728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Snow Equipment or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Ice Melt

Ice Melt

The Roofmelt Ice Melt is designed to eliminate the need to climb onto roofs while melt snow. The tablets help prevent roof damage by melting through ice dams and allowing water to drain safely. They work effectively in temperatures down to -25 degrees Fahrenheit.
Overall rating:
3.378 / 5
3.4
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product28 of 44reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
3.4 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(12)
3
(8)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Features 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product28 of 44reviews
Customer reviews for Ice Melt
Review 1 for Ice Melt
from NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked exactly as described

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had a terrible winter, with significant ice dams on our new home. These melted the ice dam from below, allowing water to drain off the roof. I ordered extra to have on hand for the future. The picture below is the ice dam that fell off my roof after melting from below. The roof melt tabs melt through the ice, to the roof and then drains under the ice instead of backing up into the attic.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ice Melt
from Minnesota

These work great, if you can put a hockey puck on your roof.

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These pucks work great, but you have to use them sensibly. Get up on a ladder and set them on the roof, or toss them up like a mini frizbee so they land flat side on the roof, or toss them up into fresh snow so they won't slide.
I've been using them for several seasons, and as long as I remember to get them on the roof, I have no ice dam problems at all. The occasional toss comes flying off the roof, but if one breaks in half i toss it back up, or crush it on the sidewalk. At the end of a bucket, take the broken bits, and pour them into a doubled up old sock or panty hose and set it on the worst valley on your roof.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ice Melt
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't waste your money

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Don't waste your time or money on this product. I emailed the company's customer service as well as VP Tom O'Malley and told them I had a bad batch of their product. Mr. O' Malley did not respond but customer service asked for my address so they could send me a container to return the product for testing. They never did send me anything. So, poor product, poor customer service equals poor company. The product didn't melt jack. I tried it on the ground in a pile of snow to make sure. Again, do not buy this product.
Pros: none
Cons: ineffective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ice Melt
from Boston, MA

Nice idea, poorly implemented

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Like most things these days, this was a nice idea poorly implemented. In theory, it sounds great, in reality. Not so much. The biggest problem is, getting it in the right place on your roof. If you have a low enough roof, you can reach up, or stand on something to get it into position, then it works pretty well. Of course, if you can reach it, there are other cheaper ways of getting at the ice. For higher roofs, it's a balancing act. Most of the ones I threw up there either missed, or else rolled back down my roof and shattered, wasting the tablets. At what they charge for these things, that ain't cheap. Another issue is I wish they came in a container that I didn't need to use a crowbar to open
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ice Melt
from Cottonwood Heights, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product and Fun to use

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ice melt works great on the roof. It melted the snow and ran down the gutters. then the solution opened the downspouts. Also it was quite fun to walk around the house and trow the pellets up on the roof. I felt like a kid.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, kind of fun to apply
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ice Melt
from Iron River, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good stuff

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used the roof ice melt in past years and have come to depend on it to clear ice dams that form at the bases of the valleys in my roof.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: i need throwing instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ice Melt
from Boston, MA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Save your money

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A few people recommended I try these tablets to break up some of the ice covering the roof of the back of my home that doesn't get sun. After roof raking, it became a sheet of ice. Because of that, these slide right off, hit the ground and break - useless. What tablets I was able to get onto the roof in the snow drifts, didn't melt at all. I realize it's not supposed to completely melt every square inch of ice, but it didn't do anything.
At almost $20 a bucket, save the money and check whether or not your attic is adequately/properly insulated. That's the problem behind my ice dams. I thought this product would help me in avoiding damage until I can re-insulate. The product was completely useless to me.
Cons: Difficult to Use, doesn't work
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ice Melt

Great product

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The ice melt is a great product, easy to use and easy to handle.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ice Melt

Ice melter

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
these are a nice idea but it would be better if the item was stocked in the local store
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ice Melt
from Wisconsin, USA

great idea, poor results for an inch or more.

PostedMarch 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't do all that great of a job. You need several tablets for a small area if the ice is thick. Well beyond what is recommended. The tablets appear to melt straight down. If you have more than an inch of ice, and the area around the tablet doesn't melt. It just gets covered back up by the next snow fall, or water from tablets melting ice on the roof higher up.
I also noticed area where there was just snow, the tablets would melt the snow, but there wouldn't be enough tablets based on recommendations to get the water off the roof. You'll end up with a mini ice rink on your roof. One more thing. If the snow hardens, the tablets just bounce off sometimes and roll off the roof if you are trying to throw them up to a second story roof.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ice Melt
from Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Worked great! Fast shipment as well.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was happy it arrived so quickly. Worked great! Ice jam melted quickly and leaked stopped within 12 hours.
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ice Melt

Roof melt tablets

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not used any yet, the winter will tell the story if this item is effective.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ice Melt
from Waterford Township, MI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

try something else

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
worked well at melting the snow in a little hockey puck shape, on the roof and where it rolled off the roof into the yard.. Not sure it did anything with the ice dams. Had better luck smashing them on the sidewalk and using them as regular salt
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ice Melt

Works ok

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seemed to melt the snow at site of placement on roof, but wasn't necessarily a full fix for melting piles of snow on roof. That's understandable considering salt pack can't migrate to other parts without being broken apart/sprinkled.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ice Melt
from St. Charles, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to use

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the weather has been so cold that the melts have not been able to get the job done. when it was warmer they were working well.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ice Melt
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ice melter

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best product since sliced bread!!! Safe, easy to use and works very well.
Pros: Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ice Melt
from New Brighton, MN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Waste of money

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I suppose if you are a major league pitcher and can throw one of these things to exactly the location they should be in, they would be ok. After several attempts at placement by tossing I gave up. Because they are round, all simply rolled right back off the roof and fell into the snow. Being white, they were impossible to recover. I finally decided that perhaps finding a way to get them up there by putting them into a bucket at the end of a pole might work. I poured the pucks out only to see them roll off the roof. Finally gave up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ice Melt
from Milwaukee
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Doesn't do anything, big waste of money. I have issues with ice damming, so I wanted to try this out.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ice Melt

did not have any impact

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After placing on roof in numberous quantities... Saw no impact in snow/ice on roof or drainage channels as described.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ice Melt
from Northern Michigan Hammond Bay
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not too effective

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product is quite expensive for 14# of basically compressed salt. Easy to apply, no ladders, etc. needed. The salt discs had only minimal effectiveness and I did apply them prior any ice dam buildup. Built up anyway, maybe not as much as in previous years. I could purchase 50# of higher quality de-icer and throw it up on the roof with a scoop for less than half the price. There was a lot of crushed and broken salt in the bottom of the plastic bucket which became waste as far as the roof was concerned.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: not as effective as advertised
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>