728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Animal & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

The Ortho Home Defense Max Secure-Kill Rat Trap is a disposable plastic trap designed to capture and kill pesky rats. This trap can be set with a single touch, and features a convenient grab tab for easy disposal. The Secure Catch design helps prevent trapped rats from escaping.
Overall rating:
3.92 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product57 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product57 of 73reviews
Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
Review 1 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Home Defense Rat Trap

PostedMay 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to set up; did it's job on the first night. Only drawback; just caught the roof rat by its leg. Had to dispatch the rat. Easy to remove the rat from the trap without having to touch the dead animal.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Highly recommend this one!

PostedAugust 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wish I would have bought this trap before spending money on glue traps, humane traps, and the old time wooden snap traps. I just had the stack pipe in the kitchen replaced and the plumber had to cut through the sheet rock. I noticed a rat a couple of weeks ago that saw me and took off into the wall. We have been at war with each other ever since. I thought he was winning until I bought this product. I won!! This trap is so easy to set and it is so easy to release the rat afterward. I reset it just in case he had a buddy in there with him. I highly recommend this trap.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Functionality, works!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

guaranteed !!

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
carton said catches rats guaranteed so i bought one. Sure enough it was easy to set & on the first night caught the rat. i highly recommend this trap, no others!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

First time's a charm!

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Found evidence that a rat had been trying to get into my chicken coop. Got this trap yesterday and the rat was dead by morning. I'll be putting it out in the fenced run every evening after I close the coop door. Go for the Ortho jaws of rat death!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Escape!

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If a rat triggers this trap there will be NO ESCAPE! You won't find a rat caught by a paw or a tail writhing on this trap. Death is quick and inescapable. Did I mention how easy it is to set? Just put it in place against the wall and set it with your foot (in a shoe). No snapped fingers. I'll never use another snap trap again. SECURE KILL is AWESOME!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from La Mirada, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 For 2, Effective and Deadly!

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bottom line, this trap works. I had a rat problem in an outside garden shed. I do not have small children and my old dog has long lost the ability to jump up on the shed ledges where I placed the traps so no concerns there. (She is an inside dog anyway!) Followed the directions including baiting with peanut butter and a little fresh fruit. Made sure I put the two traps with jaws facing against a wall about 10 ft. apart, also as per instructions. Did not concern myself with not leaving my scent, it had to be on all the tools in there anyway. First night nothing. Second night I went 2 for 2!! Big guys too! My only advice is when I baited with a glob of peanut butter, it caused the trigger mechanism to stick in a down position and I could not lock the trap in the ready position even after several forceful tries. I took a plastic knife, lifted and held the trigger plate in position, and then the trap locked. To be honest, I may have been over zealous with the amount of peanut butter and that is what caused the problem. (I wanted to get those suckers!) At Amazon as well for about the same $.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Great product

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Within one hour of placing 2 traps, we got the rats trapped.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
Age Range:17 or under

easy to use and works GREAT!!!

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a rat in my garage and i tried several non kill traps and the old school traps but to no prevail, i picked one of these traps up and an hour later my rat problem has been dispatched.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Placerville, CA 95667, USA

Works everytime

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tried the old fashioned Victor trap first to catch the Norway rats we had in the basement. Apparently the rats are smarter than that trap as they would always be tripped and no bait (or rat). Gave this trap a try and caught all the rats. It isn't a gentle trap and the remains were a little gory, but it really works!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Easy to use and reliable

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Over the years, field mice and large rats have made their home in a storage area in my yard. The sticky traps would catch the small mice, but the large rats were always a problem. This Rat Trap is great! The beauty is that it is easy and safe to set....and just as easy to release and dispose of the dead rat. The problem with the traditional traps is that it is almost as dangerous to set as it is for the rat. I've caught two large rats in the past few weeks that I have had this trap.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Got 'Em Quick

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After having the traditional rat traps and sticky pads fail, I decided to spend a few extra bucks on this trap. After putting in a piece of cheese I heard the trap go off within one hour. It caught him. The rat did not die instantly but I also did not have to "finish" it. It died within two minutes. **Worked**
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works like a charm!!!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After trying to get a rat I had seen in my backyard with the traditional traps for a month, I decided to get a couple of these traps. Next day the rat was caught. I was really impressed. I let the traps set just in case. I am glad I did. Apparently the rat had babies and within a week I caught four mice. Everything is been quiet for a week now. I used peanut butter as a bait.
My only complaint is that the rat was not dead and it moved a few feet with the jumping with the trap attached to it for hours until it died. Also one of the mice was caught by a leg and I had to kill it because after almost 24 hours it was not dead. I pretty felt bad doing that. They really do work but be prepared for mishaps.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Great effective trap for large rats!

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent trap and it can be reused. I used a little bit of peanut butter and three pieces of dry cat food for bait. We needed to put the it under the porch and I did not want to go looking for it if we caught a big rat so I tied a long piece of string through one of the holes on the side of the trap. Then I tied the string to the side of the house. I am glad I did because before that rat died he wiggled the trap off the board but we were able to retrieve it because of the string.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Snap Snap All Gone

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best trap I have ever used bait are gets them in and snap they are gone!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from California, USA

Really happy I went with these!!!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Last night i heard something running right above the ceiling and I didn't know if it was a rat or a mouse but heard it scratching, so today I went down to the home depot and bought two of these. I got home opened my attic crawl hole set them up with a small chunk of snickers bar. Within 25 minutes I heard it snap went up there and sure enough it was a mouse I quickly disposed of it and set it back up just in case theres more which im sure off. I definitively recommend this trap!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Does the job...excellent trap

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this trap today...set it...a few hours later, voila, rat caught. The rat's upper body is clamped in the trap and is dead...felt gross to dispose of this but am happy it is caught. I put peanut butter on a cotton ball for the bait.
For $5, this is actually quite a substantial feeling trap...feels fairly heavy and powerful.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

He's dead Jim!

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Set trap in my kitchen before going to bed, one hour later - wham!! - Done.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Great Product

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product performed better than i expected. I would recommend buying this trap over conventional traps.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works great!

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This trap was efficient and effective. We were able to clean it after the first rat and reset it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Works well.

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I first saw this trap on a Discovery Series reality show.
Works well. This T-REx trap will help you get rid of the big ones.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>