728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

The Hampton Bay Cast Iron Chimenea adds warmth and natural light to your outdoor gathering. The built-in flue with adjustable airflow control makes it easy to regulate the burn rate of your fire, while the ash catcher enables convenient cleanup. Includes a poker for tending fire from a distance, as well as a screen to safely contain flames.
Overall rating:
4.325 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product101 of 115reviews
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(66)
4
(37)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product101 of 115reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
Review 1 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from everett, wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great item to get the grandkids to come over for smores and fun! Easy assembly, nice price, purposeful & enjoyable.
I cut out a 32" plywood round, and then cut the center out. Added 3 Harbor Freight 2" blue rubber casters directly under where the legs would sit. Fastened the legs above the casters with a 1/2" metal conduit clamp.
We have a 1/2 covered aggregate patio. This set-up allows me easily move the fireplace where ever we want it, and back to the covered area. (These casters do function perfectly). See pics.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from St. Louis, MO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for backyards with beers

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great things
All the parts were there (some extras!) and assembly was straightforward (helps to have three arms). The fire cage is bigger than our last one (from Lowes) so we can use bigger and weird shaped fuel.
Not great things
Some of the drilled holes did not line up well, so bolts were hard to get in. The hole for the tool-hanger is drilled in the wrong spot and won't hold the tool.
All-in-all, a great addition to our patio.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Pensacola, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tri-Dollies at Home Depot

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Outstanding bang for the buck. I agree with all the good reviews. Retired auto technician cannot believe this sells so inexpensively. Liked the idea of the tri-dollies from Northern Tool for six bucks a piece, but could not find them. Here are good ones for a few dollars more from Home Depot, with the part numbers.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

Looks Gorgeous!!

PostedJune 14, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Would give it 5 stars if it were EASIER to build. RECOMMEND having a second person with smaller hands help you because some angles are tricky and tight. RECOMMEND using a 10mm ratchet for tightening. ORGANIZE All the nuts, washers, bolts before building, it will make your life easier. Took a while to built but end result is WORTH IT.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Murrayville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good solid choice

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Assembly was easy, with a minimum of tools sand took less than an hour. Solid construction.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Chiminea!!

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The chiminea was easy to assemble. It is heavy duty and gives off great heat due to the design.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

This functional chiminea has fantastic visual appeal and durability. Perfect size & construction!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The larger diameter of this chiminea is a must in searching for a functional chiminea. It is jut the right size. Other products featured only a 15 or 18 in barrel, which is not large enough to fit a log in! The construction is very sturdy and durable. Serves its purpose perfectly, especially for the price in comparing to others much smaller!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Fort Worth
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get it rolling

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Item was well packaged with all screws accounted for. I used 2 cans of high temp BBQ paint and applied 2 coats after separating the pieces. It's heavy, so take the pieces out of the box while it's still in your trunk - your back will thank you. I got rolling casters so I could move it around my patio (see photo). They are $6 apiece at Northern Tool. Assembly was a breeze.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Jackson, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Best purchase from the past decade!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My daughter bought me this chiminea 9 yrs ago! It has been our favorite feature of all. As another reviewer stated, mine is also still going strong with some rust, completely expected, as this one has also been in the same location on the patio, uncovered and fully exposed to weather the entire 9 years. It does seem to be nearing the end of its lifespan, but I am absolutely going to purchase another one just like it!
Used year round, often several times a week, and for hours at a time for many of those uses, we have thoroughly enjoyed our time on the patio thanks to this chiminea. The height of the fire is perfect for our patio chairs circled around it. We've even grilled hot dogs on the small grate at the top of the chimney often. Many marshmallows have been roasted in the fire through the screen opening. This sliding screen gate is now showing it's age, and doesn't slide as smoothly, sometimes slipping off it's track on one side, we just use the hook that came with to put it back in place.
The first thing to go was the ash collection pan underneath, which was no problem for us, we simply substited with a two-handled pan underneath which has served the purpose very well. Had I kept the chiminea covered, I have a feeling the catch pan would have lasted much longer, as well as the rest of the chimnea. Rust is now taking its toll on the vertical and circular metal support bands as well as the screen, which has me worried about how much longer it will last now, but it is still standing strong and stable for the time being.
I would strongly recommend this purchase to anyone who would like to have a fire burning on their patio. The price is a great value for the countless hours of enjoyment, which I would call priceless!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Pinellas Park, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love it so far

