728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Chainsaws & Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case

14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case

Blue Max is a leading brand in professional outdoor power equipment and includes generators, chainsaws, snow blowers and log splitters. Expect the very best quality components in Blue Max equipment to handle the hardest jobs. Blue Max equipment is built to work and start the first time, every time. The 45 cc Blue Max 2-in-1 combination chainsaw features 14 in. and 20 in. bar and chain, like having two chainsaws in one. A heavy Duty durable case is included to protect your investment. A single cylinder, 2 stroke engine that runs at 2800 RPM with no load. It features a low range kick-back chain brake for additional safety. Blue Max also wants to make sure your chainsaw lasts a lifetime so we designed an automatic bar chain oil feed system to keep your chain consistently lubricated and It is center balanced with anti-vibration handle for maximum control and minimum fatigue. This combo chainsaw includes a Quick Start (CDI) ignition system and has an easy a ccess chain pro tensioner for fast adjustments.
Overall rating:
3.87 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(207 reviews) 207
Open Ratings Snapshot
77%of customersrecommend this product154 of 200reviews
Rating Breakdown 207 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(92)
4
(59)
3
(17)
2
(15)
1
(24)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
77%of customersrecommend this product154 of 200reviews
Customer reviews for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
Review 41 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case

Nice Saw, Nice price...

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As a first time buyer I have nothing to compare it with. I will say it was an easy start and it made short work of a 30 ft pine. The only bad was it comes with next to no instructions. I ended up watching Youtube videos on safety and usage. Otherwise, for the small-medium amount I'm expecting to use it, it was worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 42 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Buy

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used only once but performed very well. The option of the two bars and chains is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 43 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case

Poor quality

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros:
- Works for 1 hour.
- Has a storage case.
- Inexpensive.
Cons:
- Works only for 1 hour total time. Then the clutch starts slipping (even if the chain is cold).
- Choke snapped off within the first 15 minutes after probably catching one of little branches.
- The chain becomes blunt quickly.
- This is a Homier product. Called Homier customer service - was on hold for 1 hour 5 minutes, then redirected to a voice mail. Sent them an e-mail - never received a reply.
But Home Depot took it back without problems - thank you, Home Depot!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 44 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case

The saw worked just fine.

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only thing that I found was the mixing of the gas and oil cause be a problem for some people. The saw cut well the two chains are the best part.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 45 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case

Cuts better than any other chain saw I have had.

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Like having two lengths of bars and chains. Cut better & faster than any other chain saw I have had. Cut up an old red oak stump in no time....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 46 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
from NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Value, decent performance

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've only used this on a few occassions, but it's done really well with these small jobs. I had a few fallen trees and the chainsaw attachment I had for my Ryobi trimmer head was taking a minute or two for even 2" branches. I ordered this item as it was on sale and include 2 blades and a case for $150 and was ~50cc (about twice the size of the trimmer motor). This was a lower price point that the name brands and as expected this is manufactured in China. I suspect that many of the name brands near this price point and somewhat higher are also made in china, so that doesn't bother me a bit, as even supposedly high-end and highly marketed stuff such as ipods and the like are all made there, in part or whole.
Now onto the chainsaw itself. Delivered in it's case, wrapped in plastic, was missing the 18" bar/chain. A call to home depot and a replacement bar, cover and two chains arrived (one in each size!).
Case itself is a bit flimsy, but OK. Has places to pluck in the file and adjustment tool.
The adjustment tool is nice. It's a tee handle that is molded on one end to be a socket for the tightening mechanism/blade attachment and on the other end to be able to remove the spark plug, with a screwdriver shaft to allow fine tuning of the chain tensioning.
The saw itself came fully assembled with the 24" bar and chain. The bar itself looked thicker and felt more solid than the other chainsaws in this price range.
The tension was OK but I removed and replaced the bar/chain to ensure there were no surprises. The instructions stink. Two very blurry line diagrams that are pretty hard to make out. However, there aren't too many parts on this thing, so it's not too hard to figure out after fiddlng with it.
The fine tensioining is via a small gear housed in plastic that turns a threaded rod. The threaded rod puts pressure in either direction on the blade before final tightening of the large nut that holds the blade to the housing. Kind of chintsy, but it works OK. Hope it lasts as the small adjustment parts housed in plastic doesn't seem to be the most robust.
I put in the bar an chain oil, filled it up with gas, flipped the toggle switch to the on position and gave it a tug, then about 3-4 more, before it gave the nice burbling sound that told me it would start on the next pull. It did, and settled into a nice idle. I gave it about 30 seconds to warm up, then began to rev. Stayed on fine. Takes a few seconds to go from still to full speed on the chain/throttle. Turned it off, and restarted... Started on 2nd pull or 1st pull on subsequent tries.
Onto the performance itself... Cut through 6" pear tree trunk sections in about 10-15 seconds. Would have taken 10-15 minutes each section with my pruner chainsaw. Threw out some good quarter inch shavings and went through like butter. I cut approximately 50-60 cuts of between 6 and 15 inch tree trunks no problem. I had to tighten the chain after the first 10 or so, but that was expected, as the manual did say the chain would stretch. This was not a problem, but I did need to go back to the house for the T-handle to be able to do so.
After the first tightening, I was able to finish up. Seems it's getting easier to start, with first pull starts being more frequent as it breaks in. (was like on every 4, now is like 1 every three or two)
I'm happy with this saw, and the case is great for storing, a the blade is safely covered and the motor protected from dust/moisture.
I'd highly recommend this for the casual homeowner dealing with downed trees every now and then. I don't make a living or rely on a chainsaw for firewood/heat, so don't know how the quality compares to the pro stuff costing 10x as much. I'm sure those are much better, but I'm guessing this wouldn't be a bad choice for infrequent users as it saved me $800 for the tree guys to come clean up (the wanted $950, and I was able to do this myself in about 3-4 hours, including hauling and stacking myself, thanks to this saw). Plus, I now have a saw for whenever I need it.
Also, do yourself a favor and watch some of the chainsaw safety videos online. They're free and easy to find and will hopefully keep you from doing something dangerous or just plain stupid.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 47 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
from Placerville, CA 95667, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Has worked fantastic.

