728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Watering & Irrigation or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose

5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose

The Gilmour 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Hose has a flat hose shape that's designed to be flexible and easy to handle to help make watering tasks easy. It is Flexible and easy-to-handle design.
Overall rating:
2.838 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
53%of customersrecommend this product19 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(16)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
53%of customersrecommend this product19 of 36reviews
Customer reviews for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
Review 1 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad Purchase, only expect one season from them

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought these for my garden last season with the expectation that spending a little bit more money upfront would save me headaches in the future. This is not the case with this product. Let me explain my usage. I used them to water a vegetable garden from approximately June through September. A few days following vegetable harvest ( I wanted them to dry out) I collected the hoses from the garden, coiled them nicely and stored them in a water tight tote in the shade for the winter. This spring when I placed them in the garden they were leaky and not good enough to ensure a good water for my garden. Complete waste of money, hoses should not be single season use. Go with the cheaper rubber soaker hoses.
Cons: Not Durable
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Los Angeles
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great when used correctly

PostedApril 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This isn't your standard soaker and, to get optimal results, must be used in the right way.
First of all, for the 1 star reviews, I'm almost positive you're hooking it up to your faucet and cranking the water at full blast. No good, your hose will detonate. This is a soaker, so you'll either need to turn the faucet way down or, as I do, run these off splitters with very little water pressure.
Also, unlike traditional round hoses, these are flat and very flexible. You can bend them at almost any degree and water will still get to the end of the hose.
Additionally, water only emanates from the lowest spot on the hose. So if you're running them between containers, you can raise the hose up between the containers with poles so only the lowest spots (in the pots) will get wet. If the hose is flat, water will come out over the whole length at regular intervals.
Final pro tip: use these after a length of regular hose (wrapping the ends in that white plumber's tape) and you'll have a very cheap, very successful garden drip system with minimal water loss.
Pros: Durable, Functionality
+42points
43out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from San Antonio, TX

Great Product

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've been using these for a couple of years now, with excellent results. You do have to use pressure reducers with them, which can be had at HD for about $6.00. Trying to control the pressure with the faucet handle won't get the job done. Replace the plastic washers with rubber ones, and leakage will be negligible. I'm currently using 6 of them, connected to poly lines attached to sprinkler valves. My shrubs and perennials love them.
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Tyler, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible Priduct

PostedJune 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The reason I bought this product in the first place was I was so tired of the standard soaker that kinks and then breaks, doesn't hold up to Texas-Hot summers and is generally difficult to lay. I discovered the flat hose also kinks..and twists..is not much easier to lay and DOES NOT put out water! To avoid blowing out the seams, I started out slowly and after seeing no water flow to speak of, gradually increased but it is still very unsatisfactory. The water comes out in spots, not at all evenly and generally not anywhere near the plant roots...I suspect it is only coming out in the low spots. It takes FOREVER to get any amount of water to the plants. I am so unhappy with this product, I bought two, originally for around my rose bushes, this is the second year and fortunately, so far, we have had enough rain that I haven't had to depend on them. When we dry out, as we will, I will be going to the discount club store where I can buy two of the regular soakers for only a couple dollars more than this.
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't serve purpose
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose

OK, but could be better

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Like others, mine sprung leaks along the seam. I understand now that the seam is not strong enough to withstand full water pressure. But, if you turn the water on just enough to tighten the fabric a little, it works fine. I don't know if there is a warning about this on the package, but if there isn't, there should be.
Mine leaked in the first few feet from the faucet connection. I had nothing to lose, so I removed the two screws on the coupling and took it apart. Inside the fabric there is a thin walled plastic tube with tiny holes. The tubing and outer fabric are secured to the coupling by compression from the screws. There is also a short black piece of plastic tube between the inner tubing and the fabric.
The soaker was about six feet longer than I needed, so I just cut off the leaky portion with scissors and re-attached the coupling. Now it works like new.
I believe this would be a better product if the seam was heat sealed.
Pros: Functionality
Cons: Not Durable
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Kansas City, MO
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Foundation Watering

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this last year to water my foundation when we had a drought, and it worked great. To make it easy on myself, I bought 2 hoses, and I just laid them out about a foot out from the foundation all around the house, and left it there all summer, and turned it on for a couple of hours every day.
People were complaining that theirs blew out, but I just turned the water up enough to where I could see water start seeping out of it, and I never had any problems. You also have to make sure the hose is flat and not twisted, or it will stop the water flow.
I ran over part of mine with the lawnmower when I got too close to it, luckily it was at the end of the hose, and I just cut it off, and was able to repair it because the connector was screwed on.
They would also be good to snake around plants in your garden, and leave them out all summer and connect a hose to it to water your garden easily.
They tangle easily, and they're really long, I store mine on an electrical cord reel to make it easier to deal with and store over the winter.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Farmington, CT, USA

