728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

Cowboy Fire Pit Grill helps you cook like a true cowboy over an open fire with the fire pit style grill. With its unique fire pit shape you can cook over logs, woodchips and charcoal. Throw some burgers, hot dogs, steaks or large slabs of rib on the fire pit grill for a great camp fire taste.
Overall rating:
4.432 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product29 of 36reviews
Rating Breakdown 37 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(26)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product29 of 36reviews
Customer reviews for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
Review 1 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Newnan, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Grill

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Cowboy grill is better than expected. We were sitting around it to get warm an decided a small pot of low country boil would be good. We threw it in the pot and warm it with our fire, great idea!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Bend, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Cowboy charcoal grill

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
My husband loved his birthday gift. Lots of options with the movable small rack and pot holder. Easy to put together with just a few tools. Sturdy base and great for sitting around a wood fire with friends on our cool high desert nights. There is no lower grate to build a coal fire on to minimize the distance between the coals and the food, so you'll have to over build your fire if cooking on it. Although that does leave a lot of coals for the kids to toast marsh mellows on after dinner. We are also now on the hunt for a cover to fit it when not in use. Haven't found one yet.
Overall a good buy with lots of fun packed in the box.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, fun to share with family and friends
Cons: no coal grate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Mississippi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Customer Service

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have used this grill many times as a fire pit. It's heavy gauge metal construction has held up very well. The chrome pieces rusted a little out doors so I recommend keeping them indoors when not in use. My boys used the grill top to cook on and overheated and warped it. We contacted customer service at RiverGrille and they asked us to send photos and an explanation of what happened. They replaced the part free of charge. That kind of service is hard to find these days and very welcome at our house. Never place to cooking top over an active flame. Cook only over the coals and you will be very happy with this purchase.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Best Charcoal Grill..!!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
"If an open pit grill is what you want buy this grill!
With minimal work to put together you cant beat this for large outdoor grill and general use firepit.
Be aware that this is really not a grill for just a couple of people. You can literally cook 15 good size steaks on this thing. Im looking forward to warmer days when I can have several friends come over with thier own stuff to grill. It will be perfect. Not sure about the rotisary attachment as there isnt any way to keep in place other than standing there holding/turning by hand
Pros: Durable, Dishwasher Safe, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Sanford, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Purchase ever!! A Grill and a firepit all in one!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are very pleased with our purchase, This was easy to assemble and my husband loves it! We were looking for a fire pit and found this grill instead. It now has 2 purposes, ha-ha Thanks Home Depot for carrying this awesome Grill!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from oakland

Don't believe it ..poorley made and rusted in 1 week!

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One week after purchase the chrome parts rusted. That is one cheap grille. Also the the hole in the bottom was not machined correctly so the pipe did not fit it. Lastly the first time we used it the grill warped.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Clean
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Carlsbad CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice fire pit but grill will melt!

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought at Home Depot last night and put it together in about 45 min. Was fairly easy for a guy to do alone...The tub is heavy cast iron which is great and the legs and handles are reasonably study. I loaded 4 red oak logs and used a fire starter mini log to get the fire going. The logs were putting out considerable heat and when I attached the grill it quickly started to buckle and glow red. It became clear I had better remove the grill before it melted or buckled even more making it unusable. I called Customer Service and they are sending me a new grill which is exactly the same is the under-built version I already have. They should have made it from Cast Iron as most bbq's are constructed. We'll at least I'll have a back up grill. If you keep the heat to a low to medium level, the grate might suffice but the jury is still out on that...The fire pit part is great. Hope this helps...
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

excellent product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Surprising quality and features. I use it at my farm and it doubles as a grille and fire pit and does both perfectly. Dutch oven Brunswick stew slow cooked and BBC boar comes out great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

best grill ever

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Finally made one I have been looking for one of these for several years
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from vieques, puerto rico
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great for large groups and paellas

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use my grill commercially, I cook parrilladas and paellas in huge pans.....I mounted my grill on wheels which makes it easy to maneuver and move around....I also remade my cooking mesh out of stainless steel, it last longer and doesn't rust.....heavy to move around
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

Cowboy grill

PostedNovember 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's awesome we have used it to cook on and stay warm by the fire... holds lots of firewood. Love the little arm that we cooked a pot full of chili on!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Bluffton South Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

dissapointing

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first time i started a fire in this grilI, I sat and watched as the grate itself literally buckled and twisted in front of me. This was withing the first 30 minutes of starting the fire.
My wife bought me this grill for Christmas and we are both very disappointed at how cheap the materials are that were used to build certain parts of it.
Now we will see if the manufacturer is prepared to replace the grate with a better quality one. I don't need it to be exchanged for the same poor quality grate again just to watch it bend and buckle again.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

This product is amazing. A great fire pit and grill for the price.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is fantastic. There's a lot of bang for the buck. I got this grill/fire pit for my husband for Christmas. I had looked all over the place for something like this and this was by far more superior than anything else I found.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

Cowboy Style

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great way to cook out! Lots of fun around the pit!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from maryland
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is really great grill. I recommended it for acquaintances.
Pros: Durable, Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Kerrville, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gonna be a great winter around this pit.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This pit is excellent for the money spent. It's sturdy and was only moderately complicated to assemble. Assembly is definitely a two-person job. I like the features like the hanging hook and the grille. It's perfect to get warm around or to cook on.
On the down-side. The screws provided are fairly cheap and will strip-out easily if you're not careful. The grills are also pretty cheaply constructed and will likely wear out fast. It also has a useless drain on the bottom that will clog with ash and wood chips if you try to use it. All of these weaknesses are easily worked around and shouldn't discourage you from investing in this pit.
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Cons: some cheap materials
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

Cant do without

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Absolutely a must have grill for cooking outdoors. Also makes a good fire pit well made for the price. Hope these will stay on the market for the same price and quality made.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

Great charcoal grill!

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great grill for the price! It took a few hours to assemble, but the instructions were very clear and I was impressed that the nuts & bolts were separated out and clearly labeled. Otherwise, we were able easily feed 75 people in a short time using the grill. It worked perfectly, and now we can use it both as a grill or firepit for the chilly fall nights that are rapidly approaching. Great grill at an affordable price. I would recommend to anyone looking to find an affordable charcoal grill that is easy to assemble, feeds a crowd, and will also be used as a firepit. Cheers!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great grill, same as $100 more expensive grill at bass pro shop

PostedFebruary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great grill for the price...works well for the purpose intended...
Pros: Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Medina, TX

Quality built and easy to assemble

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Just put it together and looks like it will last for several years. All parts were there and absolutely nothing missing. Must have been made in America. Had a hard time finding it at Home Depot as they had no display although I saw it at another HD. They would sell of ton of these if they had a display set up for customers to see.
+18points
22out of 26found this review helpful.
1 2 >>