728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Lawn Mowers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

The Lawn-Boy 20 in. Kohler Gas Walk-Behind Push Mower provides the power to cut through tough grass, but is still lightweight and maneuverable. The 1/4 in. cutting height range provides a lawn manicured to your wishes. The deep dome deck is designed for superior bagging and mulching performance.
Overall rating:
2.654 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
47%of customersrecommend this product24 of 51reviews
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
2.7 out of 5
5
(12)
4
(8)
3
(4)
2
(6)
1
(22)
Features 
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Quality 
2.7 out of 5
2.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
47%of customersrecommend this product24 of 51reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
Review 1 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little mower for a small lawn

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have a small lawn on a level lot. I just need a basic gas mower that did the job and did not need self propulsion. I decided to go with this model as it was a great price point. All mowers I reviewed had SOME complaints about not starting so I went with the 2 year replacement plan and still walked out paying only 255.
When I got home, I pulled it out of the box, tightened the 2 screws to engage the handle, added oil and gas, adjusted the wheel height, gave it a weak yank on the chord and was off mowing. Great power, the clippings were adequately mulched without any fussing and I was done in no time. What more could you want?
Pros: Cuts Well, Sturdy, Powerful, Mulches Well, Easy to Store
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Ky.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Good Quality Mower!!!

PostedApril 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Have had this Mower for 3 years didn't need anything fancy and this Lawn Boy fits the Bill Perfectly always fires right up and only changed the oil once a year!!! It has been fantastic for our needs and we mow an acre of flat land with it 2 times a week!!! Excellent Lawn Mower and especially for the Money!!!
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Powerful, Great Engine, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

Worst Mower Ever

PostedOctober 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
6 months old, used 5 times on a very small, level yard, and it will not start. There is no valid, intelligent excuse for this. Just a bad product that's poorly made. Stay away, you have been warned.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Minneapolis, MN

New Mower

PostedApril 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I finally broke down and bought a new mower. I went with this LawnBoy after reading other sites. I had been using a Toro Recycler with the variable transmission, but really didn't need that style (I live on 1/5th of a acre, most of which is my house). I was looking for a good push mower that was light weight and a good overall product. This unit is really light and all you have to do is put oil and gas in and give it a pull. Fired right up with about a 3/4 pull the first time. Have only used is a couple of times, but so far so good.
Had no idea, but apparently Lawn Boy is a Toro brand. Didn't find this out until I was reading the manual. So I hope the quality transfers over from Toro. I have had the Toro for about 15 years.
+20points
25out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Dallas, TX

Starts great

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I enjoyed the mower being ready right out of the box. All I had to do was pour in the gas and oil. I did not need to connect the handle or anything- a nice surprise. It starts on the first pull- another nice surprise. My last mower took three pulls to start.
It is a little small being only 20" but I knew that when I ordered it. The size was outweighed by other factors that I liked- the manufacturer and the motor. It is still early in the mowing season but my new mower and I are starting out very well. I am quite happy with it.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from PA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great mower

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I actually found this one in a store. I did not need self propelled as my yard is only about 4500 square feet. I have used this twice and love the bag feature. My old mower did not have a bag and would leave clumps, it was 35 years old, what do you expect right? This one has a bag and it works well. Just make sure the chute is clear when you put the bag back on or it will just mulch and not go into the bag. Found this one out after it didn't bag a couple times.
Starts on one pull every time so far. One other thing, make extra certain the oil cap is on securely before you start it. It popped off on me the first time starting it, but now it works fine, hasn't done it since.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Brooklyn, NY

Good mower despite defect

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ordered this mower online. Starts right up and works very good. The only problem I had was with one of the front adjustable wheels. One of them would NOT stay in position. The adjustable lever on that wheel was defective. It's the only thing that ruined the experience. You expect your product to arrive in flawless condition but when it doesn't, you're feelings about the product you purchased bother you. From the initial sale all the way to delivery. It's a shame. Nobody likes to purchase a product with a defect no matter how minor it is. Quality control needs improvement.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Dependable mower

PostedOctober 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have owned this mower 3 years now. Change the oil and air filter twice each season. Starts on 3 or less pulls, usually on the first pull. The self-propelled feature is not quite as strong as I would prefer however. Overall I would rate this a good value.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from D/FW Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Do Not Buy!

