728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Compressors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED

6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED

The Porter-Cable 6-Gallon Portable Electric Air Compressor features a 10 Amp motor that can deliver a maximum of 150 psi, and it has an automatic start/stop function. This portable compressor has a single 6-gallon cast-aluminum tank with a tank pressure gauge. The compressor's pump is oil-free.
Overall rating:
3.583 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
70%of customersrecommend this product14 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(5)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
70%of customersrecommend this product14 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
from Austin,Tx

Anything Porter Cable is good.

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First of all anyone who puts down Porter Cable doesn't use tools very much. Your going to get a lemon with any brand occasionally. I have owned two of these pancake compressors. The first one i used everyday,all day, doing finish work. I used it for four years and never had a problem. I lost my job and sold it. I then started building furniture professionally so i bought another one, and i use it everyday, all day, for the last three years and it is still going. It runs my 3 finish guns and my Porter Cable FR350 framing gun with ease. It slams 3inch nails through 2x10 like butter! And the Porter Cable guns that came with the set are unbelievable, i have never blown a seal on one ever! I have used other guns before and they blew seals like popcorn.
+53points
89out of 125found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED

Good product at low price

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This pancake compressor is all the average user needs. This is the second one of these I've bought. Plenty of power for pin tacker to framing nail.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
from Long Island, New York, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great product at a great price.

PostedNovember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm a contractor. I have a lot of tools, a lot of cordless / hoseless tools. I needed a compressor to blow off and keep my valuable tools clean and in top condition. This compressor is light, powerful and does not overload a circuit.
I got it at a great price and added the 2 year extended warranty for another $11- great deal!!
+15points
19out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
from Gig Harobr, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed

PostedOctober 12, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this unit and nail gun sets over three years ago. I used it to install about 2,000 sq ft of 3/4" Brazilian Cherry hardwood flooring and about 300 sq ft of 3/8" Bamboo flooring. I used it also to install all my base boards and crown moldings in our home. Overall, it worked great, but was a bit loud. I recently used it to install more flooring and the regulator failed. As long as I ran the unit continuously, I was able to finish the job. The unit was maintained as recommended, and I always drained the tank after each use. The unit looks new, but its heading for the dumps.
For a homeowner that will use it in a shop occasionally, it will do the job and is a good value, but I would not recommend it for someone who needs to use it more frequently.
I read the reviews on other web sites, and found the problem that I experienced to be a common issue. Pretty disappointed about the quality of this product.
+13points
23out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
from Schiller Park, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

THIS PRODUCT IS GREAT

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this compressor is light small have great 6 gallon tank I can use 2 framing gun and his work perfect
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Be very careful

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this unit for one year and the regulator has failed and now the unit has failed completely. Read the reviews on Porter Cable's web site and see all of the issues that people are having. I was very happy with the product, it should have lasted longer, I will probably buy a different brand judging by the amount of issues I have and the feedback from the websites. It will cost more to repair the compressor than to buy a new one.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
from los angeles
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I would not recommend buying this item

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have bought two of these units and they each failed in the same way. The air release valve at the bottom of the tank is a screw with a rubber gasket. This has to be screwed in and unscrewed after each use in order to empty the condensation that accumulates in the tank. After less than six months each screw began to leak and when it does the compressor cannot be used and it is a headache to have replaced.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
from Norfolk, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and easy

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fired up out of the box, works great with my impacts for the car and with my nailers. Cycles more than my large compressor, but this one is portable. Added second hose connect, works good with two devices. Nice compressor, great price, high value.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

overall quality seems good

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Has performed to my expectations and I have not had any problems with air supply or flow. This is my first compressor but it seems a bit loud but not outrageously so as compared to others I've used.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED

So far so good

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was an Xmas present - so it WILL do what I need from a small compressor which is to run some of my lower air consumption air tools, replacing a 30 year old Craftsman. It is not particularly quiet, but more so then my big one. The so called 'instruction book' is junk. It's a 3 foot by 4 foot sheet, in the required three languages with at least 2/3rds if not more taken up with cautions and safety. Fine, it's required by lawyers, but where are the INSTRUCTIONS and parts lists
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
from West Hills, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Porter Cable usually makes good products--not this time

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The compressor would not hold air in the tank and was continually running, even when not being used. I exchanged it at Home Depot. The second unit seems to do a better job.
No air hose included.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED

Light in weight...

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
By the third or fourth use there was an air leak up under the manifold. I could not find the receipt or else home depot could deal with this poor quality tool. Now the drain valve is leaking and I can tell -from on line comments-that this is a problem!! Avoid this product!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
from Buford, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Brand name at a good price!

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pumps up to 150 lbs fairly quick, cycles on & off fine, works as it should but a little noisy. But I will put up with the noise to save $$, on a clear day I can move it to muffle the noise. I also paid for 2 extra years warranty as security.
It will be fine for car & lawn equipment tires and blowing off my woodworking projects.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
from Fayetteville, AR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great air compressor.

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the purchase of the air compressor. The shipping was very quick and arrived in perfect shape. It runs so smooth and holds air perfectly at the desired pressure.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Regulator broke after 3 uses.

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nothing much more to say about it...the regulator broke (a small piece of platic inside the regulator manifold) after the third use.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

When it works it works well

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I bought this compressor as a kit with three air nailers included. They worked well for exactly one year. Now I need to find out where and how to get the compressor fixed-it leaks air and pressure, somewhere. Hopefully they will correct the situation and my rating will be more favorable, but not yet.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED

we like the portablity of it

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
we have started using it and we love it. we can carry it to where we need it and it will last a long time filled with air.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED

Very good value

PostedDecember 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second unit to leave at my lake cabin for projects.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED
from New York, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Priced right

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Small compressor good for the ocassional around the house usage. Works good for what I need it to do such as blow out inground sprinkler,run impact gun to remove car tires,etc..
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 6-Gal. Portable Electric Air Compressor-DISCONTINUED

Perfect air compressor for my mother in-law

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lightweight easy to use 115 volt air compressor is perfect for my 80 year old mother in-law to operate and use. She loves it.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>