728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish

32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish

The Bona 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish adds a high-gloss protective layer and fills in micro scratches, evening out the appearance of floors. This polish is specially designed for wood floors, including factory pre-finished floors.
Overall rating:
4.426 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product52 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(48)
4
(3)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product52 of 59reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
Review 1 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Aberdeen , WA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Read the Directions- Great Polish but it IS High Gloss Polish

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Like most who do research I look for "detailed" information, not just Great-Fabulous, etc. I have seen some blogs and other review sites that have mixed reviews on this product and sometimes lump all the BONA into the same category, i.e. cleaner,applicator and the POLISH. This review is for the
High Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish. I cannot speak for the low sheen Polish and have, frankly, seen worse reviews for the low sheen.
OK, the directions says CLEAN the floor first! Duh? I see many 1 star reviews that say "the floor streaks, the hair from my dog gets stuck, etc. It has to be clean first and BONA's Hardwood floor cleaner does a very good job. So use it!
I found using a normal Grime Boss, Swifter or similar "soft pad" works great at the application of the polish and you have to use generous amounts to keep "the pad wet", as the directions say, and just glide the polish on. Don't rub,scrub,- Just apply a very light pressure. It will "flow on". It may , after the hour plus, need a touch up and you can easily see where the missed spots are as the shine is quite dramatic. If you live in a wet, humid climate, let it dry longer. The person who said her dog left paw prints after 4 hours?? Maybe it was not dry as you live in Alabama and it was humid. Let it dry overnight if unsure. I found in Western coastal WA state ( rainy), with the heat set at 65 degrees, it dried in hour.
I used this on a new engineered hardwood floor and cannot speak for older worn floors, but most reviewers say it works great. I will see how ,long the shine last and report back. Yes it is a little pricey and yes the bottle leaks from the lid. It works well, smells nice and has a great shine.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Meriden
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bona Polish is the Bomb!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was truly impressed by this products performance. I am always in search for the "best" product. I find the outside advertising on product labels promise the world, but do not always deliver. I can say that the Bona high gloss delivered the job and so much more! My floors were left with a new floor look, beautiful shine, dried nicely and were not sticky. This is the bomb floor polish!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, eco friendly
Cons: pricey
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Tucson
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bona works!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Bona products many not be inexpensive, but they work and work well. I have 18 year old hard wood floors. I used Bona cleaner followed by the polish and they look great again. Tried other products in the past that not only did not do the job, but in some instanced they actually damaged the floor. Bona came to the rescue.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Product .. Floors look & feel amazing!

PostedMay 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have handscraped pre-finished hardwood floors. Being that they are hand-scraped, they look great, but are very prone to collecting dirt/dust and also very difficult to clean. Once cleaned, they only stay that way for a few days, so I was looking for a product to lengthen the time between cleanings.
Well I've found it! This polish basically applies some sort of magical layer on top of the hardwood, causing dirt and dust to avoid sticking to it. It's not a permanent solution, but it's better than the once-a-week cleanings that I had to do before, consuming hours of time.
It also feels great on your feet, knowing that the surface is so clean and consistent. I am still getting comments on how great it feels to walk on!
It's a relief knowing I can drop by Home Depot to grab more of this polish when I need it.
Pros: High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Lees Summit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love this product.

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use this product once a month after using Bona Hardwood Floor Cleaner. This product puts a shine on the floors and makes them look brand new. I will continue to use their product as long as I have hardwood floors.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish

Awesome!

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is one of those products that just makes me satisfied I found it. I'm so far from being an expert on how to properly take care of floors, but Bona is so easy to use it's no problem. After cleaning the floor, you just squirt some on and spread it over evenly with some kind of cloth mop. I just double up on the pads that go on the Swiffer Sweeper and use those and throw away after. My floor now instantly has a shiny finish that lasts! And it doesn't have any noticeable smell while using, it does seem non-toxic and gentle. I love it and like other reviewers, have had guests comment on how shiny and nice my floor looks, even weeks after using.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, odor-free
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Bel Air, Maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LIKE NEW!!!!!!!

PostedJune 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this product after watching youtube videos on the best way to clean your hardwood floors. My floors were dingy, dirty and barely had any shine to them. The cleaner worked extremely well with removing all the the dirt and grime. When it came to the polisher, I was AMAZED at how well this stuff works. It was UNBELIEVABLE the shine it brought back to my floors after only 1 application! It goes on super easy, a little goes a long way, and it doesn't leave a sticky feeling! GREAT PRODUCT!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Temecula, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst product I have ever used

