728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 6 in. Take Off Start Collar with Damper for HVAC Duct Work Connections

6 in. Take Off Start Collar with Damper for HVAC Duct Work Connections

Speedi-Collar is the innovative energy efficient & time saving Start Collar alternative you’ve been waiting for. This revolutionary start-collar features an adhesive gasket that attaches to duct board or metal trunk lines. The patented Quick-Zips tighten to create a virtually air tight seal. Therefore there are no added sealants that are required unlike a standard start-collar. The patented Quick-Zip mounting reduces installation time from 10 mins plus down to a minute or less. And if you pre-attach the flex duct, you can be out of the attic or crawl space in minutes, not hours. The collar was designed with the Quick-Zips located on the outside of the collar flange. You won’t have to stick your hand inside a sharp metal collar ever again. There are no sharp tabs to bend back which take time & can cause serious painful injuries. It is the fastest way to connect duct to trunk lines or to the main HVAC unit. It is the “One Collar that Fits All”. It can be used with 1 In., 1.5 In. & 2 in. duct board & zips tight or attach to sheet metal trunk lines with screws through the pre-drilled holes on the collar flange. You would need at least four different metal tab collars & have dozens of injury causing tabs to bend back to do the same thing. It can be used for Remodeling, Do it yourself, New Residential / Commercial HVAC projects. This Speedi-Collar comes with a preassembled damper that ratchets in place.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(1)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for 6 in. Take Off Start Collar with Damper for HVAC Duct Work Connections
Review 1 for 6 in. Take Off Start Collar with Damper for HVAC Duct Work Connections

Poor Design

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is a good concept, but you will still have to seal the supposedly gasket and the handle for the damper sits to low to the housing. Once you zip tie the flex duct it's so far under the insulation that you can't even get to it. i had to foil tape and mastic every one of these, buyer beware
Cons: Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 6 in. Take Off Start Collar with Damper for HVAC Duct Work Connections
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use, very functiional

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just the item for an easy fix. Needed to add a short return air duct to a finished basement, and wanted to be able to adjust or turn off air flow as needed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 6 in. Take Off Start Collar with Damper for HVAC Duct Work Connections
from Prindle, Washington 98671, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Superb quality and very easy to install

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Superb quality and very easy to install. Just a great well thought out product. Absolutey seals up and is obviously not going to let any air leak out of it. Good thick quality plastic too. I am glad I purchased this instead of trying to become an HVAC expert and spending the money on tools etc.
Incredibly the box arrived in a DAY! I am not kidding!
Heck, even the packaging was incredible! it appears they used specially punched/cut cardboard from old boxes for the padding that seemed to make the cardboard into a thick flexible padding mat... never seen that before but the wife and I liked it a lot! way better than Styrofoam or messy peanuts. We have kept it and plan on using it for packing away our own stuff.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 6 in. Take Off Start Collar with Damper for HVAC Duct Work Connections
from Mars, PA

This product is the best HVAC take-off collar I have found.

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wanted a bottom take off collar with a manual damper to run an HVAC dust into a gameroom bathroom register. I also wanted a collar that was easy to install without mounting tabs and with a good seal to eliminate leaks. This is a perfect selection for my application.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 6 in. Take Off Start Collar with Damper for HVAC Duct Work Connections
from Ohio
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product at a low price and beats the metal take-offs. Would be better with a template, but can't complain about the quality of the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 6 in. Take Off Start Collar with Damper for HVAC Duct Work Connections
from Kansas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does exactly what I needed

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Good product had a hard time finding a damper for my Hvac system. Works perfectly and would buy again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 6 in. Take Off Start Collar with Damper for HVAC Duct Work Connections
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Item functioned well for the use intended.

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used the start collar with damper in connection with the furnace humidifier. The humidifier did not have a damper to control or close off air flow. I was concerned the plastic might crack during installation but it held up well.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 6 in. Take Off Start Collar with Damper for HVAC Duct Work Connections
from Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fits the bill, great price, easy install

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I slapped this collar into my vent system in a few minutes. The zip ties and adhesive collar made a good tight fit and I added some mud just be sure it was completely sealed. The damper has notches for each position so it doesn't turn real easily. This wasn't ideal for my application but a bit of shaving and sanding make it swing freely.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.