728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Replacement Engines & Parts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix

Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix

TruFuel is the first-ever premixed, ready-to-use fuel engineered specifically for portable 2-cycle gas powered equipment, providing time-saving convenience and superior performance. Advanced formula and fuel stabilizers precisely blended with full synthetic oil keeps fuel fresh for 2+ years after opening and 5+ years unopened.
Overall rating:
4.521 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product42 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(10)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product42 of 46reviews
Customer reviews for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
Review 1 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from FAYETTEVILLE, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best thing ever! Shake it well before use!

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm no stranger to 2-cycle equipment. I was a professional landscaper for several years out of college and I know the importance of using a good 2-cycle mix and PREMIUM fuel. It's also very important to shake well any premixed fuel before using it! That being said, I have a 2-cycle trimmer that's about 3 years old and a stihl chainsaw that's about 5 years old. I had a heck of a time getting the trimmer running from day one. Difficult to start and restart. After that first year I took it out and give it it's first run of it's second season, It took me easily 30 minutes just to get it to turn over, let alone run. I just happened to mention my disappointment in the trimmer itself to the rep at home depot. Long conversation short, he recommended I try Trufuel, and if I continued to have issues with it to bring it back. HOLY COW, NIGHT AND DAY! I've been a happy man ever since. The first year using it, my trimmer started on the first pull, every time. Then to my great surprise, after storing it in my freezing cold garage all winter long... I took it out to use it and it started on the second pull! I started using it in my chainsaw too and what a difference. My saw starts on the first or second pull even after sitting for months, has more power, doesn't bog down anymore, and pretty much runs like new again! As for the cost aspect... if you've ever seen the price difference at the pump for ethanol free gas vs. 10% ethanol gas, than you'll have a better understanding of canned fuel pricing. There's an ethanol free station 35 min away from me and 93 octane ethanol free is $5.35/gal vs. $3.69 for the 10% ethanol mix. Don't get me wrong, if I was running my saw or trimmer professionally, I'd certainly make the trip and hassle of mixing myself. But together, they run no more than a few hours a year. When (AT MOST) 2 cans of this stuff gets me through weed season AND firewood season... with ZERO hassles from my equipment!? This is a no brainer to me!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from Germantown, MD, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expensive but works well

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After a season of mix-it-yourself fuel for the chainsaw I tried this stuff. The saw seems to run more energetically and smoothly with no hiccups and will idle happily without stalling. It's a world easier to pour from this can than from the 1 gallon plastic fuel containers. At 10X the price of pump fuel though I may try a 50/50 combination of this product and the mix-it-yourself stuff.
Pros: Cuts Well, All In One, Easy to Use, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from Eastern PA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Very Happy TruFuel User

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I first tried TruFuel 50:1 pre-mix on the recommendation of my local implement repair shop after I had left gas in my Stihl brush-cutter for about a year, and completely gummed up the carburetor. After the repairs the tool ran well on the trial can of TruFuel, but the price of a can was a bit above my normal range for fuel.
In 2012, when Superstorm Sandy was approaching, I had no already mixed fuel for the brush-cutter (like a weed whacker with an attitude) or the chainsaw. So, I bought a few cans of TruFuel and a spare chain and hunkered down. Cleaning up after the storm passed, I filled both tools with the TruFuel and found that both tools started easily and ran well. And when I was done, I didn't drain the fuel out of the systems.
With some health and job issues, those power tools sat until 10/2014, 2 years since last touched. The tanks of both tools had evaporated dry in the 2 year period. When I realized what I had done, I just rolled my eyes and figured it was going to be repair or replace.
So, I filled the brush-cutter from the can which had been opened 2 years ago and sat half-full on the shelf of my unheated garage. At least I had tightly sealed it. I figured there was nothing to lose. Three presses of the primer. Three pulls with the choke set and it coughed. Set the choke to run, and it started on the next pull. And it ran beautifully on that tankful of 2 years old TruFuel. Full power, smooth and it got the job done.
Chainsaw next. Filled it, and tried to start. No joy. After about 10 minutes I pulled the plug and found it fouled. I cleaned the plug, put things back together and tried again. Stihl Mini-Boss chainsaw. Usually hard to start for me. It kicked after the third pull on cold-start choke position, and then started and ran on first pull in warm-start choke position.
While I don't suggest anyone abuse their tools as I have described, the amazing thing to me is that:
1) Even after allowing about 1/2 tank in each tool to sit 2 years and evaporate dry.
2) The opened can sat (tightly closed) for 2 years on the shelf in the unheated garage (summer and winter)
the tools were not only not destroyed (as I am sure would have happened with regular gas/oil mix), but started readily.
Since I don't do huge amounts of work with these tools, I will be using TruFuel exclusively with them from now on. The extra cost of a can of TruFuel is more than offset by the repair costs and general grief level that would come with "cheaper" pump gas.
In my opinion, the TruFuel pre-mix is a good product, and I categorize myself as a very happy user.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, remarkable fuel for gas tools
Cons: a little on the pricey side (but worth it)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from Northeast Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Hit and miss

