728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tillers & Cultivators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator

Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator

The Sun Joe Tiller Joe TJ600E Electric Tiller/Cultivator holds the power found in a gas tiller with the convenience of electric power. Weighing in at 17 lbs the Tiller Joe is easy to use in any situation; such as starting a new garden or recovering an old lawn. Its four steel angled tines enable the Tiller Joe to loosen the ground and make any planting or dirt removal easier than with hand tools; relieving strain on the operator by using power and reducing weight and motion by the operator. No tune ups or oil are necessary, ever. This machine is ETL inspected and approved and comes with a full two year warranty from the manufacturer.
Overall rating:
3.967 / 5
4
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product24 of 29reviews
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product24 of 29reviews
Customer reviews for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
Review 1 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
Willy
from Erie, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does just what I want. Easy to use.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First day out with the tiller I was amazed how fast I could till my garden boxes. No more fumes from my now defunct gas tiller. Plug and till.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
tater
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It.s OK but not what I was expecting

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
hard to use, would be better if it had wheels to guide it. I would not recomend it.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
farmerbob82
from Orange County, Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Eager to chew up more dirt

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Took me just a couple minutes to go from in the box to assembled and turning dirt. I nearly ran myself over the first time i hit the power switch because i didn't read the directions before use. It cuts down about 6 inches or so into the soil. It's light and easy to use. Just plug it in and start tilling. Love this thing.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
Unhappycampershusband
from PalmCoast, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great for digging in non compacted soil

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good for tiling in previously tiled soils. Will not cut through roots.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
ladypeace
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works really well.

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by how well it dug up the soil even in tilling up lawn for new beds. It is a good size although a little too large for tilling around already growing plants. Easy to assemble and fairly easy to handle, even for this female senior citizen with a number of chronic illnesses. In fact, I got it because I can't dig like I used to and this enables me to loosen the dirt and get ready to plant.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
GardenHappy
from Walpole, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tiller is so much more than I expected. We have used it on flower beds the vegetable garden and a few spaces in the yard that we wanted to add flowers. It goes through the soil with ease and works quickly.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
GTONC

Would buy it again!!

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were pleasantly surprised at the quality and the power of this electric tiller.We have used it on our 24x24 garden and are very happy with the time saved from the manual labor standpoint.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
SBGeph289
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great for older people and young alike~

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little tiller is perfect in the garden plot as well as around the flowering beds. It is lightweight and small but does a really heavy weight and big job! It is very easy to handle and I am a small elderly woman in my 70's. Sure beats the alternative (hoeing and shoveling to work up the ground). I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Powerful
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
cclady
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was very easy to put together and just as easy to use.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
Jerry
from Kissimmee, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good.

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I enjoyed using the 17 pound tiller a couple of weeks ago when I received it from UPS. It is powerful enough to use in my 4' x 20' raised garden and all the landscaping areas of my 1/3 acre lot. It has a two year manufacturer warranty also. My gas rototiller weighs at least a hundred pounds and I used it mainly to start tilling in virgin soil that the electric one would have a hard time with. I will be selling the gas one this summer.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
kvittitoe
from malta ny
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for the money!

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product easy to use. Good power and works well. Electric! Assembly is not simple as it should be due to lining up blind holes. Tiller must cool down after about ten to fifteen minutes of use. Tiller gets tangled when breaking ground with grass present.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
CaliGardner
from California

This was everything I had hoped it to be.

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The assemble was easy. The packaging was good. The product was great. I thought that this would not be able to handle the work load that I had planned for it. It handle it with ease. I got tired before it ever did. Great size for storage and operation. The only con that I could think of was it would be nice if it came with a kick stand or just a stand/hook to store it in my garage. I would recommend this to friends and others.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
TomD
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The product is easy to use and great value.

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very good tiller for small to medium projects. Easy to handle and cuts in to the ground with good speed. Keeping the on switch activiated was a problem during the first few minutes. With some practice the issue of keeping the on switch active was not a problem. I use the tiller in my horse stalls for mixing the bedding and operate it about about 2 hours each session every month. No problems with motor overheating.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
Silvercrow
from Sparks, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

EZ light weight tiller

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a good deal and works very well. The light weight makes it ideal for my 4 x 8 raised garden plots. Being electric is a plus, ready to go at a moments notice. Good power. The safety switch on the handle is not in the correct location for comfortable long time use. I have had it 9 months with no problems. I have used it last fall and this spring.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
love2work
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lightweight and Fun to Use

PostedApril 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This item was fairly easy to put together. It is very lightweight which makes it easy to transport and use. It worked great on bare ground. I have not tried it on ground covered with growth.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
Teddyinaustin
from United States
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good solid little tiller

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have a small back yard with small plots and this tiller is tyhe perfect size for small jobs. Being electric makes it much quieter than gas and the folding handle makes it pretty easy to store.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
Ginny
from Smyrna, DE, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent

PostedApril 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to assemble. Easy for a woman to use and quite easy to handle. Did a great job on the first till. Will be using it all summer in the garden.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
keristar
from Oakley, CA

Love it. I read many reviews before purchase and it's everything I wanted.

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to put together and worked like a charm. My daughter and I had no trouble lifting or using it. I just love it. One of the best things I've ever purchased. I will recommend it to all my friends who are considering renting a tiller.
+6points
10out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
lurch

Good Product - easy setup and use

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good product for the price. good power and light. the only thing I would suggest is to have an area that is not new - little light but after a couple of times works wonders.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller-Cultivator
silver1
from Sparks, NV

It is a little work horse!

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Light weight but digs in well. I have some hard clay and it broke it up nicely. EZ to handle even when it "bucks" on a rock. I used it for over an hour straight and it never had a problem. I'm happy with it performance.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 >>