728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ice Melt

Ice Melt

The Roofmelt Ice Melt is designed to eliminate the need to climb onto roofs while melt snow. The tablets help prevent roof damage by melting through ice dams and allowing water to drain safely. They work effectively in temperatures down to -25°F.
Overall rating:
3.092 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(120 reviews) 120
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product65 of 116reviews
Rating Breakdown 120 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(32)
4
(27)
3
(15)
2
(12)
1
(34)
Features 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product65 of 116reviews
Customer reviews for Ice Melt
Review 1 for Ice Melt
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked exactly as described

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had a terrible winter, with significant ice dams on our new home. These melted the ice dam from below, allowing water to drain off the roof. I ordered extra to have on hand for the future. The picture below is the ice dam that fell off my roof after melting from below. The roof melt tabs melt through the ice, to the roof and then drains under the ice instead of backing up into the attic.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+35points
35out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ice Melt
from Minnesota

These work great, if you can put a hockey puck on your roof.

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These pucks work great, but you have to use them sensibly. Get up on a ladder and set them on the roof, or toss them up like a mini frizbee so they land flat side on the roof, or toss them up into fresh snow so they won't slide.
I've been using them for several seasons, and as long as I remember to get them on the roof, I have no ice dam problems at all. The occasional toss comes flying off the roof, but if one breaks in half i toss it back up, or crush it on the sidewalk. At the end of a bucket, take the broken bits, and pour them into a doubled up old sock or panty hose and set it on the worst valley on your roof.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ice Melt
from Columbia Falls, MT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Ice dam removal

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pro's: Removed our ice dams overnight - Thank-you
Con's: just which we could get it in a larger bucket for the same money!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ice Melt
from Pittsburgh - Mt Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Box Gutter Protection from Ice

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this product after we sustained tremendous interior damage from a ice dam within the box gutter in December, well we had twice the amount of ice and snow in Jan and Feb, and NO ice dams since using this. Very each to use - they are slightly smaller than hockey pucks and have a good weight to them. Very easy to lobe them up to the 3rd story roof into the ridge and box gutter. Wish I did this in December!! Oh and very roof friendly, no residue or salt stains which we were concerned since the roof is only 3 years old!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ice Melt
from North of Boston Ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product as advetized

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had used them before about two years ago...... Worked as advertised..... I use a 16Ft extension pole, was for painting ceiling, with a measuring cup attached to the end..... The way I can drop the " pick " right where I want it, while being on the ground.... I try and drop them a few inches above the ice dams.... Works well for me.......
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ice Melt
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time or money on this product. I emailed the company's customer service as well as VP Tom O'Malley and told them I had a bad batch of their product. Mr. O' Malley did not respond but customer service asked for my address so they could send me a container to return the product for testing. They never did send me anything. So, poor product, poor customer service equals poor company. The product didn't melt jack. I tried it on the ground in a pile of snow to make sure. Again, do not buy this product.
Pros: none
Cons: ineffective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
24out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ice Melt
from Cottonwood Heights, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and Fun to use

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The ice melt works great on the roof. It melted the snow and ran down the gutters. then the solution opened the downspouts. Also it was quite fun to walk around the house and trow the pellets up on the roof. I felt like a kid.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, kind of fun to apply
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ice Melt
from Boston, MA

Nice idea, poorly implemented

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Like most things these days, this was a nice idea poorly implemented. In theory, it sounds great, in reality. Not so much. The biggest problem is, getting it in the right place on your roof. If you have a low enough roof, you can reach up, or stand on something to get it into position, then it works pretty well. Of course, if you can reach it, there are other cheaper ways of getting at the ice. For higher roofs, it's a balancing act. Most of the ones I threw up there either missed, or else rolled back down my roof and shattered, wasting the tablets. At what they charge for these things, that ain't cheap. Another issue is I wish they came in a container that I didn't need to use a crowbar to open
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
+22points
25out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ice Melt
from Boston MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This saved our house

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We where lucky enough to have Home Depot selling it for the regular retail with free shipping. A good amount of sellers prices doubled or almost trippled during the bad snow here in New England. The product does work. ( we did roof rake as well) We had part of an ice dam fall off our roof and we were able to see the water channels the tablets created. My only compaint is they are hard to get on roof. (we have 3 floors) The best way I have found is an under hand toss. Just aim away from windows they could break them. I think if we were able to get them up there right after the storm the results would have been better. I ended up buy 3 more totes for next year!!!!!!
Pros: Easy to Store, it does work
Cons: Difficult to Use, need a good underhand toss
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ice Melt
from Melrose, MA

Melts through ice dams, doesn't remove them

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The roofmelt pucks melt through ice until they reach the roof. They then sit there and presumably release salt which runs downstream, eventually melting through so water can flow off your roof. However, an ice dam with a 3-inch vertical hole in it can still stick very tightly to your roof. Once the puck has sunk into the snow or ice, you can't see what it's doing, so it's very hard to know if you're making a difference. After our epic Boston snowfall, I put a lot of energy and a lot of pucks into getting the bottom 3 feet of my roof clear of ice, and water was still leaking into our house. Only then did I toss some pucks farther uphill, into the ice I couldn't reach, and then the leak stopped. The ice is still there. I think the roofmelt did the trick, but I can't be sure, and I won't know for sure when I'll need to throw some more in the same area. In short, this product melts ice, but it's hard to know how to use it, because you can't see it doing its job.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ice Melt

