728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver

1/2 in. Drill/Driver

The Black and Decker 1/2 inch drill/driver is powerful and compact which easily handles the toughest applications. Drilling larger holes and fasteners in wood, metal and plastic is made easy with the 7.0 Amp motor and compact design. The all metal keyed chuck allows for durability and better bit retention while the variable speed trigger aids in controlled drilling and driving. The mid handle design along with comfort grips provides the ultimate in comfort and control.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product19 of 22reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(10)
4
(7)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product19 of 22reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
Review 1 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Airmont, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Purchase

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Best bang for the buck! The drill is light, powerful and easily accepts various drill sizes. I'm very happy with this product.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Glenn Dale, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good overall with one big flaw

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good product with adequate torque with one big flaw. The supporting handle has the tendency to loose its grip on the drill when working on an application that requires high torque. This results in only one hand supporting the drill/driver. If the hand is not strong enough, the drill/driver will swing back and may sprain the wrist.
If the job does not require high torque, this is a good drill. All other parts are of good quality.
Pros: Powerful, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: bad supporting handle
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Liked it at first but ...

PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I liked this drill at first, since it seems solidly built and has great torgue. But after using it just a couple of times, the directional button (the button to change from forward to reverse drilling) started to act up. It seems to be extremely sensitive and will pop out of place and into 'neutral', time and time again. Very frustrating. I took it back to Home Depot to exchange for another one. We'll see how long this new one lasts.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy
Cons: Not Durable, bad directional button
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from richmond virginia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

1/2 in drill/driver

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
great to work with the 1/2 inch drill/driver great tool to have
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Orange, NY
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful drill.

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to give the Black and decker electric drills their due. This drill is very powerful, and has a lot of low end torque .. That torque helps to get those stubborn screws in pressure treated wood or any other treated stubborn wood.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Buffalo, New York
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Solid Performance at a Reasonable Price

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a rock-solid economical drill/driver. It's keyed 1/2" chuck is superior to clutch-lock style chucks. It is easily reversable and it's variable speed trigger is spot-on practical.....it has gearing which produces high torque at 800 RPMs......I easily drilled a 1/2" hole into 6" of concrete basement floor with no stall or lug-down. There is no hassle with uncharged batteries..just plug it in.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK drill

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The drill was OK it did not have a hammer function so did not do what I needed it for - drilling concrete
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Limited Features, Too Heavy
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Springfield, Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64

So far So good

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has been used very little so I reserve judgement
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from san pablo cali
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good drill

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It worked very good. I wasn't sure to buy it cause its a black and Decker tool. But I work drilling holes in concrete and I was surprice very powerful. I'm happy with the tool.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fine Product

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this because it was cheaper than either buying replacement batteries for my cordless drill or buying a new cordless drill. It really is a good tool but it can not replace the utility and versatility of a cordless drill. It is an excellant drill for sure but you can not drive screws with it. I ultimately will have to buy new batteries or a new cordless drill. I use it regularly and it is an excellant performer and a good value.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable
Cons: Limited Features
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Denver, CO, USA

Works well for my needs, good power.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Needed a better drill to mix floor sealer and this one met the need quite well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Morgan Hill, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the price; pretty good quality regardless

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For only $40, this was a great buy. I've been slowly working on a water equipment shed (and will be doing a few other small outbuilding projects after this one) but only had a cordless drill that would typically die within 3 hours of working on the shed... and that included a lot of time measuring and cutting; I'd estimate it would put in about 50 2 1/2" screws (including pre-drilling) before having to be charged again (and I don't have a spare battery).
After wasting time, I decided I was going to get a corded one. I'm not a crazy heavy user or a contractor, so a cheap one that was decently reviewed would be fine. I found the B&D DR560 and was shocked at the price, since I was expecting to pay something closer to $100.
The build quality seems pretty good; the handle is just a clamping plastic one, but it works. Some parts of the drill feel like they could have been made out of metal of some sort and improved the overall build quality... but for $40, it's great.
The power is good, too. Drilling and driving goes way faster with this than with the cordless.
The variable speed trigger is not quite as fluid as my cordless... but it works fine; I am not doing fine drill work, I'm just drilling holes and putting screws in them, and for that it is more than adequate.
Having the 1/2" shank will likely come in handy at some point, especially if I have to use some larger paddle bits.
Overall, I would totally recommend this drill for anyone that isn't going to be using it every day for the next year; for me, who will probably use it maybe 15 days out of a year but will probably end up trying to cram multiple hours of use on a single Saturday, it seems like a great buy.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Austin, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good drill with major design flaw

PostedAugust 19, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
You get a ton of tool for less money with this Black and Decker. BUT.....there is a major design flaw which has me returning this drill. The directional button on the drill is poorly located and too easy to simply touch with the side of your finger that you use for the trigger. What ends up happening is it partially engages which is the equivalent of putting it into neutral.... I tried and tried to be patient with this, but it has done it from day one. I have alread replaced it with the "R" brand for twice the price. I do have to say that the replacement is really engineered well and the gearings are fantastic. Runs smoothly, where the B&D was a little rough. I would say if you are only going to use the B&D rarely and not handling it for hours on end, this could still be a good value. There is always the chance that I received one with a weak switch mechanism. When you buy yours, get it out of the box at the store and see if the switch has a solid engagement and not the equivalent of a hair trigger...
Pros: Powerful, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver

Awesome

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked Smarter not Harder
This Product helped me accomplish my task so much quicker
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Sacramento, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

exellent value

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight for the power delivered..1/2 chuck...it's a great drill
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver

Buy cheap...get cheap

PostedNovember 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Save yourself a trip back to HD and buy a quality name brand right off the bat. I needed to drill a bunch of holes with a 4" holesaw for a project I'm working on. My experience below
Went to HD to buy B&D DR550, because HD onine said it was in store. When I got there all they had was the B&D DR560 which was the one that said was online only. No problem they are pretty much the same anyways. So right off the bat drilling my first hole the arm that you clamp to the drill kept slipping off. The clamp was all the way closed, anymore and it would strip. So I ended up taking it off. Halfway through the second hole the bit stopped spinning. Took the drill off the hole and it spun, but if you held the chuck even with the slightest resistance - it would not move. Gear problem I assume.
I ended up returning it all within 1.5 hours of buying it. Bought the $119 Milwaukee Magnum. Solid drill and got all 16 4" holes done with ease. Also made of metal componants including the clamp, unlike the B&D which was mostly plastic.
Cons: Not Durable
+5points
9out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver

wonderful drill great buy

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a cordless drill so this drill is awesome in comparison very powerful with 7amps
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Denver
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great drill for very good price

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I needed something with a little more OOMPH than my cordless drill to drill holes through stainless steel, & this drill did the trick. Variable speed, 1/2" chuck - this bad boy has plenty of OOMPH, so get OOMPHing.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value Drill For DIYer On a Budget

PostedMay 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use to own a Dewalt VSR hammer drill until a friend broke it being an idiot. After that I picked up this drill from B&D and it certainly has not let me down. It isn't made as well as the other hammer drills I've owned, however for the price I kind of expected that.
I've used it from fastening deck screws, to drilling studs and duroc, to mixing mud for tile and drywall. It won't let you down, atleast not right away. But my guess is it won't hold up over time as well as some of the others out there. If you can spend about $30 more bucks, I'd go with a Dewalt, but if you can't, this should suffice.
Pros: Powerful
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. Drill/Driver
from Modesto, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Heavy duty with a light less bulky feel. Great product! Awesome price too.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>