PostedApril 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Runs good for about six months, then becomes a huge embarrassment as the engine burns oil and leaves a huge smoke cloud. A few weeks ago my neighbors actually begged me to stop mowing my yard because the smoke was so bad. I have to change the air filter and spark plug each time I use this mower—unbelievable!
The Lawn-Boy brand used to be one of the best mowers on the market, and now it is a total piece of junk.
I contacted company directly and stated that they would not fix due to warranty issues. Home Depot will give a direct exchange within 90 days, and I should have taken advantage of this offer. Don’t make my mistake or you will simply have to throw this mower away and purchase another within two years.
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

Will not start in less than a year of service

PostedMay 12, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this model about mid-summer of last year, put it together and it started right up. Used about six times. I kept it in my garage (no freezing) over the winter.
This spring I tried to start it and it would not start at all.
The manual says that if it does not start after several attempts to take it to a authorized repair shop.
I would rather take it to the junkyard that keep throwing money at it.
My previous mower was a cheap one (about $160.00), which lasted five years at my previous home, stored out in the open with a plastic cover and without any special winterizing.
This one requires draining the gas and other hoops to keep running properly.
So enjoy it while it is new and good luck after a couple months.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from freehold, nj
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

this product is difficult

PostedJuly 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
purchased this lawn mower in mid May, arrived aproximately 10 days later. used twice broke about 1 week after homedepots 30 warranty. advised to contact manufacturer for 3 year warranty which they refuse to honor. " in good faith" they will give me $100.00 toward 450.00 repair more then the cost of the mower!!! have product less then 2 months and it is worthless!!!
+5points
11out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Amityville, NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Disposable Mower

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this up last year on sale, it worked all season, I dont use the bag, the few times I did it clogged up.
I drained all fluids and stored it in my garage. I added fluids this season, changed the plug, and filter. It runs for a few minutes and craps out, i checked all the lines and carb.
The smart choke and easy pull are great when they work but when they go bad (which seems to be one season) your limited to what you can do to get it started and running.
Complete junk! DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!! ITS A ONE YEAR MOWER!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Boston, MA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Cheap engine will last two seasons

PostedMay 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower less than two years ago from my local Home Depot. I'm a former landscape foreman with a decade + experience (no longer in landscaping though). When I went to buy a mower cash was tight and I thought this was a good value - and was taken aback by the Kohler engine.
Well after the mower died (I used the proper additive for Ethanol) I called a repair shop and was told that this Kohler engine is made in China and not designed for Ethanol based fuel - no mower engine is - but this is an exceptionally bad engine.
I am waiting for my wife to get home with our Jeep at this moment so I can take this mower back for a refund. Hopefully will get a refund. I did everything right, stored it indoors, used the additive. Here we are though with a dead mower. It would have costed me $110 to rebuild the carb - but I don't want another Lawn Boy.
The repair guy on the phone the other day told me to go with a Honda. They have a longer life. More money, but that will have to be the way to go.
I remember my grandfathers mower last 20 years - back in the day though...
Cons: Not Durable, poor engine quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Sidney NE.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The one I purchased has already been returned

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Upon getting the lawnmower I was very pleased how it first started and operated. The second time we went to use it it would not start. Further inspection identified that there was no spark. Sent it to the designated repair facility and they repaired it. It worked fine when I got it home. When I went to use it the second time after having it repaired, it took me 30 minutes to get it started. This is unacceptable so I returned it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

