728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit

43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit

The Powermate Earth Auger gives you the power to drill holes for decks, fence posts, tree planting and more. It features a 43cc engine with a bit speed up to 9,500 rpm for quick, efficient drilling. This hardworking machine includes an 8 in. drill bit for supreme drilling capacity. It is outfitted with a manual recoil easy start fuel delivery system that allows for quick starting ability and a translucent fuel tank that lets you easily keep an eye on fuel levels.
Overall rating:
4.292 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(89 reviews) 89
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product79 of 86reviews
Rating Breakdown 89 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(49)
4
(29)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Features 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product79 of 86reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 57 Answers
Customer reviews for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
Review 1 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Gender:Male

A great product for the money.

PostedMay 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was very hesitant that this would preform like I was hoping. It lived up to that expectation and then some. A very easy piece of equipment to use. I didn't have any issues with this auger. I had 16 post holes to dig and this helped me accomplish that task in no time. We just moved into a new construction home in NC and there is nothing but compacted clay and rocks in my yard. Way easier than digging with post hole diggers!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Maple Lake, MN 55358, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This auger works great.

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used this auger in all types of soil and this thing chews it all up.Great auger. Great price also.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Spanish Fort, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

THIS IS A LIFE SAVER

PostedSeptember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i HAVE USED THIS AUGER FOR 8 MONTHS MOSTLY FOR PLANTING PLANTS AND TREES . I HAVE HAD NO TROUBLE WITH IT AT ALL EASY TO START AND HANDLE
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Powerful
Cons: none
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Hanford, CA 93230, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This auger has been a great purchase.

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
This little machine is easy to use and easy to start. I also found it easy to assemble. Has made digging post holes much easier. I also used it to bore the holes for the plants we have planted. If you need a post hole digger this is a great little machine.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Easy to Store
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Illinois, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I absolutely love this Auger!

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I shopped around before ordering this auger on the homedeopt online. It is absolutely $$$$ well spend. . The assembly is very easy. engine started right up....
the engine is not quite big (40cc?), but has plenty of power getting my job done...it just kept going...
I also like the wide butterfly handles. It makes the product very comfortable to use.
Overall, the product looks very well designed and easy to manuver.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Millbrook, AL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This saved me so much time!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great product for digging holes for 4 X 4 post and also for planting shrubs and trees. Makes a nice hole to begin planting.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Great Engine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Performed perfectly.

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product exceeded my expectations. Using it made my work so much easier. Started first time and every time. The quality far exceeded the cost Not much hand digging with this jewel of a tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Texas, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

100 percent better than a posthole digger!

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ordered this for my husband for Christmas. We have been landscaping, put in 7 palms and it was a breeze. Has started 1st pull every time. Is a time saver and easy to use. This is the only auger I found that was all in one.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Weimar, TX 78962, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A real time saver

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this in store to start a fencing project at home. I wasn't about to attempt this with regular post hole diggers! Out of the box, all I had to do was attach the auger with the provided.hardware and tools. 10 minutes to review the manual and out to the fence line. This auger started the first time and each time afterwards. I was astonished by the power this unit has! Some holes took only a minute to dig, while some harder ones, maybe 5 minutes. This unit had plenty of power to tackle most of the project. A few holes had clay that was too hard and the auger just shaved the clay. That would have taken a good while to dig. I soaked those holes and that worked much better. One serious word of advise - wear a good pad on your left thigh. This thing is really strong, and if you hit rocks or veins of clay, it's hard to prevent it from kicking back and smacking the tar out of your leg.
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product for the price.

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent product for the price. The only comment I have is the Warm-Cold Start knob markings are confusing. The non-functioning turning knob marking the direction of the Warm-Cold Start positions does not coincide with the functioning Warm-Cold Start lever.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Great Engine, Easy to Store, perfect for the mid-50's lady post hole digger!, reliable on every pull!, perfect for working out in the boonies!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Orangevale, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect for digging the holes for fence posts, which is what I needed it to do.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Mountain Home, ID 83647, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent time saver

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great tool for fence poles and tree seedlings. We have quite a few railroad ties to sink with concrete, and this little machine saves a lot of time and backaches. It has the right balance of power to capabilities. When it hits a root or rock and stops, it won't throw you around. Just be patient and clear the hole a few times. Starts easily and is fairly quiet, fully assembled except for attaching auger. Saves a lot over renting if you have a lot of jobs for it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit

Great tool

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Took it out of the box and used it right away. Made lots of holes for a fence. Saved lots of time and money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from South Carolina
Gender:Male

Great product easy to use

PostedDecember 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Could not believe how it went right through roots. Would have taken me weeks to to manually dig holes.
Pros: Great Engine, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Aurora, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best hole digger i ever used

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
good price, solid build, easy to use, and I just love it!
Pros: Powerful, Great Engine, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Tennessee
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great time and Labot Saver

PostedJanuary 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I looked at several power augers and chose the Earth Auger over the others. When I opened the box, I was impressed with the quality of the packaging. I found no damage or missing parts.
During the easy assembly process, I removed the spark plug and dipped it into the fuel mix, that I made (using the provided 2 cycle mix) and reinstalled the spark plug. (this is not part of the Manufactures instructions) I finished the assembly processed and filled the fuel tank. Next, I pumped the fuel primer until the plunger felt firm (4 to 5 times) and turned the ignition switch OFF. Pulled the starter cord once. Set the choke to full on and the Starter switch to ON. Pulled the starter cord one time and the engine started on the first pull without any problem.
I use this auger in clay soil, with small rocks and shale. Works well, but if you get to a sizable rock, you will have to clear the stone,using a spud bar or a post hole digger. Having used other power auger in the past, I find the Earth Auger's performance is what I expected for the size of the unit.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit

great buy

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased the powermate auger for a fencing project. It is very easily assembled and cranks right up. I was very impressed with its ability to produce a hole the length of the auger in less than a minute. I have not dug all of the holes. I am going to be using this around bushes and trees. this will be the true test. I will report back when I am finished. I will say that I do believe it is worth the money if you multiple holes to dig. If you were to do a John Henry comparison. John Henry would still be on number 1 while the Powermate would easily be on #5.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good features

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this product is a great product for the price and easy to use
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Shawnee, OK, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The main problems that we had was the operator.
We couldn't drill a strait hole for nothing, thank goodness for the 8 inch auger bit to plant the 4x4 post that we were working with.
The digger worked great in clay but had to raise it up a few times per hole to clean it out. Towards the end of the job, it was getting heavy but with the handle configuration we were able to 2 man it with no problem.
Only took about 10 minutes to assemble, added gas pulled the cord, started right up. Worked perfectly every time.
Bought it because price was about the same as a two time rental figured that after the deck project it would just take up room in the shop. But can already see many more uses around the house. Think it will be alsome to plant trees. Am planning to buy a smaller auger to plant bulbs. Maybe a new fence will be added to my list of uses.
Pros: Durable, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight
Cons: will wear you out first
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 43cc Earth Auger Powerhead with 8 in. bit
from Oklahoma
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent auger for the price

PostedApril 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this auger to put up 480 linear feet of fence, about 60 poles. The auger worked like a champ up until the last few poles. By that time, the fish tail and cutting blade had become too worn to cut. I have located the replacement part but for the two components, it is going to cost around $60 dollars.
Over all this is a great cheap tool and should work for most people. It is just no made for large jobs without parts replacement.
Pros: Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>