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Stihl Farmboss chainsaw and used TruFuel. The place I purchased it recommended I use the ethanol free premix. At about $40 per gallon it is a bit pricy but worth it when you spend 700 bucks on a saw and use it as much as I do. Its worth the investment. Most people have good experiences with TruFuel but a can I purchased glazed my carburetor. Took it in to have it rebuilt but they said it was going to need to be replaced and was not covered under warranty. Raised some Heck (Censored by HD) and Stihl replaced it for free but told me to not use TruFuel because they seem to have quality control issues on occasion.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Easy to Store
Cons: consistency
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from North New Jersey
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, very expensive.

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I buy this TruFuel at my local HD and use it judiciously. I use pump Hi-Test mixed with 2-stroke oil and stabilizer for the majority of the chainsaw/brushcutter season when using the equipment on a daily basis, and the last two uses of the year I run machines completely out of fuel and refill with this instead of pump gas for those last two uses. Does start and run better on this and starts right up after long storage, no question about it. Shake well before use, just like all 2-stroke oil/fuel mixes.
Pros: Easy to Use, good storage fuel, works as advertised
Cons: expensive/gallon
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the Price

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I recently decided to give this a try when my gas trimmer wouldn't start. After doing a little research, I learned that gas and oil mix should be used within 30 days. Well mine was almost a year old. Trufuel obviously cost more but unless you need large quantities of gas/oil mix, it's work every penny. My trimmer started right up after draining the old fuel and using this. I also used this on a 2 cycle generator I recently received and it works like a charm.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix

A little on the pricey side, but it works great!

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This fuel works really well. My two cycle equipment runs great, doesn't smoke, and doesn't have that oily exhaust smell to it. Some of my equipment doesn't even need to be choked for a cold start when running this fuel. It just fires right up.
The price of it is a little expensive. I have a two cycle backpack leaf blower, edger, string trimmer, and hedge clipper. I typically go through less than a gallon of mixed fuel every season. By the time I buy a traditional 2.6oz two cycle fuel oil, and then add some Ethanol Shield and 1 Gallon of Premium gasoline, I figure that I have about $10 invested in a traditionally mixed gallon of 2 cycle mix. Although this product costs about $24 per gallon, the $14 premium every season is worth it to me.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: expensive
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from Michigan
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the expense for small engines

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
When this product first came out I was skeptical that it was actually worth the price. Mixing pump gas and oil is fairly straightforward, especially these days when everything is 50:1. After having used it for several seasons in a Toro trimmer and Echo handheld blower, I can say that Trufuel has exceeded my expecations. Since it's ethanol-free (unlike nearly all pump gas today), there's no need to use a stabilizer and the shelf life is quite long. I had a previously-opened bottle sit in my unheated northern Michigan garage over the past winter. This spring, I poured some into my 7-year old string trimmer and it started and ran without much hassle. My new Echo blower also seems to run much cleaner and reach full power faster with this stuff than with 87 and powerblend oil. Yes, it is expensive, but worth it in my opinion to avoid the frustration and cost of repairs, voided warranties, and poor performance resulting from the use of ethanol-containing gas.
Pros: Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from Claremont, NH, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great in my 2 stroke engines

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A must have for chain saws and trimmers, no more ethanol related service. Expensive, but not as expensive as getting my Stihl repaired every 6 weeks.
Pros: works as advertised
Cons: expensive
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from Texas, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Economical in the long run

