728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart

4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart

The Ames 4 cu. ft. Plastic Lawn Cart is an ideal tool for outdoor work around your lawn or patio. The bin is made from plastic for lasting durability and can be easily transported with the 2-wheel design. The green bin can hold up to 250 lb. of material so you can quickly transport leaves, branches and more around your yard.
Overall rating:
4.672 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(485 reviews) 485
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product441 of 460reviews
Rating Breakdown 485 reviews
4.7 out of 5
5
(364)
4
(94)
3
(18)
2
(7)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product441 of 460reviews
Customer reviews for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
Review 1 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Maine, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I bought two. One for indoors and one for outdoors.

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought one for hauling dirt and planting flowers. Once I got it home, I realized it was the exact size of what I had been dreaming about for a custom cat litter box to fit inside a bedroom closet. I put it in the closet, and braced it with a cat carrier on one side and the cat litter on the other side. Perfect fit!! It even had a place for the cat scoop. My cats use it and there is no more kitty litter being shot all over the floor from them pawing at the litter. I went back to the Home Depot and bought a 2nd cart to use outside. It makes a lot of noise as I push it across the lawn and driveway, and it would be nice if the cart handle has higher, but it does a great job. I am happy with both carts.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from North Charleston, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

1-2-3 EASY to use! Even a kid could use it

PostedApril 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cart is the most valuable piece of lawn equipment I own. Easy for children to use also. I purchased a dark green one in Jacksonville, Fl 12 or 13 yrs ago, today that one is retiring. In the summer I fill it with water and wash my pups in it.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, stong and durable friend
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Richboro, PA, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this cart!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
So glad I picked this up - It is much easier to handle than a traditional wheel barrow - more stable. It has 4 wheels. It is a workhorse for the garden - not suitable as a cement mixer/hauler or other more taxing wheelbarrow-type tasks -but it is great for hauling mulch, top soil and plants. It says it can hold 250lbs and I believe it. I also really like the tray to hold tools and a cool drink! Overall a great value!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best yard cart ever!

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Highly recommended and price is best at Home Depot! Sturdy, light-weight, balanced for dumping, narrow width great to maneuver and store. Tires can't deflate! Easy to flip preventing rain fill. Rimmed shelf useful for tools or 4" pots. Might tip when large load dragged over heavily tree-rooted yard, but otherwise stable, even on inclines. Pull rather than push when heavily loaded.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, good design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Brawley, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Janet's garden cart.

PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good cart for the woman gardener. Light weight, rolls easily and holds a lot garden debree. My wife loves it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Petaluma Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice for the garden

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Comes fully assembled is easy to use. It is lightweight and maneuverable great for the garden durable plastic and has a tool and cup holder. I order this online and picked it up at the local Home Depot they were great there they took it out of the box and I was able to use it as my shopping cart.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from valdosta, Ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for what I wanted - to pick up limbs and debris from yard and haul dirt.

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent for what I wanted - to pick up limbs and debris from yard and haul dirt.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from San Antonio
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unconventional and Wonderful

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a very unconventional use for this product. I was actually the cargo! I needed a way to be transported from one location while footless (mermaid performer). Very sturdy and stable, kind of low to the ground to be pushing for long periods of time. I was a little concerned about the plastic wheels at first, but they seem to be holding up well. This would be wonderful for garden use as well. Definitely worth what I paid for it, and easy to transport.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: back-ache galore
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good yard cart

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Nice little cart.
I use it to carry around yard waste as i'm gardening or cleaning up around the property. It's all plastic so I wouldn't use it for any heavy hauling. But this makes it very light weight so my wife can pull it around easily even when full. The four wheels help a lot too (they are also plastic). I can see where the front lip can, and probably will, break as other reviewers have mentioned but I don't use it as a wheel barrel. The whole thing is hard, non-bendable plastic. If you don't beat it up like a plastic trash can then it should hold up fine.
My kids use it to push each other around in. They've filled it with water to use as a make-shift water table (no drain holes). The cubby on the side has drain holes so their toys dry out nicely. As they get older I'm sure they will break this, like everything else I have.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Port St. Lucie, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price

