728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Concrete Blocks & Bricks or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block

8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block

8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block is designed for use in a variety of projects. It features a compression strength of approximately 1,800 psi and weighs 28 lb.
Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
4.9 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product8 of 8reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for 8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block
Review 1 for 8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block
from Texas, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Strong and thoughtfully engineered

PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very heavy duty product. These cinder blocks are excellent for building structures that need to be strong and rigid. I used them as the core of a brick mailbox I built and then tied the exterior brick to the cinder block core with brick ties. The porous nature of these blocks means that they take mortar very well. They have a sculpted center as well that helps you grab hold of the block with your hands. The blocks are pre-notched with holes to allow for you to run wire or plumbing through the blocks if needed. Very quality product.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block
from St. Louis, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No fuss

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually used the blocks for my garden beds. They are low maintenance and look uniform.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
39out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block
from lawrenceville, ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

These Blocks Work Great For Raised Beds

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have probably bought close to 100 of these blocks to use as raised garden beds. If you are careful to line them up nice and straight, they look very nice. I use a depth of two cinder blocks so plant roots can have adequate room to grow. And depending on what you are growing in your raised bed, you can use the holes in the cinder blocks to plant herbs. Also, since I only stack these on top of each other - no cementing- I can move the beds around/change their size as I see fit.
Pros: Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Great Value, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block
from Huntsville, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It's a concrete block

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a number of these to use as a foundation for a storage building. They were all uniform weight and strength (it seems). There were a couple of slightly different design details, but they did not have any impact on the way I was using them. If you get some, make sure you look at each one to be sure they are the same. if it will make a difference for you. Otherwise, they are blocks.
Pros: Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block

Order on line and pick up at store.

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
They are concrete blocks. Liked the fact that I could order and pay on line and when I arrived at the store they were already on a cart ready to be picked up. Only had to load them on the truck. I also appreciated the text message letting me know my order was ready.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block
from Athens, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Product was as advertised. Lite weight made it easy to handle

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product met my needs. Would buy more if needed. Lite weight made it easy to handle
Pros: Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block

It's A Concrete Block.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It's a concrete block, not exactly the pinnacle of 21st century technological achievement. As such, it fulfills the purpose for which I bought it: serve as part of a raised garden.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block
from Killeen, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

EXCEPTIONAL Customer Service! DO order online from this store!

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Cinderblock is cinderblock. The Customer Service I received is what made this an EXCEPTIONAL purchase!
+6points
15out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8 in. x 8 in. x 16 in. Concrete Block
from Arlington, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not used for intended use

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased two blocks to help give some leverage to a cutting project
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.