728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White

Clean your clothes gently and efficiently with the GE 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer Energy Star in White. The washer features 10 wash cycles and 3 wash/rinse temperature options to ensure fabrics such as cottons and hand-washables are properly cleaned and a stainless-steel tub that provides plenty of room to wash up to 24 bath-size towels or a king-size comforter. The Speed Wash cycle quickly washes lightly soiled items.
Overall rating:
4.281 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product54 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(41)
4
(13)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(5)
84%of customersrecommend this product54 of 64reviews
Customer reviews for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
Review 1 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from KIRKLAND WA

MEH

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Dont really care for this washer.
It takes forever to wash even a light load. constantly going off balance. My old washed never had this problem.
HAd the front control go out after 6 months. The seal started leaking after 7. Both covered under warranty.
Would take it back if I could.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Lake Milton, Ohio

clothes are cleaner

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My old washer bit the dust, so I was looking to replace it. I wasn't even planning on buying a front loader because of the high cost. When I found this one online for a special price ($403) I was excited. I only bought it because of the good reviews. It's hard to explain how "clean" the clothes actually are. So my old washer I had for 7 years must have not been doing it's job. I love smelling my clothes when I take them out of the dryer and they actually smell like the detergent that I love. I have only had the washer for a few days and I love it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Charlotte, NC

Washer Performance

PostedFebruary 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my second Washer/Dryer set. I went from a Whirlpool to General Electric. I have to say this washer is the best. Many washer options and use less water. Also it's very quite during the spin cycle. My previous Whirlpool Washer sound like a helicopter was in my laundry room. I would highly recommend this product to friends and family because of it's efficiency conserving water, less kilo-watt to lower your electric bill and quite operation through wash and spin cycle
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Chula Vista, CA

Very Happy with this wsher

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I replaced my Kenmore washer bought 8 years ago with this one and I am very happy with it. It is bigger and quieter than my old front load washer. This washer is a great value at around $400. It has all the settings you need and is half the price of the high-end models. I would recommend this washer for those that are price conscious and are looking to change from the traditional top loading washers.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Ohio

GE Junk

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
we have a ge washer front loader and it was the worst purchase we had ever done. It never worked from the first time and we had repair people around 10 times and they put around 1700.00 in parts and it still is a piece of junk to say the least. Stay as far away from a GE washer as you can.
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Bristol, PA

Efficient and effective!

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a month of use, I have no complaints! The washer does everything I would expect as far as washing clothes. It saves water and electric! The spin cycle gets so much water out I spend less time drying - which is another saver on the electric bill! I have had no problems at all, couldn't be happier for the price.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Apalachicola, FL

Wonderful

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this washer it cleans so well and nothing is tangled together when I take it out, maybe that is a front loader thing this is my first. It is true the spinning shakes my house and I don't know if the anti-vibration pads really do anything.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Greenville, NC

great washer

PostedDecember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this washing machine. It cleans so well and leaves very little water so your clothes dry quickly. I anticipate having lower utility bills and much cleaner clothes. I also found it on sale and saved a lot of money.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from SANTA ROSA, CA

THIS IS THE BEST WASHER I HAVE EVER PURCHASED

PostedDecember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
MY WASHER FINALLY GAVE OUT. I THEN NEEDED TO FIND A WASHER FAST SINCE I AM HAVING ALL MY CHILDREN HERE FOR THE HOLIDAYS. I RECEIVED THIS WASHER WITH FREE SHIPPING, HAUL AWAY AND SOONER IN THE DAY THAN TIME I WAS GIVEN. DELIVERY WAS THOROUGH AND VERY QUICK AND THE TWO GUYS WERE SO PLEASANT. I HAVE NOW DONE 7 LOADS. MY FIRST LOAD I STOOD THERE AND KEPT CHECKING BECAUSE IT WAS SO QUIET I THOUGHT IT MIGHT NOT BE WORKING. MY LAUNDRY ROOM IS DOWNSTAIRS BETWEEN MY LIVING ROOM AND KITCHEN AND YOU COULD NOT HEAR IT AT ALL EVEN WHEN IT IS SPINNING. THE CLOTHES COME OUT SO LIGHT AND DRYING TIME IS CUT IN HALF. I LOVE THIS AND WILL BE PURCHASING THE MATCHING DRYER. IF YOU NEED A NEW WASHER OR LOOKING FOR ONE DON'T PASS THIS UP IT HOLDS A LOT AND GETS THE CLOTHES SO CLEAN. YOU CAN ONLY PUT IN SO MUCH LAUNDRY DETERGENT THERE IS A MAX LINE IN THE HOLDER SO YOU DON'T WASTE YOUR LAUNDRY SOAP EITHER. I LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS AND ALTHOUGH I HAD A FEW MOMENTS OF PANIC BECAUSE OF THIS UNEXPECTED DEMISE OF MY WASHER IT WAS THE BEST THING THAT COULD HAPPEN. I SAVE ON LAUNDRY SOAP, WATER AND ELECTRICITY OF MY DRYER BUT THERE IS NO NOISE COMING THROUGH THE WALL OF A NOISY WASHER.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from winston salem, nc

not a huge fan

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was so excited about this new washer especially after reading numerous positive reviews. It does not remotely clean clothes as well as my top loader. It literally shakes the cabinet doors in my adjacent bathroom when it spins. I can't fathom what the vibration is doing to the structure of my and home. I cringe everytime the floors start to shake imagining wiring etc. being jiggled loose. Clothes often come out sudsy (even when I add minimal amounts of HE detergent and use medium loads). Stains abound, and some clothes have dry spots. The bleach dispenser must have an issue becaue it's ruined several pairs of my pants by spraying bleach directly on them. I mourn for my old washer and regret this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Dallas, TX.

