728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tool Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit

EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit

The General Tool EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit enables you to produce strong, attractive joints in a multitude of applications, eliminating clamping and gluing. The kit includes a portable or bench-mountable jig that easily makes flush, corner and angle pocket hole joints.
Overall rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product9 of 16reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(7)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product9 of 16reviews
Customer reviews for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
Review 1 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
Anonymous
from Denham Springs, LA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great tool, easy to use

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the reviews between this and more expensive products before purchasing for about two weeks. I decided to purchase this to work on a project of building a queen bed. Boy am I happy I did. The tool was easy to use, just slap in the board and make the pocket holes. I did make a few mistakes on some scrap pieces and did see some metal shavings, but that was more my inexperience than a flaw in the tool's design. Hold the drill level, everything works great. Once I figured it out on the scraps of wood, I was making every joint with pocket screws and gorilla glue. I am happy with the way the project turned out. I was able to turn a 4 or 5 day project that would have used dowels and glue into a 2 day project using this pocket screws and glue. I have attached a picture.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+32points
37out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 2 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
Mike
from Colorado Springs
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Too shallow to be of use

PostedMarch 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I must agree with the naysayers. The pocket holes are much too shallow for all but one inch wood sizes. The comparably priced Kreg jig is adjustable and a much better value. Home Depot is, however, very good about returns and exchanges. Phew!
Cons: poor design
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
Jade
from Spokane, WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst Tool Ever

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This tool while being very easy to use is built poorly and uses cheap materials. I purchased one as a cheaper alternative to a Kreg but it didn't even last through the 16 holes I needed to drill, the tube of harder metal became dislodged from the aluminum making one hole unusable. The drill bit was dull so it took extra time to drill each hole. I returned it and bought a Kreg which was a lot more expensive but well worth the extra cost.
Do not waste your time, money, or materials on this cheap tool, as a former construction worker and handy-woman I've dealt with a lot of tools and this is by far the most disappointing purchase I've ever made.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, breaks easily
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
Touchy79
from Los Gatos, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It works well but lacks awesomeness

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was in the market for a pocket hole jig and of course saw the Kreg and it's high price. I immediately started looking for a cheaper alternative. This was one of the options. In short I bought it and ended up returning it because it was a little janky. They cut corners to make a cheap alternative to the high-price one mentioned above. The clamping mechanism is no bueno. Nothing beats an actual clamp. The wing-nut thumb-screw just doesn't hold.
It'll help you get the holes you want but I would NOT recommend this for lots of holes. You'll go nuts in frustration. Spend the $ on the higher price one, keep your sanity, and do pro pocket holes.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features, clamp is not very good
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
zach
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

dont buy!

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was trying to drill a 2x6 and 2x4 for a bed and the angle is way to shallow. doesn't leave enough wood for the screw to bite. couldn't even get the head of the screw all the way in the pocket without the little bit of board left breaking. metal shavings were coming out of the jig after awhile im sure it would start to get sloppy and lose precision. do yourself a favor and just buy the kreg jig even though it cost a little more it is well worth it.
Pros: cheap price
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
satmanGA

OK for 1in work

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I purchased this kit for use on a small furniture project. It is easy to use, but has one big drawback. It is only useful for 1inch lumber. Because the jig forces you to use one set distance from edge it is not useful when using larger lumber. In my case, I wanted to use pocket holes to screw a tabletop to a base from the bottom in order to avoid holes/plugs etc. The base is constructed of 2 inch lumber. Using this jig results in a hole very close to the edge of the board which is not what I was looking for in terms of strength/stability.
It does what it is advertised to do, but for larger wood dimensions I would recommend the Kreg Mini Kreg Jig Pocket Hole Kit (Model # MKJKIT) which allows you to set your distance from edge and therefore the location of your exit hole.
 
