728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel

UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel

UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel offers a lightweight drywall that scores and snaps with minimal dust for a hassle-free cleanup. This panel features a 1/2 in. tapered edge for cleaner-looking joints, providing a panel that is simple to install. Because this gypsum panel is so light, it can be easily toted around the jobsite or home.
Overall rating:
3.78 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product27 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(8)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product27 of 36reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
Review 1 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
Rklsdrivr
from Twin Falls, ID, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

Ultralight Drywall

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ultralight Drywall is really a great product and in my opinion is a long time coming. I have personally installed millions of feet of drywall, everything from lead backed in x ray rooms, to 1/4 inch flex in round entry ways.. Every type and brand there is, I have worked with. Not only is is lighter, it is easier to work with, more rigid that the original. And I do believe when installed correctly it does make a flatter surface. As anyone will tell you drywall in itself is not a perfect product and the results depend entirely on who is working with it. Lightweight drywall does not have and problems the original doesn't. I used 14,000 feet in my personal house.. No sagging on lids, no cracks. All I can say is Thank You and its a long time coming!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 2 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
Jake
from Norfolk, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Light but Sturdy

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was completely surprised with how light and sturdy this sheetrock is. Initially thought it wouldn't hold up once I started cutting it. Did walls and ceiling with it with the help of my wife. Held up quite well and takes mud just as good.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Cons: honestly can't think of one con.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 3 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
wmschmitz

nice lightweight

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
using this for a ceiling in a workshop, lightweight is a plus.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
DIYRob
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well....it's light.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sure it's lighter than the traditional drywall but supposedly it has the same strength. Not quite. If you take a piece of old drywall and dig your fingernail into the gypsum, you can't scratch out anything. If you do the same thing to these new ultralight boards, you can dig it out which concerns me. Doesn't take much to break it either. As I was turning it around, I bumped it against the wall which ended up breaking part of it. Not a big deal since i had to cut it down to size anyway but still. I know we're not suppose to be kicking our walls but they should be able to take some punishment.
Pros: Easy to Install, Straight, Light Weight
Cons: questionable reliability
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 5 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
virgo
from New Orleans, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

good product

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
its standard sheetrock it did its job the value is good
Pros: Easy to Install, Straight, Great Value
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
homer

employee

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good stuff handle it everyday. Wish they would may it in 54 inch would be awesome
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
EddieTheAffordable
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first time hanging drywall and the products that I purchased from Home Depot were excellent to get the job done and easy enough for a first time user. I started with plastic knives because they were cheaper but they lost their edge quickly and felt weak. The flexible blue steel knives were perfect. More expensive but I should have started with them initially to get the job done right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
jerry
from Fairport, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy from beginning to end

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed drywall, went to Home Depot, as usual. I've used the lightweight drywall before so this product was what I was after. I don't have a vehicle capable of carrying drywall, so rented the little HD truck. a HD employee helped load the drywall. He suggested peeling the tape holding the two sheets together from the end away from us when loading it onto the truck, which made unloading it at home simple - just peel tape from the remaining end and pull the sheets off the truck one at a time.
The drywall was for a ceiling in a basement room. I tied a soft rope around my belt, looped it up over my shoulders and behind my neck, back down under the center of a 4x8 sheet (on edge) of drywall and back up on the other side. I just lifted up on the end of the rope, and was able to pick up and maneuver the sheet very easily through a crowded basement room.
The drywall had no voids that I noticed when I had to make some cuts. It scored easily and broke true and clean at the score. It has strength and did not sag overmuch when lifting it to the ceiling. Finishing was normal, joint compound worked normally.
I'll use this item for the rest of the basement when I get time to do it.......
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
coldR

horrible product

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This drywall is light garbage. Cracks so easy and the face paper peels right off. The only ones that make out with this poor product is USG. This company gets to charge us 8 and change per sheet and all u get is more air whipped in the gypsum. Won't buy this again
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
Profacility

Good for one-time customers only.

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes, this is easy to carry, cut, and install. Less clean up as dust is minimized via this new "whipped" formulation.
HOWEVER....I would never use this in my own home or properties. Nor would I use for any long-term customer. The low density has very poor acoustic dampening/absorption and poor insulating quality. Worse, once this is installed, product scratches and dents with almost ANY normal contact such as brushing an arm while walking by, etc.
If this needs patching, you have to get the exact same brand and type as the thickness is not true or universal.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
Cons: Maintenance, strange size, breaks easily, dents easily, Scratches Easily, high sound transfer
+18points
29out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 11 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
TommyT
from Grayslake, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Yes it's light, BUT...............

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I feel like it's a lot lighter and easy to hang on a ceiling by myself, BUT, it does expand and contract enough for All of my seams to have cracked by the next day. In another area where I used regular drywall, no cracks at all. I will not use it again because of this. caused me twice the work in taping!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Noisy
+16points
22out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
Hammerdown
from Pacific, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Great for small Jobs

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hung 163 sheets of 4' X 8'. and 4' X 12' some in a large room. The product is weak and expands and contracts far to much with minimal temperature changes. thus cracking the compund and tape at the joints. I have hung and finished 1000........s of sheets and I won't use this product again.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: weak, expands and contracts with temperature
+22points
32out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 13 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
markv

Great for applications where lighter weight is a plus.

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is great for applications where sound transmission is not a concern, but reduced weight is an advantage. I have had too haul several sheets of these up a ladder into an attic; the reduced weight is appreciated. Other than that, it is just like any othe gyp board.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
FamilyHandyman
from Ypsilanti, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good, but can be brittle

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The sheetrock is definitely lighter weight than the old stuff, or should I say standard drywall. This is a whipped type of sheetrock, incorporating more air bubbles into the product, hence the lighter weight. It does therefore cause the drywall to be more brittle and crack easier. I found this out by attempting to drywall a ceiling. The weight did make it easier to install on a ceiling though. So it has its pros and cons.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Light Weight
Cons: breaks easy, can pucker a corner easily.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
MGonz
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male

Good for standard residential applications

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Have used this product many times - for drywalling bathrooms, and performing repairs. Good lightweight drywall, however, I've found that the edges crumble/crack if you're not careful when handling this. Having worked commercial construction where 5/8" drywall is standard, perhaps I have been accustomed to working with thicker sheets of drywall. Nevertheless, for standard projects around your home, this product is fine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
VetsDrywall
from Beecher, Il.

I will not use anything but this!

PostedJune 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to work with. The weight difference is incredible. It cuts and finishes just as good IF NOT BETTER than regular board. Very little rasping on cuts, most of the time it is not even needed. I would and do recommend this to everyone.
+36points
55out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 17 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
CuLater
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

skeptic turned believer

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The lightweight was nice, especially being the one that had to haul it into the house and downstairs. Apparently studies claim this isn't lighter than the standard, but I beg the differ, after having to carry both types down a set of stairs. It does score and snap easier then the original. Overall, I would definitely recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Work With
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
Andy
from Laurel, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to work with, good quality

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Renovated my attic and had to chose some drywall. This is easy to work with and good quality gypsum. I would recommend it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
PotomacDIYer
from Potomac, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Not sure that this sheetrock is that much lighter than regular sheetrock. It scores and snaps easily, but that also means that this sheetrock is harder and more prone to breaking. Overall a good product.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 20 for UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel
RideBikes
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worthless product - dents and cracks easily

PostedApril 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will not buy this again, nor do I want it in a house I live in. It is "light" because is is full of air bubbles, therefore it dents easy, crack easy on the edges and the paper tears easy.
Give me the thick, heavy durable drywall, no thanks to this marketing scheme of light weight material for walls!
+12points
22out of 32found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>