728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

Reliable portable power for every use. Power the fun stuff or cover an emergency. Affordable reliability and features not usually found on basic portable models make these a favorite for home emergency use, camping, job sites or outdoor events. Circuit breaker protected outlets guard against circuit overload. Hour meter tracks usage between maintenance sessions. Fold down handles and never-flat wheels for portability. New, covered circuit breaker protected outlets provide added protection from the environment and rugged working conditions. Compact design provides unparalleled power-to-weight ratio.
Overall rating:
4.683 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(492 reviews) 492
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product469 of 482reviews
Rating Breakdown 492 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(378)
4
(89)
3
(15)
2
(3)
1
(7)
Features 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product469 of 482reviews
Customer questions and answers:
42 Questions | 106 Answers
Customer reviews for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
Review 1 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

A solid mid-level size generator for emergency use

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This generator arrived 2 days after Superstorm Sandy hit and left me without power. It took 30 minutes to unwrap it and put it together (attach the wheels, fill it with oil and gas). It fired right up on the first pull.
With ease, it runs my refrigerator, a handful of lights, TV, cable box, modem, space heater and an occasional microwave use. It was averaging 12 hours of run time before needing to be refueled for the 96 straight hours of use before our power came back.
It appears to be solidly built with high quality materials. Nothing felt flimsy. Changing the oil was a breeze.
As others have noted, it is loud. For example, it is far louder than my 2 stage snow blower, and I quickly learned to wear ear protection when I am near it. But that's a small inconvenience compared with it's usefulness.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Nice Design
Cons: loud
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+50points
56out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

RAN FLAWLESSLY 24/7 FOR 10 STRAIGHT DAYS AFTER SANDY

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
EASY TO START. PLENTY OF POWER. HAD REFRIGERATOR, FURNACE, TV W/ CABLE BOX AND MODEM, A FEW LAMPS , TWO SUMP PUMPS AND RAN A LINE TO EACH OF MY NEIGHBORS FOR THEIR SUMP PUMPS. IT RAN 24/7 (EXCEPT TO GAS AND DO 2 OIL CHANGES) FOR 10 STRAIGHT DAYS FOLLOWING HURRICANE SANDY. GOT ABOUT 10 HRS ON A FULL TANK. SUMPS PUMPS FILLED EVERY TEN MINUTES SO I COULDN'T EVEN COOL IT DOWN FOR LONG. THIS GENERATOR SAVED 3 HOMES , BLOCKS FROM THE RARITAN BAY ON THE JERSEY SHORE FROM FLOODING. KEPT US WARM AND MY MILK COLD. I CAN'T GIVE A LONG TERM REVIEW BEING I PICKED IT UP THE DAY OF THE HURRICANE. IT ALL READY PAID FOR ITSELF AS
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Albq NM
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This was a great investment for our new cabin we purchased.

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This generator was great for the price and worked very well in many weather conditions including in the rain. When Wal mart was out of power we had power.Great investment.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

OUTSTANDING

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this generator on the advice of Consumer Reports. I am not disappointed. Yes, it's noisier than similar Honda's but nowhere near the price. You can convert a small shed to enclose the generator.
Pros: Easy to Use, Compact
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator

Good value

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading other reviews I was a bit reluctant to purchase this, but did not find anything better for less than $1000. I've used it for about 10 hours now. It has started on first or second pull. I had no problem with the included cord. I did not have any problem with the fuel lines or shut off. The generator is about as loud as a typical lawn mower. My only complaint is weight. This is a very heavy generator. Too big for one person to load by themselves. It is quite an effort move it over unlevel ground. It would be nice if there was a tow kit for use with a lawn tractor. Like all generators this vibrates - you'll want to tighten all bolts before every use. Overall I'm pleased with this so far
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Failed to honor warranty repair

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a piece of Generac equipment last June. It worked great for the first few months. Unfortunately, the following April one of the components failed. I took the piece of equipment to an authorized repair shop around April 15th for warranty repair work.
It is May 23rd and they still have not repaired my equipment. When I call GENERAC customer service they refuse to help me because I cannot give them a repair order number. When I call the repair shop they claim GENERAC has not assigned a order number even though they've completed the paperwork and sent it in.
I emailed GENERAC detailing when I dropped off the equipment, and noted that I was having trouble getting my item repaired in a timely manner. GENERAC never responded.
I'm very disappointed in their complete failure to stand by their products and repair them in a timely manner.
Cons: failed to honor repair work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Fenton, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice generator, HD delivery to home not the best

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good generator, well built. Not sure why a product like this uses basic cotter pins to hold on the wheels though. Seems it is deserving of removable cotter pins. Also, no markings for the choke lever so the user will have to know which way is on and off. Again, a strange omission. The provided hour meter and GFCI outlets make up for the misses. And yes, even after adding just a gallon of gas for a test run it started on the first pull and is reasonably quiet. Assembly is basic - just the front feet, wheels and handle, but the directions are basic and small so you figure it out by counting the fasteners to know what goes where. The front feet should have the cups facing down. They don't tell you or show you this but you also figure it out because the fasteners are too long if you put on the wrong way. Figuring all this out and the actual assembly takes no more than 10 minutes. Please note - if you have it delivered to your home it will arrive via a freight carrier. Not a great situation for the driver if you live in a small subdivision. The driver, however, was very polite and seemed unphased by the need to back up a 30+ foot semi 100 yards. Also, HD will send a delivery email but if you are proactive and call you find out the delivery date provided in the email is wrong. So, in summary, the generator is very good, the home delivery could use a bit better disclosure and coordination.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Strong, Good Size & Weight, has hourmeter
Cons: instructions are weak
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Houston TX

