728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Cowboy Charcoal Grill

Cowboy Charcoal Grill

Cowboy Fire Pit Grill helps you cook like a true cowboy over an open fire with the fire pit style grill. With its unique fire pit shape you can cook over logs, woodchips and charcoal. Throw some burgers, hot dogs, steaks or large slabs of rib on the fire pit grill for a great camp fire taste.
Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product18 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(5)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product18 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
Review 1 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from Bend, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Cowboy charcoal grill

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My husband loved his birthday gift. Lots of options with the movable small rack and pot holder. Easy to put together with just a few tools. Sturdy base and great for sitting around a wood fire with friends on our cool high desert nights. There is no lower grate to build a coal fire on to minimize the distance between the coals and the food, so you'll have to over build your fire if cooking on it. Although that does leave a lot of coals for the kids to toast marsh mellows on after dinner. We are also now on the hunt for a cover to fit it when not in use. Haven't found one yet.
Overall a good buy with lots of fun packed in the box.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, fun to share with family and friends
Cons: no coal grate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Best Charcoal Grill..!!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
"If an open pit grill is what you want buy this grill!
With minimal work to put together you cant beat this for large outdoor grill and general use firepit.
Be aware that this is really not a grill for just a couple of people. You can literally cook 15 good size steaks on this thing. Im looking forward to warmer days when I can have several friends come over with thier own stuff to grill. It will be perfect. Not sure about the rotisary attachment as there isnt any way to keep in place other than standing there holding/turning by hand
Pros: Durable, Dishwasher Safe, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from Sanford, Fl
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Purchase ever!! A Grill and a firepit all in one!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very pleased with our purchase, This was easy to assemble and my husband loves it! We were looking for a fire pit and found this grill instead. It now has 2 purposes, ha-ha Thanks Home Depot for carrying this awesome Grill!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Large Cooking Space
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill

This product is amazing. A great fire pit and grill for the price.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is fantastic. There's a lot of bang for the buck. I got this grill/fire pit for my husband for Christmas. I had looked all over the place for something like this and this was by far more superior than anything else I found.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from Ramona, CA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I find myself wanting to cook everything on this!!

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easiest thing I have put together, most fun I could have cooking, family sits around it and cooks. I did end up buying a large grate to place on bottom to lift the coals up a bit, can use a bit of charcoal. But really, who cares, I love it!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from Kerrville, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gonna be a great winter around this pit.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This pit is excellent for the money spent. It's sturdy and was only moderately complicated to assemble. Assembly is definitely a two-person job. I like the features like the hanging hook and the grille. It's perfect to get warm around or to cook on.
On the down-side. The screws provided are fairly cheap and will strip-out easily if you're not careful. The grills are also pretty cheaply constructed and will likely wear out fast. It also has a useless drain on the bottom that will clog with ash and wood chips if you try to use it. All of these weaknesses are easily worked around and shouldn't discourage you from investing in this pit.
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Cons: some cheap materials
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from wyoming
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Heavy but handy

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a little heavy to take camping, but we are taking it. If there is a fire ban then we can still have a campfire in this. Big enough for several to sit around and enjoy and cook on. Very heavy duty and nice extras. As good a quality as the more expensive one at home depot and we couldn't find anything this nice anywhere else, even Cabelas, etc. especially for such a reasonable price. We camp every year for a week or two in tents.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill

This grill is awesome

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Got it as a gift for my sister she was so happy and excited because it has so many uses, Loved it!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great idea with inferior materials

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to assemble. Many useful grilling options. My only complaint is that the metal on the grill couldn't stand the heat and warped while cooking! We couldn't believe it!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space
Cons: grill surface warped during first use!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from Medina, TX

Quality built and easy to assemble

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just put it together and looks like it will last for several years. All parts were there and absolutely nothing missing. Must have been made in America. Had a hard time finding it at Home Depot as they had no display although I saw it at another HD. They would sell of ton of these if they had a display set up for customers to see.
+18points
21out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

worth it

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit was relatively easy to assemble. It took me a little over an hour, of course this ain't my first rodeo. Installing the protective heat ring was the biggest challenge for one person, but really no problem. All of the components aligned and fit together nicely. Follow the directions, be methodical, and you will have no problems. The materials used are fairly sturdy and have a feel of confidence to them. As far as functionality, this pit is awesome. I seasoned the bowl by rubbing lard all inside with some paper towels, and sprayed the grilling surfaces with pan spray. I used oak to season the unit and just used the larded paper towels as tinder and threw in a few natural charcoal briquettes and it was roaring in just a few minutes. I sat out on the patio for 3 hours staring at and stoking the fire. I put a couple of tortillas on the secondary grilling surface and re-heated some fajitas over the fire. Yum... It was late, so I was just happy to have some chow at that point. This seems to be one of my better purchases lately. I know I will be chillin' by the pit often, just like a real cowboy. Lol. Bon Appetite, people. :). Ben
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill

