728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Solar Power or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED

1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED

The PowerHub 1800 is an ideal power solution for cottages and the perfect backup power solution for homes. Advanced technology lets user harvest energy from multiple power sources and convert it to AC power. Combines an inverter/charger with batteries that can store up to 100 Amp hours of energy. Built-in automatic transfer switch ensures seamless transfer of your electrical loads to its backup batteries.
Overall rating:
3.571 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 14 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
79%of customersrecommend this product11 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Some things to consider

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good basic system but it does not have a pure sine inverter which can be harmful to some electronics. If you do some research on batteries, many pros recommend 6 volt golf cart batteries connected in series - these batteries cost more but are designed for many more charge/discharge cycles. Marine deep cycle batteries are different and are designed/constructed differently from golf cart batteries.
+79points
81out of 83found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED
from Arlington, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Know what you are ordering. This unit is not a pure signwave inverter....that means some rechargable devices will not work. No it does not come with batteries, and when you get the Exide batteries, they do not have hex nuts. That requires a trip to the hardware store for 2 3/8 inch coarse thread nuts and washers [ mine were 13 cents each]. Hook up the batteries first and then plug the battery box into the inverter/charger[ otherwise you get sparks]. Keep the shipping foam to cover the solar panel when installing [ keep it in the dark until it is hooked up]. Always hook up the charge controller to the inverter first and then to the solar panel. Highly reccomend a DC disconnect switch between each panel and it's charge controller.
This unit is not perfect but it gives you a chance to put together a system using wind and sun and provides emergency power for many uses. There will be better units in later years but this on is here and now. I like it and reccomend it.
+72points
76out of 80found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Don't compare this to a serious off-grid system!

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you are interested in a real off-grid system or a grid-tied system with battery backup for standby power, this is not likely it. It will run some small things for a short period of time, but keep in mind that depending on where you are, 140 watts of solar is going to generate, at best, 100 watts of AC power. That means that you could not run a 100 watt lightbulb for perpetuity. The size of the battery bank will determine how long you can go, but running a 100 watt light bulb will eventually deplete the battery bank because you don't have 24 hours of sun each day. Google Shockoe Solar and check out their website if you want to learn a little more. The site contains lots of information.
+94points
125out of 156found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED
from Oklahoma

Does what I wanted it to do.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered Home Depot's Phono Solar 1800 Watt Solar Generator. Maybe I am slow, but it took a while for me to be able to understand that the generator comes with everything except a battery. You need to clearly understand "batteries are not included” in this package! You must order at least one from somewhere. You can only put up to two in the battery storage unit shown, not four! To use four batteries, you need to buy another “solar power expansion box” for $219 which will hold another two batteries. It is my understanding that no matter whether you use one or four batteries, the wattage power is not increased; just the length of time you can run on batteries is extended. You also need to understand that although there is no battery shown as an accessory on the web page showing the generator, one can be ordered. Do a search on Home Depot’s website with the internet number 202548459 and you will find that it costs $199. They were “out of stock” when I was ready to order, so I called customer service to find out when they might get them in. They didn't know when they would get more of these batteries. "Maybe in a couple of weeks" I was told. I am excited about finding the solar generator at Home Depot and look forward to getting it. It sounds great! By the way, if you want your system right away and can't get the battery, you may want to do a search on the internet for a solar battery. P.S. Got the system in last week and I am very satisfied with it.
+78points
87out of 96found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED

Impressed---Much better than a gas generator

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wow, I live in a condo association that does not allow the use of gas or propane generators. I found this online, but admit I am not a solar expert. It was simple to install....just plug wires into obvious ports. (I called customer service once, extremely helpful and they even sent me a link to an installation video they created that shows each step of how to install and confirm I did it correctly). It is completely silent, good for the environment and it worked great! My neighbors are all on-board to buy more for association members. Most of the time I plug it into the wall when the power is restored and the charge the batteries back to full. They last a while so I have barely even needed the panel yet!
+27points
36out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful product at a great price, and free shipping, even to Hawaii!

PostedJuly 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was researching buying the components to build one myself, but finally realized that it would be safer to get one that was already put together. Recharges battery in about 5 hours of good sun. A larger solar panel might improve charging. Battery voltage goes higher with AC charging. Would have wanted a pure sine wave output. But thrilled with the product.
Pros: Great Sound Quality, Compact, Battery Length, Clear Instructions, Nice Design, Easy Installation
+15points
18out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED

Excellent Solar Generator

PostedJune 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Generator works great for our needs. Easy to install and it ran our TV, lights, and small electronics because our power goes out for short periods periodically. Big Help!
+23points
28out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product saves money and pays for itself

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At first I was not feeling to good about the price. It was very expensive and I thought that it wouldnt work out to pay for itself; however, after I decided to buy it started cutting my electric bills by major amounts. i work all day so my house uses little electric during the day and at night i have a few lights on and the tv, so basically my electric bill was very minimum. Winter rolled around and the heat needed to be turned on. my eletric bill rose in the winter, but only for the heat. over all i am very impressed with this product.
+11points
22out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED
from NE
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Returned

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It looked like a nice package but I needed 240V and a true sine wave so I took it back to my local store for a no hassel return.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix, AZ

1800 W Solar Generator

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lived up to expectations.However, I really want to provide the whole house with at lease 1000 watts/hour. I will call the manufacturer to see if I can hook it up this way.
+7points
24out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED
from Seattle

use a grid tie power inverter

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
To the people complaining about no battery:
Install a grid tie power inverter, and the grid is your battery.
-11points
28out of 67found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED

Not a complete generator

PostedMay 18, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It may be a good product but since the batteries are not included in the kit and they are not available for purchase it was a huge waste.
-28points
27out of 82found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED
from Bottineau, ND

We returned this item

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This solar generator was too complicated for us to understand it. It also did not come with a battery which would add a lot to the price.
-45points
30out of 105found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,800-Watt Solar Generator-DISCONTINUED
from wv
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

batterys

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
use a deep cycle marine battery. $75.................................................................................................................................
-9points
5out of 19found this review helpful.