At Repair Shop 7 Months Later

PostedMarch 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this mower last June, used about a dozen times and worked perfectly. Winterized according to the manual, and had one of the mildest winters in years here in Dallas. I even had to pull it out and run it in late January. Last week (March 24) it would not start. I flushed out the oil and gas, and got it to start with carb spray but would not remain running. I took it into a Kohler-preferred local shop for review/repair, and they said there was still some gas left in the lines when I las turned it off (about 45 days ago), and that now fuel was not getting into the carborator. I did everything according to the manual, but now this is not covered under warranty and here I am paying $80+ in repairs (possibly each year going forward) and I've only used the mower about 10-12 times! There is no primer pump, nor fuel filter. Definitely worth IMO couging up the extra money for a nicer, more reliable engine brand. This was my first lawn mower purchase.... I wish I knew this going in :(
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower

just awful

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
First online review ever and im 27 years old. Never in my life have I had so many problems with an iteam. Please dont waste your money you are better off just buying a big gallon of grass killer and kill every strand of grass in your lawn. This willl not cut anything because it Is broken half of the time.
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Madbury, NH
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Are these reviews for this mower? Im shocked....been great for me!

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have had this for 5 years now....and Ive changed the oil at least 3 times, and changed mower blades the same, maybe 4. We have a very rocky soil, and 1/3 of an acre which my wife keeps diminishing with her gardens and plots. I have had zero problem with this...except for maybe its not the fanciest and Ive had to change out the blades, but this has mower has hit solid ground more than once, and a hard piece of granite several times. So maybe I got lucky....but for the money? Gimme a break....I do nothing but put in gas, change the oil myself, and change the blade. So for the money I paid...I got my monies worth, and I just changed the oil.....and it was dirty, and I will probably change the blade since it sorta leaves grass a little higher right in the middle. I do not use a bag....ever. Just mulch.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Mulches Well, Easy to Store, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Syracuse, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wish I would have Read Reviews Prior to buying

PostedApril 29, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this mower last year (Spring/summer 2011) and was pretty excited to get rid of my mower from the 1950's and get a newer one with a bagger. I used this probably 12-15 times before winter came and stored it as it was supposed to be stored. This spring I went to take it out and start it up and it would not start. Finally after many attempts it started but there was a large cloud of smoke and oil was spurting out on to the top of the mower. I shut it down and noticed that the oil looked a little funny as if sand or something had gotten in there. I changed the oil, checked the spark plugs, and cleaned it up. I started it again and it seemed to be ok for a minute but then the cloud of smoke and oil spurting came back. I shut it down and have discovered that it is leaking/spurting oil from the muffler. I now after spending a great deal of money on what I thought was a good mower now am upset because i am unable to return this because it was put away prior to winter with no issues. I was nervous buying this to begin with because they said that it was refurbished but they assured me that everything was back to brand new specs except for the cosmetic scratches. I wish I had never bought this and or given up my trusty mower from the 50s! Do not recommend this mower at all! and now I am going to be extra cautious about ever buying anything remanufactured.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from MA

Worked Last Year But Now It Won't Start

PostedJune 23, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like many other people that have described how this lawn mower stopped working, mine worked fine last year. Used it about a dozen times. This year, it won't run. It starts up, sputters for a second then dies. Gotta be a bad carburetor design or something. I bought this because it was inexpensive and I have a very small lawn. Very disappointed. I would not recommend this product to anyone.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 20 in. Kohler Engine Push Gas Walk-Behind Lawn Mower
from Harrison AR
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking but doesn't really do the job

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Only used the mower a few times before the first winter. The bagger will not take much grass clippings before you start seeing clumps of grass coming out. The bag will only half fill before the grass clippings stop going in. I can cut one line of grass and have to empty the bagger.
Now, it takes quite a few pulls to start the mower. If I bump into a wall or a tree trying to cut close to either, the mower will sputter and die. You have to wait several minutes to restart the mower or it won't crank back up.
Really frustrating using the mower because it is so picky about how it is used.
Pros: Self-Propelled
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, engine dies often, bagger doesn't hold many clippings
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>