728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Cast Iron Chiminea

Cast Iron Chiminea

This Cast Iron Chiminea adds warmth and natural light to your outdoor gathering. The built-in flue with adjustable airflow control makes it easy to regulate the burn rate of your fire, while the ash catcher enables convenient cleanup. Includes a poker for tending fire from a distance, as well as a screen to safely contain flames.
Overall rating:
4.214 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
85%of customersrecommend this product46 of 54reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(29)
4
(21)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(5)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
85%of customersrecommend this product46 of 54reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Cast Iron Chiminea
Review 1 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from Fort Worth
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Get it rolling

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Item was well packaged with all screws accounted for. I used 2 cans of high temp BBQ paint and applied 2 coats after separating the pieces. It's heavy, so take the pieces out of the box while it's still in your trunk - your back will thank you. I got rolling casters so I could move it around my patio (see photo). They are $6 apiece at Northern Tool. Assembly was a breeze.
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Cast Iron Chiminea

This functional chiminea has fantastic visual appeal and durability. Perfect size & construction!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The larger diameter of this chiminea is a must in searching for a functional chiminea. It is jut the right size. Other products featured only a 15 or 18 in barrel, which is not large enough to fit a log in! The construction is very sturdy and durable. Serves its purpose perfectly, especially for the price in comparing to others much smaller!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Looks High End, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from Jackson, TN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Best purchase from the past decade!

PostedMay 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My daughter bought me this chiminea 9 yrs ago! It has been our favorite feature of all. As another reviewer stated, mine is also still going strong with some rust, completely expected, as this one has also been in the same location on the patio, uncovered and fully exposed to weather the entire 9 years. It does seem to be nearing the end of its lifespan, but I am absolutely going to purchase another one just like it!
Used year round, often several times a week, and for hours at a time for many of those uses, we have thoroughly enjoyed our time on the patio thanks to this chiminea. The height of the fire is perfect for our patio chairs circled around it. We've even grilled hot dogs on the small grate at the top of the chimney often. Many marshmallows have been roasted in the fire through the screen opening. This sliding screen gate is now showing it's age, and doesn't slide as smoothly, sometimes slipping off it's track on one side, we just use the hook that came with to put it back in place.
The first thing to go was the ash collection pan underneath, which was no problem for us, we simply substited with a two-handled pan underneath which has served the purpose very well. Had I kept the chiminea covered, I have a feeling the catch pan would have lasted much longer, as well as the rest of the chimnea. Rust is now taking its toll on the vertical and circular metal support bands as well as the screen, which has me worried about how much longer it will last now, but it is still standing strong and stable for the time being.
I would strongly recommend this purchase to anyone who would like to have a fire burning on their patio. The price is a great value for the countless hours of enjoyment, which I would call priceless!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from Wyandotte, OK 74370, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product, EZ to put together, Great value!

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The item was back ordered but HD kept me informed as to availability and it arrived right on time as stated. I assembled it and we tried it out first cool evening. It was great to watch the fire and feel the warmth from the embers. I only used five pieces of split wood all evening from 7pm until 10:30 pm.
In the morning there was nothing left but ashes in the pan. My wife and I love it, and looking forward to more evenings under the stars with the fire roasting our toes.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from villa rica, ga
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great 360 degree view

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second one I have owned(left the first one at house I sold).The chimenea is very enjoyable to sit around. I built a dolly on wheels so I can roll around to where I want to use it. It is very durable except for the grate & ash pan. It would be nice if you could purchase these spare parts, since they are the only things that wear out.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: need to be able to buy spare ash pan & grate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Cast Iron Chiminea

Lasted 10years!!!

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Off to buy number 2 after 10years. So happy they still sell this model. We use it year round almost every weekend for 10 years. It sits unprotected throughout the New Hampshire winters. The ash tray did rust but we were able to fix it last year. Unfortunately a large tree landed on it during the last storm and destroyed the bottom pan and legs. I love it because we can all sit around it and enjoy the heat. It is elevated just enough so it really throws the heat perfectly. Solid cast iron construction that looks great and offered at a great price. We were very very happy with this product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Cast Iron Chiminea

Works great!