Products related to my review
 
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
dissatisified
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expensive cheep tool

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wish I had read the reviews before I bought it. The holes for the guide are sloppy before you start using it and then after it shaves out the sides it is worse. Also the 1 ¼ inch screws that it says it comes with are really 1 inch. I was very disappointed.
Cons: Not Durable, Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
Jamey52
from Atlanta

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is General Tools attempt to create a pocket hole jig which, unlike other pocket hole jigs on the market, does not require making manual adjustments to the jig to compensate for various thicknesses of lumber. After using this jig for a short period of time it becomes obvious that they did not succeed. Here is why...
The EZ Pro Delexe Pocket Hole Jig is set at a fixed angle. There is no adjustment to change it. When you drill a pocket hole with this jig the pilot hole that is drilled always ALWAYS exits the board being drilled 3/16 inch from the edge of the board. This is no matter the thickness of the board being drilled. ("3/16 inch" is an average - there is a lot of 'play' between the jig and the drill bit right out of the box which makes drilling accurate and consistent holes impossible..)
Joining boards with screws exiting 3/16 inch from the edge of the boards makes for very weak joints. I find the screws are easily pulled-out, and the wood destroyed in the process, when a joint made with this jig is twisted.
Also, I found that the 'play' between the drill bit and jig increased with use. The jig is made from aluminum, and I never drilled a hole without finding some amount of metal shavings (aluminum, from the inside of the jig hole) mixed in with the sawdust from the holes I drilled.
Finally, the 'kit' comes with 24 wooden plugs that you are supposed to be able to use to plug the pocket holes drilled. The wooden plugs don't fit. You would think they would since there are no adjustments that can be made to the jig (so the angle of every hole should be the same) - but the wooden plugs don't fit. Not even close.
This jig will not make strong joints, in any thickness of lumber.
+25points
28out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 9 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
Christopher77
from San Antonio, Tx

Pocket Hole Jig Kit

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kit worked very well and easy to use for the dog gate I was making. Product would be better if the there were to set screws on the back, not only for smaller pieces but also to secure the piece in more properly each time. Another piece of information when using the kit, depending on the wood you are drilling and the thickness there could be cracking at the pocket hole. Overall I was and it worked as I expected it to.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
JigMan
from Washington, DC

Not Adjustable

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A pocket hole jig needs to have two adjustments to accomodate stock of various thickness. First, the bit's lock ring sets the depth of the hole. Second, the jig's position should be able to be adjusted in relationship to the edge of the wood. This keeps the hole centered in stock, for joint strength, and prevents drilling out the other side. This jig does not appear to have the second adjustment, and it is most likely permanently set for 3/4" boards. Therefore, I wouldn't recommend it for narrower 1/2" ply.
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
Anonymous
from Dacono, CO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Expert Assist for Apprentice Wood Worker

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I Have only used this product on 1 project so far, but it was easy to realize the difficulty in performing the same task without the assistance from this jig. It appears to be very easy to use in every wood working project I would attempt by myself. Accuracy and precision of the holes for fine wood projects is a must and this tool allows me to feel fully satisfied and looking forward to my next project.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
mikelaurent
from Davie, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

excellent value

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this jig for a couple of projects I was working on. Worked great and was easy to use. Liked the solid metal construction and having all the accessory pieces in the kit. Was going to buy a much more expensive item but this kit was less than half the price and was every bit as good in my opinion.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
strawman
from Calvert City, KY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tool at a great price

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is everything that was advertised and then some
A better value will be real hard to find anywhere
Great job HOME DEPOT.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
JackC92a
from Oregon, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product for the price

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
great product for the price. Well constructed, and easy to use. I was surprised at the quality considering the price I paid. I would recommend buying.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
Charlie
from United States
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great tool and easy to setup and use.

PostedMarch 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Looked at other pocket hole jigs that were much more costly. This was less expensive and easy to use. Works great with no problems. Makes a strong joint, I think the people who did not like it did not know very much about tools.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
tikkakid
from 16259
Gender:Male

great shop addition

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is the tool for perfect cabinet frames. it's easy to set up, very accurate, & you have a professional look when finished. Remember the $60 bucks you saved, compared to the competition, will buy another tool. Awesome investment
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
GTechRules
from Milton, GA

excellent item

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
solid jig works great. easy to use and well thought out. Like the included accessories and case for storage.
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
adlfkjahdf

Expensive, non adjustable, useless.

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
As others have stated, it's non adjustable and that's a big big problem. I'm sure there are some applications that this item could be very useful for, but I can't see it being very versatile. And for the price, it's of no value. I'll be taking this back to the store tomorrow and getting a proper jig.
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
lmay2024
from Benton, AR, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It works ok

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It’s a descent tool for the money. No trills model but works pretty good and is easy to use. Set up is a breeze. Just check screw length on some test wood first.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for EZ Pro Deluxe Pocket Hole Jig Kit
jb123

Easy to use.

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Has performed great and is much less expensive than other pocket hole jigs. Has made two major projects of mine so much easier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.