728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Storage Bins, Cubes & Totes or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote

12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote

The 12 gallon heavy-duty work-tote is an industrial strength storage container ideal for storage. Attached tops are permanently attached with steel hinges that interlock for stacking strength and security. Stack for maximized storage and nest when empty. Ergonomically designed handles allow for easy lifting. Lids close securely to protect parts from dust or damage.
Overall rating:
2.9 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product10 of 18reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(0)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(8)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product10 of 18reviews
Customer reviews for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
Review 1 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote

New "model" inferior

PostedApril 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The new model doesn't appear to be by Monoflo. Additionally, it's manufactured in Canada, whereas the Monoflos were made in the US. Additionally, these fit well on 4' wirerack shelfing 3 across. The translucent boxes don't as it gets down to fractions of an inch.
The barcode on the US manufactured model reads: 34359 21001. It's product description is "12 Gallon Industrial Strength Storage Container"
I wish I could get more of the old US ones.
Cons: poor quality, foreign product
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
from Oregon
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Bad quality control by the manufacturer and HomeDepot

PostedMay 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The metal pins are not secured and falls out.
I expected a product like the previous bins from Monoflo (Made in USA).
This one is made in Canada and should meet the requested standards by the evaluation process from HomeDepot for a domestic made product.
Pros: High Quality of Material
Cons: manufacturer error, bad evaluation by homedepot procurement, quality control by home depot failed
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
from Tulsa, OK
Gender:Male

Not as good as they used to be but still better than most

PostedApril 18, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased around 12 of these a few years ago from Home Depot. They were sturdy, had thick material and decent hinges. Recently, I needed two more. I was shocked that a large chain store still carried a product i bought in the past and for the same price even. Well, therein lies the catch. It LOOKS the same for the same price. However, the material is much thinner. In fact, I had to sift through the whole stack to find 2 that were not already damaged or that had a hole in the bottom from the injection process. Disappointing. On the other hand, there is still not an option for this exact style and color of storage tote anywhere in the area.
Pros: Durable, Nice Design
Cons: several damaged on shelf, thinner material than in the past
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

New Design and Mold Equal Poor Product

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just got home with these and had one old design to compare. The other reviewers are correct. The mold is different and if you hold the tote up and look at the bottom you will see light around the base. You will not see light around the base of the old tote design. This means there is less resin on the base edge perimeter and is susceptible to breakage as others are discovering. It would seem the OEM Monoflo has changed molder and tool (mold) for this product. Stick to the old design. Heading back to store to return all the new ones for what they have of older design.
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
from brandon, fl
Gender:Male

Commercial Storage Box

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The original design of this product was a high value/high quality product that I bought several (15-20) of for long term storage of household goods.
It has been redesigned to be cheaper to manufacture, and is not nearly as robust as original design. But it costs more. For my application it's still better than the typical tote but I'm looking for alternatives.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: not a robust design, limited "stackability", poor fit when assembled, price goes up while quality goes down.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote

GREAT PRODUCT UNTIL THEY CHANGED THEIR MATERIALS AND DESIGN

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've bought a about a dozen of these early in the year for general storage. It appears that the quality has gone downhill for the tote (also known an attached lid container). At first glance the dimensions are the same but the details are the read giveaway. The older container has a semi-rough surface on the exterior bottom while the newer one has a almost smooth bottom. If you compare the plastic material used in the older container it is a lot more dense. The newer one feels more flimsy and not as rigid. The older exterior has a semi-textured feel around the exterior walls where the newer model is smooth. Prior to purchasing the the tote, I saw multiple containers from different stacks with structural cracks along and near the handles. I counted approximately 10 that had this issue. I hope that Home Depot and Monoflo (manufacturing company) address this issue soon.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote

They don't make 'em like they used to

PostedMay 12, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought 80 of these totes and ended up receiving almost 75 of the Monoflo version which is of very high quality. The others were this "new" version and are extremely lame in comparison, more like a flimsy plastic bin that cracks easily than a solid tote. VERY disappointed that we can't get the Monoflo solid version anymore.
Cons: poor materials
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote

bad bad bad quality

PostedJune 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought 5 of these totes 2 days ago. Bad quality. Lids don't close firmly, product is dented. The metal pin are rusted. Bad, bad, bad!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
from San Diego CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

New mold is terrible.

