728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Hardwood Floor Mop

Hardwood Floor Mop

The Bona Hardwood Floor Mop combines a premium no-residue cleaner in a refillable cartridge with a high-quality microfiber mop. This mop is safe for all types of residential hardwood floors and features a durable and ergonomic design.
Overall rating:
3.684 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product15 of 19reviews
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
3.7 out of 5
5
(11)
4
(0)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product15 of 19reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Hardwood Floor Mop
Review 1 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from Oviedo, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Piece of Junk

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this in March, probably used it 6 times. The spray container crushes in as you use up the cleaner because there is apparently no air review value or it doesn't work. The handle isn't erconomically designed so it hurts your hands after a few minutes mopping. The pump handle on mine has detached from the mop handle making it pretty much useless. Piece of junk, don't waste your money,
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from Chapel Hill, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great concept, flawed design

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It worked really well while it lasted, and the Bona cleaning solution is the best with great cleaning power and leaving no streaks. However, there is a design flaw that makes this mop prone to breakage. There is a spring loaded metal pin that connects the mop head to the handle stick and allows it to move perpendicular to the stick. This pin is flimsy and broke off after just 6 months of twice weekly use. Very disappointing, and I won't purchase another handle until this flaw is taken care of.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: broke after 6 months of moderate use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Response from By Bona USMarch 2, 2015By Bona USMarch 2, 2015
We apologize for the inconvenience; your mop should not have broken like that. Please give our Customer Service Team a call to assist with this issue. Thank you! 800-574-4674
Review 3 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from New Hampshire

OK mop with a 5 star service.

PostedJanuary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have been happily using Bona products for a number of years and found their mops with refillable bottles to be very efficient for regular maintenance of the floors. I have gone through two of these mops so far. Both after a period of time began "sticking" - i.e. spray release handle doesn't recover fast enough to let the air into the bottle and allow for spraying during mopping. While the first mop lasted a good year and a half, the second mop died within 6 months. I was about to post a nasty review, but then saw a phone number in the comments from Bona to one of the reviews here asking to report the quality issues to them. I called the number and they were able to verify my recent purchase momentarily by a Home Depot order number and will be sending me a replacement mop. All in all the call took less than 5 min and the company appears to stand behind their product, so I think the mop is still a good value, as there is no hassle to get a working one in case of a defect. The only other comment I would have for Bona people reading this site is that the handle design can, indeed, be improved. Like some other reviewers I am a bit annoyed by the "pointed" shape of the handle, which makes it impossible to put the mop upright against the wall (it falls to the side). So I always have to pay attention to stick it into a corner when idle...
Pros: Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from Riverbank Ca
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

replacement cartridges

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I purchased this mop several months ago from Home Depot. I had the unfortunate mistake happen, my cleaning person threw away the refillable cartridge thinking you just replace them. So I went to home depot to purchase another cartridge and found out they are discontinued. Its very frustrating to purchase a mop like that which isn't cheap only to find out you can't get replacement parts from the distributor. And my mop has the problem someone else here had, the cartridge slips up so sprayer doesn't work all the time. I have to keep pushing it down. I love the concept just an inconvenience.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: cartridges discontinued
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from Marin County, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great, + a note about the cartridges

PostedNovember 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product works great on my newly refinished oak floors. I had to get used to not spraying too often while mopping because the pad stays damp enough to clean quite a large area.
To the reviewer who wrote that the cartridges are discontinued, maybe your HD doesn't have them but mine does, though maybe that's the last of the supply (I don't know). You can also check Bed Bath and Beyond - they have the cartridges in store and online. Hope that helps.
Pros: Easy to Use, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from Baton Rouge, LA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!!!

PostedDecember 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this item and it works great! I like that I don't have to get the mop and pail out to clean my floors anymore. I tried a steam cleaner, but quickly returned it, because it left a residue on the floor. This leaves no residue and it's quick! If you have hardwoods or laminates, get this mop. You won't regret it!
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use, Effective
Cons: price
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hardwood Floor Mop

Time Saver and Easy to use

PostedApril 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mopping system is easy to use and gets to hard to reach areas. The mop head swivels to easily fit under cabinets and tables. It's a real time saver.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from Pine City., NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible mop.. do not buy

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought not one but two of these mops --- second as a replacement from the first.... after you struggle to get the handle put on, I tried spraying the solution on the floor. In the first mop only a few trickles came out.... in the second mop, I pumped and pumped the trigger and nothing would come out... Now I have to make another trip to return it.... do not buy this mop....
Cons: does not work
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Bona USMarch 11, 2015By Bona USMarch 11, 2015
Hi Debbie, We are sorry you aren't satisfied with your mop. We stand behind all our products 100%, so please contact our Customer Service Team and they will assist with the issue: 800-574-4674. Thank you for your business.
Review 9 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from Slidell, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't waste your money.

