728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

The Lawn-Boy 20 in. Kohler Gas Walk-Behind Push Mower provides the power to cut through tough grass, but is still lightweight and maneuverable. The 1/4 in. cutting height range provides a lawn manicured to your wishes. The deep dome deck is designed for s
Overall rating:
2.64 / 5
2.6
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product23 of 49reviews
Rating Breakdown 50 reviews
2.6 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(21)
Features 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product23 of 49reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
Review 1 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little mower for a small lawn

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a small lawn on a level lot. I just need a basic gas mower that did the job and did not need self propulsion. I decided to go with this model as it was a great price point. All mowers I reviewed had SOME complaints about not starting so I went with the 2 year replacement plan and still walked out paying only 255.
When I got home, I pulled it out of the box, tightened the 2 screws to engage the handle, added oil and gas, adjusted the wheel height, gave it a weak yank on the chord and was off mowing. Great power, the clippings were adequately mulched without any fussing and I was done in no time. What more could you want?
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Madbury, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Are these reviews for this mower? Im shocked....been great for me!

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this for 5 years now....and Ive changed the oil at least 3 times, and changed mower blades the same, maybe 4. We have a very rocky soil, and 1/3 of an acre which my wife keeps diminishing with her gardens and plots. I have had zero problem with this...except for maybe its not the fanciest and Ive had to change out the blades, but this has mower has hit solid ground more than once, and a hard piece of granite several times. So maybe I got lucky....but for the money? Gimme a break....I do nothing but put in gas, change the oil myself, and change the blade. So for the money I paid...I got my monies worth, and I just changed the oil.....and it was dirty, and I will probably change the blade since it sorta leaves grass a little higher right in the middle. I do not use a bag....ever. Just mulch.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Minneapolis, MN

New Mower

PostedApril 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I finally broke down and bought a new mower. I went with this LawnBoy after reading other sites. I had been using a Toro Recycler with the variable transmission, but really didn't need that style (I live on 1/5th of a acre, most of which is my house). I was looking for a good push mower that was light weight and a good overall product. This unit is really light and all you have to do is put oil and gas in and give it a pull. Fired right up with about a 3/4 pull the first time. Have only used is a couple of times, but so far so good.
Had no idea, but apparently Lawn Boy is a Toro brand. Didn't find this out until I was reading the manual. So I hope the quality transfers over from Toro. I have had the Toro for about 15 years.
+20points
25out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Harrison AR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking but doesn't really do the job

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only used the mower a few times before the first winter. The bagger will not take much grass clippings before you start seeing clumps of grass coming out. The bag will only half fill before the grass clippings stop going in. I can cut one line of grass and have to empty the bagger.
Now, it takes quite a few pulls to start the mower. If I bump into a wall or a tree trying to cut close to either, the mower will sputter and die. You have to wait several minutes to restart the mower or it won't crank back up.
Really frustrating using the mower because it is so picky about how it is used.
Pros: Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, engine dies often, bagger doesn't hold many clippings
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Dallas, TX

Starts great

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I enjoyed the mower being ready right out of the box. All I had to do was pour in the gas and oil. I did not need to connect the handle or anything- a nice surprise. It starts on the first pull- another nice surprise. My last mower took three pulls to start.
It is a little small being only 20" but I knew that when I ordered it. The size was outweighed by other factors that I liked- the manufacturer and the motor. It is still early in the mowing season but my new mower and I are starting out very well. I am quite happy with it.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mower

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I actually found this one in a store. I did not need self propelled as my yard is only about 4500 square feet. I have used this twice and love the bag feature. My old mower did not have a bag and would leave clumps, it was 35 years old, what do you expect right? This one has a bag and it works well. Just make sure the chute is clear when you put the bag back on or it will just mulch and not go into the bag. Found this one out after it didn't bag a couple times.
Starts on one pull every time so far. One other thing, make extra certain the oil cap is on securely before you start it. It popped off on me the first time starting it, but now it works fine, hasn't done it since.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Brooklyn, NY