Useless and overpriced

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff is overrated and overpriced!
The main problem is unless your extremely lucky they fall back off the roof into your garden.
Because they are stupidly designed as round they roll back down off the roof into your garden.
Over 50% of what I threw up rolled back off. The idea is to avoid ladders and throw them from the ground. No chance. Even when I got a ladder they still roll off.
If you want something that works get much cheaper calcium chloride and fill them into women's tights. When you throw them they'll stick!!! Good luck
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ice Melt

Melts Ice, not all the snow on your roof

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's very imporant to know that this product is specifically for melting a channel through an ice dam and won't melt all the snow on your roof. If used to melt a buildup of ice on the roof with no ice damming to catch/concentrate the runoff it will probably just cause more icicles to form.
Throwing them onto your roof as instructed is very difficult. These roof melters are shapped like a 2.5" diameter by 1.5" thick hockey puck, so if you have a steep roof with no snow cover they will slide/roll off. I have several in my lawn - they burned their way through the snow/ice down to ground/pavement in about an hour, so they have pretty good melting power.
I got up on a step ladder and lighly tossed them to the roof - much more effective. The ones that I placed along the eves of my roof worked great and melted a path down my roof and all the backed up water has drained, no new icicles/dams have formmed. Ones that landed away from the path of drainage did not dissolve and are sitting on the roof with a 6 inch bare spot around them and appear to be out of the game. If you have severe ice buildup (like I did) you will need 2-3 per spot to build up enough de-ice power to cut their way through. I'm going to try placing a row along my gutters and see if they can cut a path down. The pucks I placed over the downspouts appeared to have opened up a path for water to flow.
Being on sale at 10 bucks a bucket makes it worth it - I would have been PO'd had i paid 20 as it will take all 5 buckets I purchased to get my roof straitened out.
Pros: good melting power, works as instructed
Cons: Difficult to Use, requires multiple applications
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ice Melt
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save your money

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A few people recommended I try these tablets to break up some of the ice covering the roof of the back of my home that doesn't get sun. After roof raking, it became a sheet of ice. Because of that, these slide right off, hit the ground and break - useless. What tablets I was able to get onto the roof in the snow drifts, didn't melt at all. I realize it's not supposed to completely melt every square inch of ice, but it didn't do anything.
At almost $20 a bucket, save the money and check whether or not your attic is adequately/properly insulated. That's the problem behind my ice dams. I thought this product would help me in avoiding damage until I can re-insulate. The product was completely useless to me.
Cons: Difficult to Use, doesn't work
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ice Melt
from Ma.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

extremely poor

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Extremely poor quality,most of the product arrived smashed in little pieces rendering them useless.Might as well throw your money on the roof.Product does not work at all as described.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: bad quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ice Melt
from Buffalo, New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Average performance

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used a lot of product, 4 buckets for a cape cod size house( 1 tablet/sq. foot.). That's about $80 worth of tab's. When they melt, the footprint is smaller than 1 foot, thus you need to repeat application! They don't melt fast & they are overrated based on the information they don't tell you; you find out only after you purchase them & learn the hard way. For these to be acceptably effective, you need at least 4 applications, & that is very costly to the average home owner. They are not what they are cranked up to be!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features, need more than led to believe
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ice Melt
from Hamburg NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

worked great

PostedMarch 31, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It did melt areas but most of all the ice was way to thick for it to do a complete job. I was very satisfied with the job that it did do. This was the worst winter I had seen in the 20 yrs i lived here and wish i would have gotten this earlier than i did. I felt if i had it would have done a much better job.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ice Melt
from Enfield, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works for gutters

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I use it to keep our gutters open. I don't use it on the roof.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ice Melt
from Nw pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work! Don't waist time...I threw 20 on my roof next to ice dams and far behind. Temps in the 20', my theory is calcium melts around dam.

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't think it melts through dam, maybe around it. Maybe if puck landed directly on ice block but still...calcium chloride is great but once in solution it loses effective melting ability I assume.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: does not work
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ice Melt
from New Brighton, MN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I suppose if you are a major league pitcher and can throw one of these things to exactly the location they should be in, they would be ok. After several attempts at placement by tossing I gave up. Because they are round, all simply rolled right back off the roof and fell into the snow. Being white, they were impossible to recover. I finally decided that perhaps finding a way to get them up there by putting them into a bucket at the end of a pole might work. I poured the pucks out only to see them roll off the roof. Finally gave up.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ice Melt
from Ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works as designed

PostedMarch 24, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product came in big tub filled with pellets about half the size of a hockey puck. I placed some near the edge of the roof about a foot above the gutter. It melted the snow and created a path to the gutter. Some of the other reviews stated that it did not even melt the snow. I'm not sure what they were referring to as this product worked well for me.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>