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked up a couple of cans of Trufuel 50:1 premix at the same time that I bought my new Echo PB-250LN gas blower at Home Depot in order to start out on the right foot and avoid future problems with my 2-stroke power tool. It seems that there are increasing problems with 2-stroke engines that are caused by ethanol in gas, even when using additives such as Sta-Bil. I use this blower sparingly, and expect to consume at most 2 quart cans of TruFuel per year, which will only cost me about $5 more per year than mixing my own gas and oil, and is well worth avoiding the possibility of costly repairs and running problems.
So far I have used my blower three times, and it has started easily and run cleanly each time. The motor runs strongly and revs quickly to full speed. There is absolutely no visible exhaust smoke and almost no discernible exhaust odors. After shutdown, there is no visible oil or carbon in the muffler, and no gas vapors.
I am very pleased with this product, and feel that it is well worth the added cost over mixing gas and oil.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from seneca sc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedApril 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you add the cost of prem. non ethanol gas and two cycle oil mixed just right this product is not expensive. You don't have a gal. of gas sitting around going stale. Plus my chainsaw and blower start right every time. They also have more power.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from North Brunswick, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Tru Fuel

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We can't store gas at work, so every time we it, we would have to go out and get some gas and mix it with the oil With TruFuel, we can store it without worry of it leaking or gas. It is a little costly, however, about 7 times the price. If the price was a little reasonable, I would like it better.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: too expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix

Works great!

PostedJune 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Although a little on the pricey side, it really keeps the 2-cycle engine clean, and hardly any smell comes out of my trimmer. Great invention, even if it cost a little more than gasoline/oil mix.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix

Great Product

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works as described...My trimmer starts right up. Have been using this product for months. Mix has a good shelf life
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from College Station, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Altho this fuel is a little pricey, I think it's worth the money. It burns very cleanly, doesn't contain ethanol which means the carburator of small engines won't get gunked up, rusted. Eliminates having to have your (weed whacker) engine serviced and doesn't pollute the air. Makes your tool start easily, reliably. It was recommended to me by my service/repairman who had to fix my Toro's carburator! He probably won't have to fix the engine again, but gained my appreciation!!!!!
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Powerful, don't have to mix gas & oil, makes my weedwhacker run like a jet engine
Cons: expensive
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

True Fuel 40:1 Review

PostedJune 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Well I will say. For myself I will not use this in the mower because it's far to expensive.. However, I have a trimmer that I use.. I have alot to trim around the house but can get about 4 trims out of a can.. Yes it's expensive.. No doubt.. My trimmer starts first pull, There is little to no smoke, and I don't smell like gas and oil after I'm done!! I feel I could lay on the couch after I'm done.. I can't say the same when I used to mix... Depending on your use, Would depend on what gas you buy..
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from VA

Excellent substitue to today's ethanol use

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Started using this when my small engines started to fail from long nonuse periods. It is expensive compared to the oil mix, but it will save in the long run not having to replace/repair carburators. When winterizing, recommend place some in the tank and run for a minute (leave some in the tank), use few drops of Marvel Mystery Oil (through spark plug hole) in piston, starts very easily after prolonged nonuse.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting, good on engine components
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from Crestwood, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product takes the hassle out of owning 2-cycle equipment

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I always avoided 2-cycle engines for home use because of the hassle of keeping an extra kind of gas around. This product eliminates that problem and increases engine life by not having ethanol in it which is really hard on 2-cycle engines. Easy pour bottle and convenient size.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Accurate, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

For home use, no comparison.

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this in my chainsaws... here's how I look at it. I can cut about 1-1/2 to 2 cords of wood on a can of TruFuel. I cut maybe 6 to 8 cords a year. So my fuel cost each year is maybe 20 bucks. 5 years down the road, I've spent around 100 bucks on 'canned' fuel and had no fuel related issues. My saws are in great shape. I can put a few cans in the rear cab section of my nice clean truck, the cans don't smell at all and don't leak. They don't spill a single drop when filling the saws either. My saws start on the first pull, every single time.
Ethanol in pump gas corrodes parts in small engines, so 5 years from now if I run pump gas, I'll be rebuilding my saw for more than 100 bucks. And all the while, I'll have the joy of pulling the starter handle thousands of times to try to get the saw to start. Oh also I'll get to spill gas on myself at the pump, and spill some 2 cycle oil while mixing it. And I'll get to smell the gas venting from my plastic gas can while it's sitting in the rear cab section of my truck.
If I had a business and I was using a ton of gas all day, every day, then I would definitely fill up at the pump. But for the relatively little gas that I use in all of my saws and other small engine powered equipment, it's worth it to me to spend the extra money for all the benefits.
Pros: stores for a long time, runs cleaner, prolongs engine life
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Trufuel 50:1 Pre Oil Mix
from Sebastian, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

With only 1 can as yet used,seems positive

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product because I am having the ethanol difficulties and am seeing a vast improvement,so far, in the performance of all my yard equipment.The only negative as yet is the cost, it could be a bit less in price.
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: a bit pricey
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>