728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Tillers & Cultivators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

The Sun Joe Tiller Joe TJ600E Electric Tiller/Cultivator holds the power found in a gas tiller with the convenience of electric power. Weighing in at 17 lbs the Tiller Joe is easy to use in any situation; such as starting a new garden or recovering an old lawn. Its four steel angled tines enable the Tiller Joe to loosen the ground and make any planting or dirt removal easier than with hand tools; relieving strain on the operator by using power and reducing weight and motion by the operator. No tune ups or oil are necessary, ever. This machine is ETL inspected and approved and comes with a full two year warranty from the manufacturer.
Overall rating:
4.188 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product55 of 61reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(22)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(3)
Features 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product55 of 61reviews
Customer reviews for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
Review 1 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Queens, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tiller for the right size job, at a great price

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a small 2000 square foot lawn that was completely compressed from hard use over many years. I figured for the price, sale price, I would try to till the soil and try to rebuild my lawn. This machine did the trick. It was easy to use after I figured out that it tilled better as I pulled it, rather than pushing it. I had to stop regularly to clear out roots and vines from the tiller axel. Be careful not to cut yourself on the blades, unplug it first. Do not overheat the unit, it's not a pro unit but it's great for small areas or flower or vegetable gardens. If you are careful it can do much larger areas but stay away from hard rocky soil. It's not designed for that.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Tiller Joe - light weight, electric and the BEST pick!

PostedMay 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Tiller Joe was a snap to put together. We wanted a cultivator that was light weight, easy to use and store. Our garden is not huge but Tiller Joe outshines the shovel we used to use. The manual had great pictures to aid in assembly. Now gardening is easier and the plants grow quicker!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Erie, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It does just what I want. Easy to use.

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First day out with the tiller I was amazed how fast I could till my garden boxes. No more fumes from my now defunct gas tiller. Plug and till.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from vallejo ca, norhbay
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

tore into ground good,great speed,did a large area fast,light easy to operate and move around, a child could use this machine

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
very good for what needs to be done, fast and effiecient
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting, doesn't overheat
Cons: couldn't find one
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Plattsburgh, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very easy to use

PostedMay 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very pleasantly surprised that this small tiller accomplished the job very quickly. Assembly was a bit challenging for me, but I am an older woman and unfortunately, those things aren't as easy as they used to be. The tiller is light enough for me to carry from the garage to the garden with no problem at all. It chewed up the soil to a depth of about 8 inches or so--just what I wanted. I'd never handled a tiller before, and I found out that you do have to be very careful the first time you start it up because it can move pretty quickly if it isn't digging. There is an automatic kill switch so that if it gets away from you it will immediately stop. Once I understood how it moved it was very easy to use. Soooo much better than digging!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from White center Seattle Washington
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Did the job

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is perfect for small jobs. I could not use it because of my back. But it was easy for my grandkids to do for me. I would recommend this to anyone
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Dallas,tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Good for light tilling

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am an older lady and the tiller was easy to operate. The control switch was a little confusing
at first ,but with a little practice it will get easier. It does a good job for light tilling
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Big Lake Village , Missouri
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

first time user

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Tiller was easy to assembly. Good for garden that has been power tilled. Keeps small weeds down and good for tilling small areas and top soil for seeding.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works really well.

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by how well it dug up the soil even in tilling up lawn for new beds. It is a good size although a little too large for tilling around already growing plants. Easy to assemble and fairly easy to handle, even for this female senior citizen with a number of chronic illnesses. In fact, I got it because I can't dig like I used to and this enables me to loosen the dirt and get ready to plant.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Walpole, MA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tiller is so much more than I expected. We have used it on flower beds the vegetable garden and a few spaces in the yard that we wanted to add flowers. It goes through the soil with ease and works quickly.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Brownwood, Tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tiller Joe

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used my tiller 4 times now and can find no complaint. I'm in my mid-sixties and not as agile as I once was but was able to handle this tool with ease. I recommend Tiller Joe to any one who is a first time user of a tiller and wants to really go to town tilling flowerbeds or gardens. .
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Self-Propelled, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Would buy it again!!

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were pleasantly surprised at the quality and the power of this electric tiller.We have used it on our 24x24 garden and are very happy with the time saved from the manual labor standpoint.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Pottstown, PA 19465, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Perfect for small gardens, great value, convenient, light duty

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This Tiller was a welcome surprise. It was purchased on sale at a great price, less than a C-note, and arrived quickly. It replaced a H**** gas mini-tiller that was stolen. Assembly was quick and easy, basically just installing the handle. So I was able to try it out immediately…
Wow. The electric operation had me productive before I would have finished checking the oil on the H**** gas mini-tiller. in our small (400 sq ft) home vegetable garden it chewed up the soil and spit out the rocks almost as well as the H****. The electric motor and transmission seemed to be sized for job and duty cycle.
There are a few shortcoming. First, the "deadman" switch is tiring and prone to click "off" while working. But I'm glad it is there. And compared to the H****, to doesn't dig quite as deep. But I can live with both shortcomings, given the convenience and especially since it does the job I need it to do.
Recommended.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Crosby, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Tiller

PostedJune 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is one of the best tillers I have owned and operated
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Wilsonville, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Almost as strong as my old Mantis at half the price and weight

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
At half the price and weight of a Mantis I have enjoyed using this electrical tiller. My old mantis had more get up and go at full throttle, but sometimes I flooded it or could get it to start, but this little electrical tiller always starts, never floods , of course, and has enough power for an 8 inch till into clay. Most effective when pulled toward you.
Pros: Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from California, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cool little tiller

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you have a small area, this thing does the trick. Plenty of power. You have to realize it is electric and it is on or off, there is no throttle control. No problem, just be ready when you pull the trigger cuz it takes off. Light, small, my hard compacted dirt was no match. Assembly is a snap.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Upstate New York, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Overall, a good deal. I am glad I have it and will use it more.

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I am using this tiller in hard packed and rocky soil, with roots also in the mix. It is tough going and the machine did a pretty good job of chopping it up. It is a little tough to handle and guide under these conditions but it still prepares a good seed bed and planting area. I feel it performed pretty will under those conditions. The next time I till there should be a lot easier.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Alabama, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It.s OK but not what I was expecting

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
hard to use, would be better if it had wheels to guide it. I would not recomend it.
Pros: Easy to Store
Cons: Limited Features, Difficult to Use
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator

Worked well for me

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Although I read all the negative reviews, I decided to give this product a chance and I am glad I did. The price was what I was willing to pay, assembly was easy, and it worked perfectly for the small jobs I needed it for. It is very easy to handle in the soil, but in a few of my more rocky areas it did jump around a bit. I does fling the dirt some, but I think that is to be expected with any tiller. It did not over heat on me even though I used it on a very warm day. I used it for a period of about 3 hours in 10 to 15 minute intervals.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tiller Joe 14 in. 6.5-Amp Electric Tiller/Cultivator
from Delano, Ca.
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this is a great product

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Easy to use, light weight, handles easily. Great product overall.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Mulches Well, Good Size & Weight, Small Turn Radius, Easy to Store, Light Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>