728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

The Hampton Bay Cast Iron Chimenea adds warmth and natural light to your outdoor gathering. The built-in flue with adjustable airflow control makes it easy to regulate the burn rate of your fire, while the ash catcher enables convenient cleanup. Includes a poker for tending fire from a distance, as well as a screen to safely contain flames.
Overall rating:
4.289 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product71 of 81reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(45)
4
(28)
3
(4)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product71 of 81reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
Review 1 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from St. Louis, MO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for backyards with beers

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great things
All the parts were there (some extras!) and assembly was straightforward (helps to have three arms). The fire cage is bigger than our last one (from Lowes) so we can use bigger and weird shaped fuel.
Not great things
Some of the drilled holes did not line up well, so bolts were hard to get in. The hole for the tool-hanger is drilled in the wrong spot and won't hold the tool.
All-in-all, a great addition to our patio.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Murrayville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good solid choice

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Assembly was easy, with a minimum of tools sand took less than an hour. Solid construction.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Chiminea!!

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The chiminea was easy to assemble. It is heavy duty and gives off great heat due to the design.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Fort Worth
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get it rolling

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Item was well packaged with all screws accounted for. I used 2 cans of high temp BBQ paint and applied 2 coats after separating the pieces. It's heavy, so take the pieces out of the box while it's still in your trunk - your back will thank you. I got rolling casters so I could move it around my patio (see photo). They are $6 apiece at Northern Tool. Assembly was a breeze.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

This functional chiminea has fantastic visual appeal and durability. Perfect size & construction!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The larger diameter of this chiminea is a must in searching for a functional chiminea. It is jut the right size. Other products featured only a 15 or 18 in barrel, which is not large enough to fit a log in! The construction is very sturdy and durable. Serves its purpose perfectly, especially for the price in comparing to others much smaller!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Pensacola, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tri-Dollies at Home Depot

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Outstanding bang for the buck. I agree with all the good reviews. Retired auto technician cannot believe this sells so inexpensively. Liked the idea of the tri-dollies from Northern Tool for six bucks a piece, but could not find them. Here are good ones for a few dollars more from Home Depot, with the part numbers.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Jackson, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Best purchase from the past decade!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My daughter bought me this chiminea 9 yrs ago! It has been our favorite feature of all. As another reviewer stated, mine is also still going strong with some rust, completely expected, as this one has also been in the same location on the patio, uncovered and fully exposed to weather the entire 9 years. It does seem to be nearing the end of its lifespan, but I am absolutely going to purchase another one just like it!
Used year round, often several times a week, and for hours at a time for many of those uses, we have thoroughly enjoyed our time on the patio thanks to this chiminea. The height of the fire is perfect for our patio chairs circled around it. We've even grilled hot dogs on the small grate at the top of the chimney often. Many marshmallows have been roasted in the fire through the screen opening. This sliding screen gate is now showing it's age, and doesn't slide as smoothly, sometimes slipping off it's track on one side, we just use the hook that came with to put it back in place.
The first thing to go was the ash collection pan underneath, which was no problem for us, we simply substited with a two-handled pan underneath which has served the purpose very well. Had I kept the chiminea covered, I have a feeling the catch pan would have lasted much longer, as well as the rest of the chimnea. Rust is now taking its toll on the vertical and circular metal support bands as well as the screen, which has me worried about how much longer it will last now, but it is still standing strong and stable for the time being.
I would strongly recommend this purchase to anyone who would like to have a fire burning on their patio. The price is a great value for the countless hours of enjoyment, which I would call priceless!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Wyandotte, OK 74370, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product, EZ to put together, Great value!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The item was back ordered but HD kept me informed as to availability and it arrived right on time as stated. I assembled it and we tried it out first cool evening. It was great to watch the fire and feel the warmth from the embers. I only used five pieces of split wood all evening from 7pm until 10:30 pm.
In the morning there was nothing left but ashes in the pan. My wife and I love it, and looking forward to more evenings under the stars with the fire roasting our toes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

Lasted 10years!!!

