728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Rock Wool or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)

Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)

Installing Roxul Safe ’n’ Sound insulation inside interior walls, above ceilings is a great way to improve the fire resistance of your home and reduce unwanted noise between rooms. Made from non-combustible stone wool, Roxul Safe ’n’ Sound can withstand intense temperatures of up to 2150°F and delays the spread of fire for added safety. Designed with a unique, non-directional high density fiber structure, Roxul Safe ’n’ Sound provides a better fit against the studs and an excellent barrier to sound. It is also easy to handle and cut with serrated knife for simple installation around doors, wiring and plumbing. And the combination of its natural composition of basalt rock with recycled content along with its Greenguard gold indoor air quality certification, Roxul Safe ’n’ Sound offers you an environmentally friendly choice to help soundproof your next home renovation project.
Overall rating:
4.523 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product36 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.5 out of 5
5
(32)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5
3.9 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product36 of 40reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
Review 1 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Portland, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good complement to sound proofing effort

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Roxul is a good sound proofing solution, doing better at some frequencies than standard fiberglass. However, at ~$0.70/ft^2 is is almost double the cost of comparable fiberglass. For most people, stick with fiberglass...but if you're willing to spend extra money to get a slightly marginal overall soundproofing solution, this is a good choice.
MY SOLUTION: In 2x10 joist cavity: 5.5" dense fiberglass and 3" Roxul layer. Ceiling: RC-1, double layer 5/8" drywall with green glue 3 tubes/sht. Wall cavity: 1 or 2 layers of 3" Roxul for primary sound walls. Sound walls: RC-1 channel with double layer 5/8" drywall and green glue.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Pleasant View, Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

A step up from fiberglass

PostedMarch 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Definitely better than basic fiberglass insulation for ease of installation and offers better sound absorption. It is somewhat loose compared to Roxul's 4" acoustic insulation, and doesn't have quite as good acoustical properties as the more rigid stuff. I hear some sound guys think they found a cheaper substitute with this stuff, but realize you're giving up some absorption across the whole audible frequency spectrum with this stuff, but definitely a step up from basic fiberglass insulation.
Recommend using the Insul-Knife and associated sharpner for these mineral fiber batts.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Shape, Reliable
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Never going back to fiberglass!

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've owned my home for 6+ years now. After doing some remodeling and running wires in the attic I've found the entire house was insulated in 1969 with pink fiberglass insulation. I wouldn't wish working with fiberglass insulation on my worst enemy! It is nasty, itchy and just dirty. I had done some research and came across Roxul. Since I was insulating the interior walls of a basement bathroom at the time I thought I would give this stuff a try. I needed to insulate not only the walls but also the ceiling and around water pipes which you could hear running above the old drop ceiling. I certainly was not disappointed with this product. Easy to cut, hang and hardly any dirt! Not to mention the sound proofing was great.. After all this is the reason I purchased it. There is also no stapling this insulation as it fits securely between the studs. You get what you pay for. Roxul may be a bit more expensive then the typical fiberglass but it's well worth the price.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Inland Northwest
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase!

PostedFebruary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Classic example of me buying something because of solid reviews, and I couldn't be happier. We're working on a 525sqft addition. I wanted some kind of sound dampening between interior rooms. Since we're trying to keep the project inexpensive, I was planning to just slap in some standard pink R-13. After seeing the great reviews here, I decided to spend an extra couple hundred dollars to upgrade to this.
Generally, my husband does all the work. Since this Roxul was my decision, he told me to come and install it last night (he was slightly skeptical at the extra expense and still cranky with me about it). I'm a wife in my 30's with absolutely zero construction experience. I installed 3 packages of this in an hour or two last night. I also helped with the exterior wall pink insulation, and I thought this stuff was itchier, but not terrible. Anyway, it fit perfectly between the studs, just press it in. I literally even installed it in some bare, undrywalled on either side walls, and it stayed in just great and husband came in after me and installed the drywall.
We were both very surprised at the sound deadening. We can literally tell the difference when we walk into an area of the addition where this is installed. You can hear the change in your ears (more silent!), wish I could describe it. It seems to suck up footsteps, voices, anything. Even my husband was impressed enough to completely forgive the extra expenditure. I was debating not installing this on the smaller interior closets and other unimportant areas, but now I'm sold on this stuff and will install it on every single interior wall.
Tip: I had a couple of really skinny/narrow spaces in my walls, near doorways, etc. I was able to cram in the scrap pieces that I'd cut out from outlets/switches. It crammed in there really well and stayed put easily, plus a great use of the scrap. Saved me from cutting out a 4-inch strip from a fresh piece.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Great Falls, MT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Roxul is great stuff

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Safe and Sound has NO thermal insulating value. It does have GREAT sound reduction though.
If you are insulating an exterior wall, you need to use their regular ( made of the same stuff but in a different manner ) wall insulation. If you are insulating an interior wall or floor / ceiling to get the best sound reduction....Safe and Sound is the ticket. Regular fiberglass insulation used for sound deadening is almost worthless.
It does cost more than the regular fiberglass insulation but being made from rock means no mildew and it wont burn. ( It does melt at 2,150 degrees in case you wondered )
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: costs more than regular insulation
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Minneapolis, MN
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Much better than fiberglass insulation as a sound dampening agent.

