728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Garden Plants & Flowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit

Amaryllis Red Lion Kit

Amaryllis Red Lion produces beautiful bright red flowers. A true classic, producing 2-3 flowers per stem, Red Lion is probably the most popular Amaryllis for the holidays. Kit includes one amaryllis bulb, growing pot and soil disc. Excellent teacher or hostess gift.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product8 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product8 of 12reviews
Customer reviews for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit
Review 1 for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit
from Austin, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazingly Beautiful Show

PostedNovember 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased three Red Lion Amarillis bulbs and planted them in my own container. They grew and bloomed so fast I was amazed. I still have two more unopened flower buds hiding under the flowers!
Pros: Great Quality, fast growing, easy to grow, showstopper
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit
from Georgia
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not packaged to give as gifts

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 5 of these bulbs (3 different varieties) to give as gifts. They came grouped together in corrugated boxes with excelsior between each bulb. They each had crumbled up copy paper showing a picture and growing instructions stuck in each pot. All of the bulbs had red blooms only two were the correct variety the "Red Lion" all the other bulbs were also "Red Lion". Out of the 5 I bought, one had stunted growth. At $10 a bulb I expected more, a boxed kit suitable for gift giving.
Pros: Vibrant Color, easy to grow
Cons: not packaged well, bulbs were not variety displayed, all bulbs did not grow
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit
from Buffalo, New York
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very pretty, everyone loved it!

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased a Apple blossom Amaryllis last year and it was in the wrong box, because it's a Red Lion but it was very pretty. I saved the bulb and it is starting to sprout for this year already. I will be purchasing another one this year.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit

Great Deal Poor Quality

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have been growing amaryllis for years. In the past I have bought the packages one sees at the store - way over priced - and was always happy with the flowers when the blooms opened. I saw these on line and the price was right so I ordered 6. They have not grown as tall as others nor have the flowers lasted: only 24-36 hours once they open. Also bought hyacinths and have had even worse results: not rooting, rotting, and after 2 1/2 months only one has started to show any sign of flowering. Both from same grower. That being said, The paperwhites, from the same grower, are amazing!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit
from Cambria
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

absolutely beautiful

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hopefully, you'll have available this year, ordered different colors, some for gifts,everyone raved about them. Blooms 6" in diameter, two stalks with 4 booms each.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit

The product was disappointing.

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The amaryllis bulbs were either completely dead, or mostly shriveled.
Pros: Vibrant Color
Cons: Not Durable, dead bulbs
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, healthy plants.

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product was extremely poorly packaged for shipping. Everything arrived jumbled and in a mess. One instruction sheet was missing. The product itself was a very good value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Arrived on time & undamaged

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Arrived on time & in great condition. Better than expected. Had never ordered bulbs before, very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit
from Iowa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can't wait

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Was worried at first as there was no new growth when the bulb arrived. I followed the directions and within a week it started to grow. I now have 2 shoots coming on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit

This product is great

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So easy to grow! and my flower has been growing for about 2 weeks and is already so big!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit
from Mamaroneck, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

plants

PostedNovember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
so far so good, they won't bloom for another few weeks but grow has already started.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Amaryllis Red Lion Kit
from Florida

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw these bulbs on the e-mail garden club newsletter and enjoyed shopping online. The package arrived free and fast. I'm very happy with my purchase the plants will be beautiful. :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.