728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for One-Way Screw Driver

One-Way Screw Driver

The Unique Home Designs One-way Drill Bit is specifically designed to drive large one way screws, such as those commonly used on security door and window guard installations. Pre-drill holes for best results. Hood prevents slippage.
Overall rating:
2.195 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
30%of customersrecommend this product12 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
2.2 out of 5
5
(7)
4
(5)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(24)
Quality 
2.5 out of 5
2.5 out of 5
Value 
2.3 out of 5
2.3 out of 5
30%of customersrecommend this product12 of 40reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for One-Way Screw Driver
Review 1 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great when you follow the instructions!

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Evey tool has techniques and rules for safe and succesful operation. This driver is no exception.The one-way lag bolts used to mount security doors are just that. A bolt, not a wood screw. A wood screw has an ever increasing diameter on the threads. A bolt is usually the same dimension all along the shank. The instruction on the package tells part of the secret: "PRE DRILL HOLES FOR BEST RESULTS". The reason you are doing that is because you are probably trying to mount your security door on old wood, which is dry and will split if you try to drive all the lag-screw diameter into it and it won't give like new wood will. The pilot hole should be the same size as the inside diameter of the threads shank. It is only the outer threads that do the gripping. Then an old carpenters trick: Get a regular hex-head lag-bolt of the same diameter and length as your one-way lag-screws. Apply some wax (Candle, Beeswax, etc.or oil)to to the front of the lag bolt. Use your drill motor with an adapter and a socket to drive the lag bolt into the wood and then remove it. You have essentially "Tapped" threads in the wood with the hex-head lag bolt. When you screw the one-way lag bolts in use a lot of pressure and push on the drill motor so the driver does not jump. Control the speed of the driver so that you don't try to ram it in like you are used to doing with wood screws. That way when the head of the lag screw seats against the surface you don't have the driver bounicing off of the one-way lag bolt head. That bouncing is what tears the driver up. Didn't take me multiple trips. Installed my security door and the one-way screw driver is just like new! Great tool!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for One-Way Screw Driver

I like it didn't love it

PostedMarch 15, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I'll give it 5 stars because if you do it right you will be happy. Just know that you will need to make a pilot hole and slowly use the driver.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for One-Way Screw Driver
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worst tool I have ever purchased

PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The package recommends the use of a drill. I wonder how many windows have been broken because of this misinformation. I highly recommend a hammer drill. Oh, and put some plywood between your work area and the window. This driver loves to slip off of the head of the screw.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, poor instructions
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSFebruary 2, 2015
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, Working with one-way screws is inherently difficult and requires application of a high level of force to keep the bit in place on the screw head.
Review 4 for One-Way Screw Driver
from California, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great idea, but poor quality.

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The tool was used for installing one way screws in pre-drilled 1/4 inch diameter holes for a security door in a house was built in the early 1900's with very hard & dense virgin timber. The tool would frequently slip off the screw head and the spring loaded collar that was supposed to keep the tool firmly on would slip off of the screw head. The worst part is the hardness of the tool head is softer than the material of the screw head. Therefore when the tool slips off of the screw head, there would be damage made to both the tool head and screw head. The rounded edges of the tool and the rounded edges of the screw head make for a difficult installation.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSDecember 22, 2014
We have increased the hardness of the tool and improved the profile of the one-way screw head. One-way screws, by their nature, will always be somewhat challenging to use but, with these improvements, a difficult installation like this one should be less difficult."
Review 5 for One-Way Screw Driver
from conover, nc
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not such a good buy

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased a security screen door at the "other" do it yourself store and they did not have the tool needed to install the door. Which we did not find out until we went to install the door. So Home Depot came to our rescue, so we thought. The one way driver stripped just after installing three of the 9 screws.
Went back to HD and they were very friendly and ordered me another one. They should of made the item out of hardened steel.
Cons: Not Durable
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSDecember 31, 2014
Working with one-way screws is inherently difficult and requires application of a high level of force to keep the bit in place on the screw head. We have increased the hardness of the tool and improved the profile of the one-way screw head to maximize bit performance.
Review 6 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Oakland, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The one way bit is poorly made, stripped before entire security door installed. still need to go to Home Depot to exchange

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Poor drill bit design. bit easily stripped. need to go exchange drill bit, so security door can be finished mounting! Two more screws on upper bracket still not in place. all side screws were stripped, had to go to Home depot to purchase additional screws from door installation! not recommended product
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSNovember 17, 2014
Dear Home Depot Valued Customer, We have increased the hardness of the tool and improved the profile of the one-way screw head, which should address these issues.
Review 7 for One-Way Screw Driver

Not worth the cost

PostedNovember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bit was very hard to use and I actually ended up stripping the screws. I was using it to put up a security door. My neighbor used it with the same results.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSDecember 31, 2014
Working with one-way screws is inherently difficult and requires application of a high level of force to keep the bit in place on the screw head. We have increased the hardness of the tool and improved the profile of the one-way screw head to maximize bit performance.
Review 8 for One-Way Screw Driver

