728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board

UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board

UltraLight 48 in. x 8 ft. x 1/2 in. Gypsum Panel offers a lightweight drywall that scores and snaps with minimal dust for a hassle-free cleanup. This panel features a 1/2 in. tapered edge for cleaner-looking joints, providing a panel that is simple to install. Because this gypsum panel is so light, it can be easily toted around the jobsite or home.
Overall rating:
3.902 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(51 reviews) 51
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product36 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(26)
4
(11)
3
(3)
2
(5)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product36 of 46reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
Review 1 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Quality material at a great price!

PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This drywall is very easy to work with and is very lightweight. One thing I appreciated about this drywall was the paper. Given a good knife, the paper cut easily and didn’t tend to tear. In fact, I really only had to score it before snapping my cut. I also used a couple of different saws on this material with very good results. My keyhole saw works great for manual cutting, and my dremel saw can be set to cut very precisely because the consistency of dimension is perfect every time. This material was easily lightweight enough for me to maneuver by myself. I could actually pick up two sheets with ease and move them around my shop.
For the price, this is a great buy. I highly recommend this drywall for all size construction projects. Home Depot is very competitive on price and this is a quality material that is easy to work with.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from Norfolk, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Light but Sturdy

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was completely surprised with how light and sturdy this sheetrock is. Initially thought it wouldn't hold up once I started cutting it. Did walls and ceiling with it with the help of my wife. Held up quite well and takes mud just as good.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
Cons: honestly can't think of one con.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 3 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from Twin Falls, ID, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Daily

Ultralight Drywall

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ultralight Drywall is really a great product and in my opinion is a long time coming. I have personally installed millions of feet of drywall, everything from lead backed in x ray rooms, to 1/4 inch flex in round entry ways.. Every type and brand there is, I have worked with. Not only is is lighter, it is easier to work with, more rigid that the original. And I do believe when installed correctly it does make a flatter surface. As anyone will tell you drywall in itself is not a perfect product and the results depend entirely on who is working with it. Lightweight drywall does not have and problems the original doesn't. I used 14,000 feet in my personal house.. No sagging on lids, no cracks. All I can say is Thank You and its a long time coming!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
33out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 4 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from Creedmoor, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Will cover 2nd floor walls & ceilings!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are in the process of putting this Ultra-Light gypsum board up on our 2nd floor which is approx. 600 sq. feet. We could not do this on our own, however, if we did not have a Home Depot panel lifter! It makes it an EZ one-man job!
Because we are in no hurry, we started a few months ago with 10 panels and are now working on the next ten. We only buy and pick up a few each month so by Aug of 2015, we will have our final inspection and will then get our Certificate of Occupancy for our second floor!
No dry wall is light as air, but trust me - this is as light as it's going to get! It's extremely sturdy also, however, unless you treat it roughly - than that's on you!
We will continue to purchase this item from our local Home Depot until such time as we are done!
August 2014
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from Reno, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

It's sheet rock.

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It's sheet rock. It didn't break, it was straight.
Pros: Easy to Install, Straight, Great Value, Economical
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great stuff.

PostedNovember 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
tI've hung a lot of rock over 40 plus years, and this stuff is a dream. The light weight makes a huge difference. It's tougher than ordinary rock, in terms of edges and corners busting--none of those old worries, as long as you're reasonably careful. Maybe a tiny bit harder to cut with a saw, but barely noticeable and you quickly adjust. Breaks clean with much less dust. Win win all around. And a buck per sheet cheaper than the old rock at my local yard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from northampton pa
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

very good product

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Usg products are always good quality and very predictable.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Reliable, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great product

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was my first time hanging drywall and the products that I purchased from Home Depot were excellent to get the job done and easy enough for a first time user. I started with plastic knives because they were cheaper but they lost their edge quickly and felt weak. The flexible blue steel knives were perfect. More expensive but I should have started with them initially to get the job done right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
15out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well....it's light.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sure it's lighter than the traditional drywall but supposedly it has the same strength. Not quite. If you take a piece of old drywall and dig your fingernail into the gypsum, you can't scratch out anything. If you do the same thing to these new ultralight boards, you can dig it out which concerns me. Doesn't take much to break it either. As I was turning it around, I bumped it against the wall which ended up breaking part of it. Not a big deal since i had to cut it down to size anyway but still. I know we're not suppose to be kicking our walls but they should be able to take some punishment.
Pros: Easy to Install, Straight, Light Weight
Cons: questionable reliability
+16points
23out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 10 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from New Orleans, LA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

good product

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
its standard sheetrock it did its job the value is good
Pros: Easy to Install, Straight, Great Value
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board

nice lightweight

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
using this for a ceiling in a workshop, lightweight is a plus.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from Pacific, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Great for small Jobs

PostedOctober 14, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Hung 163 sheets of 4' X 8'. and 4' X 12' some in a large room. The product is weak and expands and contracts far to much with minimal temperature changes. thus cracking the compund and tape at the joints. I have hung and finished 1000........s of sheets and I won't use this product again.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
Cons: weak, expands and contracts with temperature
+30points
40out of 50found this review helpful.
Review 13 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board

Great for applications where lighter weight is a plus.

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product is great for applications where sound transmission is not a concern, but reduced weight is an advantage. I have had too haul several sheets of these up a ladder into an attic; the reduced weight is appreciated. Other than that, it is just like any othe gyp board.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board

Good for one-time customers only.

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes, this is easy to carry, cut, and install. Less clean up as dust is minimized via this new "whipped" formulation.
HOWEVER....I would never use this in my own home or properties. Nor would I use for any long-term customer. The low density has very poor acoustic dampening/absorption and poor insulating quality. Worse, once this is installed, product scratches and dents with almost ANY normal contact such as brushing an arm while walking by, etc.
If this needs patching, you have to get the exact same brand and type as the thickness is not true or universal.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
Cons: Maintenance, strange size, breaks easily, dents easily, Scratches Easily, high sound transfer
+20points
32out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 15 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from Grayslake, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Yes it's light, BUT...............

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I feel like it's a lot lighter and easy to hang on a ceiling by myself, BUT, it does expand and contract enough for All of my seams to have cracked by the next day. In another area where I used regular drywall, no cracks at all. I will not use it again because of this. caused me twice the work in taping!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Noisy
+18points
24out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 16 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from Hilliard, OH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Ultra light drywall

PostedJune 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is about 57% lighter than the regular gypsum sheets.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board

Not that good

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'll concede that it's light, but the paper peels off way too easily. Just sliding it out of my truck caused pieces of the paper to come off. I wish I had spent a little more money and bought the high strength board.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from Denmark, WI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Good bang fer da buck

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product for the price. A bit flimsy but overall works great
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from Beecher, Il.

I will not use anything but this!

PostedJune 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to work with. The weight difference is incredible. It cuts and finishes just as good IF NOT BETTER than regular board. Very little rasping on cuts, most of the time it is not even needed. I would and do recommend this to everyone.
+36points
55out of 74found this review helpful.
Review 20 for UltraLight 1/2 in. x 4 ft. x 8 ft. Gypsum Board
from Ypsilanti, MI, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good, but can be brittle

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The sheetrock is definitely lighter weight than the old stuff, or should I say standard drywall. This is a whipped type of sheetrock, incorporating more air bubbles into the product, hence the lighter weight. It does therefore cause the drywall to be more brittle and crack easier. I found this out by attempting to drywall a ceiling. The weight did make it easier to install on a ceiling though. So it has its pros and cons.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Light Weight
Cons: breaks easy, can pucker a corner easily.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>