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Chimenea works great. It was very easy to set up and comes with everything. Perfect addition to our backyard.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value chimenea *PLUS* a useful assembly tip

PostedOctober 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I initially tried assembling this following the instructions but found that at step 2, I could not attach the three legs and ring to the stove bottom. It *seemed* like the ring to which the three legs were attached (in step 1) was too big in diameter and so there was a big gap when trying to attach the legs to the stove bottom. I think this is what two other reviewers were complaining about and they returned their chimeneas thinking it was a design defect. After studying things, I detached the three legs from the ring and then instead, first loosely attached (do not tighten completely, allow wiggle room) each leg individually to the stove bottom as in step 2. After this, I was able to position the ring into its proper place and attach it to all three legs. I then tightened all the nuts and bolts for the legs/ring/stove bottom parts until everything up to assembly step 2 was nicely tight and secure. You will see that the ring size was always correct and there are no design issues. The rest of the assembly from step 3 onwards was a piece of cake.
We've already used the chimenea a few times and it is a keeper! It channels smoke through the flue well and burns the logs completely to ash. Love the 360-degree view when the fire is roaring away and overall, it is an attractive item that is nicely designed. I think this is great value for money.
I bought a Classic Accessories cover for this chimenea separately and that works well (a little tight at the girth but still fits).
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: lower assembly tricky but see my tip
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from Fairfax, VA, USA

Almost 7 yrs...

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Nearing the 7yr anniversary of this cast iron chiminea. It has remained uncovered on my patio the entire time. I feel it has provided a great return on investment for the countless hrs of enjoyment it has provided. It was used pretty much used yr-round often multiple times a week.
After almost 7 yrs the rust is taking its toll on some of the features which is normal... And all things considered, I'm not upset in the least. The fire bowl, legs and chimney stack are still intact and solid. The only thing that's showing it's age are the cast iron diamond mesh screen and the pull out out tray used to clean the ashes. The pull-out tray went first, but considering it was uncovered water would often keep this area wet more than any other area, so it was to be expected.
I plan to purchase another one today and will keep it covered moving forward.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

This is the one you want.

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Radiates heat 360 degrees. The smoke stack creates up draft which feeds the fire oxygen from the sides and below, and directs the smoke up. For the money and functionality, you won't be disappointed.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Cast Iron Chiminea

Great Product in a sea of overpriced duds.

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Absolutely love this chiminea. All the reviews you read on here are true. I'll admit I'm a bit of a fire bug so I'm sure I push the fires I burn well past recommended heat. Even still, this item withstands the test of time. Like the others have said, the ash tray and the metal mesh go first. Our ash tray rusted after the first winter, but the was understandable. Even without the ash tray in place, very little coal/ash fell out when the fire was going. I just placed a metal ash bucket beneath the opening and it caught everything that did fall. (This also make cleaning it out very convenient. Just scrape the bowl out into the bucket!) We redid our patio and had to physically move the chiminea and it wasn't until we moved it, turned it over, dropped and was a little rough with that the metal screen went. Planning to buy another soon, but we're still using the chimney part and the base. (Rigged up a fire pit with cinder blocks.) I can't see the chimney/smoke stack part ever failing and we'e even planning on using to top the stone outdoor fire place we're building. So many good times shared with friends around the thing. Would recommend over and over.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from Masthope, Pennsylvania
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very nice chimenea!!

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fairly easy to put together and has a nice size. We've had ours for 3-1/2 years. It did experience rusting, as it's been left out exposed during all four seasons. However, I bought some black "barbeque" spray paint (designed to withstand high heat) and that did the trick. My big complaint (to the extent I have one) is that the inside grate (which holds up the firewood) bent and cracked from the heat over time. I'm in the processing of trying to replace the grate (which comes in two pieces)j. Nevertheless, I'd recommend the product and guests really like it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from Penobscot, ME, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Going on its seventh year.

