728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tillers & Cultivators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

The Sun Joe Tiller Joe TJ600E Electric Tiller/Cultivator holds the power found in a gas tiller with the convenience of electric power. Weighing in at 17 lbs the Tiller Joe is easy to use in any situation; such as starting a new garden or recovering an old lawn. Its four steel angled tines enable the Tiller Joe to loosen the ground and make any planting or dirt removal easier than with hand tools; relieving strain on the operator by using power and reducing weight and motion by the operator. No tune ups or oil are necessary, ever. This machine is ETL inspected and approved and comes with a full two year warranty from the manufacturer.
Overall rating:
4.172 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product73 of 82reviews
Rating Breakdown 87 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(43)
4
(30)
3
(5)
2
(4)
1
(5)
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product73 of 82reviews
Customer reviews for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
Review 1 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tiller for the right size job, at a great price

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a small 2000 square foot lawn that was completely compressed from hard use over many years. I figured for the price, sale price, I would try to till the soil and try to rebuild my lawn. This machine did the trick. It was easy to use after I figured out that it tilled better as I pulled it, rather than pushing it. I had to stop regularly to clear out roots and vines from the tiller axel. Be careful not to cut yourself on the blades, unplug it first. Do not overheat the unit, it's not a pro unit but it's great for small areas or flower or vegetable gardens. If you are careful it can do much larger areas but stay away from hard rocky soil. It's not designed for that.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Tiller Joe - light weight, electric and the BEST pick!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Tiller Joe was a snap to put together. We wanted a cultivator that was light weight, easy to use and store. Our garden is not huge but Tiller Joe outshines the shovel we used to use. The manual had great pictures to aid in assembly. Now gardening is easier and the plants grow quicker!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from houston, texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for small jobs.

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy to assemble and operate, light weight, good for small area's. Some what under power to till up large area's of St Augustine grass. Had to stop every now and then to clean the grass out from between the tillers. I therefore only tilled the area for the job I had to do. it was just what I needed and the price was fit my budget. Would have given it 5 stars if it could have handle thick St. Augustine. I'm sure a higher amp unit could have handle it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Erie, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does just what I want. Easy to use.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
First day out with the tiller I was amazed how fast I could till my garden boxes. No more fumes from my now defunct gas tiller. Plug and till.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from vallejo ca, norhbay
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

tore into ground good,great speed,did a large area fast,light easy to operate and move around, a child could use this machine

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
very good for what needs to be done, fast and effiecient
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, doesn't overheat
Cons: couldn't find one
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Sacramento
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes Cultivating Fun

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased for use in preparing an area for sod. Since I had mixed sand with clay previously, the tiller made fast work of getting the area read to lay the sod. I will be using in my planting beds also. I could have rented a tiller, maybe more powerful, but I would have paid as much as it cost to purchase the Lit Joe and I will have it for my garden beds in the future. Win Win.
It does have a little kick to it, so you need to have a firm grip on it. For the price, the value is actually Excellent.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Durable, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Easy to Store
Cons: must hold firm
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Mpls
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Purchase

PostedApril 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this after using a friend's tiller first. Almost overheated once but that was going through grass. Tilling it under a bit at a time helped and was able to get through the grass clump. Works wonderful on soil that is mostly grass free and weed free. Managed to till the whole garden today (20' x 30') in about an hour.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Sun Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It's one mean little cultivator.i have a 8x10 raised graden nothing big this tiller did the job in nothing flat it didnt bog down or have dirt flying around . It's got alot of muscle for a little machine and it can get away from you.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Midlothian, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for small gardens

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was concerned about an electrical tiller being strong enough to turn my vegetable garden, but I was pleasantly surprised. Tiller turned my beds over easily. This tiller will work great for my as I turn my beds twice yearly.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from boca raton, fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tiller worked well in our sandy Florida soil. Easy to use as long as you watch where the cord is at all times.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used the tiller to clear our yard prior to resodding and mulching. Great job for a light weight tiller. May need more power for harder soil but it works smoothly in the sandy yards here in Florida.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: cord is an obstacle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Nice product, easy to use!

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Thrilled with this product, especially good value for the price. I have had larger tillers, but they are difficult to handle because of the size and weight.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

I can't really judge it yet, it came missing 2 screws - waiting for a response as to how to get it remedied.

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It looks nice, but when putting it together I found that 2 small screws were missing. I am waiting to hear back from Sun Joe.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

tiller

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've owned several gas tillers in my life I do recommend this product it performed better than expected
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Did not work

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not work out of the box had to take back to Home Depot sorry can't rate it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Sun joe elect tiller

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I only used the tiller once since purchase but it worked great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works really well.

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by how well it dug up the soil even in tilling up lawn for new beds. It is a good size although a little too large for tilling around already growing plants. Easy to assemble and fairly easy to handle, even for this female senior citizen with a number of chronic illnesses. In fact, I got it because I can't dig like I used to and this enables me to loosen the dirt and get ready to plant.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

great buy

PostedApril 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have had it for a couple mths and its great. the wheels are cheaply made, but they serve their purpose. wish I had bought it sooner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Would buy it again!!

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We were pleasantly surprised at the quality and the power of this electric tiller.We have used it on our 24x24 garden and are very happy with the time saved from the manual labor standpoint.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Walpole, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This tiller is so much more than I expected. We have used it on flower beds the vegetable garden and a few spaces in the yard that we wanted to add flowers. It goes through the soil with ease and works quickly.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Prescott Valley, AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The tiller was easy to assemble. It works as advertised though it tends to rise as you push it forward; maybe wheels would allow it to stay more in the soil being tilled. Overall, I am satisfied with Tiller Joe.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>