728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Insect & Pest Control or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

The Ortho Home Defense Max Secure-Kill Rat Trap is a disposable plastic trap designed to capture and kill pesky rats. This trap can be set with a single touch, and features a convenient grab tab for easy disposal. The Secure Catch design helps prevent trapped rats from escaping.
Overall rating:
3.92 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product57 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(45)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product57 of 73reviews
Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
Review 1 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Snap Snap All Gone

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best trap I have ever used bait are gets them in and snap they are gone!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from California, USA

Really happy I went with these!!!

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Last night i heard something running right above the ceiling and I didn't know if it was a rat or a mouse but heard it scratching, so today I went down to the home depot and bought two of these. I got home opened my attic crawl hole set them up with a small chunk of snickers bar. Within 25 minutes I heard it snap went up there and sure enough it was a mouse I quickly disposed of it and set it back up just in case theres more which im sure off. I definitively recommend this trap!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works like a charm!!!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After trying to get a rat I had seen in my backyard with the traditional traps for a month, I decided to get a couple of these traps. Next day the rat was caught. I was really impressed. I let the traps set just in case. I am glad I did. Apparently the rat had babies and within a week I caught four mice. Everything is been quiet for a week now. I used peanut butter as a bait.
My only complaint is that the rat was not dead and it moved a few feet with the jumping with the trap attached to it for hours until it died. Also one of the mice was caught by a leg and I had to kill it because after almost 24 hours it was not dead. I pretty felt bad doing that. They really do work but be prepared for mishaps.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Dallas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy to Use Rat Trap

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I am using one of the Victor wood traps and 4 of the Ortho traps now. Rats would steal the peanut butter off the Victor and not trigger the spring. I also hate setting the Victor trap. However, the Ortho is safe to set and you can even set it with your foot if you want. The rats so far have not been able to steal the peanut butter. The traps have caught several rats. I think now we don't have a rat issue. Easy to dispose of the rat and then i just add some fresh peanut butter to the well and set again. I just bought these traps a month ago and have used the ones that have caught rats 2-3 times so far. I expect i will be able to continue using them each for several rats at least. I highly recommend trying these traps over the scary to set Victor wood traps. I have not used a string yet to tie them down. So far the traps have killed the rat instantly (I think). However, i may tie them down in the future.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Las Vegas, NV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great!

PostedMay 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I set 3 traps outside two nights ago and set some bait too in other places. Last night I caught the lousy wood rat in one of the traps. The trap worked great and made short work of the critter. When I found him in the morning it was obvious it was lights out for him when the trap engaged. I'm leaving the traps out just in case there are more. But the trap worked fantastic and I would recommend it to all!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Portland, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Excelent traps

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
use peanut butter and be very patient refill as needed, puttuing traps claws to claws on a path or wall/fence optimal. I've caught 3 adults and 18 juveniles, a couple of mice and two unfortunate sparrows over a 7 month period. Don't clean it after each use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Escape!

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
If a rat triggers this trap there will be NO ESCAPE! You won't find a rat caught by a paw or a tail writhing on this trap. Death is quick and inescapable. Did I mention how easy it is to set? Just put it in place against the wall and set it with your foot (in a shoe). No snapped fingers. I'll never use another snap trap again. SECURE KILL is AWESOME!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Home Defense Rat Trap

PostedMay 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to set up; did it's job on the first night. Only drawback; just caught the roof rat by its leg. Had to dispatch the rat. Easy to remove the rat from the trap without having to touch the dead animal.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Great product

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Within one hour of placing 2 traps, we got the rats trapped.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Got 'Em Quick

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After having the traditional rat traps and sticky pads fail, I decided to spend a few extra bucks on this trap. After putting in a piece of cheese I heard the trap go off within one hour. It caught him. The rat did not die instantly but I also did not have to "finish" it. It died within two minutes. **Worked**
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

He's dead Jim!

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Set trap in my kitchen before going to bed, one hour later - wham!! - Done.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Works

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Discovered something getting into dog food bag we had stored in spare room. Set large glue trap and found it next morning drug under bed with bait gone and a large footprint on glue. Spent 1/2 hour in Home Depot looking at traps. Because of our dogs reluctant to use poison. This trap was spendy but I finally decided on display with most traps gone. I've used the old models but I've had rats eat the bait without getting caught and sometimes they can be a bloody mess. Set it that night and sure enough next morning there was a dead rat in it. Easy to dispose of and hopefully I won't have to use it again but it looks reusable. Won't even have to rebait since rat didn't get a chance to dine'n'dash. Oh yeah, used peanut butter with a kibble in it. Like the cup to put the bait in. I have used poison in the past but it gets expensive as I had to keep restocking it. Apparently they haul it off to their nest until they eat it and it kills them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works great!

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trap was efficient and effective. We were able to clean it after the first rat and reset it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome mouse trap

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had tried the electronic mouse traps in the past. They worked reasonably well. However, the mice started out smarting the trap. These home defense mouse traps are 100% effective. Easy to set up. Perfect disposal. Can be reused. Great product!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy, effective and clean

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this primarily for the chipmunks that preferred my home rather than the woods and it works great. I was finding one in the trap everyday, much more effective than other methods I tried. With the hole in the business end, It is easy to bait. With the squeeze-to-set design, it is easy to set, with no danger of having it snap on your fingers. That same design allows you to empty the trap without touching the varmint. The only problem I found is the local stray cat, who apparently walked off with a chipmunk while it was still in the trap, so now I have to buy another one. This time I'm going to anchor the trap, so it doesn't disappear.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Does the job...excellent trap

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this trap today...set it...a few hours later, voila, rat caught. The rat's upper body is clamped in the trap and is dead...felt gross to dispose of this but am happy it is caught. I put peanut butter on a cotton ball for the bait.
For $5, this is actually quite a substantial feeling trap...feels fairly heavy and powerful.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Great

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I sprinkled some popcorn kernels around this outside of the device and in the bait hopper and placed it next to my vegetable plants growing on my deck. (The little creatures decimated an entire tomato plant the night before). It will be rest when I get home and hopefully last night was the only night I will have to clean out the trap!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Texas

Expensive but they work.... sharp and clean

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used to have a rodent problem in my garage. Before identifying and correct the source of the problem (some openings in the wall...) I try with several of these traps and they worked perfect. They do a clean work (not messy as standard traps), They can be a little tricky to arm, but it is just a matter to understand the mechanism.
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Chicago
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for Urban Rat Problems

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We're in Chicago and there's a rat problem along the alleyways in our neighborhood. At one point, they had chewed through my wiring harness in my car, so we felt it was time to start trying to work on the rat problem.
This trap is great. You can reuse it and it's easy to fill and set. Now if only the rats were less smart.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to set, quality product

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Easy to set and high quality plastic. The trap is simple but works better than the typical wood traps.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong
Cons: not for mice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>