PostedMay 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just what i needed to use in the garden to help lighten my load not sure how I lived without it.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Denver, Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great little workhorse

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The cart's light weight is a big plus for me, and its flat bottom inside is prefect for mixing soil for pots and filling raised beds.
When I first bought this cart I was concerned that it wouldn't last long, in particular the plastic wheels. However, it has done two hard-working summers now and apart from a couple of cracks at the top front caused by over-loading & rough-handling by energetic teenage helpers, it's going strong. I'm now waiting hopefully for the carts to return on sale at the store so I can buy a replacement (in advance) as I don't want to be without one.
Don't make the mistake of buying the black cart without the rear wheels - it's not as good as this light green one.
Oh - and don't rest the cart pointing downhill on a slope as those 4 wheels allow it to run down the slope.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong, Good Shape, light weight easy to lift/move (empty), fits in the back of my car, perfect for a short person
Cons: still worried about the wheels
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing value, price and availability. I use it daily!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had been looking for the last 3 seasons, found other carts too pricey and of poor construction.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Ocala, FL, USA

Buy this cart!!

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have used this same lawn cart for 8 years. We have used it way over it's recommended capacity and it never let us down. We have damaged and repaired the front edge over and over by hauling stuff that it wasn't made for (mostly blocks and cement) until finally last week we just had to give up and buy new. We are going to buy 2 and put 1 in the attic as I just can't live without it at my disposal. It's rugged, easy to use, has no maintenance issues, cleans up beautifully and it's well worth owning.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape, rolls on 4 wheels no lifting
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Sarasota, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't know how I lived without it!

PostedMarch 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cart is perfect for hauling just about anything you need for working in the yard. It is great for transporting mulch and plants. The cart is so much better than a wheelbarrow and has already paid for itself! Do yourself and your back a favor and choose this cart.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Ashland, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64

Love this cart

PostedMarch 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love this cart. It works for me perfect, I am a small gal, and this is perfect for working in my flower and garden beds. Easy to manuever and to fit between rows while weeding. It is light weight for easy emptying. I would buy it all over again.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Four wheels make loads lighter

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The four wheels make this product stable & capable of carrying a heavy load. I am able to load 2/3 the weight of wood I could put in a large wheelbarrow without loss of air pressure in the winter. The only drawback - how long will the plastic body & wheels last.
Pros: Multi Use, Strong, Good Shape
Cons: plastic
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Hermiston Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT Lawn Cart !

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
GREAT Lawn Cart ! Easy to use and very durable. I RECCOMMEND
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from tampa, fla
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

How did I live without this?

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
How did I live without this? A better question is how did I get it home!? This arrived at my local Home Depot store fully put together in this enormous box that no way I could fit in my car. No wonder the shipping cost was twice what this product cost! Even after we took it out of the box, me and two Home Depot employees had a dandy time trying to fit it in my trunk, which we ended up tying down. Well it got a little crack in the front from all the squishing but I can live with it because this cart is soooo helpful. I do a lot of yard work and gardening. But I always ended up lugging around bags of mulch or bags of heavy cow manure compost. No more. This paid for itself (and the pitch fork, too) when I was able to get a half load of free mulch and mulch my entire yard. I did it over three days, but it went fast (love the pitchfork, too). I love the holder in the front where I carried my pruners and gloves. I don't understand why this is so much less expensive than the wheel barrows I looked at, given I think this is much easier to push around than a wheel barrow. Of course, I'm 5'2 so it wasn't a hardship on my back but I think tall people would find this cart fatiguing quickly. I think it will last, being plastic, with plastic wheels. But admittedly, I've had it only for three days. Oh my cat loves to hide under the wheels.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
Cons: too big too ship free
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Yard Cart

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cart is nice and sturdy and easy to wheel around. I intend to use it for hauling dirt and mulch around for my garden. Definitely better than a wheel barrow!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 4 cu. ft. Poly Lawn Cart
from Georgia, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little garden cart!

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This cart is great for transporting and mixing potting soil for garden beds and containers. It is easy to push and easy to tilt to dump soil out. The upper tray is convenient to hold items. The handle could have been a little higher to make it more comfortable for pushing. (Or, maybe I should be a little shorter!) Overall, a good purchase.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 25 >>