728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

The Ortho Home Defense Max Secure-Kill Rat Trap is a disposable plastic trap designed to capture and kill pesky rats. This trap can be set with a single touch, and features a convenient grab tab for easy disposal. The Secure Catch design helps prevent trapped rats from escaping.
Overall rating:
3.92 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product57 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
3.9 out of 5
5
(45)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(14)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product57 of 73reviews
Customer reviews for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
Review 1 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No Escape!

PostedNovember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
If a rat triggers this trap there will be NO ESCAPE! You won't find a rat caught by a paw or a tail writhing on this trap. Death is quick and inescapable. Did I mention how easy it is to set? Just put it in place against the wall and set it with your foot (in a shoe). No snapped fingers. I'll never use another snap trap again. SECURE KILL is AWESOME!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Placerville, CA 95667, USA

Works everytime

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Tried the old fashioned Victor trap first to catch the Norway rats we had in the basement. Apparently the rats are smarter than that trap as they would always be tripped and no bait (or rat). Gave this trap a try and caught all the rats. It isn't a gentle trap and the remains were a little gory, but it really works!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from La Mirada, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 For 2, Effective and Deadly!

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bottom line, this trap works. I had a rat problem in an outside garden shed. I do not have small children and my old dog has long lost the ability to jump up on the shed ledges where I placed the traps so no concerns there. (She is an inside dog anyway!) Followed the directions including baiting with peanut butter and a little fresh fruit. Made sure I put the two traps with jaws facing against a wall about 10 ft. apart, also as per instructions. Did not concern myself with not leaving my scent, it had to be on all the tools in there anyway. First night nothing. Second night I went 2 for 2!! Big guys too! My only advice is when I baited with a glob of peanut butter, it caused the trigger mechanism to stick in a down position and I could not lock the trap in the ready position even after several forceful tries. I took a plastic knife, lifted and held the trigger plate in position, and then the trap locked. To be honest, I may have been over zealous with the amount of peanut butter and that is what caused the problem. (I wanted to get those suckers!) At Amazon as well for about the same $.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

guaranteed !!

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
carton said catches rats guaranteed so i bought one. Sure enough it was easy to set & on the first night caught the rat. i highly recommend this trap, no others!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Home Defense Rat Trap

PostedMay 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to set up; did it's job on the first night. Only drawback; just caught the roof rat by its leg. Had to dispatch the rat. Easy to remove the rat from the trap without having to touch the dead animal.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Great product

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Within one hour of placing 2 traps, we got the rats trapped.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Got 'Em Quick

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After having the traditional rat traps and sticky pads fail, I decided to spend a few extra bucks on this trap. After putting in a piece of cheese I heard the trap go off within one hour. It caught him. The rat did not die instantly but I also did not have to "finish" it. It died within two minutes. **Worked**
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Snap Snap All Gone

PostedSeptember 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Best trap I have ever used bait are gets them in and snap they are gone!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

He's dead Jim!

PostedJune 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Set trap in my kitchen before going to bed, one hour later - wham!! - Done.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Works

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Discovered something getting into dog food bag we had stored in spare room. Set large glue trap and found it next morning drug under bed with bait gone and a large footprint on glue. Spent 1/2 hour in Home Depot looking at traps. Because of our dogs reluctant to use poison. This trap was spendy but I finally decided on display with most traps gone. I've used the old models but I've had rats eat the bait without getting caught and sometimes they can be a bloody mess. Set it that night and sure enough next morning there was a dead rat in it. Easy to dispose of and hopefully I won't have to use it again but it looks reusable. Won't even have to rebait since rat didn't get a chance to dine'n'dash. Oh yeah, used peanut butter with a kibble in it. Like the cup to put the bait in. I have used poison in the past but it gets expensive as I had to keep restocking it. Apparently they haul it off to their nest until they eat it and it kills them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to set, quality product

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Easy to set and high quality plastic. The trap is simple but works better than the typical wood traps.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong
Cons: not for mice
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works great!

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This trap was efficient and effective. We were able to clean it after the first rat and reset it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Olympia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pleased with result

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is indeed "a better mouse/rat trap'. Less dangerous by far to load and handle and the trip mechanism is not dependant on how hard the animal pulls or pushes on the bait.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

got that dirty rat

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Garage invaded by a rat. Put out the trap and no more rat. Excellent product! Highly recommend this product. Easy to use easy to dispose of the vermin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Cleveland, OH
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can use multiple times. Works great for chipmunks.

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great for thinning the chipmunk herd in my neighborhood, two were in my basement. Got 4 already by just putting sunflower seeds in the trap.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from ohio
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

awesome mouse trap

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had tried the electronic mouse traps in the past. They worked reasonably well. However, the mice started out smarting the trap. These home defense mouse traps are 100% effective. Easy to set up. Perfect disposal. Can be reused. Great product!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy, effective and clean

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this primarily for the chipmunks that preferred my home rather than the woods and it works great. I was finding one in the trap everyday, much more effective than other methods I tried. With the hole in the business end, It is easy to bait. With the squeeze-to-set design, it is easy to set, with no danger of having it snap on your fingers. That same design allows you to empty the trap without touching the varmint. The only problem I found is the local stray cat, who apparently walked off with a chipmunk while it was still in the trap, so now I have to buy another one. This time I'm going to anchor the trap, so it doesn't disappear.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Functionality, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Gets the job done!

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Put a trap down last night an wham I heard that pest screaming it wasn't dead but it wasn't getting out either. That's what I call a trap. oh I used peanut butter an dog food as bait.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap
from Detroit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gets Results !

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very easy to set. Works great. Very happy with it.
Pros: Functionality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Home Defense Max Secure Kill Rat Trap

Great effective trap for large rats!

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an excellent trap and it can be reused. I used a little bit of peanut butter and three pieces of dry cat food for bait. We needed to put the it under the porch and I did not want to go looking for it if we caught a big rat so I tied a long piece of string through one of the holes on the side of the trap. Then I tied the string to the side of the house. I am glad I did because before that rat died he wiggled the trap off the board but we were able to retrieve it because of the string.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>