728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Baled Pine Straw

Baled Pine Straw

The Baled Pine Straw can be used as ground cover and mulch, as well as an addition to your flower beds. This straw can help you create a healthy and attractive landscape while also providing erosion control.
Overall rating:
2.64 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product11 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(12)
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product11 of 22reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Baled Pine Straw
Review 1 for Baled Pine Straw
from Mount Juliet, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for the job

PostedNovember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 7 bales of pine needles at Home Depot in Hermitage TN and I thought they were pretty clean. I have spread 5 of the bales so far and in those 5 bales I found 3 pine cones and 2 or 3 sticks per bale. The bales separated well and were easy to spread. The bales came from Browning Straw Company in Alamo GA.
I went to both of the large home improvement stores (Home Depot and Lowe's) and looked at the bales before I purchased them. In my area the stores are directly across the street from each other so that was easy to do. The ones at Lowe's appeared to have a lot more sticks and the price was higher. I am happy with my purchase at Home Depot.
Pros: Easy to Install
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Baled Pine Straw

Great pine straw

PostedApril 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After reading the negative reviews I was almost afraid to buy pine straw again this year from HD. I purchased 40 bales and it was great. In 40 bales I found one pine cone, no dirt or sticker vines, and the needles still had alot of spring to them. Good job HD, thanks.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Baled Pine Straw
from Lebanon, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality baled pine straw

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a Home Depot customer. I don't know if they would consider me "a good customer" but at least I am frequent. Our store in Lebanon has some of the best workers and I enjoy my relationships with them.
This year it was time to do the pine straw thing and when I went to get my first load of ten bales I noticed how small they had gotten. Same price, just smaller. Now I understand that all retailers want to keep prices "down" so my argument is not here.
But the quality of this years product is well below poor. Now I needed 30 bales to do my home beds but finally decided to stop with the pine straw because I was spreading more leaves and sticks than I had cleaned out of the beds. To finish the project I purchased 20 bags of pine nuggets from them to do the back yard beds. At least they are a dollar less but I need three times as much.
So my friends at Home Depot, I will pay your price for a smaller bale of pine straw but please change your vendor next spring. I would conservatively estimate 10% of each bale is sticks, leaves and cones. That's three bales of trash! I don't want to have to go to the other place......
Cons: too much trash in each bale
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Baled Pine Straw
from Mount Juliet, TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Another good batch of pine straw

PostedApril 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 4 bales of pine needles at Home Depot in Hermitage TN and I thought they were pretty clean. I found 2 pine cones and 2 or 3 sticks. The bales separated well and were easy to spread. I will purchase more in the next few days. (My car will only hold 4 bales at a time.)
Pros: Easy to Install
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Baled Pine Straw
from Augusta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was impressed with quality and quantity. Out of four bales I found around 5 small sticks and no pine cones. None of it was moldy either. So overall I am happy
Pros: Vibrant Color, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Baled Pine Straw
from Greenville, SC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

LOW quality / BIG disappointment!

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The landscaping company I use to mow my lawn was charging $5 per bale + $5 to apply each bale at my residence. Admittedly, what they used was a wonderful color and quality product, but for the money I paid them, it was spread very thin and sloppy (tossed all over top/sides of shrubs), so I figured in order to save a little money to achieve the look I wanted, I'd buy a few more bales from Home Depot to add thickness & spread it myself. Well...the price of $4/bale was very appealing and I assumed it would be pretty much the same or close to the same quality of the pine straw the professionals used. Boy was I wrong! Home Depot's pine straw was pure junk!!! Once the strings came off the bales, it was full of twigs, dead leaves, rotten bark and other unidentifiable debris and just looked horrible. I guess some will say you get what you pay for, but I truly wasn't expecting it to be THAT bad! I'm so disappointed. Typically, I only have to apply an application of pine straw once a year, but this stuff broke down so quickly, it looks pitiful less than 4 months later. I'm now having to reapply yet a THIRD application this year to get the desired visual affect I want and the area to be covered is not even large at all! Only 6 shrubs. No trees, flowers or other plants. Very low maintenance. So I thought. Next time I'll be sure to read the reviews first before I purchase. I see so many others have had the same dreadful experience as me. #2thumbsdown
Pros: appealing price, sales assoc loaded product for me
Cons: cheap quality, misleading, not expected from a home improvement giant
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Baled Pine Straw
from Blue Ridge Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked out for my purpose

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The bales of straw appear small but expand alot when cut open. There were some sticks and debris wrapped within the bale but nothing too bad. I used it to mulch the paths around my garden and it's working out well. I ordered this online for local store pickup and it was available to pickup the next day after the truck arrived with a new load.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Baled Pine Straw
from Dawsonville GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would not recommend

