728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

Reliable portable power for every use. Power the fun stuff or cover an emergency. Affordable reliability and features not usually found on basic portable models make these a favorite for home emergency use, camping, job sites or outdoor events. Circuit breaker protected outlets guard against circuit overload. Hour meter tracks usage between maintenance sessions. Fold down handles and never-flat wheels for portability. New, covered circuit breaker protected outlets provide added protection from the environment and rugged working conditions. Compact design provides unparalleled power-to-weight ratio.
Overall rating:
4.682 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(463 reviews) 463
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product442 of 453reviews
Rating Breakdown 463 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(354)
4
(86)
3
(14)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product442 of 453reviews
Customer questions and answers:
41 Questions | 105 Answers
Customer reviews for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Review 1 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
mjf27

A solid mid-level size generator for emergency use

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This generator arrived 2 days after Superstorm Sandy hit and left me without power. It took 30 minutes to unwrap it and put it together (attach the wheels, fill it with oil and gas). It fired right up on the first pull.
With ease, it runs my refrigerator, a handful of lights, TV, cable box, modem, space heater and an occasional microwave use. It was averaging 12 hours of run time before needing to be refueled for the 96 straight hours of use before our power came back.
It appears to be solidly built with high quality materials. Nothing felt flimsy. Changing the oil was a breeze.
As others have noted, it is loud. For example, it is far louder than my 2 stage snow blower, and I quickly learned to wear ear protection when I am near it. But that's a small inconvenience compared with it's usefulness.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Cons: loud
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+44points
49out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
BATMAN

RAN FLAWLESSLY 24/7 FOR 10 STRAIGHT DAYS AFTER SANDY

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EASY TO START. PLENTY OF POWER. HAD REFRIGERATOR, FURNACE, TV W/ CABLE BOX AND MODEM, A FEW LAMPS , TWO SUMP PUMPS AND RAN A LINE TO EACH OF MY NEIGHBORS FOR THEIR SUMP PUMPS. IT RAN 24/7 (EXCEPT TO GAS AND DO 2 OIL CHANGES) FOR 10 STRAIGHT DAYS FOLLOWING HURRICANE SANDY. GOT ABOUT 10 HRS ON A FULL TANK. SUMPS PUMPS FILLED EVERY TEN MINUTES SO I COULDN'T EVEN COOL IT DOWN FOR LONG. THIS GENERATOR SAVED 3 HOMES , BLOCKS FROM THE RARITAN BAY ON THE JERSEY SHORE FROM FLOODING. KEPT US WARM AND MY MILK COLD. I CAN'T GIVE A LONG TERM REVIEW BEING I PICKED IT UP THE DAY OF THE HURRICANE. IT ALL READY PAID FOR ITSELF AS
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Generatorguy

OUTSTANDING

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this generator on the advice of Consumer Reports. I am not disappointed. Yes, it's noisier than similar Honda's but nowhere near the price. You can convert a small shed to enclose the generator.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
jwcorvette
from Sumter, SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Produces plenty of power for my needs. Easy to start. Easy to move from one location to another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
trent1806
from Eloy, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

generac make a vary good product

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned generac generators for years they are vary durable and last for years
Pros: Durable, Strong, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
RunninAmuck
from Houston TX

Excellent Product

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted a 7000 Watt Generator, but when this became available at a GREAT PRICE? Sold!! With a 3 Bedroom Condo and living in the Hurricane Area of the Gulf Coast This will more than do the job of powering several items in the house. With 4 - 120v plugs and a 240v plug This will more than do the job!! Easy to store, easy to assemble (minimal assembly) and fired up the first time. During IKE we got lucky not having power for only 60 hours. Not taking that chance again. If even one use saves freezer and refrigerator food? This Generator paid for itself and then some. At least next time I can still enjoy my coffee!!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Happy3
from New Albany, IN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have not officially used, but did assemble and started. Started on the first try and is better than I expected. Have peace of mind that I'm prepared for when I need it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
duckie
from Dillsburg
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

top of the line

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
smooth running, easy to start , powerfull . pickup was easy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Golfpro
from Murrells inlet
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to move around. Motor started with first pull.
Stores easily in a smaller space than anticipated
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
GoPhillies
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Lifesaver for bad Northeast Winter of 2014

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this just prior to an ice storm. It ran continuously for nearly 3 days. Great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Electric1
from Baytown, TX

Lots of bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's hard to beat this generator for the price. It is very easy to assemble. Install wheels and handles, add oil and gas, ground the frame, and crank it up.
It is easy to start and mine cranked on the first pull of the rope. I connected an air compessor to give it a load test. This gen worked like a charm.
My next project is to install a manual transfer switch.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Slugworth
from Westfield, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price!!!