Good mower despite defect

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ordered this mower online. Starts right up and works very good. The only problem I had was with one of the front adjustable wheels. One of them would NOT stay in position. The adjustable lever on that wheel was defective. It's the only thing that ruined the experience. You expect your product to arrive in flawless condition but when it doesn't, you're feelings about the product you purchased bother you. From the initial sale all the way to delivery. It's a shame. Nobody likes to purchase a product with a defect no matter how minor it is. Quality control needs improvement.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dependable mower

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have owned this mower 3 years now. Change the oil and air filter twice each season. Starts on 3 or less pulls, usually on the first pull. The self-propelled feature is not quite as strong as I would prefer however. Overall I would rate this a good value.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from freehold, nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product is difficult

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
purchased this lawn mower in mid May, arrived aproximately 10 days later. used twice broke about 1 week after homedepots 30 warranty. advised to contact manufacturer for 3 year warranty which they refuse to honor. " in good faith" they will give me $100.00 toward 450.00 repair more then the cost of the mower!!! have product less then 2 months and it is worthless!!!
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from D/FW Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not Buy!

PostedApril 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Runs good for about six months, then becomes a huge embarrassment as the engine burns oil and leaves a huge smoke cloud. A few weeks ago my neighbors actually begged me to stop mowing my yard because the smoke was so bad. I have to change the air filter and spark plug each time I use this mower—unbelievable!
The Lawn-Boy brand used to be one of the best mowers on the market, and now it is a total piece of junk.
I contacted company directly and stated that they would not fix due to warranty issues. Home Depot will give a direct exchange within 90 days, and I should have taken advantage of this offer. Don’t make my mistake or you will simply have to throw this mower away and purchase another within two years.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

Will not start in less than a year of service

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this model about mid-summer of last year, put it together and it started right up. Used about six times. I kept it in my garage (no freezing) over the winter.
This spring I tried to start it and it would not start at all.
The manual says that if it does not start after several attempts to take it to a authorized repair shop.
I would rather take it to the junkyard that keep throwing money at it.
My previous mower was a cheap one (about $160.00), which lasted five years at my previous home, stored out in the open with a plastic cover and without any special winterizing.
This one requires draining the gas and other hoops to keep running properly.
So enjoy it while it is new and good luck after a couple months.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

Great Mower for the Price

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent mower. Easy to start and use. I registered my mower online on a Sunday night and by Wednesday afternoon the side shoot was on my door step. I have used this mower all summer and no issues so far.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

At Repair Shop 7 Months Later

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this mower last June, used about a dozen times and worked perfectly. Winterized according to the manual, and had one of the mildest winters in years here in Dallas. I even had to pull it out and run it in late January. Last week (March 24) it would not start. I flushed out the oil and gas, and got it to start with carb spray but would not remain running. I took it into a Kohler-preferred local shop for review/repair, and they said there was still some gas left in the lines when I las turned it off (about 45 days ago), and that now fuel was not getting into the carborator. I did everything according to the manual, but now this is not covered under warranty and here I am paying $80+ in repairs (possibly each year going forward) and I've only used the mower about 10-12 times! There is no primer pump, nor fuel filter. Definitely worth IMO couging up the extra money for a nicer, more reliable engine brand. This was my first lawn mower purchase.... I wish I knew this going in :(
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Amityville, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disposable Mower

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this up last year on sale, it worked all season, I dont use the bag, the few times I did it clogged up.
I drained all fluids and stored it in my garage. I added fluids this season, changed the plug, and filter. It runs for a few minutes and craps out, i checked all the lines and carb.
The smart choke and easy pull are great when they work but when they go bad (which seems to be one season) your limited to what you can do to get it started and running.
Complete junk! DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!! ITS A ONE YEAR MOWER!
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Highland Lakes, Vernon, NJ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mower for the price!