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased the floor mop and after using it 3 times it stopped spraying so I returned it and received a 2nd floor mop. I used this one once and it stopped spraying. Don't waste your money!!!
Cons: ineffective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from Littleton
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Needs design improvement

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
This mop is good because you can clean the pads in the wash, they are wide, and when the sprayer works, it is a great mop. The downsides are that it's kinda expensive for the mop alone (bought a replacement), the handle on top is pointed so you can't lean it against a wall, and the bottle holder part gets loose so you have to push it back in every 2-3 mins which is a total pain. I ended up putting duct tape on it to make it stay and returned the replacement mop. Too bad they can't improve the overall design and map it work better.
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Bona USFebruary 24, 2014By Bona USFebruary 24, 2014
Hello, The Bona Mop should not have broken like that. Please contact our customer service department for additional support at : 1 (877) 289-2662. Thank you for returning this information to us as it helps us with quality control. Please accept our apologies for this inconvenience.BonaUS
Review 11 for Hardwood Floor Mop

Excellent hardwood mop!

PostedMay 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This mop is the best mop I have ever used on hardwoods! In the past I've used a regular string mop with vinegar which worked okay except for wringing/rinsing out the mop. With my new hardwoods (manufacturer doesn't recommend vinegar or any mop that will leave the floors wet) I couldn't use a string mop so I was using a sponge mop and spraying bona directly onto the floor. What a pain that was, and it really didn't do a great job! This mop is truly a step up! The mop is heavier than a sponge mop and has a wonderful washable pad that actually scrubs the floor a bit. This makes it really easy to remove spots. I couldn't remove spots well with the sponge mop, and I had to use a lot more cleaner to get the job done. This mop sprays a pretty fine mist and then scrubs the floor which gets the job done really quickly, using a lot less cleaner. The mop head is wide allowing you to finish in less time, and the head swivels some making it really easy to get underneath furniture. I just finished in record time without aggravation, and my floors look great. I had no problem putting this mop together, and everything worked great right out of the box. This mop is worth every penny!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from Placentia, CA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It is so easy to use and does a great job.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Over 80% of our floors are hardwood and I have been using the removable pad mop with a spray bottle to clean them. The Bond mop is so much easier to use as I can have both hands on the mop handle and just squeeze the trigger for more cleaner fluid. I really like the fact that they made it refillable as we have the large containers of the cleaner.
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hardwood Floor Mop

This product is so easy to use and it does the job.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to use and does a good job. It is lightweight as well and easy to manuever.
Pros: Easy to Use, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hardwood Floor Mop

Works well & shines floor nicely.

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bona leaves nothing behind. Unlike many other I have tried. Its also quiet and doesn't wake the baby.
Pros: Great Scent, Cost Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from Hampden, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Nope

PostedJune 19, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Broke the second day I had it. I wasn't too pleased
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

DEFINATLEY A TIME SAVER AND EFFECIENT MOPPING SYSTEM

PostedJuly 9, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bona Hardwood Floor Mop is a good product. It is easy to assemble and use. I use on my hardwood and tile floors. Dries quickly and streak free. I like the fact that you can refill solution bottle and the cloth mop head is washable. Definately a money saver.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from Peoria, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

This mop is so easy to use.

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Suction 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this after a recommendation from a friend for my hardwood floors. It was so easy to use and cleaned the floors beautifully. I also purchased the cleaner for this for my laminate flooring and was amazed at how clean they were with "no streaking". I wished I would have purchased this sooner.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hardwood Floor Mop
from Arvada
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

Excellent product!!

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Weight 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I love, love, love the Bona Hardwood mop. My floors look better than ever! It was actually recommended by the professional who refinished my floors and I am glad that he did!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hardwood Floor Mop

Works Well

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very happy with mypurchase. It does nice job cleaning the floors.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.