728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ice Melt

Ice Melt

The Roofmelt Ice Melt is designed to eliminate the need to climb onto roofs while melt snow. The tablets help prevent roof damage by melting through ice dams and allowing water to drain safely. They work effectively in temperatures down to -25 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
3.114 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(79 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product43 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 79 reviews
3.1 out of 5
5
(20)
4
(20)
3
(11)
2
(5)
1
(23)
Features 
3.1 out of 5
3.1 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product43 of 77reviews
Customer reviews for Ice Melt
Review 1 for Ice Melt
from Minnesota

These work great, if you can put a hockey puck on your roof.

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These pucks work great, but you have to use them sensibly. Get up on a ladder and set them on the roof, or toss them up like a mini frizbee so they land flat side on the roof, or toss them up into fresh snow so they won't slide.
I've been using them for several seasons, and as long as I remember to get them on the roof, I have no ice dam problems at all. The occasional toss comes flying off the roof, but if one breaks in half i toss it back up, or crush it on the sidewalk. At the end of a bucket, take the broken bits, and pour them into a doubled up old sock or panty hose and set it on the worst valley on your roof.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ice Melt
from Columbia Falls, MT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Ice dam removal

PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Pro's: Removed our ice dams overnight - Thank-you
Con's: just which we could get it in a larger bucket for the same money!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ice Melt
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked exactly as described

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We had a terrible winter, with significant ice dams on our new home. These melted the ice dam from below, allowing water to drain off the roof. I ordered extra to have on hand for the future. The picture below is the ice dam that fell off my roof after melting from below. The roof melt tabs melt through the ice, to the roof and then drains under the ice instead of backing up into the attic.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+31points
31out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ice Melt
from Melrose, MA

Melts through ice dams, doesn't remove them

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The roofmelt pucks melt through ice until they reach the roof. They then sit there and presumably release salt which runs downstream, eventually melting through so water can flow off your roof. However, an ice dam with a 3-inch vertical hole in it can still stick very tightly to your roof. Once the puck has sunk into the snow or ice, you can't see what it's doing, so it's very hard to know if you're making a difference. After our epic Boston snowfall, I put a lot of energy and a lot of pucks into getting the bottom 3 feet of my roof clear of ice, and water was still leaking into our house. Only then did I toss some pucks farther uphill, into the ice I couldn't reach, and then the leak stopped. The ice is still there. I think the roofmelt did the trick, but I can't be sure, and I won't know for sure when I'll need to throw some more in the same area. In short, this product melts ice, but it's hard to know how to use it, because you can't see it doing its job.
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ice Melt
from N attleboro, ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Wrong shape

PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Tossing just rolls off. Should be ok if square shaped. Needs no round edges.
Cons: Difficult to Use
-2points
10out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ice Melt

Melts Ice, not all the snow on your roof

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It's very imporant to know that this product is specifically for melting a channel through an ice dam and won't melt all the snow on your roof. If used to melt a buildup of ice on the roof with no ice damming to catch/concentrate the runoff it will probably just cause more icicles to form.
Throwing them onto your roof as instructed is very difficult. These roof melters are shapped like a 2.5" diameter by 1.5" thick hockey puck, so if you have a steep roof with no snow cover they will slide/roll off. I have several in my lawn - they burned their way through the snow/ice down to ground/pavement in about an hour, so they have pretty good melting power.
I got up on a step ladder and lighly tossed them to the roof - much more effective. The ones that I placed along the eves of my roof worked great and melted a path down my roof and all the backed up water has drained, no new icicles/dams have formmed. Ones that landed away from the path of drainage did not dissolve and are sitting on the roof with a 6 inch bare spot around them and appear to be out of the game. If you have severe ice buildup (like I did) you will need 2-3 per spot to build up enough de-ice power to cut their way through. I'm going to try placing a row along my gutters and see if they can cut a path down. The pucks I placed over the downspouts appeared to have opened up a path for water to flow.
Being on sale at 10 bucks a bucket makes it worth it - I would have been PO'd had i paid 20 as it will take all 5 buckets I purchased to get my roof straitened out.
Pros: good melting power, works as instructed
Cons: Difficult to Use, requires multiple applications
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ice Melt
from newton, ma

no luck here

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
nearly impossible to get onto 3rd floor roof. half rolled off the second floor roof. easy to toss but not accurately. i applied with not effect after a couple of days. then i put on twice as many and still nothing happened. they might be effective to prevent ice dams if pre-applied, but were useless in removing or even reducing the existing ice dams that had formed.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ice Melt
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time or money on this product. I emailed the company's customer service as well as VP Tom O'Malley and told them I had a bad batch of their product. Mr. O' Malley did not respond but customer service asked for my address so they could send me a container to return the product for testing. They never did send me anything. So, poor product, poor customer service equals poor company. The product didn't melt jack. I tried it on the ground in a pile of snow to make sure. Again, do not buy this product.
Pros: none
Cons: ineffective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
22out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ice Melt
from Nw pa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work! Don't waist time...I threw 20 on my roof next to ice dams and far behind. Temps in the 20', my theory is calcium melts around dam.

PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't think it melts through dam, maybe around it. Maybe if puck landed directly on ice block but still...calcium chloride is great but once in solution it loses effective melting ability I assume.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: does not work
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ice Melt
from Cottonwood Heights, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and Fun to use

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The ice melt works great on the roof. It melted the snow and ran down the gutters. then the solution opened the downspouts. Also it was quite fun to walk around the house and trow the pellets up on the roof. I felt like a kid.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, kind of fun to apply
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ice Melt
from Boston, MA

Nice idea, poorly implemented

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Like most things these days, this was a nice idea poorly implemented. In theory, it sounds great, in reality. Not so much. The biggest problem is, getting it in the right place on your roof. If you have a low enough roof, you can reach up, or stand on something to get it into position, then it works pretty well. Of course, if you can reach it, there are other cheaper ways of getting at the ice. For higher roofs, it's a balancing act. Most of the ones I threw up there either missed, or else rolled back down my roof and shattered, wasting the tablets. At what they charge for these things, that ain't cheap. Another issue is I wish they came in a container that I didn't need to use a crowbar to open
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
+20points
23out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ice Melt
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Not Good For My Roof

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The ice melt was not good for my type of roof. After reading the information and directions I could not use on my wooden roof or coppper roof.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ice Melt
from Rye, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Doesn't really work

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product promises that all you have to do is throw the disks up on the roof. They will roll down and land atop the ice in your dammed up gutter, make a well, and allow water to drain properly. It didn't work. Many of these disks rolled right off the roof. None of them ended up in my frozen gutter as promised. And don't pick one up if you're wearing leather gloves!! It ruined my gloves by immediately shrinking and staining the leather. Would not purchase again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ice Melt

Useless and overpriced

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This stuff is overrated and overpriced!
The main problem is unless your extremely lucky they fall back off the roof into your garden.
Because they are stupidly designed as round they roll back down off the roof into your garden.
Over 50% of what I threw up rolled back off. The idea is to avoid ladders and throw them from the ground. No chance. Even when I got a ladder they still roll off.
If you want something that works get much cheaper calcium chloride and fill them into women's tights. When you throw them they'll stick!!! Good luck
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ice Melt
from Massachusets
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

roof melt

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Because of our sever weather here in the northeast, I had a need to remove the ice from my. This product seems to help! As a test to see what it does, I put a tablet on some thick ice on my deck and in a short time it went through the ice and started to melt the surrounding area. I was very pleased.
Home Depot sold this at a good price and I received it quickly. I shopped around and this was the best deal.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ice Melt
from upstate new york
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not very happy about ice melt

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I thought when I first bought it, that it was just the thing for the heavy ice build up on our 100 yr + colonial home. When I opened the buckets it came in one third to one half were broken, some reduced to dust. I soon found out that trying to throw them on the roof by hand from the ground with any ease was not for someone 71 yrs old. I invented a little net attachment and with the help of my roof rake and all my strength I could place them pretty close to where I want them.
I have used all three of the cases I bought over a two week period, and not on piece of ice or even one ice cycle has come down due to the ice melt. I have had to have the ice chopped twice now in the very worse places [ which didn't come cheap ] but the water is still getting in.
I know this is of no fault of the store that these did not work for me, but would not recommend then to anyone else.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ice Melt

AWESOME QUICK RESULTS

PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
We had 4.5 inch ice dams along the east side of the house. I placed several tablets along the edge and threw more in the snow higher up the roof as instructed. The ice melt started running down the roof into the gutters within 15 minutes. The instructions weren't very detailed as to how many tablets to use per square foot. I used all 60 tablets. I lost a couple when they rolled off the roof into the snow banks. I'm buying more to keep more on hand when the snow rake isn't enough and with the first signs of dam build-up.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, fast acting
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ice Melt
from New England
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great but shipping may be a problem

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works great although if you have a two story house, you're going to have to get up on a ladder or hope for luck as you lean out the second floor window and toss these things backwards... Also: If you have these shipped in, expect some of the pucks to be turned into dust due to the rough handling within UPS. I lost about 15% of each box of pucks.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: limited instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ice Melt
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64

Good product, wrong user

PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It took practice trying to get the pellets where I wanted them. No ladder so had to use a toss and roll method. Never did get them exactly where I needed them but I did melt some snow. I have salt water residue on my windows now, too cold to clean them and too much snow to get to them so I won't know if there is any damage to my glass for a bit.
I would recommend this product to someone with a tall ladder or a good aim!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ice Melt
from Mansfield, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product for ice dams

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Works well even though with all the snow we have had in MA it was a lot to deal with no matter what the product! The "hockey pucks" are easy to throw up to the roof, but you do need to clear away as much snow as you can first or else they will just melt the snow and not the ice in the gutters.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>