728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Charcoal & Wood Grills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Cowboy Charcoal Grill

Cowboy Charcoal Grill

Cowboy Fire Pit Grill helps you cook like a true cowboy over an open fire with the fire pit style grill. With its unique fire pit shape you can cook over logs, woodchips and charcoal. Throw some burgers, hot dogs, steaks or large slabs of rib on the fire pit grill for a great camp fire taste.
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
100%of customersrecommend this product11 of 11reviews
Customer reviews for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
Review 1 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
Luis
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The Best Charcoal Grill..!!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
"If an open pit grill is what you want buy this grill!
With minimal work to put together you cant beat this for large outdoor grill and general use firepit.
Be aware that this is really not a grill for just a couple of people. You can literally cook 15 good size steaks on this thing. Im looking forward to warmer days when I can have several friends come over with thier own stuff to grill. It will be perfect. Not sure about the rotisary attachment as there isnt any way to keep in place other than standing there holding/turning by hand
Pros: Durable, Dishwasher Safe, Sturdy, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
Benjamin
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

worth it

PostedApril 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The unit was relatively easy to assemble. It took me a little over an hour, of course this ain't my first rodeo. Installing the protective heat ring was the biggest challenge for one person, but really no problem. All of the components aligned and fit together nicely. Follow the directions, be methodical, and you will have no problems. The materials used are fairly sturdy and have a feel of confidence to them. As far as functionality, this pit is awesome. I seasoned the bowl by rubbing lard all inside with some paper towels, and sprayed the grilling surfaces with pan spray. I used oak to season the unit and just used the larded paper towels as tinder and threw in a few natural charcoal briquettes and it was roaring in just a few minutes. I sat out on the patio for 3 hours staring at and stoking the fire. I put a couple of tortillas on the secondary grilling surface and re-heated some fajitas over the fire. Yum... It was late, so I was just happy to have some chow at that point. This seems to be one of my better purchases lately. I know I will be chillin' by the pit often, just like a real cowboy. Lol. Bon Appetite, people. :). Ben
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
MMcDaniel

This product is amazing. A great fire pit and grill for the price.

PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is fantastic. There's a lot of bang for the buck. I got this grill/fire pit for my husband for Christmas. I had looked all over the place for something like this and this was by far more superior than anything else I found.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
John
from Bradenton, FL

We love it.

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were looking for a grill that worked with coal. We tried 3 other brands before but the metal was flimsy and after a couple of months of intense heat of charcoal we ended up with holes in the metal. With this one we thought it would be the same way but the "plate" is like 0.2" thick and so far is supporting the heat very well. The entire box weighs 130 lbs and believe me that weight is no on the legs of the unit. So far very happy with this unit. The only issue was that we needed to drive to a few HD to get one and in the HD that had them it was not on display, too bad, we think this units will sell more if they were on display.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Distributes Heat Evenly, Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
Texican
from Kerrville, Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gonna be a great winter around this pit.

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This pit is excellent for the money spent. It's sturdy and was only moderately complicated to assemble. Assembly is definitely a two-person job. I like the features like the hanging hook and the grille. It's perfect to get warm around or to cook on.
On the down-side. The screws provided are fairly cheap and will strip-out easily if you're not careful. The grills are also pretty cheaply constructed and will likely wear out fast. It also has a useless drain on the bottom that will clog with ash and wood chips if you try to use it. All of these weaknesses are easily worked around and shouldn't discourage you from investing in this pit.
Pros: Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Cons: some cheap materials
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
TheGriller
from MA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cowboy Grille

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This grill is great, the bowl is heavy duty and the attachments are good too. I use it as a fire pit and then cook over the wood coals, I have also used the rotisserie to cook chicken and it came out really well. The only suggestion I would have is that a section of the rotisserie bar be made with flat sides so you can set the meat in one of 4 positions. It is easy to assemble but be sure the drain hole in the bowl is over the outlet pipe.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space, Superior Craftsmanship, Distributes Heat Evenly
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
Mike

Awesome Value

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great as a fire pit or just a giant grill, and everyone can sit around it while you cook!
hot hot hot!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
Remy

Great charcoal grill!

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great grill for the price! It took a few hours to assemble, but the instructions were very clear and I was impressed that the nuts & bolts were separated out and clearly labeled. Otherwise, we were able easily feed 75 people in a short time using the grill. It worked perfectly, and now we can use it both as a grill or firepit for the chilly fall nights that are rapidly approaching. Great grill at an affordable price. I would recommend to anyone looking to find an affordable charcoal grill that is easy to assemble, feeds a crowd, and will also be used as a firepit. Cheers!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Large Cooking Space
Cons: Not Dishwasher Safe
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
joeg
from Northern, IL, USA

we love it

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My wife and I have grilled and rotisseried on this and have loved every morsel. The only complaint is that is so bug that when using charcoal a whole bag isn't enough. Were going to solve it with a smaller grill grate in the bottom. The kids love that they can roast marshmallows on it. And it can make enough for eight Including sides.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Sturdy, Durable, Large Cooking Space
Cons: maybe too big
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
John
from Medina, TX

Quality built and easy to assemble

PostedJuly 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just put it together and looks like it will last for several years. All parts were there and absolutely nothing missing. Must have been made in America. Had a hard time finding it at Home Depot as they had no display although I saw it at another HD. They would sell of ton of these if they had a display set up for customers to see.
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
fthomas21

Great grill for the money!!!

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a well made grill. Easy to put together. Very solid construction. Unbeatable for the price!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cowboy Charcoal Grill
B1949W
from Wichita, KS, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall - great product, minor quality issue

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Delivery was on time. Assembly was straightforward with relatively easy to follow instructions. Value of a roteserie is questionable - prefer there would have been a cover included. The warming pad mount appears to need a sleeve to keep the surface level rather than tilted at an angle.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Large Cooking Space
Cons: no cover option
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.