728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower

TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower

The Toro TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 21.5 HP 726cc Kawasaki Hydrostatic Zero-Turn Riding Mower has a 3-blade mowing system under a 4 in. deep, top discharge deck design with convenient washout port. The mower boasts 7 cutting positions between 1-1/2 in. and 4-1/2 in. in height. With its Smart Speed control system, you'll have precise control and easy maneuvering. It is equipped with an electric PTO and automatic parking brake for ease of operation. And the 18 in. extra-tall seat provides you with a smooth and comfortable ride.
Overall rating:
4.698 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
95%of customersrecommend this product39 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(37)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
95%of customersrecommend this product39 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
Review 1 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower

Very comfortable! Easy to maneuver and cut grass.

PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy access to mower controls located on the right side panel. The steering control bars are positioned perfectly. I’m 6’2” tall and very comfortable when cutting the yard with the Toro SS5000. You may adjust the 18 inch seat to fit your needs. The frame is heavy duty and made to last. The 50 inch mowing deck with 3 blades makes a nice even cut. I can honestly say that mowing the lawn is no longer a chore. This mower has cut my mowing time in half. The 3 gallon gas tank is a really nice feature as well. I love the Kawasaki 22 HP engine. The engine is very quiet, easy to start and has plenty of power to take on any job. Easy to maintain! Changing the oil, oil filter and air filter is easy to perform. I do have a couple of suggestions to consider. Test drive the Toro zero turn mower on your driveway to get familiar with mower controls and steering the mower if you never used one before. I would also recommend using the low speed position to trim out the yard or cutting grass on steep hills until you get familiar with the way the mower handles. If the mower loses traction or slips on a slope, don’t panic. Simply pull back slowly on the steering control bars to regain control. On level yards, you can get the job done rather quickly. I love this mower and should have purchased one several years ago.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 2 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Gainesville, Florida

This is the most amazing mowing experience I have ever had!

PostedAugust 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Let me first start of by saying that I did not originally want to purchase the 50 in Timecutter ss5000. I originally was considering the Toro 42 in. TimeCutter SS4235, mainly beacuse of the price difference. The employee at Home Depot that helped me, gave solid advice and knowlegable experience. First glance the ss5000 is very intimidating, since I have never used a zero turn in my life. I have fifteen acres and I asure you that this machine is more than capable of cutting my lawn. My lawn was in terriable shape it was at least 8 inches tall in some places, and there were a few tall weeds. This Toro tore right through it all. I would recommend this machine to anyone that is serious about have fun again. When I was younger I remember my grandfather teaching me how to mow our property, this machine has made it fun again.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Winter Haven, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Look Mom No Feet

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An accident seven years ago left me in a wheelchair and robbed me of a lot of the little things I used to be able to do. I thought mowing my lawn would be one of them, but while cruising through my local Home Depot I started to check-out the zero turn mowers. Of all the models they had the Toro was completely hand operated. The staff, including Terry, also a chair user, was terrific and they let me try to see if I could get onto the mower and in a just a few with a just little struggle I was on and speeding around the parking lot. They loaned me a trailer to get it home and with a little help from my Nephew, an hour latter I was mowing my own lawn for the first time in years. Over the last year the mower has proven to be great. It runs and works like a charm and has given me a renewed since of freedom. I love this mower and only wish I had more land to mow.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower

Easy to Use, Great for steep embankment, Cuts Well

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We love this mower -- It cuts very well, since the deck is wider and it's zero we have a lot less trimming and a shorter cut time. We have just over an acre and it is perfect. We also have a steep embankment in the front yard and it masters the job without problems. We had to mow this part of our lawn by hand because our riding lawn mower would start to tilt over or the blade would get stuck coming up the hill. These mowers are pricer than the riding lawn mowers but it's worth the extra cost.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Brighton, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Product and even better service

