728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

Cowboy Fire Pit Grill helps you cook like a true cowboy over an open fire with the fire pit style grill. With its unique fire pit shape you can cook over logs, woodchips and charcoal. Throw some burgers, hot dogs, steaks or large slabs of rib on the fire pit grill for a great camp fire taste.
Overall rating:
4.449 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product39 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(35)
4
(8)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product39 of 47reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
Review 1 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Much more than just a fire pit

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted a fire pit for those lazy evenings on the back patio when family and friends sit around the fire and just talk. But the well-made, high quality metal fire pits were several hundred dollars. There were pagoda style ones, and weird ball-cages, and most were made of cheap, thin metal - you could see the low quality - and few of them approached 30".
Then I found this. A great, solid, quality fire pit that just happens to also have a grill system and a spit! It doesn't come with a charcoal grate (to raise the wood or coals up off the bottom and create some air space) so I ordered one from Weber. Fits perfectly and puts the coals at just the right distance from the grill to perfectly cook a bunch of delicious porterhouse steaks!
Pros: Durable, Large Cooking Space, Distributes Heat Evenly
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

Cowboy Grill

PostedMay 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We just purchased this grill-we got it together in about an hour (at night with not the best lighting) It seems really well made, we've had a fire in it to season it and all went well. My reason for this review is for people looking for a cover, I found a 35" fire pit for $79.99. We used the fire bowl for the cover. It came with a mesh spark cover we used the ring for that on the pit for lifting. It also came with a cover that when the accessories are taken off will fit over top and all. We think we can use the mesh cover also with some adjustments. Still looking for a top to make a table with the legs.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Bend, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Cowboy charcoal grill

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
My husband loved his birthday gift. Lots of options with the movable small rack and pot holder. Easy to put together with just a few tools. Sturdy base and great for sitting around a wood fire with friends on our cool high desert nights. There is no lower grate to build a coal fire on to minimize the distance between the coals and the food, so you'll have to over build your fire if cooking on it. Although that does leave a lot of coals for the kids to toast marsh mellows on after dinner. We are also now on the hunt for a cover to fit it when not in use. Haven't found one yet.
Overall a good buy with lots of fun packed in the box.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, fun to share with family and friends
Cons: no coal grate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Newnan, Georgia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Grill

PostedJanuary 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This Cowboy grill is better than expected. We were sitting around it to get warm an decided a small pot of low country boil would be good. We threw it in the pot and warm it with our fire, great idea!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Atlanta, Ga
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If it only came with all of the parts...

PostedJune 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The grill was ordered on-line and arrived within the prescribed timeframe, however, it did not come with the required hardware for assembly.
A call to the company to request the hardware was made to request the hardware. I was notified that I had to provide proof of purchase before a hardware package would be sent - which I did.
After the hardware package did not arrive over a week later after the email was sent, a follow up email was sent - where I was informed that the hardware package would be sent out that day.
Film at 11...very poor follow up, poor internal accountability and poor experience. However, they are nice to speak to.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Richland
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What I was looking for!

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was hunting for a barbie (not the toy) and saw smokers and grills and cheap fold away ones. But really wanted something simple, back to nature, yet versatile. Then we found this and its perfect. Easy to construct, sturdy and well made with plenty of extras I'm dying to try. Cleaning also easy. Basically what a barbie should be, me the fire and food (and beer). Just need to find a good cast iron kettle.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Cons: finding a cover
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Mississippi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Customer Service

PostedNovember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have used this grill many times as a fire pit. It's heavy gauge metal construction has held up very well. The chrome pieces rusted a little out doors so I recommend keeping them indoors when not in use. My boys used the grill top to cook on and overheated and warped it. We contacted customer service at RiverGrille and they asked us to send photos and an explanation of what happened. They replaced the part free of charge. That kind of service is hard to find these days and very welcome at our house. Never place to cooking top over an active flame. Cook only over the coals and you will be very happy with this purchase.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Best Charcoal Grill..!!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
"If an open pit grill is what you want buy this grill!
With minimal work to put together you cant beat this for large outdoor grill and general use firepit.
Be aware that this is really not a grill for just a couple of people. You can literally cook 15 good size steaks on this thing. Im looking forward to warmer days when I can have several friends come over with thier own stuff to grill. It will be perfect. Not sure about the rotisary attachment as there isnt any way to keep in place other than standing there holding/turning by hand
Pros: Durable, Dishwasher Safe, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Customer Service