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the worst pine straw I have ever purchased. I bought at night or would have never brought it home. Have to borrow pick up or would have taken it back.
No color, rotted, mildewed and the last bale I just put out had briars all in it-never had that before and I've bought a lot through the years.
I had a bale I kept stored from last year and it looked great next to this.
Cons: terrible
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Baled Pine Straw
from Nashville, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality Product

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I bought 14 bales of pine needles and they were full of prickly branches, pine cones - very disappointed! Poor quality product!
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Baled Pine Straw
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst pinestraw ever

PostedApril 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Its garbage- dont waste your money. Moldy, lots of stuff other than pinestraw. Home Depot needs to rethink what they are selling.....if they cant improve the quality- dont sell it.
Cons: Not Durable, moldy straw, sticks and pine cones, extremely brittle
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Baled Pine Straw
from Raleigh

Worst pine straw ever purchased

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Moldy, lumpy, full of twigs. The old straw that I already had in the yard looked better. Ended up dumping it in the woods. Home Depot should stop selling this.
Cons: moldy, discolored, lumpy, twigs, partially decomposed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Baled Pine Straw
from Canton, GA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Don't Waste your money on HD's Pine Straw !!!!!!

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't know who the supplier is that HD is using now, but the pine straw is PURE JUNK! Totally dried out, molded, and trashy. The 30 bales I bought in Canton, GA were full of leaves, thorny vines full of seed pods, paper, pine cones (a lot of them) and other miscellaneous junk. This straw looked to have spent several years in that tractor trailer - so dry you could crush it into almost dust.
I would rather pay a little more for a quality, full bale of straw. Change your supplier Home Depot; your pine straw is TRASH - especially for the price!!
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable, pure junk, trash
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Baled Pine Straw
from Waynesboro, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice Pine Straw

PostedApril 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought two bales today in Waynesboro, VA to try it. The bales were fairly small but quite tightly packed. The pine straw had no mold and very few sticks or pine cones. I was very pleased with the quality and I am going to return for more.
Pros: Functionality, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Baled Pine Straw
from Roswell GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Low quality at a high price

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
It seems every year the bales are smaller and the quality worse. My bales were full of dried weeds and poison ivy. The convenience of Home Depot being around the corner no longer is worth the poor quality.
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Baled Pine Straw
from Greenville, SC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor Quality Pine Needles

PostedMay 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolute trash. Very dry & brittle, filled with dust, dirt, cones, etc. Should of returned it, but pine straw is extremely inconvenient to return! Please Home Depot find a new supplier!
Cons: low quality product, low coverage
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Baled Pine Straw
from Turtletown, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

mold, sticks, loose wrap, wet

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First, took probably 10-15 minutes to get someone to help me load. The pine straw was moldy, wet, loosely packed, and way to many sticks and pine cones. I would suggest going to another source.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Baled Pine Straw
from Richmond, VA metro area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Okay Alternative to Bark/Wood Chip Mulches

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 50 bales for 3700 sf of new flower beds. HD's 6" pine needle mulch is okay albeit with a small amount of twigs and dust. I am pleased there was NO paper or other trash. If you spread the mulch by shaking and scattering the needles, it covers a considerable area (my 50 bales covered about 75 sf each). BTW, the better quality, longer needle pine-needle mulch (e.g., 9" or longer) is claimed to last longer BUT it costs 3-5 times more. I am satisfied getting started with HD's product.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Baled Pine Straw
from Cornelius, NC, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality

PostedApril 10, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 20 bales. They were so loosely packed that several feel apart when they were picked up. The Home Depot employee that helped me load even mentioned the poor quality. It took all twenty to do an area where I used ten last year. I had to complete the job by buying the remainder of what I needed elsewhere.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Baled Pine Straw
from Orange Park, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not much straw, mostly junk

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I fill in part of the yard where the grass doesn't grow each winter so the dogs do not turn it into a wasteland. I recently purchased 8 bales for around $4 each to try instead of my normal regular straw. I normally spend about $35 on regular straw and it last the season. Needless to say, because of the poor quality of this pine straw I will need over double what I already purchased to do the job. The straw was loaded w/ sticks, pine cones, dirt, rocks and mold. The majority was either wet and dirty or moldy in the middle. I got maybe 1 1/2 bales worth out of the 8 and will NEVER buy something like this again.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Baled Pine Straw

Product is good mulching material

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bales are light and easy to distribute and give a good look.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>