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this after the Oct. 29 power outage. I wasnt going through that again!!! So i looked around and this had the best reviews and great price. So i unboxed it put it together and fired it up on the first pull!! It ran great sounds great so far so good. It seems to "hunt" while there is not a load on it but once you put a load on it it smooths out fine..I run it every month for about 15min under load just to keep it up..Make sure you shut the gas flow valve off BEFORE you shut it down for storage. You want to run it out of gas till it shuts down on it's own. that way you ensure the carb is empty of gas...
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
bdyankee
from NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Delivered exactly what I purchased.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Hard to review a product that I haven't used yet, no blackouts. When set up and tested, it started with the first pull and ran all the circuits (6) that I set up with a xfer switch with no strain.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: fuel filter at tank opening can be easily damaged.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
kenny24017
from roanoke , va.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

well built, runs great.

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this generator when the derecho storm hit in 2012, ran 120 hours straight and it performed flawlessly. changed the oil and now it waits on next power outage. generac quality for generators is second to none.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Jerry
from Hillborough, New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Generac will not honor warranty

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Less than one year old, my generator started leaking gas. Local authorized repair shop warned me that Generac will not honor two year warranty, claimed it was my fault that I used gas with 10% ethanol though this is the recommendation in owner's manual. Generac customer service would not let me speak to technican-DO NOT BUY GENERAC PRODUCTS unless you want to end up paying for repair bills
Cons: warranty is worthless
+44points
64out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
john
from Cheshire, OH 45620, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great features and the price was right

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
excellent features for this product better quality than competitors
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: packing could have been better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
John
from Ledyard, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ruggedly built and quieter than I expected.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Started on the first pull after I remembered to turn on the switch.
Being 80 years old I had originally intended to buy an electric start generator but this one starts with an easy pull.
Nicely designed.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
tlwcpa
from Hancock, NYU

Mostly good so far

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had this united delivered by Home Depot. After minimal assembly, the unit started right up. After sitting one month, though, I attempted to start the unit and noted fuel was leaking through the carburetor. Had someone take the carburetor apart who fixed the float which had stuck in the open position. Unit then started. After another month, power was out due to Hurrican Irene, Unit would not start because the carburetor float was stuck in the closed positiion. Had someone take the carburetor apart who advised that the pin controlling the carburetor float had deteriorated, most likely due to ethanol in the gasoline. He advised shutting off the fuel supply to starve the engine when shutoff was desired (so that gas would not sit in the carbureator) and adding an additive to the gas to neutralize the ethonol. Ran the generator for 12 hours/day for 5 days with a direct hookup to the circuit breaker box. With judicious balancing of electric use, the generator ran most of the house including occasional use of the water pump and water heater. For some reason, though, the generator would not adequately power the dishwasher. We did not try to run the washer or electric range Overall, I am happy, but plan to be careful with the fuel and to run the unit for a few minutes each month in an attempt to forestall future problems with the carburetor.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Tayo
from Annapolis, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My hero!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this on-line and it was delivered June 8. The Derecho wind storm came through on June 29 and knocked power out to us and about a million other folks. Boy was I happy we had this! Started up real easy and kept the food in the fridge and freezer from going bad, water running (we have a well pump) and a few fans and lights going. Ran like a champ! Louder than I had hoped for, but knowing I had power, it became music to my ears. Made surviving 4 days without power and 100+ degree weather, just a little more bearable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, starts up easy, low oil shut off, wheels
Cons: it shakes a lot., louder than expected
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Magneto
from Cologne, Minnesota
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Generally a fair product.

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Delivery was outstanding.
Assembly was easy and instructions were satisfactory.
Muffler is a tad bit on the noisy side. Wish they would charge a few $$ more and design a muffler like Honda.
Pull handle broke the third time I started the generator.
Generator works fine other than that.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: Quality
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>