728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for One-Way Screw Driver

One-Way Screw Driver

The Unique Home Designs One-way Drill Bit is specifically designed to drive large one way screws, such as those commonly used on security door and window guard installations. Pre-drill holes for best results. Hood prevents slippage.
Overall rating:
2.143 / 5
2.1
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
29%of customersrecommend this product10 of 34reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
2.1 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(4)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(22)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5.0
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.4 out of 5.0
2.4 out of 5
29%of customersrecommend this product10 of 34reviews
Customer reviews for One-Way Screw Driver
Review 1 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Winona,Mo
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cheap made useless tool

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this tool to install security bars on my windows, Unique one way screw driver stripped out on first screw. would not even grip enough to start second screw and started to strip screw head.
This tool was completely useless and definitely not worth $15.75 I paid for it.
needless to say I returned it for a refund, it's the only one Home Depot carries and you can only buy it on line.
I would not suggest this tool to anyone, save your money and find a better one else where.
Cons: Not Durable, strips out easily
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not good

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bad product cheaply made did not last the only thing I bought at home depot in the last 5 year I was not happy with
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One-Way Screw Driver

A must have for installing window bars!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this because of the note on the website. It made installation much easier.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Bronx, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

It would appear to be a quality instrument

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I cannot give a personal opinion for this product as I did not use it. The size was too large for my needs.
The description did not say that it was sized for screen door or gate. I needed it for a one way screw on a inside door lock.
I wish I knew where to return it. Please feel free to let me know this information.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Tucson, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

reuse those one way screws

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
In the past Ive had to cut the screws off at the head in order to get security doors/bars off and then had to purchase new one way screws to reinstall the security door/bars. This tool enables you to remove those screws. Considering that often times the security door/bars get damaged in the process of cutting the screws off, this tool saves time and money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Strong, Good Size & Weight, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for One-Way Screw Driver
from California
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good One Way Bit (Economical)

PostedJune 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The bit is good for a skilled craftsman that knows how to use the bit correctly. I had no problems with it & I can see it lasting another 100 door installs.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great when you follow the instructions!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Evey tool has techniques and rules for safe and succesful operation. This driver is no exception.The one-way lag bolts used to mount security doors are just that. A bolt, not a wood screw. A wood screw has an ever increasing diameter on the threads. A bolt is usually the same dimension all along the shank. The instruction on the package tells part of the secret: "PRE DRILL HOLES FOR BEST RESULTS". The reason you are doing that is because you are probably trying to mount your security door on old wood, which is dry and will split if you try to drive all the lag-screw diameter into it and it won't give like new wood will. The pilot hole should be the same size as the inside diameter of the threads shank. It is only the outer threads that do the gripping. Then an old carpenters trick: Get a regular hex-head lag-bolt of the same diameter and length as your one-way lag-screws. Apply some wax (Candle, Beeswax, etc.or oil)to to the front of the lag bolt. Use your drill motor with an adapter and a socket to drive the lag bolt into the wood and then remove it. You have essentially "Tapped" threads in the wood with the hex-head lag bolt. When you screw the one-way lag bolts in use a lot of pressure and push on the drill motor so the driver does not jump. Control the speed of the driver so that you don't try to ram it in like you are used to doing with wood screws. That way when the head of the lag screw seats against the surface you don't have the driver bounicing off of the one-way lag bolt head. That bouncing is what tears the driver up. Didn't take me multiple trips. Installed my security door and the one-way screw driver is just like new! Great tool!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Oakland, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The one way bit is poorly made, stripped before entire security door installed. still need to go to Home Depot to exchange

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Poor drill bit design. bit easily stripped. need to go exchange drill bit, so security door can be finished mounting! Two more screws on upper bracket still not in place. all side screws were stripped, had to go to Home depot to purchase additional screws from door installation! not recommended product
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality; nearly useless

