728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Augers & Bits or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit

43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit

The Powermate Earth Auger gives you the power to drill holes for decks, fence posts, tree planting and more. It features a 43 cc engine with a bit speed up to 9,500 rpm for quick, efficient drilling. This hardworking machine includes an 8 in. drill bit for supreme drilling capacity. It is outfitted with a manual recoil easy start fuel delivery system that allows for quick starting ability and a translucent fuel tank that lets you easily keep an eye on fuel levels.
Overall rating:
4.29 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product54 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(35)
4
(19)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product54 of 59reviews
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 43 Answers
Customer reviews for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
Review 1 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Rural Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product for the money

PostedJune 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've drilled only 6 holes so far in sandy soil of south central Colorado. Machine has exceeded expectations. Light weight might make it less effective in rocky soil but works great in the sand. I was able to purchase this machine for what a couple of weekend rentals would have cost. I am going to try it out ice fishing this next winter.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Greensboro, NC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A power house for the size

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I worked in the electrical distribution field for over 24 years, so digging with an auger was not anything new to me. I installed two fences about 22 years ago and hand dug all 135+ postholes. When I started on my current fencing project, I said no way I will hand dig approximately 70 holes again. (22 years older) I shopped around and before making any purchase I had read the only two reviews at that time, one was very negative and one positive. All I can say is WOW, for the buck this is one little power house of a digger. I live in NC and I am digging mostly in red clay and this thing goes through it with no trouble. Now don’t take that as it will go through it like a hot knife through melted butter. After digging my first 19 holes I estimate it took approximately 15-20 minutes per 8” x 24” hole. That is not bad; just try that with a hand set of posthole diggers. Well worth the money and saved time!
The only improvement I could see is, it needs a reverse. If there is a large root on the side of a hole it may cork screw by it and can be difficult to pull the auger back out of the hole. Again it still beats hand digging.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Millbrook, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This saved me so much time!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product for digging holes for 4 X 4 post and also for planting shrubs and trees. Makes a nice hole to begin planting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Maple Lake, MN 55358, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This auger works great.

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this auger in all types of soil and this thing chews it all up.Great auger. Great price also.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Gender:Male

A great product for the money.

PostedMay 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very hesitant that this would preform like I was hoping. It lived up to that expectation and then some. A very easy piece of equipment to use. I didn't have any issues with this auger. I had 16 post holes to dig and this helped me accomplish that task in no time. We just moved into a new construction home in NC and there is nothing but compacted clay and rocks in my yard. Way easier than digging with post hole diggers!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Hanford, CA 93230, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This auger has been a great purchase.

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
This little machine is easy to use and easy to start. I also found it easy to assemble. Has made digging post holes much easier. I also used it to bore the holes for the plants we have planted. If you need a post hole digger this is a great little machine.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from West Virginia, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This is super.

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This auger is so much better than digging by hand or my last power auger's (I've had 3). This one is the best of all it actually digs holes. I have dug post holes by hand and with augers for over 55 years and this is as good as it gets. No auger will dig through rock, but what do expect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Spanish Fort, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THIS IS A LIFE SAVER

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i HAVE USED THIS AUGER FOR 8 MONTHS MOSTLY FOR PLANTING PLANTS AND TREES . I HAVE HAD NO TROUBLE WITH IT AT ALL EASY TO START AND HANDLE
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product for the price.

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product for the price. The only comment I have is the Warm-Cold Start knob markings are confusing. The non-functioning turning knob marking the direction of the Warm-Cold Start positions does not coincide with the functioning Warm-Cold Start lever.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Easy to Store, perfect for the mid-50's lady post hole digger!, reliable on every pull!, perfect for working out in the boonies!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Mountain Home, ID 83647, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent time saver

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great tool for fence poles and tree seedlings. We have quite a few railroad ties to sink with concrete, and this little machine saves a lot of time and backaches. It has the right balance of power to capabilities. When it hits a root or rock and stops, it won't throw you around. Just be patient and clear the hole a few times. Starts easily and is fairly quiet, fully assembled except for attaching auger. Saves a lot over renting if you have a lot of jobs for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Performed perfectly.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product exceeded my expectations. Using it made my work so much easier. Started first time and every time. The quality far exceeded the cost Not much hand digging with this jewel of a tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I absolutely love this Auger!

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I shopped around before ordering this auger on the homedeopt online. It is absolutely $$$$ well spend. . The assembly is very easy. engine started right up....
the engine is not quite big (40cc?), but has plenty of power getting my job done...it just kept going...
I also like the wide butterfly handles. It makes the product very comfortable to use.
Overall, the product looks very well designed and easy to manuver.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good features

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this product is a great product for the price and easy to use
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Shawnee, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The main problems that we had was the operator.
We couldn't drill a strait hole for nothing, thank goodness for the 8 inch auger bit to plant the 4x4 post that we were working with.
The digger worked great in clay but had to raise it up a few times per hole to clean it out. Towards the end of the job, it was getting heavy but with the handle configuration we were able to 2 man it with no problem.
Only took about 10 minutes to assemble, added gas pulled the cord, started right up. Worked perfectly every time.
Bought it because price was about the same as a two time rental figured that after the deck project it would just take up room in the shop. But can already see many more uses around the house. Think it will be alsome to plant trees. Am planning to buy a smaller auger to plant bulbs. Maybe a new fence will be added to my list of uses.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: will wear you out first
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Elmwood Park, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for the price

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Made over 60 holes, great tool after 2 weeks using it very pleased
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Spanish Fort, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a Great tool

PostedMay 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I bought this to help planting stuff in our yard .
Bought one with a 4" bit and it lasted a day.
Got this one fro HD and man was it a great buy .
Starts easy runs and digs great has paid fir itself when you consider its 80 to 85 a day to rent one so in 3 to four days of using it paid for itself
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Mount Prospect, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

life and back saver

PostedMay 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this machine from Home Depot to dig 41 x 38" to 42" holes to build my wooden fence ... of course I had to also purchase the 12" extender to have the reach ... so far I have dug 38 holes and I have to say this baby works great ... it sure is a keeper for the price, much better than renting one, which would cost the same or even more.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from South Carolina
Gender:Male

Great product easy to use

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Could not believe how it went right through roots. Would have taken me weeks to to manually dig holes.
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit

Great tool

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took it out of the box and used it right away. Made lots of holes for a fence. Saved lots of time and money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 43 cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

100 percent better than a posthole digger!

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ordered this for my husband for Christmas. We have been landscaping, put in 7 palms and it was a breeze. Has started 1st pull every time. Is a time saver and easy to use. This is the only auger I found that was all in one.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>