728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension

StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension

The StealthFlow Downspout Extension is a handy accessory that helps your downspout and gutters empty water away from your home and your foundation. This extension features a flexible downspout connector for easy attachment and helps you prevent soil erosion near your home. The downspout is designed for an unobtrusive look and can be covered with mulch, straw or stones for a subtle appearance.
Overall rating:
4.281 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product26 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product26 of 31reviews
Customer reviews for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
Review 1 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
dh4645
from Duncannon, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great and looks nice. Fit my 2x3 spouts with the included adapter (remove adapter for 3x4), just needed 2 smalls screws i had laying around to secure. Probably didn't need to screw them in, but I wanted to.
Rain from each side of my roof end up at 2 downspouts so when it rains hard, there is a ton of water that was coming out of the normal 90 degree elbow & spout splash...some going back toward the house. Bought these and extensions and also dug down a foot or so and filled with stone so the water can drain properly.
The product is high quality, but very light, so you need to cover with stone or mulch..or just have larger stones on either side like I have on one of mine temporarily. Check the pics.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Shape, High Quality
Cons: light
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
mamaLlama
from Morris, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Purchase frequency:Weekly

The product does what it is advertised to do.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was easy to assemble and install. We have not had a gulley washer rain so I don't know how it will perform under harsh circumstances.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
Catherine
from Coulterville, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Really good product

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed downspout extensions for the barn gutters and needed something the horses couldn't get hurt on nor be able to destroy. These things are excellent. Flexible - the horses have kicked them a couple times and they just move out of the way. They've even stood on them and they didn't crush. Mind you, one of my horses weighs almost a ton. I love that they "slip" on so I can take them off during the summer without a hassle and then just "slip": them back on for winter. I am really happy with these. I really liked that I could buy extra pieces to extend them to whatever length I wanted. Super easy to snap together. Great product. Can't sing it's praises enough.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
Kevin
from Kansas City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Could not make it work

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They look efficient but were not functional. I used them for two years. Even the smallest amount of leaf litter would clog them. Water leaked at where the sections connected together. After two years of trying to make them work, water in basement, erosion around deck piers, etc, I went back to traditional gutter extenders, aluminum downspout extensions and the round flexible extenders.
Cons: Leaks, clogs too easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
Alco
from PA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to install

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install.and appears to be quite durable. I'm a 77-yr. old woman and had no problems setting it up.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
Transplanted
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I was looking for.

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two downspouts in the rear of my home. When it rains, the water draining pools up on our clayish soil. As a result, these areas remain wet or damp for an extended period of time. We were getting ready to do some planting alongside this area and I wanted a way to both extend, and disperse the water throughout this area. I really didn't want it just gushing out of the downspouts as it now does. What I didn't want was an actual length of downspout acting as an extension, or those plastic auto-roll things which don't work.
I was fortunate to find this product and ordered two.
The item is two pieces which clip inside each other. Once once side is within the detentes, it's a little tricky locking in the other side. I found by lifting up the side to be inserted by the edge, I was able to get both sides clipped in much easier than brute force, because that wasn't working.
On the actual flat extension part, there is clearly a top and bottom. The bottom has perhaps 12 holes running alongside it's length to disperse water. These were really small, so I just enlarged them with my drill.
I'm rather disappointed in the fact that on the picture, there appears to be holes alongside the top as well...Well, there are no holes on top, their just dimples. Again with the drill, I just drilled about 5 holes on each side. This way I'll have drainage hole alongside both the top and bottom to lessen the flow out the end.
I really like this product. It's thick PVC, easy to work with, and hides well when covered over with mulch. The only thing you really notice is the round extension coming out of the downspout into the ground.
I think the other reviews mentioning this thing leaking all over the place and not really extending their drainage perhaps didn't fully "lock" the two mating pieces.
What I do know is this:
I spent a lot of time looking for something like this for solving my rain pooling and disbursement issues.
This product works exactly as I hoped it did.
The construction is such that this thing won't break apart on me.
The price is great.
After two big rain storms, I had no leaks like others mentioned, no pooling like before, and the rain dispersed as I hoped it would.
I am very happy with this product, very happy.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight, quality construction., hides well under mulch.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 7 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
msdickerson
from Ashburnham, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very nice way to run your gutter flow