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I found the unit to be simple to assemble. It has aged well in my back yard including maine winters. The sliding door rusted apart a few years ago, but that just makes it easier to roast marshmellows! The ash pan left the world to rust last year so I will make a new one soon. Other than a new coat of heat proof paint once every few years it needs nothing. I was going to replace it this year, but looking at the current models, I think I'll just get a can of paint.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Comfortable
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from Cadiz, KY 42211, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Great Design

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love our new chimenea! The design is great and makes for a great fire. We bought it to place inside our new gazebo.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Clean, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from Westminster, MD.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

LOVE this chimenea

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second Hamptom Bay Fireplace Cast Iron Patio Chimenea I have purchased. The last one lasted almost 10 years. I left it outside throughout the year in rain, snow and ice. We use it all year long and burn hot fires. After all of those years of use (and abuse) the little grate on top and the fire grate burned thru. It lasted long past any other (I've had 2 other brands - trash!) It doesn't crack or discolor. The open screen shows the lovely fire from all angles. The grate on top is great for grilling too. I am not a 'handy woman' and I was able to assemble it myself with a screwdriver and adjustable wrench in less than hour. Since my last purchase, they added a slide out tray to empty ashes (nice feature). I've been very pleased with this product and would highly recommend it to others looking for a nice outdoor fireplace that will last for years and years.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from Stony Brook, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not bad for the money.

PostedOctober 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For $125, I wasn't expecting too much but after one of the legs snapped during assembly I wasn't too happy. I called the customer service department and they said I could bring it back to the local Home Depot which was somewhat of a relief since I didn't have to repackage and resend it. While at the Home Depot the guy told me that another store (HD) about 6 miles away had a few in stock. That was the deciding factor for me to get another one. After assembling the new one MY WAY, the thing looks and works pretty well. My way means; do not tighten anything until assembly is complete. The directions don't mention this. Also, I drilled new holes for the flu extension since it wouldn't line up properly using the pre drilled holes. This thing is cast iron but if you have the proper bits, it's fairly easy. The size is pretty good as I like a fairly big fire. If its windy, the smoke won't behave since this is not a true chiminea. If this thing falls apart, I'm going back to a basic fire pit but in the meantime, for $125 bucks and a little sweat.....it's not bad. One more tip, the recommended accompanying cover for $39 is a joke. That is going back to the store although I do think that using a cover that fits will add to the chiminea's life span.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Cast Iron Chiminea

Owned for a year

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My gf bought this chimenea for me for Christmas 2011. My personal experience is that I would recommend this product. Mine has been sitting outdoors and shows typical signs of weather damage (rust) but it seems to be confined to the hardware used to assemble this beast. It's heavy due to the material. I found the construction to be high quality and don't see how anyone (previous review) could break a leg off of this thing. I couldn't break one off using a 3 lb hammer. The mesh surrounding the burning area isn't the best of quality but it's not structural, it's to keep logs and sparks from leaving the burning area. I looked at other pits and chimeneas and found this one to be the best at a good price. Personally I think this should be priced at $200, not $129. My gf is buying another one today (which is the only reason I'm leaving a review) for her dad. It would be nice if the burning area were a little bigger but overall I'm happy with it. One warning though...if you build a crazy big fire inside of this thing be careful that the flames don't shoot out of the long exhaust pipe and burn your patio ceiling or melt whatever is above it. It comes with a lid to cover the exhaust pipe but I like mine open so the smoke shoots upward rather than stinking up everyone sitting around it. Hope this review helps you make the best decision for yourself.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Cast Iron Chiminea

Good Chiminea Overall

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall this is a very heavy chiminea, seems sturdy and durable. It was a little tricky putting it all together, and the washers / screws weren't the best quality but once together it looks great, kick out a lot of heat and the door slides open and closed quite easily. Our only concern as stated by many others is how easily and quickly it will rust and how water tends to pool and not drain from the ash pan and where the pan sits. Might be a good idea to buy a cover to help reduce the rust. Overall - good quality, we're happy with it!
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: rusting already after one rain storm
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from Tabernacle, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Buying another today!

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have had this Chimenea for 9 years now. Has been outside and uncovered the entire time. It has finally given us it's last fire. I am SO pleased with this Chimenea that we are purchasing the exact same one again today so we can have another 9 years of enjoyment.
Outstanding value!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Assemble, Energy Efficient, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Cast Iron Chiminea
from edgewater, md
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best price and this is really cast iron unlike others. We used it last weekend and it works great. One hint on assembly. Leave the bolts loose in step 1 or you can't get the bolts through in step 2.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>