728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pressure Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED

3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED

The Idle-Down function of the CAT 3,800 psi Gas Pressure Washer automatically idles the engine when the trigger handle is released, helping prevent wear and tear on the engine and pump, increase overall runtime and reduce noise. This powerful pressure washer is equipped with a CAT triplex brass pump that delivers 3,800 psi of cleaning power. From its 50 ft. steel braided hose to its 5 electroplated nozzles, this washer provides the durability you need to tackle a variety of jobs.
Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(44 reviews) 44
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product35 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 44 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(32)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(4)
1
(1)
Features 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product35 of 40reviews
Customer reviews for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
from Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I don't think you could do better than this pressure washer

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am in the carpet cleaning business and a CAT pump is what is used on 20,000. carpet cleaning machines they have the best reputation in the industry. You can't go wrong with that pump and a Yamaha engine. The machine is amazing and works great. I have used it 4-5 times in the last month, it starts right up and the sound of that motor is quiet yet has a low rumble like a harley. It actually turns heads when the neighbors walk by. The feature of the motor only throttling up when you press the trigger also sets it apart from the rest and saves wear and tear on all the moving parts of the machine. It is heavy and would take 2 people to put it in a vehicle.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
from Charleston, SC

Rock Solid Perfect

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The CAT 3800 PSI 3.5GPM model is without a doubt the most well engineered pressure washer on the market. I have used pressure washer that had more PSI and GPM but CAT found the perfect number combination. More than enough power and water flow to clean EVERYTHING. Easy assembly, solid construction, and when I say solid, I mean everything; real rubber wheels, hose, spray tips, wand. 1st pull starts everytime. Does not 'walk' as some units do. CAT pump with Yamaha engine best combo you can get. The only caveat emptor is that this is a pro unit, not for everyone as this thing kicks, and you do need a little muscle to use it.
+32points
40out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
from florida

amen fl

PostedAugust 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i bought this pressure washer about a month ago-- i made sure it was full of oil then filled it with gas , connected the water lines, then held the trigger down to remove all the air from the lines and pump-- the yamaha engine cranked on the first pull, this engine is very easy to start and really puts out the power--i read all the reviews before i bought this pressure washer and was satisfied it would do a good job for me also, but was concerned about the cranking problem which proved to be no problem at all for me, if you are looking for a very good machine that should last a long time then this is the machine for you -- i highly recommend this one
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
from Guam
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Machine

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Oh man I love this Idle Down Technology this saves on the wear and tear on the machine this Pressure washer is worth the buy, setup was a breeze also this Bad Boy has a lot of Power, don’t hesitate buy this machine if you need a powerful Pressure Washer.I researched the pump and the motor, Cat pump has been around for more than 20 years and Yamaha has also been around for quite a while good combo.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED

OUTSTANDING VALUE, EXCELLENT QUALITY

PostedMarch 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did my shopping for pressure washers this spring; and this unit turned out to be a great purchase. Previously bought a R**g*d 3000 psi but it only lasted 5 hrs until the seals blew. Tool it back to Home Depot and they gladly returned my money.
It was a good move to spend a little more money to get this one. This unit ROCKS. Definitely professional grade. Have cleaned my driveway, house, truck and boat with this monster. Be careful not to strip paint; because this unit is capable of it. Packs a kick but I like how the pump scales up the pressure to full blast when you press the trigger..instead of the blunt kick you get when you press the trigger on some other models.
This unit also comes with Lifetime Seal Replacements...you can get replacement seals once a year after you register.
Get this water blaster. You will not be disappointed.
..
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
from Ohio

This product really works great

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The very first day I received this power washer, I used it over 12 hrs straight. I worked great. I used it on concret to get stains and to clean the driveway. The concret looks brand new again. Other reviews says its hard to start. I never had a problem with this issue. I just had to make sure to pull the trigger on the wand to releave the pressure and you can pull start it much easier. Otherwise it is very hard to start.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED

Two thumbs UP!

