728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome

5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome

For convenience and style, replace your showerhead with the American Standard 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome. The 72 in. handshower hose allows for comfortable movement, and the 5 spray settings deliver a variety of water flow options. Suction installation ensures hassle-free setup, and the chrome finish helps enhance the look of your bathroom.
Overall rating:
2.353 / 5
2.4
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
29%of customersrecommend this product5 of 17reviews
Rating Breakdown 17 reviews
2.4 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(10)
Quality 
2.2 out of 5.0
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
29%of customersrecommend this product5 of 17reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
Review 1 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice features, poor quality

PostedMarch 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was replacing a tub with a walk in shower in our cabin. I was sold on the shower head/hand shower selector being at the bottom of the bar, and that it was easy to turn even with wet hands (have another shower / hand shower in our house that is neither) so that my kids would be able to use it. Installation was a breeze.... for me there were no leaks.
But our furnace went out, and the pipes froze. The only casualty in the cabin was the shower heads - the chrome covered plastic rings connecting the pieces broke. Naturally the piece that connects the entire unit to the shower spout is plastic as well as the connector to the hand shower. Oddly enough the parts that aren't ever under any stress are made with real metal.
Although I'd prefer those rings were metal, I can't blame American Standard for them breaking (although it didn't get cold enough for anything else to break or burst in the rest of the cabin including our off-brand 'Glacier Bay' faucets) -- and there are *no* replacement parts for this unit, and so far I can't find any other replacement pieces of plastic to make this thing work again.
Sorry, my grammar teacher would have hated that last sentence.
Long story short, you might get lucky and not have any of the plastic pieces break on you. If so, you have a very functional, somewhat cheap feeling, shower head unit that may last for years. But if you don't beat the odds, you've just wasted a good chunk of money that could have been put towards a decent shower unit. I'm wishing I had saved my money.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Install
Cons: poor quality, lots of chromed plastic, no replacement parts
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
from Ellis, Ks

American Standard shower combo kit

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
we installed this shower combo kit a couple of weeks ago and I absolutely love it!! The only downside is that the suction cup that holds the bottom of the bar tends to come loose quite frequently. I'm going to try the adhesive pad that came with the product and see if this fixes the problem. Overall, i would definitely recommend this product!!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great if you don't want to drill holes in your tile

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this after I purchased a chintzy handheld shower head that leaked and broke during installation. This is not all metal like the $200 plus models, but it is metal where it counts. The nut that goes onto the shower stub is metal so you can tighten it with a wrench and get a good seal. The shower heads and the hose connections are chrome colored plastic, but those were easy to hand tighten and didn't leak. In fact, there were no leaks the very first time I ran water through it which is pretty impressive. Usually I have to fiddle with one fitting or another. It took me about 15 minutes to completely install this shower system. I used the adhesive as the suction didn't work. If it comes loose, I will just silicon it on. Super easy to mount and without having to drill into the tile.
I love handheld adjustable height showers for my kids. When they are having a bath, this reaches far enough down in the tub to rinse their hair. If they are taking a shower, then it can be nice and low on the bar so it matches their height. It looks nice enough that guests will enjoy using it too.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
from Minnesota, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality Shoddy Parts

PostedSeptember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is going back to the Depot.
You'd expect the fitting to be metal. Both ends of the hose leaked and I took it apart to see why. The plastic that mates with the orings in the hose were too rough to provide a proper seal and the oring was too hard of a durometer for the application. When I put the unit back together the plastic fitting cracked with very little force (I should had my seven year old tighten it).
This is the only product that mounted to a shower had the has this feature I could find for a remodel. I would pay more money for quality.
I think I'll try to make one my self and I bet I could do it for less money.
Pros: Easy to Install, Stylish, it's great at wasting money, it's great at wasting time.
Cons: very poor quality, no replacement part because they know its junk, plastic, light duty, poor construction, bad material selection
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
from Portsmouth, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality of product suffers

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Overall a reasonably good product for the money but within 3 months one of the collars on the hose cracked, making it impossible to tighten. I did a temporary repair by using a cable tie to hold the piece together until I find a replacement hose from American Standard or a combination showerhead by a different manufacturer.
Pros: Modern
Cons: poor materials
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
from Fairfax, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

JUNK - Don't Buy If Your Smart.