'love em

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
these flat soakers are light years ahead of the round ones, which, in my experience, blow out or crack and don't last. I love the flexibility, and being able to connect more than one, or shorten as other reviewers mentioned. They are also easy to cover with mulch. The stitching did fail on one - um, so I sewed it! I have several of these around my home and they are perfect for my veggies and flowers. Wish HD carried the 50' length!
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Barrington, IL

Best soaker hose on the market

PostedJune 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is by far the best soaker hose I have ever purchased. What's unique about this hose is that it's made of a fabric-like material which allows water to easily seep out without requiring a lot of water pressure. Because of this material, it is very easy to handle and store, unlike bulky rubber soaker hoses that kink and break. I have this hose connected to my 55 gallon rain barrel, and it works great. I will be buying more of these!
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Latitude: 33.20 N, Longitude: 96.64

A big drip. In a good way.

PostedJuly 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After years of hot Texas summers and loads of frustration, I finally found a soaker that can deliver a steady and even drip the length of the hose... and unlike other soakers, I've now strung together three (to 75') with no loss of... drip (?)
Others were frustrating because they kinked easily, tore quickly, and Gawd Forfend you try get the pressure to go further than 25' or over a 2" garden border. The first two worked so well I bought the last four off the shelf earlier today. I have a total of 150' of hose working great from a single spout with a splitter attached.
By the way, I've not had any leaks with the connector on this product out of the box, but anyone facing spout or hose leaks, try plumbers tape. Its kinda the reason they make it and works well.
So grab your ol' Quaker Factory t-shirt and get to work laying this around your foundation. This is an easy to use, easy to store soaker.
 
Products related to my review
Zinc Y
 
 
 
 
 
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Watauga, TX

Bset soaker hose I've ever had.

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed soaker hose to water the foundation. Bought two of these hoses when my HD was out of the regluar, black rubber hoses. I was sceptical, but these are the best hoses I've ever had. Hooked two hoses together - water flows evenly from end to end. And when not in use they roll up into a 4" x 6" bundle. Much easier to handle than the black hose. Only for use above ground.
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Pittsburgh

Not a soaker hose, barely gets water out.

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used these one season and the fabric that surrounds the hose seems to get clogged up. I returned one hose because I still had the receipt for it but got stuck with two sections that are basically useless. try the rubberized 50' hose first.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Sandy Springs, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Leaks at the seams

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It has a sewed seam that leaks at just about every stitch. You could use it for drip irrigation. Loses about half of the water pressure due to all of the leaks. Still works as long as you don't mind getting water everywhere that the hose passes.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Cincinnati, OH

Lasted less than 1 season

PostedSeptember 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These soaker hoses did not last through the summer. They rotted in the sun and ruptured after a few months of regular use. We have normal water pressure, but before they failed they seemed to distribute water unevenly - pooling in some areas and dry in others.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose

lated on month

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
DO NOT BUY. The stitching came apart after one month and violently sprayed my plants.
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose

Great product!

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had excellent luck with these soakers. I DO NOT hook them up directly to the faucet, I run a little hose from the faucet to the soaker. I can hook up two soakers together to get one 50 footer. I've left them laying out in the Texas sun with no issues whatsoever. MY MOTHER SAW THEM AND LIKED THEM SO MUCH SHE STOLE MINE, so I had to buy four more!
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: too short! want a 50 footer.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from McKinney, Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good produce

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is a great produce. Light easy to install and performs as advertised. I would recommend it to my friends.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
Cons: don't have any
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Tracy, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't last

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought one and hooked to my watering system. The hose split within a week, causing a back yard flood. Returned the first one and installed a replacement. The second hose lasted about a month.
This is not a high pressure water area and the hoses were in shade most of every day. They still failed. Home Depot needs to stock a sturdier, longer-lasting soaker hose.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose

Junk, Junk, Junk

PostedMay 10, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I had this hose for a week before it came apart. It had little leaks from the beginning and just got worse.
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Orem, Utah
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

UtahGarden

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've bought five of these hoses and three started to leak out the seems within a year, so the watering was very uneven. They also kink easily.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 5/8 in. x 25 ft. Flat Soaker Water Hose
from Southlake, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The perfect solution

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have several of these, bought some 2 summers ago and others last summer. Central Texas gets mighty hot and dry in the summer, causing many foundations to dry and soil to pull away from the foundation. In some cases I had close to an inch gap between soil & concrete. This is despite the fact there are irrigation heads in the same area.
This soaker was the perfect solution. I ran these along the edge of the house going around corners with ease. Terminal length is also easily adjustable by simply folding the soaker back & forth on itself over a several inch area and then holding in place with a tywrap or brick.
I had an unused irrigation head (capped off) that I installed a standard garden bib on, then attached the soaker to it. Every time the irrigation ran so did the soaker and the gap between soil and foundation closed.
I tried standard rubber soakers previously, but none worked as well as this.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>