728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head

2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head

The Toro 25.4 cc 2-Cycle Power Head features a full-crank, commercial-grade engine for longer life and stronger performance. This unit will power any universal-fit attachments you already own, and is fully compatible with the versatile Expand-it line of attachments. Some assembly is required.
Overall rating:
4.18 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(172 reviews) 172
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product138 of 161reviews
Rating Breakdown 172 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(98)
4
(46)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(16)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product138 of 161reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 116 Answers
Customer reviews for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
Review 1 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
from Central NH

WOW, What a Difference!

PostedJune 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just returned the Ryobi Universal Powerhead that I bought last week and exchanged it for the Toro.
This unit absolutely starts on the first or second pull, and it actually idles - if you took your hand off the trigger on the other unit, it stalled, that is, if you could get it started at all.
Save yourself a lot of grief. If you are truly interested in a universal power head, invest the few extra bucks in the Toro.
I am also impressed with the power of the unit as well as how much quieter is. Much more professionally built. Ergonomically speaking, it's comfortable to operate and the pull starter is logically assigned. You don't need 3 hands and do a piroette to flip it around like you do the Ryobi either.
I am so totally a loyal Toro and Echo user. I'll never go back to the other brands.
I highly recommend this unit.
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
from Dallas, TX

Great Toro trimmer

PostedApril 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This toro power head had plenty of power for all the jobs I needed done. I was able to used me old troy-bilt trimmer and edger attachment with it. It runs pretty smooth and not too much vibration compared my cub cadet power head that my dad had given me. The cub cadet had trouble edging and it died on me so I went out and got this toro and was very impressed. The foamed handle helped with the vibration and was comfortable. All of my life i had to pull the starter cord atleast 10 times to start, so when this toro started up in one effortlessly pull, I was really excited. So far, it is worth all $99. I hope all my buddies are right about toro lasting a long time.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
from texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best replacement for old 2-cycle RYOBI lawn tools power head

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A good value 2-cycle choice for immediate swap out of my old 2-cycle RYOBI blower & weed-eater powerhead that would remain compatible with all my existing attachements. I needed to be able to use my existing RYOBI hedge trimmer, edger, blower, and tiller attachments. It would have cost many hundreds of dollars to move into a new system because of having to buy new attachments. I also wanted to stay with a 2-cycle engine which was no longer available from RYOBI, and did not like the faults and problems showing up in reviews of the advertised 4-cycle RYOBI replacement. Very happy with product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: have to use gas with less than 15% ethanol
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
from Atlantic Co. NJ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Impressed

PostedJune 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I set out a few weekends back to buy an Echo trimmer, because it was recommended to by the landscaper who watched me catapult my TroyBilt 4 cycle across my front yard(the repair bills had outpaced the price I paid maybe 5 yrs ago).The problem with Echo was they were all single shaft and I had a few attachments for the Troybilt. The salesman said that Toro made a very good engine and it was 50 bucks cheaper. I have only used it 3x's, but it has plenty of power to run my equipment and is quite a few pound lighter than the 4 cycle. Going back to mixing oil and gas and the manual choke are a bit of a drag, but a more than fair trade off for the quality and ease of use for this trimmer. A good buy.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
from Carl Junction, MO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What do you get when the low price junk dies - again?

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Toro. This powerhead was purchased to replace the second (other brand name here) to fail, this time in less than 6 months. I'm no fan of purge bulb carburetors, they've given more hassle than service. One part of the equation not their fault is the alcohol "contaminated" gasoline currently marketed - it's simply corroding carburetors and engines far sooner than expected.
Nonetheless, It was time to move on - but one factor is the investment in Expandit accessories that I'd bought. It would be less than prudent to ignore them, and that meant another powerhead. The Toro filled the bill - and as billed, is commercial rated with a solid one piece counterweighted crank, which vibrates less. The foam covered forward handle reduced what little buzz was left, and the weight with a straight shaft head was easy to manipulate and use.
Out of the box, the unit started up and ran just as the instructions said, no drama. One quirk is the ON-OFF switch, it's not a momentary kill - don't crank your arm off because you simply forgot to turn it ON.
Runs fine after a momentary warm up, idles without spinning the head, and looks easy to adjust - the throttle screw adjusts the rpm, no mixture screw evident. The gas tank is normal sized - you can go for more than an hour, apparently Toro isn't afraid to let you use the unit for a long time. The previous trimmer had a fuel tank good for half an hour, and at that point their weed eater head was overheating - literally. Straight or curved, the bump feed heads had a nasty habit of melting right off the hex drive. I'd already replaced it with the newer style that laces a doubled line thru a stud that rotates. Lines no longer snap off, and the bump feed isn't needed anymore. I've used lines for weeks.
So far, so good. I'd give it all five, but it hasn't gone ten years like the Homelite I first had. Yet. But it is red, at least, which seems an improvement over too yellow to keep doing the job. :)
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
from Florida, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Where is Tim the Toolman??