PostedMay 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have used Bona floor cleaner on our Brazilian Cherry Wood Floors for years and always liked the product. One day my wife decided that she wanted a higher gloss finish and somewhere she had seen the Bona Hardwood Floor polish recommended.
I always look at customer reviews first and most Home Depot reviewers had positive reviews so we spent a day moving everything out of our rooms then vacuumed the floors followed by damp mopping then lastly the Bona floor cleaner.
I then applied the Bona high gloss floor wax as indicated by their webpage video and we then left our home for about 4 hours to let it dry.
When we returned the floor looked good but within a few days the problems that so many have reported on Amazons website began to appear. I could kick myself for not reviewing this product on Amazons site as there are a lot of unhappy customers that complained about the same problems we started seeing.
In the following couple of days we started seeing scuff marks, dog tracks and a variety of unwelcome visual defects.
The real death blow came about two weeks later when some dirt got left on the floor from a ladder used to change a ceiling light. As I always had done before I went and got our vacuum cleaner set the height adjustment one notch above the bare floor setting and vacuumed up the dirt. As I was checking to see if all the dirt was gone I could see the brush marks on the floor and they remain there today. We have vacuumed our floors for years and we regularly use a Neto xv-21 robot vacuum to pick up the pet hairs. Obviously the Neto can no longer be used as it will cause the same damage as the floor vacuum did.
Now we are left with the prospect of removing the wax and at 70 plus years being on my hands and knees is not a great option. I even went on the web and tried to find a professional floor business that would help but got an email back stating that no one had replied to my request for help removing the wax. I guess if you not intending to strip the floor completely and refinishing it for $3,000 these businesses are not interested.
This product seems to scratch easily, scuffs easily, leaves pet tracks that can’t be easily removed, and will leave you feeling you made a huge mistake.
My final conclusion is that this is an awful product that has left many customers with the same results as we now find myself. Beware and research before purchasing.
Cons: Not Durable, scuffs easily, Scratches Easily, removal product is very expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Response from By Bona USMay 19, 2015By Bona USMay 19, 2015
Watson4664,
Please call 877-289-2662 between 7 am and 5 PM MST Monday thru Friday to discuss your floor.
Response from By Bona USMay 19, 2015By Bona USMay 19, 2015
Watson4664,
Please call 877-289-2662 between 7 am and 5 PM MST Monday thru Friday to discuss your floor.
Review 9 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish

Great!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was very very impressed with the floor cleaner and polish!! Leaves no streaks and look beautiful.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Easy to Clean, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Bloomfield Hills, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Monthly

Wonderful product!

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My husband (a professional finish carpenter) came home with this product yesterday. I was skeptical, to say the least. Our floors need to be refinished, but at a cost of nearly $10,000 to do over 3500 sq. ft., it's not an option right now. Bona took off a good 4-5 years worth of abuse from 4 kids and 2 dogs. I can't wait to see how the floors look after a second coat! Highly recommend for anyone looking to freshen up older oak floors.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish

Easy to apply

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I was very skeptical when I bought this pro duct. But it is very easy to apply the only downside is that you have to wait one hour to walk on it. Also I wish it would be a bit cheaper
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Cumming, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best floor polish I've used!

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We're in the process of renovating a house for sale and used this polish on hardwood floors that are about 10 years old. After just cleaning with water/vinegar we applied two coats of the Bona and the floors look absolutely fantastic! They look like they were just installed and the gloss is beautiful. Everyone that has seen the house asks if the floors are new. I would highly recommend this product..
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Medina Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Shining Floors

PostedMarch 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've used other brands and this one is the best product to use on my floors , I have 3/4 inch thick T/G cherry 800 sq ft... even better with two coats..........24 hours apart ... they are walkable after about 30 minutes depending how warm the room is.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Huntsville,al
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

High gloss polish bad!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used this product to put shine on my floors. After drying for 4 hours my dog walked across floors and left paw prints ! Cannot remove them now have tried bona floor cleaner, no luck diluted vinegar and diluted ammonia no luck. No sure what to try now ruined wood floors only 8 yrs old.
Mad
Cons: permanent mess
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Mpls. MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No difference at all

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After so many positive reviews, I bought the product for our old hardwood floors. I wanted them a little more shiny, since they have no shine. Wanting to test the results, I polished our hallway, only doing half to see the difference. I followed the instructions and ended up doing a second coat 24 hrs later since the first coat did nothing. Even with two coats you cannot tell the difference between the sides. I even asked a friend to take a look and tell me if they could tell which side was polished. They couldn't tell the difference.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: no gloss/shine
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-3points
4out of 11found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By Bona USFebruary 3, 2014By Bona USFebruary 3, 2014
Please contact our Customer Service team to assist at uscallcenter@bona.com or 877-289-2662 from 7 a.m.- 5 p.m MST, Monday through Friday. Thank you.BonaUS
Review 16 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from New Albany Indiana
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Yearly

Excellent Product!

PostedOctober 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been a big fan of a rival floor cleaner/polish for many, many years. The only reason I tried Bona was because they were out of my first choice. Boy! Am I glad they were out!
I've done my whole house (oak hardwood floors) and liked Bona so much I did my daughter's floors.
I think it's a little over-priced, but I'm not complaining too much since it's so darned good!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Chicago
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It really works!!

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I was not sure this product would give my floors the shine that I was looking for, but it really worked!! My hardwood floors were so shiny they looked brand new. The price was a little high but I can see why. You don't need to apply a lot, its quick and easy.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Phila,Pa
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easiest product to use with most favorable results.

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product is the best I have ever used. I have recommended it to many others and we all are of the same opinion. The placement in the store made it easy to see and that is a plus..
Thank you
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Dallas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best on the market

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have been using this Hardwood floor polish for some time and would not buy anything else! Yes, it's a bit more expensive than other hardwood floor polish products but it is worth it! My floors are shiny and look great! I usually reapply every 4-5 months. It is also eco-friendly! Great product!
Pros: High Quality
Cons: a bit pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 32 oz. High-Gloss Hardwood Floor Polish
from Lithonia,GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shine worth your dime!

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The polish is easy to use. Leaves a high gloss shine and dries fairly quickly. May require more than one application for high traffic areas.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
Cons: require monthly or bi-monthly app. for kitchen
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>