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I should have purchased a Blue Max before ever buying a couple of the other well known chainsaws! Dollar for Dollar a much better deal. I have used it just one day so far, but 'em very happy with its performance. Built so that maintaining it will be a snap at tune ups and cleaning it up. If Blue Max made a wood splitter at the same price point, I'd be all over that as well.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 48 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case

4 A Cheap Saw Cuts Good

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this saw after the Halloween weekend northeast storm took down a 24" oak tree. I was tempted to buy my usual top of the line product but since I may use a chain saw once every 3 years and have a 16" saw already I gave it a shot. The first one arrived with a damaged case, no big deal, except I had to return the whole saw and get everything new. I ended up ordering another one of these and using the original to cut up this big tree. When the new one arrived I just returned the one I had been using for a full refund. I am still cutting up material from that storm and enjoy using this saw because it really rips through big wood nicely. Both saw's started exactly as the instructions described. They cut exceptionally well and I was very pleased that I only spent $150. on a saw I will rarely use. My other saw uses a 50 to 1 ratio and this uses a 25 to 1. That was a drawback. I'm sure if I bought a top of the line Echo, Husky or a Stihl the results may have been a little better but not $400. -$800. better.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 49 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
from California, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent deal

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased my saw online took it out of the box poured gas and bar oil in it fired up on the third pull didnt have to adjust anything took it out the following weekend cut two truck loads of walnut no problem. I would highly rec this saw to anyone. Thanks for a great product and a great deal
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 50 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case

not a good product dont be fooled

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought this chainsaw cause i was looking for something overall do cut large logs and it had 20 inch blade.Couldnt get it to start was a pain to return had a cheap case and cheap parts. I liked it for the price but i should have just saved up a lil more for an echo. When u read the reviews listen to them dont waste your time
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 51 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
from Springfield, MA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best Bang FOR THE BUCK

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use, not heavy!! I was sold on the fact that you have 2 choices of product. 1 for small jobs and 1 for bigger jobs. I was not familiar with Blue Max so I gooled the Co. name and found it a bonified company and decided to order. I'm glad I did. Cuts great and handles well.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 52 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

blue max

PostedDecember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this saw starts easy and works great and you get a extra bar and chain great deal.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 53 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
from TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A no frills chainsaw but seems to be a good one.

PostedDecember 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While this is a no frills chainsaw, my experience Is that there are fewer things to cause problems. I have only used it a couple of days but it made quick work of some enormous oak trees. I have used many chainsaws but none more reliable or more powerful with similar cc engines.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 54 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
from Stow, MA USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value & good performance

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Needed something more powerful than my electric chain saw. This unit performed well, took minutes to get going from taking out of the box. A little hard starting the first time, after that starts on one pull. Great value with 2 bars and chains and case. Took down a damaged 14" oak....it did fine. Weaknesses are instructions are poor. Chain break sometime is hit by mistake, but given it is a safety feature I do not mind that. I am a light non=professional home user...I am happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 55 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
from Levittown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

case arrived broken in 2 places(returned)dont buy it!!!!

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
arrived fri b-4 xmas to my suprise. was anxious. opened the box to find plastic case broken in 2 places.one place was where it folds up.never got to give the saw a shot as i was so mad i returned right away.directions not exactly informative. where does the xtra blade go without falling out the front. useless without the case anyway.hate recieving inferior products especially as a gift from my family. hope others have better luck ,i am gonna buy a stihl and be done with it.maybe a better saw co. will come up with same combo only better!!!!
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 56 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case

Good saw for the money.

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only used it for a couple of hours, but so far so good. I got it for the pre-xmas price of $149.99 shipped so the pirce was right for the saw with the extra bar and case.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 57 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
from Jonestown, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Power / Great Value

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've cut approx 4 cords so far and it hasn't missed a beat!!!!!! Much better than I expected. Low vibration and excellent power. Good on gas and the chain and bar are holding up nicely.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 58 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Never cut wood. Returned after 2 days

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I want to be fair in my review but after 2days of trying to start the thing I couldn't take it anymore. I followed the directions to the letter but the saw would run for about 20 sec.s and die.After numerous attempts, I had enough. I brought it back to the store. I hope after I decide on the next saw my review will be complete.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 59 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
from NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

'You get what you pay for'

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It works (so far). Very cost effective. It cannot match the quality of major chainsaw brands BUT it is cheap (also got free shipping) and if it meets your needs it is a bargain!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 60 for 14/20 in. 45 cc Gas Chainsaw Combo with Blow Molded Case
from Perry, ME, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy to set up and use runs like a top

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
starts on 2 or 3 pulls and runs wonderfully getting 2 bars and chains for the price makes this an exceptional value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>