728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ice Melt

Ice Melt

The Roofmelt Ice Melt is designed to eliminate the need to climb onto roofs while melt snow. The tablets help prevent roof damage by melting through ice dams and allowing water to drain safely. They work effectively in temperatures down to -25 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
3.078 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
55%of customersrecommend this product55 of 100reviews
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(26)
4
(25)
3
(12)
2
(11)
1
(29)
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
55%of customersrecommend this product55 of 100reviews
Customer reviews for Ice Melt
Review 1 for Ice Melt
from Minnesota

These work great, if you can put a hockey puck on your roof.

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These pucks work great, but you have to use them sensibly. Get up on a ladder and set them on the roof, or toss them up like a mini frizbee so they land flat side on the roof, or toss them up into fresh snow so they won't slide.
I've been using them for several seasons, and as long as I remember to get them on the roof, I have no ice dam problems at all. The occasional toss comes flying off the roof, but if one breaks in half i toss it back up, or crush it on the sidewalk. At the end of a bucket, take the broken bits, and pour them into a doubled up old sock or panty hose and set it on the worst valley on your roof.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ice Melt
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked exactly as described

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had a terrible winter, with significant ice dams on our new home. These melted the ice dam from below, allowing water to drain off the roof. I ordered extra to have on hand for the future. The picture below is the ice dam that fell off my roof after melting from below. The roof melt tabs melt through the ice, to the roof and then drains under the ice instead of backing up into the attic.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ice Melt
from Columbia Falls, MT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Ice dam removal

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pro's: Removed our ice dams overnight - Thank-you
Con's: just which we could get it in a larger bucket for the same money!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ice Melt
from Melrose, MA

Melts through ice dams, doesn't remove them

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The roofmelt pucks melt through ice until they reach the roof. They then sit there and presumably release salt which runs downstream, eventually melting through so water can flow off your roof. However, an ice dam with a 3-inch vertical hole in it can still stick very tightly to your roof. Once the puck has sunk into the snow or ice, you can't see what it's doing, so it's very hard to know if you're making a difference. After our epic Boston snowfall, I put a lot of energy and a lot of pucks into getting the bottom 3 feet of my roof clear of ice, and water was still leaking into our house. Only then did I toss some pucks farther uphill, into the ice I couldn't reach, and then the leak stopped. The ice is still there. I think the roofmelt did the trick, but I can't be sure, and I won't know for sure when I'll need to throw some more in the same area. In short, this product melts ice, but it's hard to know how to use it, because you can't see it doing its job.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ice Melt

Melts Ice, not all the snow on your roof

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's very imporant to know that this product is specifically for melting a channel through an ice dam and won't melt all the snow on your roof. If used to melt a buildup of ice on the roof with no ice damming to catch/concentrate the runoff it will probably just cause more icicles to form.
Throwing them onto your roof as instructed is very difficult. These roof melters are shapped like a 2.5" diameter by 1.5" thick hockey puck, so if you have a steep roof with no snow cover they will slide/roll off. I have several in my lawn - they burned their way through the snow/ice down to ground/pavement in about an hour, so they have pretty good melting power.
I got up on a step ladder and lighly tossed them to the roof - much more effective. The ones that I placed along the eves of my roof worked great and melted a path down my roof and all the backed up water has drained, no new icicles/dams have formmed. Ones that landed away from the path of drainage did not dissolve and are sitting on the roof with a 6 inch bare spot around them and appear to be out of the game. If you have severe ice buildup (like I did) you will need 2-3 per spot to build up enough de-ice power to cut their way through. I'm going to try placing a row along my gutters and see if they can cut a path down. The pucks I placed over the downspouts appeared to have opened up a path for water to flow.
Being on sale at 10 bucks a bucket makes it worth it - I would have been PO'd had i paid 20 as it will take all 5 buckets I purchased to get my roof straitened out.
Pros: good melting power, works as instructed
Cons: Difficult to Use, requires multiple applications
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ice Melt
from North of Boston Ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product as advetized

PostedMarch 1, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had used them before about two years ago...... Worked as advertised..... I use a 16Ft extension pole, was for painting ceiling, with a measuring cup attached to the end..... The way I can drop the " pick " right where I want it, while being on the ground.... I try and drop them a few inches above the ice dams.... Works well for me.......
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ice Melt
from Pittsburgh - Mt Washington
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Box Gutter Protection from Ice