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This was delivered to our front door when promised. However, I had to open the box and take the pieces separately to the back yard because it is extremely heavy! The only problem I had with the assembly was with Steps 1 and 2 - putting the base/legs together. I had to undo everything and reverse the steps in order for them to fit properly. After that, everything went smoothly. The grate is much sturdier than other chimineas we have had. There is plenty of room inside for larger pieces of wood. The real test will come after all the summer rains but so far we are happy with it.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: first 2 steps should have been reversed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great buy!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Read multiple reviews and decided this was the one to get. Cast iron, 360 degree opening, and nice decorative design. It is heavy and won't be easy to move once it's positioned but this chiminea will be around for a long time. The only drawback is the screening for the top and sides which will need a coat of high temp paint every year. But the drawer at the bottom to remove ashes is a big plus.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Portsmouth, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Choice!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading the reviews, which were fantastic, I purchased this product for my husband for Christmas. It was very straight forward to assemble. We have begun enjoying our cozy fires and are thrilled with the purchase.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Houghton Lake, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality...as represented

PostedMay 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product was promptly available, as the HD site indicated...and was waiting at the store special order counter within an hour. Great service on that level. This is a heavy product so the HD customer service guys helped load it. The product is heavy cast iron, and is pretty much exactly as described on the site. The site where the they sit outside is VERY windy and we have had not a single issue with that. The only issue is that, due to design, in heavy winds not all the smoke goes up the chimney (as you might expect). Nice value.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Wyandotte, OK 74370, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product, EZ to put together, Great value!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The item was back ordered but HD kept me informed as to availability and it arrived right on time as stated. I assembled it and we tried it out first cool evening. It was great to watch the fire and feel the warmth from the embers. I only used five pieces of split wood all evening from 7pm until 10:30 pm.
In the morning there was nothing left but ashes in the pan. My wife and I love it, and looking forward to more evenings under the stars with the fire roasting our toes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Chiminea

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My husband put this together. It went quickly given the fact he has every tool imaginable to man in his shop. Really like that the logs sit up on a grate inside so removing the ash is easy to remove using the slide out pan. I like having a view of the fire all around.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

Lasted 10years!!!

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Off to buy number 2 after 10years. So happy they still sell this model. We use it year round almost every weekend for 10 years. It sits unprotected throughout the New Hampshire winters. The ash tray did rust but we were able to fix it last year. Unfortunately a large tree landed on it during the last storm and destroyed the bottom pan and legs. I love it because we can all sit around it and enjoy the heat. It is elevated just enough so it really throws the heat perfectly. Solid cast iron construction that looks great and offered at a great price. We were very very happy with this product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

As escribed

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Is exactly what we wanted for patio. Sturdy, and attractive. A little difficult to put together, not enough to screws of correct length provided. We have several different size screws on hand so turned out ok
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

Great quality....fantastic price!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We shopped around for a chiminea at all the usual places and couldn't find what we were looking for until we found this one at The Home Depot. Quality is outstanding...can't beat the price. We live near the beach and use it often. Great addition to our home....warmth and ambience.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Maui
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Loved this fire place. Would have given it a 5 star rating if you could get parts for it. Screen and ash pan dont last long.

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Durable but would love it if I could get replacement parts. I live in a rainy coastal area our screen lasted only a year and the ash pan a little less. I cleaned and covered it when not in use to know avail. Cast iron is still going strong. we now have had to remove the chimney because it was going to collapse otherwise. Still use the base after 3 years going strong. But miss having the screen and chimney. I am sure in a dry area the screen would last longers. Found an ash try from a different vender but does not fit well.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Clarkston, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect size!

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect size for a small patio. Like the height as well. Would recommend!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>