728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Work Lights or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 30 LED Handheld Work Light

30 LED Handheld Work Light

The Commercial Electric 30 LED Handheld Work Light is designed to provide flexible lighting for either work or recreation. It has a rechargeable battery and can be used as a handheld light or as a stand-alone light source.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product9 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product9 of 14reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for 30 LED Handheld Work Light
Review 1 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light
from Green Bay, WI
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great light!

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have owned this light for over 6 months now and am constantly amazed at it's ability to perform.
No LEDs out, holds a charge, and is an all around good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light

O.K for the price

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rechargable is definitely a plus, but I was a little disappointed at the strength of the light, expected more with the number of led's..also no method of hanging it so ONLY handheld
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: not very bright, no way to hang it, handheld
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light
from Batavia, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad battery

PostedFebruary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had the light for about a year and did not use it that often. I'd guess I recharged it maybe three times, not the batteries wont hold a charge for much longer than ten minutes. Replacement batteries are about $20.
Cons: Short Battery Life
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light
from Fall River, Mass

LED rechargeable work light

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this durable hand held light 2 wks. ago.
Very bright and come w/a.c. charger and d.c. charger.
Took about 5 hrs. to recharge-don't know how long charge will last. Again, very durable and super bright, and agood price!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light
from Pickerington, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful light

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned one for about 1 year. Everything works. Stays charged for a long time. Durable, I have dropped it a few times. (All LEDs still work. Solid metal construction. Nothing has come loose.) Good illumination. Nothing bad to report.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light
from BELMAR, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst purchase ever

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Have two of these lights, used for about one month during Hurricane Sandy, the both worked great for about one month. One light will not charge anymore, the other, the connection for the charger apparently slipped inside the handle of the light and cannot charge that one either.
MADE IN CHINA GARBAGE!!!
Cons: pure garbage
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light
from SD, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a great light

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light is awesome! I've owned it for over 2 years now. It's bright, the battery lasts a long time. It's durable as well, I've dropped it on many occasions. It was still kicking up until this last drop, which was more than I'd expect any light to survive through. I'll be buying another shortly. Buy it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Battery Length, Very Bright, Nice Design
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light
from SD, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It's a great light!

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light is awesome! I've owned it for over 2 years now. It's bright, the battery lasts a long time. It's durable as well, I've dropped it on many occasions. It was still kicking up until this last drop, which was more than I'd expect any light to survive through. I'll be buying another shortly. Buy it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Stylish, Battery Length, Lots of Features, Very Bright, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light

Great Drop light

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use this light for working on vehicles. Magnet base holds light very well in a variety of positions. long run time and cool (not hot) LED lights are great. Rechargable too! Lights like this off the tool trucks are easy 3 times ther price. Long term raod test will tell more about battery/durability. So far, very happy with this light.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light
from florida

Started out OK, but went south fast.

PostedApril 2, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was a great light until the LEDs started going out. I've used it only occasionally for the 9 months or so I have had it. After the first 3 to 4 months I noticed that a couple of the LEDs were out. Since then I have been losing more and at a faster rate. Right now I have only about 1/4 of the original 30 that still work. Very disappointed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works so far but...

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The magnet fell out but that was easily repairable. The lights are too focused for what I thought was a general area light. It is bright enough and has held a charge but I have lost the AC adapter and do not have sufficient information to purchase a new one. Anyone with knowledge of the charging voltage and current please post... center positive too I believe? Thanks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light

This is an awesome rechargeable light

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
You win some, you lose some - with this light I won big. I have had this light for 11 months and have used it constantly a few minutes here and there. I've owned rechargeable flashlights for 20 years and I charge this one much less frequently (about every month or two).
- No LEDs have gone out
- It holds a charge much longer than other rechargeable (non-led) flashlights I have used
- it is brighter than a classic 6v
- It has a a hexagon base and top so you it won't roll when you put it down
- The top spins so you rotate and balance it to change the angle
- an array of 30 LED is bright, white light
The only grumble I have is that the chargers aren't marked with the brand so MARK YOUR CHARGERS immediately - it was a headache making up for my sloppiness
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light
from Dallas/Fort Worth metroxplex
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best rechargable heavy duty flashlight

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have to admit, I own a lot of flashlights but this one has 3 major features that make it stand out above all the others in its class:
1. Rechargable LITHIUM battery like what you have in your cellphone. Lasts a VERY long time on a single charge. I have yet to run the battery down.
2. Heavy duty. It has been dropped so many times that I've lost track. Not because I'm clumsy but because I let my 4 year old granddaughter play with it. I know she can't break it and the lithium batteries don't lose their power over time like NiCad batteries so I don't mind her playing with it.
3. Has a strong battery on one end so that you can stick it to metal and you don't have to ask someone to hold the dang light still for you :)
My ONLY complaint is that I think $25 is a bit over priced. I think more like $19.95 would be more appropriate.
Pros: Easy to Use, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design, lithium batteries last very long
Cons: the price imho is a tiny bit too high, even at this price i would still buy it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 30 LED Handheld Work Light
from Michigan

Good Concept / Terrible product

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these LED work lights starting about three weeks ago. Took it home, charged it, everything seemed great. Great looking, bright and excellent design. It also can be charged in the car which was a big selling point for me. Got it out at the first job of the day and by the end of the job (about two hours or so) the nut fell of the bottom of the light which holds the charging port in place. The port went inside the light and I was not able to get it out to recharge the light. THat was the first one. Took it back, got the second one home. Plugged it in and the charging light went right to green saying it was fully charged. There was no light because the battery was dead. Faulty battery so the second light went back to the store. Ok, I just had a stroke of bad luck. Third times a charm, right!. Took the second one back, got the third one home, charged it and so far so good. First job of the day I got my light out. Used it on and off for about four hours. I went to pick up the light to use it and the top of the light fell off. None of these lights were ever dropped, mistreated or missused in any way. I love the brightness, the design, and the charging options. This could be one of the best lights I ever had if the workmanship was better. I just cant bring myself to take the third light back and exchange it for a fourth. Its costing way to much money and time returning it every other day. Could have been an excellent product but they are cheaply made and barely make it out of the package without falling apart. I will be looking for another light like it that wont fall apart every time I try to use it. I will be sending the company (Commercial Electric) an email telling them about my experience. Beware when buying this product. Keep your receipt if you do.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.