GE Washer and Dryer

PostedNovember 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using GE Washer and Dryers for over 30 years. I have FINALLY had to get around to replacing my dryer after it started failing in its 19th year of continuous use. The washer has had 1 repair and is still going strong. 5 Stars is not enough to recommend for GE products.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Nashville, Tennessee

Listen to the reviews

PostedJanuary 15, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading all the reviews I had a feeling buying this machine was a mistake, and I should have went with my gut. It does clean clothing well and the main cycle is pretty quiet asides from some clicking UNTIL THE FINAL SPIN. Holy cow, it is like a plane turbine has started up in my laundry room. It vibrates my entire upstairs, REALLY BAD!!!!!!! If you are putting this in a laundry room on a floor that is directly on your foundation I think you'd be ok, but mine is on the upper floor of my house with a basement and it isn't good. Anyway to me its a buyer beware on this washer, I personally am going back to a top loader, they just work :) & Thank you Home depot for agreeing to take this back and let me get another :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from San Diego, CA

I love it

PostedFebruary 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this washer and matching gas dryer only about two weeks ago, so I can't comment on longevity, but I love it so far. It looks simple and clean, it's easy to use, it gets my clothes clean, and doesn't make a lot of noise while doing so. Also, I was surprised at how much room there is to fit large blankets that don't fit in standard top loading machines. I really don't know why anyone would pay more for a fancier model - perhaps for a bunch of settings that will rarely if ever be used? I love this washer, very happy with my purchase so far!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Yakima, WA

the parts to repair are to expensive

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I will never buy another GE washer again, after having a washer for four years, using once a week doing two loads, the machine I have stopped spinning, we called the service man and were told, that the mother board had to be replace and because it was connected to the motor that had to be replaced also. The cost of the parts were almost $500 dollars plus the service call of $75, he said GE gives you a good price on the machine, but they make all their money on the parts. Double check your warrenty when buying, and the costs of parts for repairs!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Spokane Valley, WA

GE Washer 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this washer a few weeks back & I am very happy with it. What used to take me like 5 loads now only takes me two. I was very bummed to find out that the offer for GE High Energy Appliances for the buy 2 get a $500 Visa card for purchasing the two together only applies to Kitchen Appliances. I rent, so I planned on purchasing the Dryer to go with as well and take with me if I ever move. My fault for not reading the fine print though. Other than that I'm very happy with the product. Its not loud and my clothes are so much cleaner! I would recommend to a freind & have. Nice looking & very easy to operate. :)
Delivery & set up was fast & they set it all up for me & I was ready to start washing right away. As a matter of a fact I was looking for things to wash! lol :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Racine, WI

Does not conform to ad.

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is claimed in the advertisement that this machine will wash a king size comforter. If you're lucky enough to get and keep the door shut after insertion, the water will enter the machine and the barrel will do it's little back and forth spin. However, it doen't flip the comforter to clean all surfaces because it is so jambed in there. At best it is cleaning only the suface where the water can really get to it. I am not happy and would not recommend this washer for extra capacity loads of any kind.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from OH

Love It!

PostedFebruary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this washer as a set with the dryer after our washer bit the dust. We were on a tight budget so the price is what led me to initially look at this washer. I read all the good reviews and decided to go for it. It was a good choice, we have only had the washer for a couple days but it is wonderful. It washes and dries so much quicker then my old washer and dryer and the clothes come out so soft! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a front load washer on a budget!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White

Good washer for money

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this washer about a month ago (along with the dryer). Overall I like the dryer better then the washer for two main reasons. The first issue may just be something to be corrected on my end, but during the spin cycle is extremely loud (I am running in on the fastest spin cycle). I need to look and see if its level or not to see if this is corrected. The second and main reason I give this a 4 rather then a 5 star rating is that the inner seal retains water as does the detergent/bleach drawer. I was warned after buying the washer that front loaders would do this, but I feel like this is may be in excess of other brands but am unsure. Leaving the door open and wiping down the door seal helps with this though. All together though this is a very good washer/dryer set. I am very happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Kansas City

Great Price - Quality Product

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an absolute steal for HE front loaders. The wash quality is good. Make sure to follow instructions as far as detergent type and amount is concerned. Putting to much detergent will leave residue and actually not clean as well. The spin cycle is, as everyone says, super fast and I can see how people say it shakes the house. Mine is sitting on a regular floor, no special balancing piece they offer. If I'm not paying attention to it, I don't notice when it's spinning, but if I am, I can hear it, and if standing in the room or next to it, feel a small vibration. Other than that small issue, it is ridiculously quiet and more than worth the money. The are about 20 different combination's of water level/heat/cycle you can set it to, along with auto settings, so it doesn't lack in that category like some of the $800 machines have. Buy it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.8 cu. ft. IEC King-Size Capacity Front Load Washer in White
from Union,SC

GE King-Size Front Load Washer

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I truly like this washer.
The king-size capacity is great. It cuts down the amount of loads you do each week.
Save on the water usage too.
Great for people with king-size bedding too.
Like the adjustable spin speed cycle also.
The detergent tray is easy to clean out and that is plus.
(The last washer I had, the detergent tray was hard to get out and had little holes that tended to build up moisture and get molding easily.)
This is a great washer!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>