Great charcoal grill!

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great grill for the price! It took a few hours to assemble, but the instructions were very clear and I was impressed that the nuts & bolts were separated out and clearly labeled. Otherwise, we were able easily feed 75 people in a short time using the grill. It worked perfectly, and now we can use it both as a grill or firepit for the chilly fall nights that are rapidly approaching. Great grill at an affordable price. I would recommend to anyone looking to find an affordable charcoal grill that is easy to assemble, feeds a crowd, and will also be used as a firepit. Cheers!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from Princeton, Tx
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product! Very sturdy steel construction. Easy to assemble. The grill has a very large cooking surface. We were able to cook burgers, brats and roasted corn for a large party. Well worth buying.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from Bradenton, FL

We love it.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking for a grill that worked with coal. We tried 3 other brands before but the metal was flimsy and after a couple of months of intense heat of charcoal we ended up with holes in the metal. With this one we thought it would be the same way but the "plate" is like 0.2" thick and so far is supporting the heat very well. The entire box weighs 130 lbs and believe me that weight is no on the legs of the unit. So far very happy with this unit. The only issue was that we needed to drive to a few HD to get one and in the HD that had them it was not on display, too bad, we think this units will sell more if they were on display.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from Lancaster, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heavy and solid; better fire pit than grill

PostedJuly 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this yesterday, and assembled it this morning, in about an hour. After a small seasoning fire, I'm not waiting for coals to burn down to enjoy our first grilled meal from this pit.
Assembly took a bit of juggling, and I had to turn it on its side and let gravity help when it was time to attach the bowl to the base (the gap was just too wide for the small bolts). The only step that required four hands, was attaching the outer ring sections to the legs.
The adjustable height feature might as well not exist. There is only a one inch difference, and you can control the heat better by just moving to a different part of the cooking grate, because there will be a lot of difference in temperature from one spot to another.
I don't see much utility for the warming rack or pot hook. The rotisserie can only be used as such if someone sits there and slowly turns it; otherwise, it will just fall back to heaviest-side-down. The spit makes a fine poker for stirring the fire, though.
Unlike its bigger brother, there is no fire grate. I don't think it really needs one, but not having a fire grate does mean taking more time to start the fire if you use wood or natural lump charcoal (like I do).
I gave it a four overall because assembly could have been easier, and the accessory cooking devices aren't very useful. But it makes a great fire pit, the very thick bowl should last a long time unless someone lets the wood ash get soaked by rain and cause it to rust out, and it's at exactly the right height for everyone to sit around and grill their own food.
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cowboy Grille

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grill is great, the bowl is heavy duty and the attachments are good too. I use it as a fire pit and then cook over the wood coals, I have also used the rotisserie to cook chicken and it came out really well. The only suggestion I would have is that a section of the rotisserie bar be made with flat sides so you can set the meat in one of 4 positions. It is easy to assemble but be sure the drain hole in the bowl is over the outlet pipe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from sparks evada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

nice bar b que

PostedMay 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
needs electric motor for the spit. Gets to hot and when you leave for a second the meat cooks to long
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill

Awesome Value

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great as a fire pit or just a giant grill, and everyone can sit around it while you cook!
hot hot hot!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill

Great grill for the money!!!

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a well made grill. Easy to put together. Very solid construction. Unbeatable for the price!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
from Northern, IL, USA

we love it

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife and I have grilled and rotisseried on this and have loved every morsel. The only complaint is that is so bug that when using charcoal a whole bag isn't enough. Were going to solve it with a smaller grill grate in the bottom. The kids love that they can roast marshmallows on it. And it can make enough for eight Including sides.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Durable, Large Cooking Space
Cons: maybe too big
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>