PostedJune 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews but I still bought it anyway. BIG Mistake. It leaked and no amount of plumbers tape couldn't stop the leaking at the top connection. Returned and got my refund. Be smart and don't buy this model. Its all plastic chrome. Just plain junk.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was very easy to install, 20 minutes. And my 8 year old can now reach the converter and choose which head she wants to use. I had a more expensive one but the converter was located at the top shower head and it was impossible for a child to reach.I got the chrome finish to match the tub faucet but it also comes in a brushed nickel. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it is not made of solid brass but plastic.It's a good value for the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome

This combo kit lives up to the claims of the manufacturer

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this unit at a relatives home and liked it. We bought the 8473000h at Home Depot and are pleased with it.
The installation was easy as long as you followed the directions. As per directions the so called leak is just the draining of the hose. The head gives a satisfing shower spray.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome

A piece of junk

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one leaked right away so brought it back. 2nd one was ok but leaked after one year. the fittings are all plastic and feel extremely cheap. also the lower end of the handle is soft attached to the wall using some sticky stuff which doesnt stay attached after a while so the handle and lower pipe freely swings in air.
Cons: Leaks
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome

SHOWER HEAD 5 SETTING

PostedAugust 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
GREAT I LIKE IT DID HAVE TO BUY SHOWER TUBE THAT WOULD HOOK TO THIS SHOWER THINK IT SHOULD OF BEEN INCLUDED IN THE KIT HOW EVER THESE ARE VERY NICE SHOWER HEADS AND THE KIDS CAN REACH THE DIVERTER SWITCH VERY EASY FOR THEM TO USE HAVE TO GIVE IT A 4 UP
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great, Stylish, Modern
Cons: should of came with maching shower tube
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
from Westlake, OH, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Do not Buy This product

PostedJune 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Shower Hose leaks and had to be returned.
Lower end of the adjustable bar does not stick to the wall with either the suction cup or the double stick tape, had to use epoxy glue.
Also leaked at the top tee where the upper bar connects, I was able to disassemble and replace the o-ring.
American Standard tech support was no help.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome

Unable to install

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Kit seemed unopened, but was missing installation instructions. Unable to get lower end attached to wall. Hose from factory is kinked. Getting my money back ASAP.
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great
Cons: Difficult to Install, poor quality control
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
from McKinney, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Poor Quality!!!

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would not recommend this product. It is plastic and leaks where the shower head pivot's. It sprayed water out of the shower over the curtain and soaked the floor. I have purchased a lot of great products from Home Depot but this was not one.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Broke in about 20 uses

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Where the first shower head meets the spout on the wall this thing started leaking like crazy after less than a month of use. And my kids usually take baths. I'd expect a $78 shower head to last longer than a month. Also, the wall adhesive did not last 3 days. I just found the reciept so I hope I can still take this back. This is the 6th of 9 American Standard products I bought that have had problems rendering them problematic or unusable. The toilets still work though.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Even plumber could not get it right

PostedApril 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Had a plumber come in to install this for us..........first the shower arm was too long, and the bar swung like a pendulum. He tried adhesive twice and it would not stay on. Then it started leaking at the shower head spraying the drywall. Got a shorter shower arm and the shower worked fine without the handheld but, still was a pendulum. $800 later and 5 plumber visits are you kidding?? However, a new shower head and a handheld -- was the whole purpose of purchasing this item. In the end, I found a plumbing supply company that had a diverter that also held the hand held thus doing away with the shower bar. We installed it and it works wonderfully now. I wish American Standard sold the shower head and the hand held by themselves. I would buy just those again and the diverter and then I would be totally happy with it in my Master bath. I may just yet but, we will do it ourselves. The bar system just did not work in our shower/tub.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

If this is American Standards - don't buy.

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
In my opinion this item is not worth the plastic it's made from. I followed the instructions step by step and could never stop it leaking. I finally took it back.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 5-Function Handshower and Showerhead Combo Kit in Chrome

this product is garbage.

PostedOctober 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a cheap plastic piece of junk , I didn't even bother running water thru it. it is all plastic construction and you need to be four feet tall to take advantage.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.