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As many of the others here have stated, I bought this power head to replace a Ryobi that stopped running after 6 months. I will NEVER buy anything from that company again. This power head assembled quickly and started easily!!! Powered through what I needed it too with all of my "expand-it" compatible accesories. I HIGHLY recomend this product.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head

Thanks for the Reviews

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like many others have already written I was also the owner of a Ryobi power head. After fighting it for two years it finally quit running. I purchased the Toro 2 cycle power head and absolutely love it. It started on the second pull and runs the attachments with ease and a whole lot quieter. Thanks for the reviews as they helped me with my buying decision. No regrets.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head

Solid out of the box

PostedMay 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I replaced a Ryobi 30cc after they denied the warranty. This product reviews better and seems to have more torque than the Ryobi. Started right up and stayed quiet and cool.
I'll review again later after I have a few months of work with it.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
from Pearland, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I tried the $79 Ryobi first...

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I went the cheap route with the $79 Ryobi power head. At just over a year the Ryobi died... cost of repair was not worth it either. So I looked at the Ryobi 4 cycle version and this one... decided to go with the Toro based on customer reviews of the two options. I am glad I chose the Toro!!! It is quieter than the 2 cycle Ryobi... less vibration, easier starts.... just a better product all together. I use my lawn tools minimally as I have to employ a lawn service during the peak summer season since I am super busy at work during the summer time... so I did not "ride" my Ryobi into the ground or anything like that. I'd say I used it maybe twice a month in a normal small lot in typical neighborhood. So I would expect any power head to last a while with minimal use and a small sized lawn. So all in all... spend the extra bucks on the Toro and avoid the Ryobi if you can afford the cost difference between the two.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head

Great product, powerful, starts right up.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fueled up, primed according to owners manual and started on second pull. Starts on first pull thereafter. Motor is powerful running pruner, string trimmer and brushcutter attachments. Perfect idle without any hesitations. Satisified with purchase and would recommend to others.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head

Great Product

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had Ryobis in the past with mixed results,. One of them just bit the dust and I needed to replace it. The newest Ryobi has not been what I would have liked,. It works but... So I began checking around and found the reviews for Toro. I already have a bunch of Roybi and Troy-bilt attachments so I just needed a power head. I was very pleased to see that Home Depot had exactly what I needed. I will echo some of the other reviewers. It starts easily, idles well and works with all my attachments. Some of the other reviewers have complained about the heat. Compared to the Ryobi, it might be a little warmer on the top of the engine, but with a long sleeved shirt, it should be fine. Some other reviewers have mentioned gas usage. Compared to the Ryobi, it seems to be about the same. I only wish I had known about the Toro sooner.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head