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this product on a whim in-store, just because it was a new way to cook outdoors over live fire that I don't have yet. Was very impressed with the quality and ease of built, but disappointed that the box only had one upright rod for the rotisserie. I sent a same-day email to their customer service department and got a same-day request for shipping address and a copy of the receipt. Had the replacement part within a week - great job! Great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Sanford, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Purchase ever!! A Grill and a firepit all in one!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We are very pleased with our purchase, This was easy to assemble and my husband loves it! We were looking for a fire pit and found this grill instead. It now has 2 purposes, ha-ha Thanks Home Depot for carrying this awesome Grill!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Carlsbad CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice fire pit but grill will melt!

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought at Home Depot last night and put it together in about 45 min. Was fairly easy for a guy to do alone...The tub is heavy cast iron which is great and the legs and handles are reasonably study. I loaded 4 red oak logs and used a fire starter mini log to get the fire going. The logs were putting out considerable heat and when I attached the grill it quickly started to buckle and glow red. It became clear I had better remove the grill before it melted or buckled even more making it unusable. I called Customer Service and they are sending me a new grill which is exactly the same is the under-built version I already have. They should have made it from Cast Iron as most bbq's are constructed. We'll at least I'll have a back up grill. If you keep the heat to a low to medium level, the grate might suffice but the jury is still out on that...The fire pit part is great. Hope this helps...
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Great Falls, MT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome firepit and cooker

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Take the grills off and have a nice bon fire! When the coals get good you can grill and use a dutch oven and rotiseri a chicken or ribs. It is awesome I looked everywhere and this was the best for the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Summerville, SC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great grill

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The grill was easy to assemble. My only problem is that as soon as I put a good fire in it, the grate warped.
The website doesn't show the manufacturer and it doesn't have the information to contact them so I can get a heavier duty grate.
I haven't used the spit yet, but look forward to it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space
Cons: grate warps under high heat
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from oakland

Don't believe it ..poorley made and rusted in 1 week!

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
One week after purchase the chrome parts rusted. That is one cheap grille. Also the the hole in the bottom was not machined correctly so the pipe did not fit it. Lastly the first time we used it the grill warped.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Clean
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I love this grill for my deck. The bowl is well built and we use it as a fire place as well as a bbq grill. The grill part it self could be a better quality as it is really thin Stainless. If you put it over the fire when it is too hot you will warp it. I have read several reviews where people had this very problem but the company did send them a replacement grill of the same type. If mine ever does this I will simly go and get a heavy duty grill to replace this one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Macomb, il
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

love it

PostedJune 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Pros:
Massive bowl
Grill grates are wide and close enough to cook veggies or shrimp
Very sturdy
Heavy
Multiple accessories
Cons:
Requires a lot of wood/charcoal
Grill grates warp slightly with heat
2 person assembly
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

excellent product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Surprising quality and features. I use it at my farm and it doubles as a grille and fire pit and does both perfectly. Dutch oven Brunswick stew slow cooked and BBC boar comes out great.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from vieques, puerto rico
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great for large groups and paellas

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use my grill commercially, I cook parrilladas and paellas in huge pans.....I mounted my grill on wheels which makes it easy to maneuver and move around....I also remade my cooking mesh out of stainless steel, it last longer and doesn't rust.....heavy to move around
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit

This product is amazing. A great fire pit and grill for the price.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is fantastic. There's a lot of bang for the buck. I got this grill/fire pit for my husband for Christmas. I had looked all over the place for something like this and this was by far more superior than anything else I found.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cowboy 31 in. Charcoal Grill and Fire Pit
from Bluffton South Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

dissapointing

PostedDecember 28, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first time i started a fire in this grilI, I sat and watched as the grate itself literally buckled and twisted in front of me. This was withing the first 30 minutes of starting the fire.
My wife bought me this grill for Christmas and we are both very disappointed at how cheap the materials are that were used to build certain parts of it.
Now we will see if the manufacturer is prepared to replace the grate with a better quality one. I don't need it to be exchanged for the same poor quality grate again just to watch it bend and buckle again.
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>