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to use while installing window bars that require one-way screws. This driver worked on about 3 screws before it began stripping. It's not a good design and requires you to apply a lot of force against the rear of the drill in order for it to stay seated in the grooves of the one-way screws.
You are much better off using a large flat head screwdriver to install one-way screws instead. That's what I did after this thing broke and it worked 100% better. Don't waste your money on this.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Hawaii
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did not work very well

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not very good and expensive. Returned it after trying it.
Cons: No Instructions, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Durham, NC, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJune 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I put in window security bars with the one-way screws tried without it but realized I needed it picked it up and was done in minutes with pre-drilling due to the thickness of the screws.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for One-Way Screw Driver
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great idea, but poor quality.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tool was used for installing one way screws in pre-drilled 1/4 inch diameter holes for a security door in a house was built in the early 1900's with very hard & dense virgin timber. The tool would frequently slip off the screw head and the spring loaded collar that was supposed to keep the tool firmly on would slip off of the screw head. The worst part is the hardness of the tool head is softer than the material of the screw head. Therefore when the tool slips off of the screw head, there would be damage made to both the tool head and screw head. The rounded edges of the tool and the rounded edges of the screw head make for a difficult installation.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Arlington, VA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not Recommended

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The type of one-way screws used by the Unique Home Designs products are best installed by a large size slotted screw driver. This type of tool is primarily used to remove them, which it does poorly. I use stainless #14 pin style Torx security screws. With a correctly sized pilot hole, the driver bit for these screws never strips or slips. Essential if installing security bars that must be periodically removed to install screens or otherwise service the window..
Pros: security screw removal
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Tool!

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This tool works great to install them but is a little difficult to remove the one way srews
Pros: Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Strong, Light Weight, Long-Lasting
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Casa Grande, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product is useless

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this item is the biggest piece of garbage i have ever purchased...on only it's second use the bit stripped out in a pre-drilled hole no less...i would never recommend this product to anyone
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for One-Way Screw Driver

Over-priced rubbish

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I first received the product, I said to myself, "Self, this looks cheap." I was correct (unfortunately this isn't reflected in the pricing). In order to use the 1/4" chuck in my 1/4" Makita impact (18V), I had to use a die grinder to reduce the size to a true 1/4". The alloy used is so soft that the teeth are ground down in no time flat, which is primarily due to the fact that the driver slips off of the screw's head nearly 90% of the time and often violently (ruining a door's finish). You literally have to use all of your body weight to hold it on the screw head (in my case 175lbs) to avoid slippage. I'm also still unsure why they call this a remover, because it comes nowhere near removing a one-way screw. Heck, it can't even drive them in effectively. Please, I implore you... do not buy this product. Use the money instead to go buy hex-head lag-bolts and use a socket set to install the door. One-way screws are a gimmick. No one is going to bring a socket set with them to rob your house.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for One-Way Screw Driver

Garbage

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Your better off just getting normal lag screws or bolts and the than rounding the head off with a file because this 15.00 driver is garbage.... and you should use at least a 1/4 in pilot hole and not the recommended 3/16.... I would like to get my money back.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for One-Way Screw Driver

Does Not Remove Oneway Screw

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bit will drive in the oneway screws but slips around the head of the screw. While trying to remove the oneway screw, the sleeve does not keep the bit from slipping around because it is spring loaded and does not lock into place and the bit does not grip the head of the screw.
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Goodyear, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very poor quality

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I went through four of these installing two doors. Good concept, cheap material. What should have been an hour job per door turned into a weekend of 10 mile round trips to return and get new ones. If your door doesn't come with the bit as some do and some don't, spend the extra money and get a good tool.
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for One-Way Screw Driver
from New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

"specifically designed to drive large one way screws"

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product states it is for use "driving" one way security screws. The word driving implies: driving a screw IN. It makes no claim or mention of being able to back out a "one way" screw. It does not claim to be a remover of one way security screws because it is not.
Works fine when used for it's intended purpose of driving screws in although I actually prefer driving them in with a wide blade flat head screwdriver by hand.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 >>