Excellent Product

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted a 7000 Watt Generator, but when this became available at a GREAT PRICE? Sold!! With a 3 Bedroom Condo and living in the Hurricane Area of the Gulf Coast This will more than do the job of powering several items in the house. With 4 - 120v plugs and a 240v plug This will more than do the job!! Easy to store, easy to assemble (minimal assembly) and fired up the first time. During IKE we got lucky not having power for only 60 hours. Not taking that chance again. If even one use saves freezer and refrigerator food? This Generator paid for itself and then some. At least next time I can still enjoy my coffee!!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Sawyerville, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best for the money

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My GP5500 is just what I needed. This unit is a life saver for me living out here in the country (Sawyerville, AL). I use it on the farm for various things. Generac is an outstanding brand and holds up well. Thank you for an outstanding product. I would recommend this product to anyone that lives or work on a farm or live out in the Country.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: pricy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Murrells inlet
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to move around. Motor started with first pull.
Stores easily in a smaller space than anticipated
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Compact, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Springfield, Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should be better built.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to assemble. Choke shaft in carburetor made from plastic and broke after one start, currently at a Generac approved repair center and is under warranty. Runs great but is very noisy compared to my old Briggs and Stratton.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Baytown, TX

Lots of bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's hard to beat this generator for the price. It is very easy to assemble. Install wheels and handles, add oil and gas, ground the frame, and crank it up.
It is easy to start and mine cranked on the first pull of the rope. I connected an air compessor to give it a load test. This gen worked like a charm.
My next project is to install a manual transfer switch.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Westfield, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price!!!

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this after the Oct. 29 power outage. I wasnt going through that again!!! So i looked around and this had the best reviews and great price. So i unboxed it put it together and fired it up on the first pull!! It ran great sounds great so far so good. It seems to "hunt" while there is not a load on it but once you put a load on it it smooths out fine..I run it every month for about 15min under load just to keep it up..Make sure you shut the gas flow valve off BEFORE you shut it down for storage. You want to run it out of gas till it shuts down on it's own. that way you ensure the carb is empty of gas...
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 14 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Hillborough, New Jersey, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Generac will not honor warranty

PostedAugust 26, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Less than one year old, my generator started leaking gas. Local authorized repair shop warned me that Generac will not honor two year warranty, claimed it was my fault that I used gas with 10% ethanol though this is the recommendation in owner's manual. Generac customer service would not let me speak to technican-DO NOT BUY GENERAC PRODUCTS unless you want to end up paying for repair bills
Cons: warranty is worthless
+44points
64out of 84found this review helpful.
Review 15 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Ledyard, CT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Ruggedly built and quieter than I expected.

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Started on the first pull after I remembered to turn on the switch.
Being 80 years old I had originally intended to buy an electric start generator but this one starts with an easy pull.
Nicely designed.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Hancock, NYU

Mostly good so far

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had this united delivered by Home Depot. After minimal assembly, the unit started right up. After sitting one month, though, I attempted to start the unit and noted fuel was leaking through the carburetor. Had someone take the carburetor apart who fixed the float which had stuck in the open position. Unit then started. After another month, power was out due to Hurrican Irene, Unit would not start because the carburetor float was stuck in the closed positiion. Had someone take the carburetor apart who advised that the pin controlling the carburetor float had deteriorated, most likely due to ethanol in the gasoline. He advised shutting off the fuel supply to starve the engine when shutoff was desired (so that gas would not sit in the carbureator) and adding an additive to the gas to neutralize the ethonol. Ran the generator for 12 hours/day for 5 days with a direct hookup to the circuit breaker box. With judicious balancing of electric use, the generator ran most of the house including occasional use of the water pump and water heater. For some reason, though, the generator would not adequately power the dishwasher. We did not try to run the washer or electric range Overall, I am happy, but plan to be careful with the fuel and to run the unit for a few minutes each month in an attempt to forestall future problems with the carburetor.
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Pleasant Prairie, WI

Easy Start, Runs Reliably.

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a recent tornado there was no power. I powered my two refrigerators and freezer and two neighbors refrigerators for 24 hrs without any difficulty. Easy installation of wheels. Be sure turn the gasoline shutoff valve to off when storing, or the unit may drip gasoline.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Annapolis, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My hero!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this on-line and it was delivered June 8. The Derecho wind storm came through on June 29 and knocked power out to us and about a million other folks. Boy was I happy we had this! Started up real easy and kept the food in the fridge and freezer from going bad, water running (we have a well pump) and a few fans and lights going. Ran like a champ! Louder than I had hoped for, but knowing I had power, it became music to my ears. Made surviving 4 days without power and 100+ degree weather, just a little more bearable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Clear Instructions, starts up easy, low oil shut off, wheels
Cons: it shakes a lot., louder than expected
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Texas

Generator

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is used for a power source in a warehouse where we build frameworks for wheelchair ramps. This item replaces a smaller unit, and is everything I hoped for. Thanks for making it available to us, and the sale price was a great bonus, our organizaion is a non-profit and every penny counts.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for GP5500 5500-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator
from Cologne, Minnesota
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Generally a fair product.

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Delivery was outstanding.
Assembly was easy and instructions were satisfactory.
Muffler is a tad bit on the noisy side. Wish they would charge a few $$ more and design a muffler like Honda.
Pull handle broke the third time I started the generator.
Generator works fine other than that.
Pros: Clear Instructions, Easy Installation
Cons: Quality
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>