no compaints yet

PostedJune 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I thank those that reviewed this product, I based my purchase on your opinions.
I've only used this for a couple hours. So far I am quite happy with it.
First off let me say, if you are starting out and want a string trimmer to give many years of service, see your local power equipment dealer and buy a commercial grade Stihl, Echo, Husky or Shindowa. Or some such highly regarded product, you won't be sorry.
That said, I have had (bought or inherited) several trimmers, including 2 McCulloch curved shaft from the early 90s and most recently a Ryobi from the mid-late 90s. (but never anything I would consider a high quality machine) I've got my money out of them. But they were finicky, hard to start, especially when hot.
When the Ryobi (with quick-click attachments; ie cultivator, edger and string trimmer) didn't want to start late on a Saturday, and being way behind on my trimming, I decided to buy something on the quick. Not wanting to invest upwards of $300 (note:"invest"), I looked at reviews for gas trimmers and even electric. I settled for this Toro power head, because of the reviews on this site and because I can use the attachments I inherited with the Ryobi (which I rarely use).
This Toro has as much power as any of the homeowner units I've used. It starts easily, even when hot. When I got in too deep, and grass wrapped around the spool, the Toro idled nicely. Actually it kept running and was able to clear itself, except for one time when it idled patiently waiting for me to clear the knot. I was even able to leave it running while I disassembled the spool to clear the line. The Ryobi would barely idle, (never under a load), died every time there was a knot, and would rarely clear itself when I got in too deep. I was never impressed with it.
I can't speak to long term durability, I'm not expecting a lot. I paid $119. (This machine with trimmer is $179) I started with low expectations, but so far I am presently surprised. (I don't consider this a long-term investment, if you are looking for such you should spend more money. I mean really, $180 for a trimmer in 2011 dollars? Are you kidding me?)
Some say it is a gas hog. It may be, but I notice the fuel tank seems very small. So take your gas can with you, you'll need it. Only issue so far is the gas cap fell off. Seems to back off over time, and there is no string "keeper" to attach it to the machine. So keep an eye on it.
It runs smoothly, is light enough, and so far seems good. If this is your price-point I recommend it. I think spending anything less will be a waste of money for all but the very lightest use. (A $79 gas trimmer? Really?) If you can spend more for a light commercial unit, do it. You won't be sorry. But for the money this unit seems promising. At this price it might be a 5 star, but I gave it 4. I know it's not a high end unit, but I haven't had it long enough to brag on it.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
from Georgia

Good... on 2nd try

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this power head to replace a Troy Bilt that had died. I had three attachments, so purchasing the power head only was a nice option. It cranked pretty well and ran great for about 10 minutes. I powered it off for a moment to help my son with the lawn mower, and the trimmer never cranked again. I let it sit overnight to cool down and gave it another try, but no - it would not crank. I took it back to HD and they exchanged it for another without any problem. I just got finished trimming, edging, and blowing two lawns and this one has been fine so far. It cranks on the first pull, idles well, and has adequate power. My only complaint (other than having to take the first one back) is that it gets really hot on the front of the engine - where your right forearm is. This is normal, as it is stated in the manual that you should not put your arm there. It is not pleasant, however. My Troy-Bilt did not get hot like that. So, it seems to be a decent unit, especially for the money... just don't throw the box away and don't send in the registration card until you've run it a few times.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
from Marshall MN

Fantabulous unit

PostedMay 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This machine started up out of the box in 3 pulls. It accepts my old mid-90s Ryobi attachments. Solid. Just as much power as the 31 cc ryobi that it replaces. Sweet unit. Do yourself a favor and get one.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
from cleveland, ohio

powerful

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
lots and lots of power. I also own an echo weedwacker and the toro is less expensive and just as strong. It starts up very easily and idles nicely. After reading the reviews on the ryobi, this was definitely worth the extra 20 dollars or so. I am currently using it with the edging tool and it works great. I can't wait to buy the weed wacking tool with it as well.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
from Sanger, CA 93657, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Job

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just brought home this product. So far this year, I have been through 1-Poulan and 3-Troy Bilts. NONE of them ran like this one did. In California, everything is de-tuned for the CARB, which is a pain in the buttinski, but this guy runs very well and all of my other tools will work on this. I researched the Toro on my iPhone in the store using the feedback and ratings. They were true and helped a great deal. Thanks!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head
from Indiana
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great replacement.

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased to replace failing 4-cycle power head. 4-cycle touts more torque but seems like this unit works better with the attachments (trimmer, blower, and edger) than the 4-stroke. Was concerned it would be down on power but, possibly due to higher rpms, all acessories work better. Only used a few times but so far very happy. If you have accessories and a failing power unit this is a very good option.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head

Great Product

PostedJuly 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did my research and read all the reviews. The Toro Power Head lived up to all the hipe. My old power hear was heavy and loud, the Toro is neither. Great product, I love it. Get one, it makes life a little easier.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head

Much Bettter

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Much better than the Ryobi it replaces. Much easier to start, more powerful and very quiet.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2-Cycle 25.4 cc Power Head

Should have bought Toro Before

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have 5 gas trimmer power heads and a bunch of accesories.
Ihave had to replace them about every 6 months to a year. Either they refuse to start or small important plastic components break off the covers or engine. This machinehas 1-1/2-2 times the power of the Ryobi's purchased in the past. Strarted on 2nd pull right out of the box. There after started on the first or second pull.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 9 >>