728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Baled Pine Straw

Baled Pine Straw

The Baled Pine Straw can be used as ground cover and mulch, as well as an addition to your flower beds. This straw can help you create a healthy and attractive landscape while also providing erosion control.
Overall rating:
2.333 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
40%of customersrecommend this product12 of 30reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
2.3 out of 5
5
(6)
4
(4)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(18)
Quality 
2.2 out of 5
2.2 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5
2.6 out of 5
40%of customersrecommend this product12 of 30reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Baled Pine Straw
Review 1 for Baled Pine Straw
from Smyrna, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Inconsistent

PostedApril 5, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
After reading other reviews, we knew to expect some twigs etc. Our first 10 bales came from the Vinings, GA location and were pretty decent...a few twigs but dry & good color. A day later we bought 10 more in Austell, GA and they were disgusting...mold, poor color, weeds, and even a Ziploc bag inside. The bales were also smaller than the ones we bought the prior day (just 7 miles away). In hindsight, we should have returned them after opening the first bale but it just wasn't worth the trouble. My rating is based on the first batch we got. We'll go back to that location when we need more.
Cons: inconsistent from one store to next
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Baled Pine Straw

You get what you pay for

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased 20+ of these bales every spring for the past 4 years. The first batch was good quality but the last 3 years, most bales were half rotten from moisture damage and contained a significant amount of trash. If you want high quality, long-needled pine mulch, I would recommend paying the $5 or $6 per bale at your local plant nursery. Hope this helps. Regards, Todd from Bedford, Va.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Baled Pine Straw
from Mount Juliet, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for the job

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 7 bales of pine needles at Home Depot in Hermitage TN and I thought they were pretty clean. I have spread 5 of the bales so far and in those 5 bales I found 3 pine cones and 2 or 3 sticks per bale. The bales separated well and were easy to spread. The bales came from Browning Straw Company in Alamo GA.
I went to both of the large home improvement stores (Home Depot and Lowe's) and looked at the bales before I purchased them. In my area the stores are directly across the street from each other so that was easy to do. The ones at Lowe's appeared to have a lot more sticks and the price was higher. I am happy with my purchase at Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Install
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Baled Pine Straw
from North Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Poor Quality

PostedMay 25, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 15 bales from the Lancaster SC store. I only had to open 1 bale to see this stuff was garbage. Home Depot should be absolutely ashamed of themselves. This stuff was worse than what I was replacing. I should have known by the way it looked, but foolishly thought when opened it would look better. It was old moldy broken pine needles with sticks and branches throughout, it looked to be 2 or 3 years old. The needles themselves deteriorated inside the bale to the point off turning to a dirt like compost. I returned the remaining 14 bales for a refund. Lesson learned. Don't waste your time or money.
Cons: old moldy pine needles
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Baled Pine Straw
from Atlanta
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very, very poor quality

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just spread 50 bales and the quality of the product was abysmal. Poor, poor color; many of the bales had dusty, grey mildew inside. Virtually every bale had sticks and branches, with diameters in excess of an inch and lengths of 8" and longer.
I spread early this year (February in Atlanta) so I may gotten last season's left over - but not again. I will be going for "value" in future rather than focusing on lowest cost. As one reviewer said "you get what you pay for". In this case - not very much.
Cons: Not Durable, mildewed, contains sticks branches leaves, Poor Color
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Baled Pine Straw
from Lebanon, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality baled pine straw

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a Home Depot customer. I don't know if they would consider me "a good customer" but at least I am frequent. Our store in Lebanon has some of the best workers and I enjoy my relationships with them.
This year it was time to do the pine straw thing and when I went to get my first load of ten bales I noticed how small they had gotten. Same price, just smaller. Now I understand that all retailers want to keep prices "down" so my argument is not here.
But the quality of this years product is well below poor. Now I needed 30 bales to do my home beds but finally decided to stop with the pine straw because I was spreading more leaves and sticks than I had cleaned out of the beds. To finish the project I purchased 20 bags of pine nuggets from them to do the back yard beds. At least they are a dollar less but I need three times as much.
So my friends at Home Depot, I will pay your price for a smaller bale of pine straw but please change your vendor next spring. I would conservatively estimate 10% of each bale is sticks, leaves and cones. That's three bales of trash! I don't want to have to go to the other place......
Cons: too much trash in each bale
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Baled Pine Straw
from Woodstock ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Buy from somewhere else

PostedJune 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If I wanted leaves, sticks, and bark mixed with the pine straw I would have left what fell from my trees.
Very poor quality. Buy from a better source.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Baled Pine Straw
from Lakemont, Ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I purchased pine straw from Clayton Home Depo it was filled with sticks, moss,and weeds. They should pay you to take the stuff.

