728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension

StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension

The StealthFlow Downspout Extension is a handy accessory that helps your downspout and gutters empty water away from your home and your foundation. This extension features a flexible downspout connector for easy attachment and helps you prevent soil erosion near your home. The downspout is designed for an unobtrusive look and can be covered with mulch, straw or stones for a subtle appearance.
Overall rating:
4.404 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product45 of 50reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(36)
4
(9)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product45 of 50reviews
Customer reviews for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
Review 1 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Duncannon, PA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great and looks nice. Fit my 2x3 spouts with the included adapter (remove adapter for 3x4), just needed 2 smalls screws i had laying around to secure. Probably didn't need to screw them in, but I wanted to.
Rain from each side of my roof end up at 2 downspouts so when it rains hard, there is a ton of water that was coming out of the normal 90 degree elbow & spout splash...some going back toward the house. Bought these and extensions and also dug down a foot or so and filled with stone so the water can drain properly.
The product is high quality, but very light, so you need to cover with stone or mulch..or just have larger stones on either side like I have on one of mine temporarily. Check the pics.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Shape, High Quality
Cons: light
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 2 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Lake Wales, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

OK, but not great -

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'd recommend this product, but only because it's a bit more convenient to install than its aluminum counterpart. I do like the low profile it offers, plus, the price at HD is better than many other sources. However, the item itself is a bit hyped. For example, I stepped on a single section one day and my whopping 165 lbs actually bent the poly. Granted, that's better what would happen when stepping on an aluminum downspout, but still, hardly SUV weight-bearing material as InvisaFlow's sales vid would have you believe. Finally, the system invariably has small leaks at virtually every seam - unless you have all the sections Perfectly sloped - which tends to be Very tricky.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: Leaks
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Oakland, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

The Stealthy Stealthflow

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The low profile of the product makes it perfect for applications where there is foot traffic. I found it accidentally and wondered why it is only available online. It is the kind of thing that may well draw positive attention on the store shelf.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Stylish, Great Value
Cons: not available for in-store purchase
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Kansas City
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Could not make it work

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They look efficient but were not functional. I used them for two years. Even the smallest amount of leaf litter would clog them. Water leaked at where the sections connected together. After two years of trying to make them work, water in basement, erosion around deck piers, etc, I went back to traditional gutter extenders, aluminum downspout extensions and the round flexible extenders.
Cons: Leaks, clogs too easily
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension

Great Down Spout

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great to move water and allows for easy concealment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Nice product

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension was easy to install. The only problem I had was my ground! LOL Now that the water is away from the house I had to make sure it didn't go toward the shed.
Pros: Easy to Install, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Nicholasville, KY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best down spout diverter

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really easy to install and saved me $200 as that is what contractor wanted to install a down spout diverted underground to keep water away from foundation. I also used and extender and real easy to snap together. Covered with mulch to meet rest of area, walk on it, no problems.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from North Carolina
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I was looking for.

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two downspouts in the rear of my home. When it rains, the water draining pools up on our clayish soil. As a result, these areas remain wet or damp for an extended period of time. We were getting ready to do some planting alongside this area and I wanted a way to both extend, and disperse the water throughout this area. I really didn't want it just gushing out of the downspouts as it now does. What I didn't want was an actual length of downspout acting as an extension, or those plastic auto-roll things which don't work.
I was fortunate to find this product and ordered two.
The item is two pieces which clip inside each other. Once once side is within the detentes, it's a little tricky locking in the other side. I found by lifting up the side to be inserted by the edge, I was able to get both sides clipped in much easier than brute force, because that wasn't working.
On the actual flat extension part, there is clearly a top and bottom. The bottom has perhaps 12 holes running alongside it's length to disperse water. These were really small, so I just enlarged them with my drill.
I'm rather disappointed in the fact that on the picture, there appears to be holes alongside the top as well...Well, there are no holes on top, their just dimples. Again with the drill, I just drilled about 5 holes on each side. This way I'll have drainage hole alongside both the top and bottom to lessen the flow out the end.
I really like this product. It's thick PVC, easy to work with, and hides well when covered over with mulch. The only thing you really notice is the round extension coming out of the downspout into the ground.
I think the other reviews mentioning this thing leaking all over the place and not really extending their drainage perhaps didn't fully "lock" the two mating pieces.
What I do know is this:
I spent a lot of time looking for something like this for solving my rain pooling and disbursement issues.
This product works exactly as I hoped it did.
The construction is such that this thing won't break apart on me.
The price is great.
After two big rain storms, I had no leaks like others mentioned, no pooling like before, and the rain dispersed as I hoped it would.
I am very happy with this product, very happy.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Reliable, Light Weight, quality construction., hides well under mulch.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Ashburnham, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Very nice way to run your gutter flow