PostedMarch 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this mower after moving into our new home which has 1.3 acres. Mower was orignally purchased in Jan 2012. On 3/17/12 while doing yard work, the mower began to experience some problems. The electronic brake would intermittently engage and the engine would begin to sputter. After a few mins, the engine stalled and would not even turn over again. Grabbed the multi-meter and began some quick/basic troubleshooting. Checked the battery = good, checked the seat safety switch = good, checked the connections to the starter = good, checked the ignition switch = good (but no voltage). Traced the wiring to see that everything starts and stops (electrically speaking) with a solenoid that is directly in line after the battery. Here in lines the problem, the solenoid was bad (voltage on one side due to direct connection to positive battery post, but no voltage to the other side of solenoid). Because this supplies voltage throughout the rest of the system (seat switch, ignition switch, etc), the mower could not start. A quick short between the two posts on the solenoid revealed the engine would turn over and was working. Called Home Depot and told them about the issue, they immediately instructed us to bring it in. Upon arrival we informed the customer service rep about the issue and was asked if we wanted someone to look at the mower. We politely said no and that we'd like to exchange it for a new replacement. With absolutely NO hesitation, they swapped the mower, no questions asked!!! INCREDIBLE customer service! Now the issue with the mower is not enough to say it's a faulty machine. The mower is very easy to operate and cuts well. I've always been reluctant to use riding mowers due to the even cut they can produce; haven't seen a single sign of this problem with this mower. The mower has plenty of power and the dual speeds are a huge plus. The front of our yard has a short but fairly steep hill. This mower operates flawlessly on the hill and all other locations. All but eliminates the excessive trimming around the yard! The electrical issue is something that happens (in homes, vehicles, and even riding mowers). Luckily with some basic "know how", it's easy to troubleshoot and isolate the problem. I'd definitely recommend this mower and more than that, I'll always recommend the Home Depot store in Covington, TN....without a doubt the friendliest and most eager to please retail store I've ever had the pleasure of doing business with! The solenoid issue is the only reason this is not 5/5!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 6 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Alabama

Fast and Professional

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This lawn mower delivers a very smooth cut. My grass looks golf ready. Tough and Durable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower

Best Mower So Far

PostedJune 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After mowing with the Toro for a month now, I feel I can write a review on its preformance to date. I have had several brands over the years and the Toro SS5000 is by far the best. With my last mower (Craftsman) I had to pull a lawn vacuum behind it to catch the grass otherwise I ended up with a windrow and practically needed to bale the grass. The vacuum was nice but was a pain. With the Toro there is no need. The grass is chopped up very well and spread out so you can't even tell it was mowed...very impressive for me as I don't seem to get out and mow as often as I should. The cut is even and you can cut pretty fast wtih the Toro and not get an uneven or poor cut. Mower was all ready to go from Home Depot, no assembly at all required...just add gas and go (I checked the oil first though).
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Rutherfordton NC

GREAT VALUE FOR THE PRICE

PostedMay 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great mower with plenty of power, clean cutting and easy to control. Start off in low gear untill your completely use to the controls. This mower is more agile than the grasshoppers that i was use to. I have steep hills and this mower with the small wheels on the back pulled without spinning up my yard. If you get the opportunity to purchase this mower you cannot go wrong. Twin pumps for your steering something that no lowes mower or any other home depot mower offers.
+17points
23out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 9 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Michigan

Great Lawnmower

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This has cut my mowing down to 3.5 hours to mow our 5 acres. It is wonderful to get this down in that short or time.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Great Smoky Mountains of East Tennessee
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mower with lots of power

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Came out of Husqavarna 2454 tractor for the additional speed. Five acres was taking too much time. This thing goes faster than you can walk, cuts the grass smoother and just roars around the yard. Takes some driving practice especially in reverse but I did it. A little slippy on wet side hills. You'll love the high back seat for support and the larger wheels in front. All in all it is what I wanted and much more and it's a ball to drive. Once you practice a bit.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower

Excellent Mower

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This machine is great. It's has everything I need. The Toro SS5000 has exceeded all my expectation. Is easy to drive no problem at all. I recommend this machine.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower

Great mower; excellent value

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Toro SS5000 has exceeded expectations. It has been used to cut three baseball fields 2-3 times weekly, and has performed well without any problems.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower