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this and put it in my basement ceiling. I also put it in the walls of my u shaped stairwell and along with a solid wood door at the top of the stairwell it works well. I have yet to move my stereo downstairs but with the subwoofer and speakers in the room right above my basement i cranked it up and went downstairs and i am impressed. I could hear the stereo but it was an impressively low volume. I do have 8 non insulated can lights and I left 3 inch gaps around those so my ceiling is not 100% covered but i noticed a BIG reduction in the amount of music that was going into my basement.
I am really glad i found this stuff. I wish i would have used it 3 years ago when i sound dampened my upstairs laundry room since this stuff will not mold like fiberglass eventually will.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)

Great for Blocking Sound

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in a condo with a partially finished basement. They did not take the drywall to the ceiling. So there was a 2 feet gap with just wood in between separating my wall from my neighbor. You could even see through tiny cracks. And you could hear everything. I purchased this product to help with the noise. It has not blocked out everything, but it has reduced the noise significantly. It's thick, easy to cut, great price, better than fiberglass, and I would purchase again! Now just looking for the existing wall soundproofing. This product is great!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Staten Island, NY, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Haven't tried the others, but I don't regret it.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used this for my basement renovation project which includes a bedroom suite, laundry room and gym/storage. I'm using it to drown out the noise that my nieces and nephews make when they run around the upstairs. I also want to make sure that no one hears me when I have company or play my music.
I havent been able to start sheet-rocking yet but the difference that this product has made is definitely noticeable.
I went with this product because of the benefits that other reviewers stated, such as its durability, value and effectiveness.
I'm very happy.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, High Quality
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Washington, DC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Roxul Safe 'n' Sound Soundproofing Insulation

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am installing a new master bath directly above my family room. With recessed downlights in the family room, I want to attenuate the sound of shower and toilet flushing from above into the TV watching family room. Roxul soundproofing insulation was a perfect solution. With the demo video on the Youtube, the contractor was able to cover not only the joist space above the ceiling and also over the top of the downlights to reduce the sound transmission. The result is exactly what I needed to allow the new master bath upstairs being used while others can watch the TV down in the family room without being disturb by the noise of the plumbing.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)

Better than fiberglass

PostedAugust 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great for sound deadening and not bad for insulation. Officially it is an R-0 but that's only because it hasn't been officially rated. unofficially it is around an R-12.
And if you're trying to soundproof a room, don't forget the acoustic decoupling (hat tracks or the like).
Oh and be sure to watch the youtube demos for good hints.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Best Buy

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fire Proof will not ignite Or melt will float on water repels water, insects and mice hate it made from stone Very dense product compared to fiberglass insulation roxul in a league of its own ck out roxul.com It will give you a demonstration how it stands up to fire and water
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Marin County
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good potential for sound control but...

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The concept is good, the product inventive and environmentally better, the installation a breeze if you have construction respecting the standards. However, I am not sure about the claim of sound reduction even while following the installation instruction to the letter. The price is a little more than one could expect from such product and a few packages came damaged, probably in the handling process by Home Depot.
While there has been some improvement in sound control, it is not the absolute answer to the problem. I had better results between wall by gluing Quiet Rock sheets.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: Inconsistent, not performing as expected
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Malvern, IA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very messy and itchy

PostedApril 11, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Placed this item in a part of the basement ceiling in the floor joists for sound proofing. Loved the video for installation but the video didn't show how to install around electrical wires or plumbing and how to install if you are putting in a drop ceiling. Liked the length of the pieces. The width worked perfectly. Sound proofing is great. It deadens the sound. Cutting with a serrated knife worked great as stated in the video. But is was awful to work with. It was like working with fiberglass insulation without the backing. Price per foot is great. Make sure you wear safety glasses, gloves and mask. It was very messy and itchy. Do not hold with one hand or it will fall apart. Trying to slide it under plumbing was the worst. It would fall apart when pulled which defeats the purpose of sound proofing, The steel fibers get all over. Very difficult to vacuum or sweep up. We will be trying a different brand for the remainder of the basement.
Cons: difficult to install around plumbing, difficult to clean up, falls apart extremely easy
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent product, performs well, installs easily.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent product, installs easily, fits snugly, performs very well . Fireproof, waterproof, not messy at all. Cuts very easily with a kitchen serrated knife (if you use it back and forth quickly like a saw). Not dusty or itchy like fiberglass. I believe its benefits will offset the cost in no time at all for me. I'm installing Safe 'N Sound every room. I also like the Roxul r-30 and the r-15 for exterior walls.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Seals Well, Lots of Features, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)

Great Insulation

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great high density insulation. I used it to replace existing fiberglass insulation. The fact that it does not absorb water and is fireproof is also a plus.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NO R value

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Note this product is ONLY for sound and fire resistance. Don't let the term " insulation" fool you. No R value. Will NOT provide any significant thermal resistance. It is a class 1 mineral fiber blanket for INTERIOR WALL use only.
Installed in interior partition wall between the bathroom and the kitchen. Intent is to keep the mice from traveling up the wall and provide some fire & sound resistance.
Little messy but not as bad as fiberglass, easy to install.
+9points
16out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Cambell, Kentucky
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stone Wool Insulation

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Insulates well and soundproofs good. I only wish the packs were cheaper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Quiet, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Minot, ND
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Easy to Install

PostedFebruary 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It is a good product. Easy to work with. I can't give it a 5 star rating because I have only just installed it. Has made the room quieter. Once the sheetrock gets on it will probably be more noticable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: little messy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This was a carefully researched product for noise dampening and its fire rating

PostedFebruary 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this to deaden the sound transference between basement and upstairs of older home. So far so good. In addition it prevents the spread of fire. We used along with resilient channels on ceiling and walls.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Lots of Features, High Quality, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Safe 'n' Sound 3 in. x 15-1/4 in. x 47 in. Soundproofing Stone Wool Insulation (12-Roll)

greaat stuff and easy to install

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
this was the easiest installation i have had the pleasure of doing
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
Cons: pricey
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>