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this mower about 3 months ago and have had no problems. Our property is somewhat hilly and the self propelled wheels make cutting the lawn very easy...with little or no effort. Only downfall to the product this that the bag is smaller than the regular push mowers so you have to empty the bag a little more often. But all in all...we are happy with it.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Self-Propelled, Mulches Well, Small Turn Radius, Light Weight, Easy to Store
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Pretty decent lawnmower

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Well, it cuts grass. Does exactly what it should. It has an easy start, no more than two pulls. I've left mine outside under a deck since I purchased it. Very happy so far.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I would have Read Reviews Prior to buying

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower last year (Spring/summer 2011) and was pretty excited to get rid of my mower from the 1950's and get a newer one with a bagger. I used this probably 12-15 times before winter came and stored it as it was supposed to be stored. This spring I went to take it out and start it up and it would not start. Finally after many attempts it started but there was a large cloud of smoke and oil was spurting out on to the top of the mower. I shut it down and noticed that the oil looked a little funny as if sand or something had gotten in there. I changed the oil, checked the spark plugs, and cleaned it up. I started it again and it seemed to be ok for a minute but then the cloud of smoke and oil spurting came back. I shut it down and have discovered that it is leaking/spurting oil from the muffler. I now after spending a great deal of money on what I thought was a good mower now am upset because i am unable to return this because it was put away prior to winter with no issues. I was nervous buying this to begin with because they said that it was refurbished but they assured me that everything was back to brand new specs except for the cosmetic scratches. I wish I had never bought this and or given up my trusty mower from the 50s! Do not recommend this mower at all! and now I am going to be extra cautious about ever buying anything remanufactured.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!

PostedApril 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love to mow my lawn....or used to. I've been a life-long fan of Lawnboy until I purchased this mower April 2011. This has to be the worst engineered product I've used! The rear bagger clogs constantly and never fills more than half full (even when the grass is dry). I constantly have to stop to pick up clumps of grass or un-clog the discharge shoot, or simply empty the bag catcher after a couple of runs across the yard. I've been so frustrated wtih this product that I actually felt the need to tell others NOT TO BUY IT! The so-called "one pull start" is true maybe 20% of the time. After mowing tonight, I decided I would try to do my part to help others not share in my frustration!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

just awful

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First online review ever and im 27 years old. Never in my life have I had so many problems with an iteam. Please dont waste your money you are better off just buying a big gallon of grass killer and kill every strand of grass in your lawn. This willl not cut anything because it Is broken half of the time.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

Disappointed

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I felt I should write a review and maybe help somebody else out. I typically research a product before buying it but I either dropped the ball on this mower or it had much better reviews in April when I purchased it (I seem to remember this being the case). After using it for 5 months, I feel I can write an honest review. And after using it last night and ending up so frustrated/mad I decided to get on here and write a review.
First off, this mower only has a grass outlet on the back where you attach the bagger. Its something I didn't really consider til I got it home and started to use it. So you either have to bag the grass or leave the little spring loaded plastic cover closed. I don't want to bag grass every time I mow, so I leave the door closed. If you are cutting more than 1/4" off the top of your grass the mower gets pretty plugged up causing you to have to walk INCREDIBLY slow and to stop and clean under the deck every couple minutes. If you use the bag it gets plugged up pretty easily as well. If the grass is even slightly damp forget about mowing. It will plug the mower up instantly. If you have thick, lush grass it will plug up pretty quickly. If there was a grass exit on the side of the mower I think this problem wouldn't hardly exist. So that is really my main complaint. Its just poor engineering on the design of the deck. The mower is pretty much useless unless you're mowing dry, dead grass.
On the other hand, it starts first pull every time. It seems to be pretty fuel efficient. Its light and easy to push. Nothing about the mower seems "cheap" or easy to break.
I will be sticking this for sale on Craigslist at the end of the year and buying something better for next summer. I feel like you get what you pay for, which is why I bought this mower ($100 more compared to models with similar features). But I've been nothing but disappointed. It really boils down to poor engineering.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>