Great mower

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Really nice zero turn, kawasaki motor has plenty of power an quiet too, very comfortable seat, the slow speed is nice to use to learn the mower. Checked all the brands with similar mowers, the Toro SS5000 is the best bang for the Buck
Happy Mowing Dan
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Von Ormy, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This Machine is a Beast!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this Toro mower after previously buying another brand and having other brand mower break apart on me during the first use. I have 2 acres with uneven turf this mower handles it very well and will not disappoint!
Pros: All In One, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, Great Engine
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Palestine, TX
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Professional grade for a residential price

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this mower. When I was shopping it came down to this one and the equivalent version by Husqvarna. I went to buy the Harsqvarna but the sale price at the other store expired, so I was forced to go with the Toro from Home Depot. It must have been fate because I am so glad I went the Toro. I cannot imagine any mower beating this one out in construction quality, end lawn result, speed, power, etc. I had a Craftsman zero turn for two days before taking the piece of junk back and shopping again for another one. The only thing that I didnt like about the Toro over it's competitors is that it doesnt come with an hour meter. I had to buy and install that seperately. Otherwise, one would be a fool not to go with the Toro brand.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Long-Lasting, fast, pro quality
Cons: hour meter sold seperately
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Oakdale, CT 06370, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wonderful mower

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For a homeowner, this mower is as good as you are going to get. I have over 21 years working for a Highway Department. Experience with big equipment is something I have a lot of. I have .84 acres and this 50" zero turn chews it up in no time. 40 minutes on a bad day. It's quick, comfortable, smooth and reliable. The Kawasaki engine is a GREAT plus. Drive is smooth and precise. When getting ready to purchase I researched a great deal and got down to the Toro and two others. It made the Toro a no brainer for me to find closest competition was $500.00 more. I went with the Toro SS5000, and I have not regretted it. Even all controls and maintenance spots are easy to get to.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Hiram, OH, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Mower

PostedApril 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the money, based on my research this mower was the best deal.. I knew I wanted a Kawasaki motor, and for the size of cut, size of motor, and wheel size the toro was best in class. To add onto that the warranty of 3 years is better than even John Deere who's out there running Briggs and Strattons and giving 2 yr warranties.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Love it....

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Performs better than expected.....does awesome on hills, cuts mowing time in half.....fun to operate
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

AWESOME!!!

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the craftsman made by MTD which makes cubcadet and troy built. I sent it back it was terrible steering, the deck height was not up to 4" like it says. I bought the 50" toro. my yard is hills on two sides and I cut the yard on an angle. the toro is just a well built machine. I just love it and will never own anything but a toro. it cost more but it is worth it.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for TimeCutter SS5000 50 in. 22HP Smart Speed V-twin Zero-Turn Riding Mower
from Rockport, TX, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome ! :-)

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought my Toro SS5000 from Home Depot in Corpus Christi TX. . Picked that model because of the most positive reviews from several web sites.
This was my first experience with a riding zero turn mower. Boy, was I impressed. Easy start, lots and lots of power ! Blazed through 1.5 acres of 5 inch tall grass like it was not there. Normally a 20 to 30 minute job. Took 6 minutes.
Tall Johnson grass, small twigs,went through it with ease. The blast of the grass and debris being blown out by the deflector is powerful, so you have to be on the lookout for any people or pets that may be near it.
The learning curve was a little rough at first. Took out a lawn chair, one of my wife's flower beds and a bag of garden pebbles before I got the hang of it.
You have to stay focused on the both sides of the mower at all times because it is way to easy to watch one side and take out a flower bed on the other side.
Bought most of the additional accessories. The Hobbs engine time meter is critical and easy to install. It really needs to be a standard part on this machine.
The hitch is nice, however, it is limited to 80 lbs of pull.
My wife wanted the sunshade. It's nice looking, however, it's a pain because I am always bumping my head on the frame, the the top part scrapes low lying branches of the trees I have to mow under.
A spare set of blades are also a must have, especially if you have a lot of rocks. Had a problem with some of the slopes.
Machine is top heavy and feels like it wants to roll on some of the steeper slopes. The instructions say the slopes cannot be more than 15 degrees. I can see why.
It's excellent on gas. Have mowed about eight acres so far, and has hardly touched the gas. This is a fine mower.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>