PostedMarch 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this product after we sustained tremendous interior damage from a ice dam within the box gutter in December, well we had twice the amount of ice and snow in Jan and Feb, and NO ice dams since using this. Very each to use - they are slightly smaller than hockey pucks and have a good weight to them. Very easy to lobe them up to the 3rd story roof into the ridge and box gutter. Wish I did this in December!! Oh and very roof friendly, no residue or salt stains which we were concerned since the roof is only 3 years old!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ice Melt
from Rye, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't really work

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product promises that all you have to do is throw the disks up on the roof. They will roll down and land atop the ice in your dammed up gutter, make a well, and allow water to drain properly. It didn't work. Many of these disks rolled right off the roof. None of them ended up in my frozen gutter as promised. And don't pick one up if you're wearing leather gloves!! It ruined my gloves by immediately shrinking and staining the leather. Would not purchase again.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ice Melt

Useless and overpriced

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff is overrated and overpriced!
The main problem is unless your extremely lucky they fall back off the roof into your garden.
Because they are stupidly designed as round they roll back down off the roof into your garden.
Over 50% of what I threw up rolled back off. The idea is to avoid ladders and throw them from the ground. No chance. Even when I got a ladder they still roll off.
If you want something that works get much cheaper calcium chloride and fill them into women's tights. When you throw them they'll stick!!! Good luck
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ice Melt

Absolutely worthless

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried 8 to 10 of these in a small area and when that did not work, used the entire bucket and saw no melting at all. Tried to contact the company about my issue via there web site but they never responded. Might work under mild conditions, but failed miserably here in Maine.
Cons: does not work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ice Melt
from Massachusets
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

roof melt

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Because of our sever weather here in the northeast, I had a need to remove the ice from my. This product seems to help! As a test to see what it does, I put a tablet on some thick ice on my deck and in a short time it went through the ice and started to melt the surrounding area. I was very pleased.
Home Depot sold this at a good price and I received it quickly. I shopped around and this was the best deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ice Melt
from upstate new york
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not very happy about ice melt

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought when I first bought it, that it was just the thing for the heavy ice build up on our 100 yr + colonial home. When I opened the buckets it came in one third to one half were broken, some reduced to dust. I soon found out that trying to throw them on the roof by hand from the ground with any ease was not for someone 71 yrs old. I invented a little net attachment and with the help of my roof rake and all my strength I could place them pretty close to where I want them.
I have used all three of the cases I bought over a two week period, and not on piece of ice or even one ice cycle has come down due to the ice melt. I have had to have the ice chopped twice now in the very worse places [ which didn't come cheap ] but the water is still getting in.
I know this is of no fault of the store that these did not work for me, but would not recommend then to anyone else.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ice Melt
from Podrtland CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

not very uusefull

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Round tablets roll off hard/frozen snow cover, several attempts needed to have them land in a position to stay. Lots of product needed in each area for effective ice dam melting. Took several days and warmer weather to work.
Cons: Difficult to Use, not very effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ice Melt
from andover ma
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't work as stated on container

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tried it on 3 different roofs at different stages of ice melting, it just sat on the roof and didn't create ice channels for the ice dams to drain. Very disappointing experience.
Pros: needs more research
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ice Melt
from Wakefield,MA.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Snake Oil?

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Big Disappointment!I used the whole container as directed and did not see any difference.I should have
invested in a rake instead.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ice Melt
from MA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stay away

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pellets came in broken and mostly turned to dust. What did make it to the roof seemed to do nothing to help the ice dams
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ice Melt
from East Central Massachusetts

Waste of money

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not do much other than"burn" a hole into ice on the roof's edge. It does not work well when its below 15F.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ice Melt
from Willington, CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Not worth the money

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to use, but didn't find it worked. A waste of money.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: didn't work
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ice Melt
from Boston
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Failed

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product failed to have any noticeable effect. I threw most of the tablets up on my roof and I could not see any melting. It has been a tough winter in Boston and I thought this would help. It didn't.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ice Melt
from newton, ma

no luck here

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
nearly impossible to get onto 3rd floor roof. half rolled off the second floor roof. easy to toss but not accurately. i applied with not effect after a couple of days. then i put on twice as many and still nothing happened. they might be effective to prevent ice dams if pre-applied, but were useless in removing or even reducing the existing ice dams that had formed.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>