PostedMay 15, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The pine straw at Clayton, Georgia is not worth 3.67. They should pay the consumer to take it away. Full of sticks, moss, briers, and leaves. Looked as if some one had scraped the ground to get the last little bit. I sure would not call it pine straw.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Baled Pine Straw

Great pine straw

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading the negative reviews I was almost afraid to buy pine straw again this year from HD. I purchased 40 bales and it was great. In 40 bales I found one pine cone, no dirt or sticker vines, and the needles still had alot of spring to them. Good job HD, thanks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Baled Pine Straw
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst pinestraw ever

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its garbage- dont waste your money. Moldy, lots of stuff other than pinestraw. Home Depot needs to rethink what they are selling.....if they cant improve the quality- dont sell it.
Cons: Not Durable, moldy straw, sticks and pine cones, extremely brittle
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Baled Pine Straw
from Augusta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was impressed with quality and quantity. Out of four bales I found around 5 small sticks and no pine cones. None of it was moldy either. So overall I am happy
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Baled Pine Straw
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality Product

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
I bought 14 bales of pine needles and they were full of prickly branches, pine cones - very disappointed! Poor quality product!
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Baled Pine Straw
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disappointed wittrash. h product

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked up five bales from my local store and the pine straw was filled with twigs and lots of trash that I had to pick out of the straw. Wouldn't recommend this product at all.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Baled Pine Straw
from Richmond, VA metro area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay Alternative to Bark/Wood Chip Mulches

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought 50 bales for 3700 sf of new flower beds. HD's 6" pine needle mulch is okay albeit with a small amount of twigs and dust. I am pleased there was NO paper or other trash. If you spread the mulch by shaking and scattering the needles, it covers a considerable area (my 50 bales covered about 75 sf each). BTW, the better quality, longer needle pine-needle mulch (e.g., 9" or longer) is claimed to last longer BUT it costs 3-5 times more. I am satisfied getting started with HD's product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Baled Pine Straw
from Canton, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't Waste your money on HD's Pine Straw !!!!!!

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't know who the supplier is that HD is using now, but the pine straw is PURE JUNK! Totally dried out, molded, and trashy. The 30 bales I bought in Canton, GA were full of leaves, thorny vines full of seed pods, paper, pine cones (a lot of them) and other miscellaneous junk. This straw looked to have spent several years in that tractor trailer - so dry you could crush it into almost dust.
I would rather pay a little more for a quality, full bale of straw. Change your supplier Home Depot; your pine straw is TRASH - especially for the price!!
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, pure junk, trash
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Baled Pine Straw
from Mount Juliet, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another good batch of pine straw

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased 4 bales of pine needles at Home Depot in Hermitage TN and I thought they were pretty clean. I found 2 pine cones and 2 or 3 sticks. The bales separated well and were easy to spread. I will purchase more in the next few days. (My car will only hold 4 bales at a time.)
Pros: Easy to Install
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Baled Pine Straw
from Orange Park, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not much straw, mostly junk

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I fill in part of the yard where the grass doesn't grow each winter so the dogs do not turn it into a wasteland. I recently purchased 8 bales for around $4 each to try instead of my normal regular straw. I normally spend about $35 on regular straw and it last the season. Needless to say, because of the poor quality of this pine straw I will need over double what I already purchased to do the job. The straw was loaded w/ sticks, pine cones, dirt, rocks and mold. The majority was either wet and dirty or moldy in the middle. I got maybe 1 1/2 bales worth out of the 8 and will NEVER buy something like this again.
Cons: Not Durable
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Baled Pine Straw
from Cornelius, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 20 bales. They were so loosely packed that several feel apart when they were picked up. The Home Depot employee that helped me load even mentioned the poor quality. It took all twenty to do an area where I used ten last year. I had to complete the job by buying the remainder of what I needed elsewhere.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Baled Pine Straw
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality Pine Needles

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolute trash. Very dry & brittle, filled with dust, dirt, cones, etc. Should of returned it, but pine straw is extremely inconvenient to return! Please Home Depot find a new supplier!
Cons: low quality product, low coverage
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Baled Pine Straw
from Turtletown, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

mold, sticks, loose wrap, wet

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, took probably 10-15 minutes to get someone to help me load. The pine straw was moldy, wet, loosely packed, and way to many sticks and pine cones. I would suggest going to another source.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 >>