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
These used to be great. No longer. They are no longer 15 inches wide and no longer fit 3 wide on a 45 inch storage shelf. Plus, the lids don't close securely anymore. The new ones are much worse than the old ones. Can't find a replacement so will continue to use the old ones until they break.
Cons: Appearance
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
from Wylie, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great product, great price.

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these after seeing them online and am very satisfied. I will agree with the previous post that the newer ones lack in quality. My store had 5 of the new style(Smooth and shiny exterior) and 9 of the old style ( Textured with a dull finish). Both containers have the same measurements. I found that three of the new style containers where cracked in the bottom corners while all nine of the old style containers were in perfect shape. So I bought all the old style they had. My advice is to only buy the old style containers since the new containers are obviously made of a cheaper material.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
from New Orleans, LA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

New Design is Cheap

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The old design/mold was good. The new design does not stack with the old design is of poor quality and cracks far easier.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
from Las Vegas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Nice design poor quality

PostedFebruary 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I stacked 3 boxes high and the ones at the bottom didnt hold the weight, they just craked, poor value, I keep going thru a box and it is just shatter, I have other brands and they work perfect this ones they can't stand the cold weather or the heavy use. By the way these were the made in USA, I am taking them back to the store
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: poor quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great storage - to a point

PostedJuly 11, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I must agree with another reviewer, these have change in material, being of an apparent lesser quality - I have older ones holding the same basic stuff (CD/DVD/HD media) standing tall and firm, while my newer 10, stacked 5-6 high in about 6 months, have the bottom two totes bowing out and buckling at the sides and some breaking at the top corners, nearly starting to put adverse weight on the contents - Estimated weight with contents 30-40 lbs per tote - I wouldn't call these "heavy duty", maybe "medium duty". I feel 50 lbs stacked 6 high would be "heavy duty". I can find no weight and/or stacking limits on these totes. As far as I can tell these are the best available at retail - I guess I'll have to look into commercial storage totes.
Note - The manufacture's PDF spec sheet does not list the model being sold here.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male

Great lockable storage

PostedJanuary 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used for tool, hardware, and small supply storage. Easily lockable with a padlock as well. Only drawback is lids do not prevent rain from entering the container, other than that, totes work great for job site storage at customers homes and businesses.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote

These are a true FIND

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are by far the best hinged lid tote or bin on the market. I've broken one in two years. I use these in an industrial setting. I went through an average of 60 a year with the clear bins. I love these and can't wait for Home Depot to carry them in the other sizes.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote

Quality

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These totes were better quality than the other options. They have a metal shaft through the hinge instead of a snap together plastic one. The price is comparable at $9 also. I plan on buying several more.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote

these are great!

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These totes are basically a smaller version of the totes that auto parts stores use to shuttle stuff back and forth between stores and warehouses. They're very sturdy, I have them stacked quite high (I have two stacks right now that are almost to an eight foot ceiling) and loaded with heavy items (tools, car parts, towing accessories, books, etc.) and they don't collapse or even seem to be affected at all. I keep buying more and slowly moving stuff from random cardboard boxes (which collapse if you stack them too high) into these things. They're great for rarely used items that still need to remain accessable, and when the containers are empty they stack much more compactly and there's no separate lids to lose. The only thing that could possibly make these better is not having to use tape to make labels on the ends, but that's a minor quibble. The only downside is availability; I just went to get more today and one of my local stores was completely out and my other one only had maybe 15 of them (I bought eight...)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote

Happened upon an excellent buy

PostedApril 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These bins are awesome. Well manufactured. You can stack these easily. Lock them with a padlock. Great for storing tools. Very Durable. The hinged bi-fold lid is perfect to make this an all one piece storage bin.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
from Newtown, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

great value and holds up

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love these totes, I am moving and great for making small trips and easy to carry!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 12 gallon Heavy Duty Storage Tote
from Forty Fort, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great - but DISCONTINUED!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of setup 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are great, not flimsy, and perfect size to be able to move around without being too heavy or bulky.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.