728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix

20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix

The Rebels Tall Fescue grass seed is a tough, high quality turf grass that is designed to produce a beautiful lawn that can withstand heavy traffic, insects, and drought. The Rebels Extended Roots seed varieties maximize a lawn's ability to thrive, even under the toughest summer conditions. The Rebels Tall Fescue grass seed grows up to 40% more roots than ordinary grass at deeper depths for excellent drought resistance and nutrient uptake, helping your lawn thrive.
Overall rating:
3.76 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product16 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product16 of 23reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
Review 1 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from NJ
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best grass seed on the market

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this product on at least 3 lawns and it has always looked great.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Cherryville, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you want thick dark grass, this is the one

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rebel produced the best grass of my experiment. I place three different grass seeds into three seperate jiffy trays, then put on their clear covers. Following this I placed them under grow lights and measured the temp. (78 degrees F). Grass seed must have good soil contact and must remain moist and warm. This experiment place the grass seed in the ideal situation. The Rebel won over the Pennington Smart Seed, but only by a fraction. The Scotts heat tolerant Blue mix looked like the hair on an old man's head. So if you place your REBEL grass seed in the correct enviroment, you will be happy. If your gonna throw your grass seed on bare concrete and then fuss about poor results, then I guess your missing the point that grass is a plant and you must care for it, thusly. Of course, little grass seedlings are delicate. If you let them dry out, they will die and not come back.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix

Seeds are growing. Let's see if they make it through the cold this winter and heat next summer...

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I spread these seeds a bit late for the Washington, DC region (first few days of Nov). I covered up the particularly bare portions of my yard with clear tarps, which kept moisture and heat in (to protect from the already cold weather somewhat). Just when I was about to give up hope, the grass started growing in earnest under the tarps, and a few weeks later it also came out in the rest of the yard. Now let's see if the new grass makes it through the winter, since it had very little time to mature properly. As of now, am impressed that the grass is growing despite less than ideal planting conditions.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Lakemont Ga.
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Have used this product many times and it works great for me.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is great for my property which has a lot of trees. Does great with lot of sun IE: does not dry out without water for afew days.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Augusta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very inconsistent results

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used this all over my front and back lawns to re-seed and to patch. On some occasions it grew fast and well and endured. After buying some $250 in seed, 2 entire bags of the product did sprout at all. Some sprouted and produced only thin, hairy grass which turned green, grew tall and thick, then died all at once between 7-10 days. Some of the product did produce thick grass that endured, but if I had to take a guess, that would be between 35-40% of the product.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product That Grows Well

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this product over the past 12 years to fill in spots or plant new grass. I've been satisfied with the results and will continue to purchase.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Williamstown, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product if used properly

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For years I've tried Scotts and other brands. Last spring I used this product and had the best results I've ever had. Grows very thick and green. I just picked up a bag this week to overseed the front lawn for this season. Remember, to get good results you really need seed early in the season and don't forget to water, weed, fertilize, and mow. I learned this from years of trial and error.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems like good stuff

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have planted three different areas, mostly shady spots. Germinated in 10-14 days and looks pretty hearty so far. Northern sandy climate is tough to grow lawn, but this looks the best I've tried so far.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This grass seed has great staying power

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rebels Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix is well worth the money. I live in Phoenix, planted it into my front lawn and it filled in every bare ground spot (there were 6 spots) and enhanced the existing grass. I couldn't be more pleased with this product. It is showing itself to weather the desert heat with one to two days per week watering with no sign of distress.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality, great in hot weather
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Rocy Point, N.Y.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Stuff

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grass grows anywhere. We live in the north shore. It grows in sand (also flower beds and driveway thanks to my son.) This is the third year we've used this product after many years of buying more expensive brands. It works, takes a beating and doesn't seem to be effected by the sand or the salt.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Midlothian, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Spreads easily but no grass grew

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't think a single blade of grass was produced by this 20 lbs. bag of seed.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Spartanburg, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Green, Thick Grass

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Planted Rebel grass last fall. Now I have the greenest and thickest grass in the neighborhood. I had always wanted to plant Rebel grass and finally did. Now I get more compliments on my lawn than I ever have.
Pros: Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from North Providence, RI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great thick green lawn

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I planted 100lbs of this seed last Sept. It took about 3 weeks to germinate but the grass was nice and thick. I watered once a day all summer and it held up to the heat of august just fine.
I am going to reseed my back yard now.
only issue I have is I cannot get the seed local anymore.
I will have to order online.
Cons: local box store no longer carries the tall fescue
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Sevierville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

do it yourselfer

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I prefer the rebel grass seed. It is very clean seed.
Rebel grass seed has less weed seed than the other seed that I read on the contents.
This seed comes up quickly.
20 lb of Rebel grass seed covers a lot of area.
I highly recommend this seed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix

Very Bad Experience with Rebel TF Grass Seed

PostedSeptember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
A year ago I took on a major lawn renovation project where I tilled the soil, adding new top soil, soil amendments, lime, and fertilizer. Since we seem to be prone to hot, dry summers lately in my area, I selected Rebels Fescue seed made by Pennington which is advertised to be drought resistant and to develop 40% more root growth. A year later all my work was wasted and my Pennington, Rebels grass is all dead. I phoned Pennington to explain my experience and see if they would stand behind their product. Pennington stated that they will only honor claims if within 60 days of purchase with all packaging and proof of purchase. I wanted to share my poor experience with Pennington seed and warn others of the company, and their policies, behind the seed.
I spent this past weekend doing a re-reno on my lawn... more hard work... this time with Scotts seed. Only time will tell if I shall see a better result this time.
Be careful with Pennington seed products... not sure they care much about you, the consumer.
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Virginia

Dead grass in one year

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I planted this seed in September last year after tilling soil adding Lime and Fertilizer. The seed did fine during the fall and winter, but when the summer came this year the grass quickly went brown and died even with plenty of watering. I will not be using this seed again as I have to reseed my whole yard again.
Cons: not resilient
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix

Very Bad Grass Seed

PostedSeptember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst grass seed I have every come across. I redo my yard with this grass seed only to find it grew nice and lush to die, completely died, all of the grass just dried up and died. We watered every day after planting and when we did not water, it was raining so we did not see it fit to water. The grasses were so nice and think and green we were so proud of our effort but to have all our hope crashed within a couple of weeks of it looking so nice. I will never buy this grass seed again. I will see if they will honor my purchase and give me back my money as this is a total waste of good money, stay away from this grass seed.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable
-2points
5out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix

Beautiful Grass but poor germination rates

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 6 bags totalling 120 lbs worth of seed which according to the directions should cover 15,000 sq ft of new lawn. However the germination rate is so poor that after 3 bags, it has only covered an area equivalent to 1,600 sq ft.
The grass that does grow is very lush and green so well see how it does this summer. Hopefully it'll survive as the other reviewers have had trouble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from New England
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good grass seed but hard to find

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Have used this before with great success. I wish it were available off the shelf in my area.
Pros: Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Tennessee, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good grass seed

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I top seeded and bare spot seeded with this product. It has rained once since I seeded and I already have between 75-80% germination. That was better than I expected. It is going to look real good in about a month.
Pros: germinating well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>