728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Rock Wool or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)

Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)

Are you renovating your home and want to add an extra layer of protection and comfort? Installing Roxul Safe’n’Sound insulation inside interior walls, above ceilings is a great way to improve the fire resistance of your home and reduce unwanted noise between rooms. Made from a non-combustible stone wool, Roxul Safe’n’Sound can withstand intense temperatures of up to 2150F and delays the spread of fire for added safety. Designed with a unique, non-directional high density fibre structure, Roxul Safe’n’Sound provides a better fit against the studs and an excellent barrier to sound. It is also easy to handle and cut with serrated knife for simple installation around doors, wiring and plumbing. And the combination of its natural composition of basalt rock with recycled content along with its GreenGuard Gold indoor air quality certification, Roxul Safe’n’Sound offers you an environmentally friendly choice to help soundproof your next home renovation project.
Overall rating:
4.741 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product21 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(23)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product21 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
Review 1 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
from Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Never going back to fiberglass!

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've owned my home for 6+ years now. After doing some remodeling and running wires in the attic I've found the entire house was insulated in 1969 with pink fiberglass insulation. I wouldn't wish working with fiberglass insulation on my worst enemy! It is nasty, itchy and just dirty. I had done some research and came across Roxul. Since I was insulating the interior walls of a basement bathroom at the time I thought I would give this stuff a try. I needed to insulate not only the walls but also the ceiling and around water pipes which you could hear running above the old drop ceiling. I certainly was not disappointed with this product. Easy to cut, hang and hardly any dirt! Not to mention the sound proofing was great.. After all this is the reason I purchased it. There is also no stapling this insulation as it fits securely between the studs. You get what you pay for. Roxul may be a bit more expensive then the typical fiberglass but it's well worth the price.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NO R value

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Note this product is ONLY for sound and fire resistance. Don't let the term " insulation" fool you. No R value. Will NOT provide any significant thermal resistance. It is a class 1 mineral fiber blanket for INTERIOR WALL use only.
Installed in interior partition wall between the bathroom and the kitchen. Intent is to keep the mice from traveling up the wall and provide some fire & sound resistance.
Little messy but not as bad as fiberglass, easy to install.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
from Great Falls, MT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Roxul is great stuff

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Safe and Sound has NO thermal insulating value. It does have GREAT sound reduction though.
If you are insulating an exterior wall, you need to use their regular ( made of the same stuff but in a different manner ) wall insulation. If you are insulating an interior wall or floor / ceiling to get the best sound reduction....Safe and Sound is the ticket. Regular fiberglass insulation used for sound deadening is almost worthless.
It does cost more than the regular fiberglass insulation but being made from rock means no mildew and it wont burn. ( It does melt at 2,150 degrees in case you wondered )
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: costs more than regular insulation
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)

Great for Blocking Sound

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in a condo with a partially finished basement. They did not take the drywall to the ceiling. So there was a 2 feet gap with just wood in between separating my wall from my neighbor. You could even see through tiny cracks. And you could hear everything. I purchased this product to help with the noise. It has not blocked out everything, but it has reduced the noise significantly. It's thick, easy to cut, great price, better than fiberglass, and I would purchase again! Now just looking for the existing wall soundproofing. This product is great!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
from Cambell, Kentucky
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stone Wool Insulation

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Insulates well and soundproofs good. I only wish the packs were cheaper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Haven't tried the others, but I don't regret it.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this for my basement renovation project which includes a bedroom suite, laundry room and gym/storage. I'm using it to drown out the noise that my nieces and nephews make when they run around the upstairs. I also want to make sure that no one hears me when I have company or play my music.
I havent been able to start sheet-rocking yet but the difference that this product has made is definitely noticeable.
I went with this product because of the benefits that other reviewers stated, such as its durability, value and effectiveness.
I'm very happy.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, High Quality
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent product, performs well, installs easily.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product, installs easily, fits snugly, performs very well . Fireproof, waterproof, not messy at all. Cuts very easily with a kitchen serrated knife (if you use it back and forth quickly like a saw). Not dusty or itchy like fiberglass. I believe its benefits will offset the cost in no time at all for me. I'm installing Safe 'N Sound every room. I also like the Roxul r-30 and the r-15 for exterior walls.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Seals Well, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Best Buy

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fire Proof will not ignite Or melt will float on water repels water, insects and mice hate it made from stone Very dense product compared to fiberglass insulation roxul in a league of its own ck out roxul.com It will give you a demonstration how it stands up to fire and water
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)

Great Insulation

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great high density insulation. I used it to replace existing fiberglass insulation. The fact that it does not absorb water and is fireproof is also a plus.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)

No impressed

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The insulation did help reduce the noise a little, but it is far from soundproofing. Given the cost of the product, I was not impressed.
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)

Great Product but no R-value

PostedJune 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Roxul Safe'N'Sound is great stuff but what the other reviews fail to mention is that this product is not rated for insulating conditioned spaces. The specs clearly state R-Value of Zero. This is for sound and fire protection only.
+3points
10out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
from sitting on my toilet
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

QUIET !

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did the walls and ceiling in my basement bathroom wit
h this Roxul. The rest of the house doesn't need to hear some things ! Easy to cut with a hedge trimmer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
from Bedford, IN 47421, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Doesn't give R value; I would assume its about the same as fiberglass?

PostedApril 4, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered R 30 24x48 batts (5 of them to a pkg) elsewhere and had to wait several days and then 30 minutes after they told me it was there while they tried to find it. The online order from Home Depot was in the store and at the service desk but there was more in a pkg than I touught and gives no R value on PKG or in description/spec's. I assume from the 3 inch thickenes it is somewhere between 13 & 21 R value? I will have to return one bale as I don't need that much as I'm only filling in some windows. I didn't study the specs as I should have and just assumed it would be like the other same brand I got at Lowes.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: no r value and confusing pkging
-22points
1out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
from Wilkes-Barre, PA, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

much improvement over fiberglass

PostedMarch 23, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
great stuff! if your considering using fiberglass DON'T! for a few dollars more its a huge improvement! easy to install and work with. better heat and fire resistances!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
from Bedford, IN 47421, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Pleased with product would buy again when needed.

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
went further than I expected and only problem was it was a little "messey".
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With
Cons: a little messey
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great Stuff! including R-value

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Roxul for 2x4 construction is R-15. R-30 for 2x8 apps
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
from upstate <NY ,USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

3 inch

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
its real nice and feels good, Its fun for the whole family.
Pros: Performs Well
-7points
0out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)

Best insulation you'll ever use

PostedMay 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best insulation you'll ever use. Impervious to fire, water, mold and rodents. Easy to install, much more sound deadening. I for one will never go back to fiberglass, and I suggest to everyone I know to get Rock/Mineral wool insulation.
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12 pieces / package)
Based on the average of (9) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
6 out of 6 recommend this product