728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

The Hampton Bay Cast Iron Chimenea adds warmth and natural light to your outdoor gathering. The built-in flue with adjustable airflow control makes it easy to regulate the burn rate of your fire, while the ash catcher enables convenient cleanup. Includes a poker for tending fire from a distance, as well as a screen to safely contain flames.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product86 of 97reviews
Rating Breakdown 99 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(56)
4
(32)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product86 of 97reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
Review 1 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from St. Louis, MO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for backyards with beers

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great things
All the parts were there (some extras!) and assembly was straightforward (helps to have three arms). The fire cage is bigger than our last one (from Lowes) so we can use bigger and weird shaped fuel.
Not great things
Some of the drilled holes did not line up well, so bolts were hard to get in. The hole for the tool-hanger is drilled in the wrong spot and won't hold the tool.
All-in-all, a great addition to our patio.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from everett, wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great item to get the grandkids to come over for smores and fun! Easy assembly, nice price, purposeful & enjoyable.
I cut out a 32" plywood round, and then cut the center out. Added 3 Harbor Freight 2" blue rubber casters directly under where the legs would sit. Fastened the legs above the casters with a 1/2" metal conduit clamp.
We have a 1/2 covered aggregate patio. This set-up allows me easily move the fireplace where ever we want it, and back to the covered area. (These casters do function perfectly). See pics.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Murrayville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good solid choice

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Assembly was easy, with a minimum of tools sand took less than an hour. Solid construction.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Pensacola, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tri-Dollies at Home Depot

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Outstanding bang for the buck. I agree with all the good reviews. Retired auto technician cannot believe this sells so inexpensively. Liked the idea of the tri-dollies from Northern Tool for six bucks a piece, but could not find them. Here are good ones for a few dollars more from Home Depot, with the part numbers.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Chiminea!!

PostedNovember 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The chiminea was easy to assemble. It is heavy duty and gives off great heat due to the design.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Portsmouth, VA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fantastic Choice!

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After reading the reviews, which were fantastic, I purchased this product for my husband for Christmas. It was very straight forward to assemble. We have begun enjoying our cozy fires and are thrilled with the purchase.
Pros: Durable, High Quality, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Fort Worth
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get it rolling

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Item was well packaged with all screws accounted for. I used 2 cans of high temp BBQ paint and applied 2 coats after separating the pieces. It's heavy, so take the pieces out of the box while it's still in your trunk - your back will thank you. I got rolling casters so I could move it around my patio (see photo). They are $6 apiece at Northern Tool. Assembly was a breeze.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

This functional chiminea has fantastic visual appeal and durability. Perfect size & construction!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The larger diameter of this chiminea is a must in searching for a functional chiminea. It is jut the right size. Other products featured only a 15 or 18 in barrel, which is not large enough to fit a log in! The construction is very sturdy and durable. Serves its purpose perfectly, especially for the price in comparing to others much smaller!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Jackson, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Best purchase from the past decade!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My daughter bought me this chiminea 9 yrs ago! It has been our favorite feature of all. As another reviewer stated, mine is also still going strong with some rust, completely expected, as this one has also been in the same location on the patio, uncovered and fully exposed to weather the entire 9 years. It does seem to be nearing the end of its lifespan, but I am absolutely going to purchase another one just like it!
Used year round, often several times a week, and for hours at a time for many of those uses, we have thoroughly enjoyed our time on the patio thanks to this chiminea. The height of the fire is perfect for our patio chairs circled around it. We've even grilled hot dogs on the small grate at the top of the chimney often. Many marshmallows have been roasted in the fire through the screen opening. This sliding screen gate is now showing it's age, and doesn't slide as smoothly, sometimes slipping off it's track on one side, we just use the hook that came with to put it back in place.
The first thing to go was the ash collection pan underneath, which was no problem for us, we simply substited with a two-handled pan underneath which has served the purpose very well. Had I kept the chiminea covered, I have a feeling the catch pan would have lasted much longer, as well as the rest of the chimnea. Rust is now taking its toll on the vertical and circular metal support bands as well as the screen, which has me worried about how much longer it will last now, but it is still standing strong and stable for the time being.
I would strongly recommend this purchase to anyone who would like to have a fire burning on their patio. The price is a great value for the countless hours of enjoyment, which I would call priceless!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

Great quality....fantastic price!