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started using these downspout extensions recently, and I really like the way I can embed these under very little soil, running my gutters out into a lawn area which accepts the flow without issues.
They are simple to dig into the ground needing only a couple inches of depth to place them in, then you can easily mow over them, and will not even notice them.
I originally thought about using 3 inch pipe, into the lawn, but then I have the issue of mowing around the pipes, or making a "dry well" style area for the flow to reside.
These solved my issue very nicely. I highly recommend them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
geevo
from Stewartstown, PA 17363, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works great and hides well in your landscaping

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to snap together and attach to down spout, sections
can be snapped together for any length needed
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Easy to Clean, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
fastenmaster
from Westfield, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent way to get rain away from the house.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read the reviews talking about leaky connections and such and I didn't experience this. I do know that you need to really push to get the pieces to snap together and withoiut that click, the joint is loose and I can see how it would leak. That said, I don't need water tight, I just need directed flow and for this, it works just fine. They say you bury it in the mulch you have in the garden bed, which I was able to do, but keep in mind that the 2" height means you need either a 3" deep bed of mulch or a 1" deep trench to lay it in. Make sure you have a good pitch for the flow and it works fine. I still loose some mulch on heavy downpours, but it's probably onlyt 20% or less of what I used to loose. Elbow is a little stiff to put in the position you need, but the finish of the part is good so no eye sores there.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
lewisinde
from Dover, DE

Great Product (but watch out for the extension pieces)

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. It can be secured to the gutter with screws and the end piece is sturdy and thin as advertised. If this is all that you need, great...My problem is with the separately sold extension pieces. Unless your path slopes downward of about ten degress, the water will leak out between the junctions of the individual pieces and most of it never reach the end of the extension.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
BevyCrockr
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

What I needed for that downspout

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The downspout comes down beside the deck and I have a planted area on the one side. It keeps the water directed where I want and not pounding the dirt and mud up. Love the low profile. I put the landscaping gravel on top and you never know it's there!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
MARY
from BEL AIR, MD 21015
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

downpipe extension works well in our garden

PostedJune 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well and is hidden in the garden under the mulch. Keeps rain water from washing out our mulch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Economical, Light Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
tropicman
from SW Ohio

SMARTEST ON THE PLANET

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No more dumb downspout extensions that are little more than a piece of gutter. Finally someone REALLY put some thought into the design. These are great. They are adaptable to any size downspout regardless of which way it is mounted. They handle any angle and distance (with extensions) away from the downspout and can be concealed under any type of mulch. If you have a problem downspout location, these will solve it.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
netta
from Cleveland, GA 30528, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to install

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was easy to install and works very well. It is strong and long enough to get the water away from my house.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
Goose

Does not work

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The extensions leak at their connection points. In addition, since the extensions flex at their connection points, if you have a long run, you must provide support for each extension to maintain a slope for the water to drain. Water also sits in the groves and doesn't flow easily.
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
Rebel21
from Chino Valley, AZ, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Extensions were just what I needed.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These strong, high-quality downspout extensions were just what we needed to complete our new seamless gutter system on our home. Much better than I expected but Home Depot seldom lets us me down. Thanks HD!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Seals Well, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Cons: none with this product
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
Captwinky
from Ohio
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to use

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Snapped together easy. It was a fair pair. It was easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
Masoncat

Easy to install and use

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had been having problems with water in my basement. The gutters I had installed didn't extend far enough away from the house. When used with the downspout extenders I was able to direct the water away from the house and keep the basement dry.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
tfeir0690
from Hampton, VA

Nice Flowerbeds!

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked well to extend my downspot past my flower beds on the driveway. I really liked how easy it was to completely cover these things with mulch so you hardly see them at all. Installation was fast and easy. It took less than 5 mins per downspout (with a sawsall to cut the old downspout). There are no screws or any other hardware needed to install these. I just wish the local Home Depot store had carried these so I could have gotten them a little sooner, but ordering online took less than a week. I would highly recommend these to anyone!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
veepy

StealthFlow Needs Seal for Connections

PostedMay 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
100% of the water from a medium rain leaked into the mulch at the base of my house, which is exactly where I didn't want it. The product is so leaky, even a slope of 1/4" per foot wasn't enough to make it work. Repeated cleaning and reassembly didn't help.
Invisiflow needs to devise some sort of seal for the connections in the StealthFlow product and make the bottom flat and smooth so it doesn't leave standing water for mosquitos to breed in.
I thought this product would leak a little, but not this bad.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 >>