728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Care or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix

20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix

The Rebels Tall Fescue grass seed is a tough, high quality turf grass that is designed to produce a beautiful lawn that can withstand heavy traffic, insects, and drought. The Rebels Extended Roots seed varieties maximize a lawn's ability to thrive, even under the toughest summer conditions. The Rebels Tall Fescue grass seed grows up to 40% more roots than ordinary grass at deeper depths for excellent drought resistance and nutrient uptake, helping your lawn thrive.
Overall rating:
3.906 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product23 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product23 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
Review 1 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from NJ
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best grass seed on the market

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used this product on at least 3 lawns and it has always looked great.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Cherryville, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If you want thick dark grass, this is the one

PostedApril 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rebel produced the best grass of my experiment. I place three different grass seeds into three seperate jiffy trays, then put on their clear covers. Following this I placed them under grow lights and measured the temp. (78 degrees F). Grass seed must have good soil contact and must remain moist and warm. This experiment place the grass seed in the ideal situation. The Rebel won over the Pennington Smart Seed, but only by a fraction. The Scotts heat tolerant Blue mix looked like the hair on an old man's head. So if you place your REBEL grass seed in the correct enviroment, you will be happy. If your gonna throw your grass seed on bare concrete and then fuss about poor results, then I guess your missing the point that grass is a plant and you must care for it, thusly. Of course, little grass seedlings are delicate. If you let them dry out, they will die and not come back.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Leesburg, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rebel 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Seed was applied in the fall over existing lawn with a combo aerator-seeder. OK grass seed. Filled in most areas but some areas I saw almost no growth.
Pros: ok seed
Cons: did not see growth in all areas
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Grass seed for fall planting

PostedOctober 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This seed was planted to supplement our lawn. The seed has now come up and is lush and thick. Great experience with this product.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix

its a growin

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product always works well. Even with my black thumb I use this each fall to improve my lawn. Hot and humid where I live so it is the perfect choice for my lawn!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from ashburn, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality product

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seeded some areas with a much more expensive Scott's product and these grew as well if not better. Better value than the Scott's product however still very expensive for a bag of grass seed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best seed on the market

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If your lawn is tall (turf-type) fescue, this is the seed you need. I overseed and repair bare patches in fall and spring with Rebel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Stafford Virginia
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great grass seed

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I find that the Rebel grass seed works very well in the heavy clay soil we have in Stafford and the Home Depot has the best price in this area.
Pros: Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good Purchase

PostedOctober 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Fescue grass is great because it stays green year round and I am happy with my purchase from Home Depot.
Pros: Great Quality
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Williamstown, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product if used properly

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For years I've tried Scotts and other brands. Last spring I used this product and had the best results I've ever had. Grows very thick and green. I just picked up a bag this week to overseed the front lawn for this season. Remember, to get good results you really need seed early in the season and don't forget to water, weed, fertilize, and mow. I learned this from years of trial and error.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Lakemont Ga.
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Have used this product many times and it works great for me.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is great for my property which has a lot of trees. Does great with lot of sun IE: does not dry out without water for afew days.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix

Seeds are growing. Let's see if they make it through the cold this winter and heat next summer...

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I spread these seeds a bit late for the Washington, DC region (first few days of Nov). I covered up the particularly bare portions of my yard with clear tarps, which kept moisture and heat in (to protect from the already cold weather somewhat). Just when I was about to give up hope, the grass started growing in earnest under the tarps, and a few weeks later it also came out in the rest of the yard. Now let's see if the new grass makes it through the winter, since it had very little time to mature properly. As of now, am impressed that the grass is growing despite less than ideal planting conditions.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Augusta, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

very inconsistent results

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used this all over my front and back lawns to re-seed and to patch. On some occasions it grew fast and well and endured. After buying some $250 in seed, 2 entire bags of the product did sprout at all. Some sprouted and produced only thin, hairy grass which turned green, grew tall and thick, then died all at once between 7-10 days. Some of the product did produce thick grass that endured, but if I had to take a guess, that would be between 35-40% of the product.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product That Grows Well

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used this product over the past 12 years to fill in spots or plant new grass. I've been satisfied with the results and will continue to purchase.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Spartanburg, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Green, Thick Grass

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Planted Rebel grass last fall. Now I have the greenest and thickest grass in the neighborhood. I had always wanted to plant Rebel grass and finally did. Now I get more compliments on my lawn than I ever have.
Pros: Great Quality
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Virginia

Dead grass in one year

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I planted this seed in September last year after tilling soil adding Lime and Fertilizer. The seed did fine during the fall and winter, but when the summer came this year the grass quickly went brown and died even with plenty of watering. I will not be using this seed again as I have to reseed my whole yard again.
Cons: not resilient
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from North Providence, RI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

great thick green lawn

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I planted 100lbs of this seed last Sept. It took about 3 weeks to germinate but the grass was nice and thick. I watered once a day all summer and it held up to the heat of august just fine.
I am going to reseed my back yard now.
only issue I have is I cannot get the seed local anymore.
I will have to order online.
Cons: local box store no longer carries the tall fescue
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seems like good stuff

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have planted three different areas, mostly shady spots. Germinated in 10-14 days and looks pretty hearty so far. Northern sandy climate is tough to grow lawn, but this looks the best I've tried so far.
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Sevierville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

do it yourselfer

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I prefer the rebel grass seed. It is very clean seed.
Rebel grass seed has less weed seed than the other seed that I read on the contents.
This seed comes up quickly.
20 lb of Rebel grass seed covers a lot of area.
I highly recommend this seed.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 lb. Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This grass seed has great staying power

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Rebels Tall Fescue Grass Seed Mix is well worth the money. I live in Phoenix, planted it into my front lawn and it filled in every bare ground spot (there were 6 spots) and enhanced the existing grass. I couldn't be more pleased with this product. It is showing itself to weather the desert heat with one to two days per week watering with no sign of distress.
Pros: Durable, Great Quality, great in hot weather
Cons: no cons
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>