728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tillers & Cultivators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

The Sun Joe Tiller Joe TJ600E Electric Tiller/Cultivator holds the power found in a gas tiller with the convenience of electric power. Weighing in at 17 lbs the Tiller Joe is easy to use in any situation; such as starting a new garden or recovering an old lawn. Its four steel angled tines enable the Tiller Joe to loosen the ground and make any planting or dirt removal easier than with hand tools; relieving strain on the operator by using power and reducing weight and motion by the operator. No tune ups or oil are necessary, ever. This machine is ETL inspected and approved and comes with a full two year warranty from the manufacturer.
Overall rating:
4.206 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(68 reviews) 68
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product59 of 65reviews
Rating Breakdown 68 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(24)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product59 of 65reviews
Customer reviews for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
Review 1 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tiller for the right size job, at a great price

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a small 2000 square foot lawn that was completely compressed from hard use over many years. I figured for the price, sale price, I would try to till the soil and try to rebuild my lawn. This machine did the trick. It was easy to use after I figured out that it tilled better as I pulled it, rather than pushing it. I had to stop regularly to clear out roots and vines from the tiller axel. Be careful not to cut yourself on the blades, unplug it first. Do not overheat the unit, it's not a pro unit but it's great for small areas or flower or vegetable gardens. If you are careful it can do much larger areas but stay away from hard rocky soil. It's not designed for that.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Tiller Joe - light weight, electric and the BEST pick!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tiller Joe was a snap to put together. We wanted a cultivator that was light weight, easy to use and store. Our garden is not huge but Tiller Joe outshines the shovel we used to use. The manual had great pictures to aid in assembly. Now gardening is easier and the plants grow quicker!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Erie, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does just what I want. Easy to use.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First day out with the tiller I was amazed how fast I could till my garden boxes. No more fumes from my now defunct gas tiller. Plug and till.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from vallejo ca, norhbay
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

tore into ground good,great speed,did a large area fast,light easy to operate and move around, a child could use this machine

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very good for what needs to be done, fast and effiecient
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, doesn't overheat
Cons: couldn't find one
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Plattsburgh, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very pleasantly surprised that this small tiller accomplished the job very quickly. Assembly was a bit challenging for me, but I am an older woman and unfortunately, those things aren't as easy as they used to be. The tiller is light enough for me to carry from the garage to the garden with no problem at all. It chewed up the soil to a depth of about 8 inches or so--just what I wanted. I'd never handled a tiller before, and I found out that you do have to be very careful the first time you start it up because it can move pretty quickly if it isn't digging. There is an automatic kill switch so that if it gets away from you it will immediately stop. Once I understood how it moved it was very easy to use. Soooo much better than digging!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works really well.

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by how well it dug up the soil even in tilling up lawn for new beds. It is a good size although a little too large for tilling around already growing plants. Easy to assemble and fairly easy to handle, even for this female senior citizen with a number of chronic illnesses. In fact, I got it because I can't dig like I used to and this enables me to loosen the dirt and get ready to plant.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Stevens Point, WI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, not so good of a deal from Home Depot.

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Well I guess I need to put something in this review area to get this to be accepted so here goes. From what I can figure out this is a pretty good product for use in small gardens, it tills fairly well in an existing garden but I would not use it to till up virgin soil. I think it would be too hard on the motor and the tiller blades. For what my needs are I think its a fine product and I do like the 2 year warranty factor.
Pros: Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Walpole, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tiller is so much more than I expected. We have used it on flower beds the vegetable garden and a few spaces in the yard that we wanted to add flowers. It goes through the soil with ease and works quickly.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Sterling, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great small tiller!

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Made fast work of re-doing an existing raised flower bed and made creating a new bed fast! Has enough power to really pull it along quickly and with ease. Should have bought one years ago!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Light Weight, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Would buy it again!!

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were pleasantly surprised at the quality and the power of this electric tiller.We have used it on our 24x24 garden and are very happy with the time saved from the manual labor standpoint.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Montrose, Ga
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Purchase

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very Good Product, Very Light, Very Powerful, Turns up the dirt with ease.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from salem, or
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A great purchase

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tiller Joe Tiller
I had no difficulty setting up and using this tiller. perfect size for my yard. I am thinking about getting a smaller one to use in my rose bed. Delivery was quick, the package showed up without damage.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from White center Seattle Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did the job

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is perfect for small jobs. I could not use it because of my back. But it was easy for my grandkids to do for me. I would recommend this to anyone
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Dallas,tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Good for light tilling

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am an older lady and the tiller was easy to operate. The control switch was a little confusing
at first ,but with a little practice it will get easier. It does a good job for light tilling
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Big Lake Village , Missouri
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

first time user

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tiller was easy to assembly. Good for garden that has been power tilled. Keeps small weeds down and good for tilling small areas and top soil for seeding.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to use

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was very easy to put together and just as easy to use.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Kissimmee, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So far so good.

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I enjoyed using the 17 pound tiller a couple of weeks ago when I received it from UPS. It is powerful enough to use in my 4' x 20' raised garden and all the landscaping areas of my 1/3 acre lot. It has a two year manufacturer warranty also. My gas rototiller weighs at least a hundred pounds and I used it mainly to start tilling in virgin soil that the electric one would have a hard time with. I will be selling the gas one this summer.
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Brownwood, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tiller Joe

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used my tiller 4 times now and can find no complaint. I'm in my mid-sixties and not as agile as I once was but was able to handle this tool with ease. I recommend Tiller Joe to any one who is a first time user of a tiller and wants to really go to town tilling flowerbeds or gardens. .
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Pottstown, PA 19465, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for small gardens, great value, convenient, light duty

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Tiller was a welcome surprise. It was purchased on sale at a great price, less than a C-note, and arrived quickly. It replaced a H**** gas mini-tiller that was stolen. Assembly was quick and easy, basically just installing the handle. So I was able to try it out immediately…
Wow. The electric operation had me productive before I would have finished checking the oil on the H**** gas mini-tiller. in our small (400 sq ft) home vegetable garden it chewed up the soil and spit out the rocks almost as well as the H****. The electric motor and transmission seemed to be sized for job and duty cycle.
There are a few shortcoming. First, the "deadman" switch is tiring and prone to click "off" while working. But I'm glad it is there. And compared to the H****, to doesn't dig quite as deep. But I can live with both shortcomings, given the convenience and especially since it does the job I need it to do.
Recommended.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from malta ny
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product for the money!

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good product easy to use. Good power and works well. Electric! Assembly is not simple as it should be due to lining up blind holes. Tiller must cool down after about ten to fifteen minutes of use. Tiller gets tangled when breaking ground with grass present.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>