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I started using these downspout extensions recently, and I really like the way I can embed these under very little soil, running my gutters out into a lawn area which accepts the flow without issues.
They are simple to dig into the ground needing only a couple inches of depth to place them in, then you can easily mow over them, and will not even notice them.
I originally thought about using 3 inch pipe, into the lawn, but then I have the issue of mowing around the pipes, or making a "dry well" style area for the flow to reside.
These solved my issue very nicely. I highly recommend them.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Gastonia, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works as promised

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed two of these extensions at places where water accumulation after rain was a problem. In both cases the products worked very well. Both the downspout adaptor and the flat tube is sufficiently rigid to stay in place. Adequate slope for the water to run freely is important. After the first rain I was able to confirm that the extensions worked well. The price was also very reasonable. I wish I would have installed them years earlier...
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
Cons: none to note
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Allentown,PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Upgrad for drainage

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install and assemble. It's not as easy to see as the large black tubes that had been in it's place.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Charlotte NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Problem solver

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good quality , heavyweight material and easy to install. It also has a neat and clean appearance.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Morris, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Purchase frequency:Weekly

The product does what it is advertised to do.

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product was easy to assemble and install. We have not had a gulley washer rain so I don't know how it will perform under harsh circumstances.
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from PA.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Easy to install

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to install.and appears to be quite durable. I'm a 77-yr. old woman and had no problems setting it up.
Pros: Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Dover, DE

Great Product (but watch out for the extension pieces)

PostedMay 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. It can be secured to the gutter with screws and the end piece is sturdy and thin as advertised. If this is all that you need, great...My problem is with the separately sold extension pieces. Unless your path slopes downward of about ten degress, the water will leak out between the junctions of the individual pieces and most of it never reach the end of the extension.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from SW Ohio

SMARTEST ON THE PLANET

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No more dumb downspout extensions that are little more than a piece of gutter. Finally someone REALLY put some thought into the design. These are great. They are adaptable to any size downspout regardless of which way it is mounted. They handle any angle and distance (with extensions) away from the downspout and can be concealed under any type of mulch. If you have a problem downspout location, these will solve it.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Westfield, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent way to get rain away from the house.

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I read the reviews talking about leaky connections and such and I didn't experience this. I do know that you need to really push to get the pieces to snap together and withoiut that click, the joint is loose and I can see how it would leak. That said, I don't need water tight, I just need directed flow and for this, it works just fine. They say you bury it in the mulch you have in the garden bed, which I was able to do, but keep in mind that the 2" height means you need either a 3" deep bed of mulch or a 1" deep trench to lay it in. Make sure you have a good pitch for the flow and it works fine. I still loose some mulch on heavy downpours, but it's probably onlyt 20% or less of what I used to loose. Elbow is a little stiff to put in the position you need, but the finish of the part is good so no eye sores there.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Hampton, VA

Nice Flowerbeds!

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked well to extend my downspot past my flower beds on the driveway. I really liked how easy it was to completely cover these things with mulch so you hardly see them at all. Installation was fast and easy. It took less than 5 mins per downspout (with a sawsall to cut the old downspout). There are no screws or any other hardware needed to install these. I just wish the local Home Depot store had carried these so I could have gotten them a little sooner, but ordering online took less than a week. I would highly recommend these to anyone!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
from Newmarket, NH
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Built well, works great

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Dead easy to install. Versatile connection capability. Appears rugged. Nice profile.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for StealthFlow Low Profile Downspout Extension
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works really well

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works really well, light weight, easy to use. Efficient.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>