoped that the factory would have adjusted the idle better, but it was worth the effort to do it myself in order to get the results I get from this saw.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Frederick, MD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money!

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this chainsaw in December 2011 and started using it in March 2012. It started leaking oil right away, but I continued to oil it when it was low. I only used it for light use, small branches. I never used it for large trees or stumps. When I tried to start it last week, March 2015 it would not start. I put it in a shop for repair and they told me that it has no compression and it not worth fixing. This saw was used less than 10 times over a two year period! Of course the warranty is over. Do not waste your money on this saw!
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Gainesville, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get an electric

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Saw is hard to start and doesn't run decent, likes to stop a lot and is very hard to start again. I owned this saw for just over a year and already had to take it in for repairs. I was told that the engine setting was too lean thus burning the cylinder and making the saw unusable. The cost to repair was too much so need to replace, will NEVER buy or reccomend another Ryobi product.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't buy

PostedMarch 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews, and was concerned with all the complaints about hard starting. They were not kidding. Bought it new, and took about 15 minutes and finally a shot of starting fluid to get started. I noticed that the starter would not always catch when pulling the rope. Once running has great power, but it is a note worthy feat to get started. I was thinking that the hard starting was because it was dry and need to get primed. So after I cut up some trees and limbs which took about 15 mins, and then cut it off, I figured the second start would be no big deal. Boy was I wrong. It took another 15 mins to get running again even in 60 degree weather. I am returning it and going back to Sthil.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Queensbury, NY

Excellent for the price

PostedSeptember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had to run out to the store during Irene to pickup a chainsaw for the cleanup of several downed trees in my yard.
I have used several higher end brands in the past and would not say this is equal to a professional saw, but for the price it is a very good machine. Started right out of the package with no problems. Have cut up over 10 large trees (one up to 30" diameter) without even a hiccup. It is now on rotation within my neighborhood with everyone else using it.
Very pleased with the price and performance. Hope the longevity is good, but with a three year warranty I am not going to worry for awhile.
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from fort worth texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

high promise, low results

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Replaced old saw with this one based on good reviews. Got home, added new gasoline/oil mixture and bar oil. Took several pulls to start but it kept stopping---would not idle. Called 800 number provided and was told to take it to a service center for carb adjustment. I drove 10 miles to service center--- carb adjusted and ran fine in the shop. Got home and it ran well for 20 minutes while I cut most of a tree down ( 14 inch trunk max). It stopped running in mid cut. Will not start again. Called 800 #, was told to take back to the service shop for "repairs", No, I am returning to the store for my money back---sadly my old Poulan I got from a pawn shop ran better for past 7 years.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

get when you pay for

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the saw starts every time only problem I have is it is a gutless wonder. you get your chain to sharp and it bogs down like a geo tracker going up the rockies. in my mind its kinda worthless unless you only plan on cutting 6" diameter timber
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: low power
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. 46cc Gas Chainsaw
from Rhode Island, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

More than I expected

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My old 14" saw recently died and I needed to clean up after the hurricane. I spent a lot of time researching saws online and finally decided to go with this one.
My Logic:
- I did not intend to use the saw everyday or even every weekend
- I have a large yard with hundreds of trees, so I need something that can handle large pieces.
- I wanted to spend less than $250, but was willing to go to $450 for something that worked.
My experience:
I am 3 tanks of gas into this saw and have cut more wood in less time than I did in 10 years with the old/little saw. Took apart a fallen pine that was about 30" in diameter, cut up 2 oaks, and a finally beech tree that I had left on the ground 3 years ago because it was too much for the old saw.
I am very happy so far with this purchase. It has all the power I need for the type and frequency of work that I need to do. The bigger blade and engine help to make short work of logs that would take forever to cut with a smaller saw. I'd recommend buying one size larger saw than you think you will need.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>