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We shopped around for a chiminea at all the usual places and couldn't find what we were looking for until we found this one at The Home Depot. Quality is outstanding...can't beat the price. We live near the beach and use it often. Great addition to our home....warmth and ambience.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Wyandotte, OK 74370, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product, EZ to put together, Great value!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The item was back ordered but HD kept me informed as to availability and it arrived right on time as stated. I assembled it and we tried it out first cool evening. It was great to watch the fire and feel the warmth from the embers. I only used five pieces of split wood all evening from 7pm until 10:30 pm.
In the morning there was nothing left but ashes in the pan. My wife and I love it, and looking forward to more evenings under the stars with the fire roasting our toes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

good chiminea

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Happy with this purchase - seems very durable and good value for the price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

Lasted 10years!!!

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Off to buy number 2 after 10years. So happy they still sell this model. We use it year round almost every weekend for 10 years. It sits unprotected throughout the New Hampshire winters. The ash tray did rust but we were able to fix it last year. Unfortunately a large tree landed on it during the last storm and destroyed the bottom pan and legs. I love it because we can all sit around it and enjoy the heat. It is elevated just enough so it really throws the heat perfectly. Solid cast iron construction that looks great and offered at a great price. We were very very happy with this product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Portland TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Fairly easy to put together. Solid product. Looks great & will be a nice addition to our patio.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Richmond, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this Chiminea

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
In 2006, we purchased a very similar Chiminea, from a different home improvement store. It is still doing great, in our daughter's backyard. The only reason why we gave it to her was that we moved and couldn't take it with us. So, when we recently purchased another home, we decided we needed one for our backyard. I went back to the original store, and they didn't have anything I wanted. So, I checked on line, and Home Depot came thru! Order this one, and it actually is a tad bigger than the original we had. Came right on time, on the date they told us it would be here, and was in great shape. Put it together with out any hassle. Got the wood, started a fire, and it worked fine. I am so happy to finally have my wood fire in the backyard when I want one. Love this, and if it lasts as long as the first one did, we will be enjoying the fires for a long time to come.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea

Best chiminea ever

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The price for what you get is amazing! I am very picky and I am so glad that we bought this. Sturdy, and beautiful. Don't hesitate to buy this, you will be glad you did.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Santa Clarita, California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Excellent product for the price!

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this chiminea for an anniversary gift. I found it online, bought it from my local store, brought it home, assembled it and had a fire going by the time my husband got home from work! I'm a 60-years young smallish woman so I had to take it out a few pieces at a time from the box in my car. Instructions were clear enough -- you can really only put it together one way -- and it's heavy duty, very sturdy and seems like it will last a long time. With the larger than average size it can easily accommodate the logs I use for indoors. One design feature I really like is the door which slides on a bar to the side and out of the way rather than opening on a hinge.
I am very happy with this product and will buy another one for my son's new home!
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, makes a good fire
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Redding, ca
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Exceeded my expectations!

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I went to home depot looking for a completely different fire pit and my husband immediately gravitated towards this one. I was the reluctant one because I didn't know if I wanted this style. Needless to say I lost the battle but once we got it home and I set the patio furniture around it I immediately changed my mind. It's beautiful! At that point I couldn't wait for the sun to go down so we could have our first fire out of it.
The overall look of it is much better than the pictures make it look. When we were loading it onto the cart we were shocked at how much this weighs and how sturdy it felt. Luckily we bought the floor model so we didn't have to mess with assembly but looking at it I don't think the assembly would be too difficult. The door slides open to give you plenty of room for wood and even has a removable pan on the bottom to make it easier to clean. Once we started the fire everyone around it could feel the heat radiating from it. It definitely did its job in keeping everyone warm. The kids were happy too because they got to roast marshmallows and make s'mores. So much heat comes out the top that we were able to make the perfect golden brown marshmalllow without catching a single one on fire.
As of right now I have nothing but good to say about this. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this to anyone Especially for the price of it. Even if it only lasts a few years I would be happy with that. I know we will get out money out of this!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from Cadiz, KY 42211, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great Design

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Love our new chimenea! The design is great and makes for a great fire. We bought it to place inside our new gazebo.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 54 in. Cast Iron Chiminea
from villa rica, ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great 360 degree view

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the second one I have owned(left the first one at house I sold).The chimenea is very enjoyable to sit around. I built a dolly on wheels so I can roll around to where I want to use it. It is very durable except for the grate & ash pan. It would be nice if you could purchase these spare parts, since they are the only things that wear out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: need to be able to buy spare ash pan & grate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>