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Off to buy number 2 after 10years. So happy they still sell this model. We use it year round almost every weekend for 10 years. It sits unprotected throughout the New Hampshire winters. The ash tray did rust but we were able to fix it last year. Unfortunately a large tree landed on it during the last storm and destroyed the bottom pan and legs. I love it because we can all sit around it and enjoy the heat. It is elevated just enough so it really throws the heat perfectly. Solid cast iron construction that looks great and offered at a great price. We were very very happy with this product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from South Ga. United States
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Really like this Chimnea.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Can't believe how fast this got to me. And, can't believe they had FREE shipping on such a heavy, bulky package. The assembly was straightforward and the unit is sturdy and well made. It looks really great, esp with a fire in it, works well and is easy to use. A great deal all around.
The only con about this chimnea is the open all around 360 degrees design. It doesn't project the heat very far in any one direction because of it. And, even in a light breeze it lets a lot of smoke escape out the sides instead of up the smoke stack. But I like it anyway and I am glad I bought it. One other thing that may not be a con yet but could be is that the expanded metal grate surrounding the fire pit is not as heavy/thick metal as I would like. I wonder how long it may last. Some reviewers say theirs have lasted several years. But the older ones could have been made a little differently?
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Mandeville,,LA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Mine lasted 16 years!

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this product for $99 and it has lasted me 16 years! Last weekend was a sad weekend because after 16 years and 2 cross country moves, I finally put mine out to pasture and moved it the LAST time out to my sister's farm where it will be long after I'm dead and buried. She was good to me and I have many cherished memories with my friends and family because of her.
I kept it covered for the first 7 years and painted it occasionally when rust appeared. Then, I got lazy and stopped covering it the last 10 years and left it in the weather. I recommend this product by BerkleyForge.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Berkeley Heights, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Chiminea

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Always wanted a chiminea and this one was well worth the wait.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Dallas, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not a Chiminea

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is not a chiminea, it's a fire pit! The smoke doesn't go up, it goes out. If you want a great looking firepit, this is very sturdy and seems to be a great product. But it does not work like a chiminea.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from villa rica, ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great 360 degree view

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second one I have owned(left the first one at house I sold).The chimenea is very enjoyable to sit around. I built a dolly on wheels so I can roll around to where I want to use it. It is very durable except for the grate & ash pan. It would be nice if you could purchase these spare parts, since they are the only things that wear out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: need to be able to buy spare ash pan & grate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

Reviews Hampton Bay

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Looks great. I enjoyed the firepit. Hope it won,t rust.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Atlanta, Georgia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Item

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I like it so much that I am buying my sister one for Christmas!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Santa Clarita, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Excellent product for the price!

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this chiminea for an anniversary gift. I found it online, bought it from my local store, brought it home, assembled it and had a fire going by the time my husband got home from work! I'm a 60-years young smallish woman so I had to take it out a few pieces at a time from the box in my car. Instructions were clear enough -- you can really only put it together one way -- and it's heavy duty, very sturdy and seems like it will last a long time. With the larger than average size it can easily accommodate the logs I use for indoors. One design feature I really like is the door which slides on a bar to the side and out of the way rather than opening on a hinge.
I am very happy with this product and will buy another one for my son's new home!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, makes a good fire
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Fairfax, VA, USA

Almost 7 yrs...

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nearing the 7yr anniversary of this cast iron chiminea. It has remained uncovered on my patio the entire time. I feel it has provided a great return on investment for the countless hrs of enjoyment it has provided. It was used pretty much used yr-round often multiple times a week.
After almost 7 yrs the rust is taking its toll on some of the features which is normal... And all things considered, I'm not upset in the least. The fire bowl, legs and chimney stack are still intact and solid. The only thing that's showing it's age are the cast iron diamond mesh screen and the pull out out tray used to clean the ashes. The pull-out tray went first, but considering it was uncovered water would often keep this area wet more than any other area, so it was to be expected.
I plan to purchase another one today and will keep it covered moving forward.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Southwest Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Chiminea

PostedNovember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This chiminea has held up remarkably well to weekly use on a year-round basis. The structure is intact, sturdy. I kept it covered due to the rains and humidity of SW Florida. Some discoloration may occur, but still looks fine. If the ash pan should begin to rust out, you can make a new one, improvise with a metal pizza pan or bucket, or look for a Yukon replacement ash pan which fits nicely.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Nice Design
Cons: some parts may rust with use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

Beautiful Addition to Our Patio, Just Takes Long to Assemble

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My husband spent about 2 hours assembling this, which was a lot longer then we were expecting. In the end it worked perfectly and we're very happy we bought it. It was about 25 F last night and we were still pretty warmed up by this thing.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>