Home

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not good quality. ..it's broke after 3 screws. ..I still have the broken piece stuck in my drill.. (compact hammer drill) couldn't take out
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSJanuary 7, 2015
Working with one-way screws is inherently difficult and requires application of a high level of force to keep the bit in place on the screw head. We have increased the hardness of the tool and improved the profile of the one-way screw head to maximize bit performance.
Review 9 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Birmingham, AL, USA
Age Range:18 to 24
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality; nearly useless

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to use while installing window bars that require one-way screws. This driver worked on about 3 screws before it began stripping. It's not a good design and requires you to apply a lot of force against the rear of the drill in order for it to stay seated in the grooves of the one-way screws.
You are much better off using a large flat head screwdriver to install one-way screws instead. That's what I did after this thing broke and it worked 100% better. Don't waste your money on this.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Winona,Mo
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cheap made useless tool

PostedAugust 21, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bought this tool to install security bars on my windows, Unique one way screw driver stripped out on first screw. would not even grip enough to start second screw and started to strip screw head.
This tool was completely useless and definitely not worth $15.75 I paid for it.
needless to say I returned it for a refund, it's the only one Home Depot carries and you can only buy it on line.
I would not suggest this tool to anyone, save your money and find a better one else where.
Cons: Not Durable, strips out easily
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSDecember 12, 2014
In addition to on-line availability, the one-way driver is stocked in many Home Depot stores. We have increased the hardness of the tool and improved the profile of the one-way screw head to maximize bit performance.
Review 11 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Phoenix, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

not good

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
bad product cheaply made did not last the only thing I bought at home depot in the last 5 year I was not happy with
Cons: Not Durable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSDecember 9, 2014
We have increased the hardness of the tool and improved the profile of the one-way screw head to maximize bit performance."
Review 12 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Casa Grande, AZ, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this product is useless

PostedMay 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
this item is the biggest piece of garbage i have ever purchased...on only it's second use the bit stripped out in a pre-drilled hole no less...i would never recommend this product to anyone
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSDecember 22, 2014
We have increased the hardness of the tool and improved the profile of the one-way screw head, which should address these issues.
Review 13 for One-Way Screw Driver

Over-priced rubbish

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I first received the product, I said to myself, "Self, this looks cheap." I was correct (unfortunately this isn't reflected in the pricing). In order to use the 1/4" chuck in my 1/4" Makita impact (18V), I had to use a die grinder to reduce the size to a true 1/4". The alloy used is so soft that the teeth are ground down in no time flat, which is primarily due to the fact that the driver slips off of the screw's head nearly 90% of the time and often violently (ruining a door's finish). You literally have to use all of your body weight to hold it on the screw head (in my case 175lbs) to avoid slippage. I'm also still unsure why they call this a remover, because it comes nowhere near removing a one-way screw. Heck, it can't even drive them in effectively. Please, I implore you... do not buy this product. Use the money instead to go buy hex-head lag-bolts and use a socket set to install the door. One-way screws are a gimmick. No one is going to bring a socket set with them to rob your house.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Puget Sound, WA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't like this one

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
How else are you going to install the one way lag bolts? You're not. So you're forced into using this driver. Mine kept slipping off and wound up messing up the head of the bolt. The bolt didn't help much being very soft metal. I decided to go back to the tried and true method. Use a regular lag bolt and spot weld it to the frame.
Cons: Not Durable, Difficult to Use, kept slipping off the bolt head
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSNovember 19, 2014
Working with one-way screws is inherently difficult and requires application of a high level of force to keep the bit in place on the screw head. We have increased the hardness of the tool and improved the profile of the one-way screw head to maximize bit performance.
Review 15 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Detroit
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did the Job

PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The tool worked good no problems not much else to say about it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Strong
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for One-Way Screw Driver

Does Not Remove Oneway Screw

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bit will drive in the oneway screws but slips around the head of the screw. While trying to remove the oneway screw, the sleeve does not keep the bit from slipping around because it is spring loaded and does not lock into place and the bit does not grip the head of the screw.
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for One-Way Screw Driver

Garbage

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Your better off just getting normal lag screws or bolts and the than rounding the head off with a file because this 15.00 driver is garbage.... and you should use at least a 1/4 in pilot hole and not the recommended 3/16.... I would like to get my money back.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from Home DepotBy THD-CSNovember 17, 2014
Dear Valued Home Depot Customer, We have increased the hardness of the tool and improved the profile of the one-way screw head, which should address these issues.
Review 18 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Ontario, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth the money for extraction

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This works fine for installing but slips like crazy for extracting screws. A regular large size flat driver bit works as well for installing.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for One-Way Screw Driver
from New Mexico
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

"specifically designed to drive large one way screws"

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product states it is for use "driving" one way security screws. The word driving implies: driving a screw IN. It makes no claim or mention of being able to back out a "one way" screw. It does not claim to be a remover of one way security screws because it is not.
Works fine when used for it's intended purpose of driving screws in although I actually prefer driving them in with a wide blade flat head screwdriver by hand.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for One-Way Screw Driver
from Lillian, AL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't waste your money.

PostedSeptember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This piece of junk doesn't do what it's supposed to. We ended up putting in regular screws.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>