PostedSeptember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this unit was easy to assemble (mount wheels and a few small parts) and operate. It started on the fourth pull and ran beautifully. I did not have any problems restarting the engine hot or cold. the quality of construction and power is on par with commercial units I've used. I'm very happy with my purchase and would recommend this washer.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED

Great Pressure Washer!!

PostedMay 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing has plenty of power, starts great, and will pretty much do anything you need it to do. It even makes it more satisfying that I purchased this unit two days before they raised the price to $999 (I paid 799). To the person that complains about having to choke this unit during start up, get used to it. It is called CARB emissions. They are making these engines as efficient as possible. You are always going to find that late model engines will require choking to draw the gas due to the elimination of unburnt HC emissions.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is the power washer to get!!!

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There is little assembly when the product arrives. Start up is easy if you follow the directions. Its very powerful but also gentle with the various nozzels. Ive washed my deck, driveway and even my car (with no harm to the paint)!!! The low oil indicator light lets me know when its time to fill er up and the idle down technology is a great gas saver on longer jobs. I would recommend this product to anyone who is in the market for a commercial grade power washer.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
from Broomfield, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a quality product!

PostedFebruary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did a lot of shopping around and this power washer has the best features (like idle down,) and the best quality you could ask for in the $800 dollar range. My only complaint is that I couldn't find this model anywhere but home depot. Anyway this thing is a man's power washer! I replaced a couple old Sears craftsman 2100 psi units that I've had but there is something to be said not just for the pressure but the gallons per minute (gpm). This unit makes quick work of washing a vehicle and then the driveway afterward. I love the idle down feature. I couldn't find this feature on any of the other big units I shopped for and the fact that the whole thing is endorsed by Cat Pumps means they put some work into designing this thing. Other features that I like are the 50 foot quality hose, quick connects, oil for both engine and pump are included, large flat proof tires, and the fold down handle. You must hold the trigger while starting the engine but that is no different than any washer that I have ever used. I am very happy with this purchase.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Water Blaster!

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before purchasing, I had a mechanic, with over 20-years experience with pressure washers, look over the washer's specs. He gave it a thumbs up. Excellent engine and finest pump on the market. After assembling the minor parts on the washer, I followed directions for start up. Tried it out on a steel tubing fence that I am re-painting, which has three layers of paint. It took off all the gummed up layers of paint right down to the original Ospho and RustOleum primer. I could have taken that off, too, but I only want all the paint off. It also knocked off rust down to the metal in a few areas where the paint was nicked or scratched. Tried out a small section of concrete driveway. It made it look like the concrete had just been poured and finished. This pressure washer has power. I have to really hold on tight to the gun and side handle or it will fly off. Starts on first pull (but you have to pull trigger to release any built up pressure). The idle down feature is awesome and keeps the pump from heating up. It is well balanced on its carrier and moves easy. The Yamaha engine purrs like a cat when running. In summary: This is an awesome pressure washer at an excellent price. I looked for three months and read numerous reviews on several dozen washers before buying, and I could not find a better washer or value. I highly recommend this pressure washer for heavy work.
+12points
18out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED

Great Pro Grade Washer

PostedMay 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What can I say. Everything on this pressure washer is solid, nothing flimsy or cheaply made plastic, just solid quality components. Yamaha motor - starts 1st or 2nd pull every time, cold or hot. CAT pump - lots and lots of pressure - free seals for life. My local Home Depot didn't even have this machine on display - had to get one off the rack - not sure why. Other internet based stores sell this machine for 3 and 4 hundred dollars more - go figure. It is a better machine than Ridgid and other high-end machines offered.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
from Florida
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best on market for price

PostedNovember 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Started 1st pull, engine is strong as is the pump. Cut my work time in 1/2 compared to my 7 year old Honda. Used it probably 100 hours now and still starts 1st pull. Get it if you need it!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
from San Juan Bautista, CA

Great Pressure washer.

PostedApril 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Searched around for washers with at least 3200 psi. Saw this one and read the reviews. The price that it was advertised at was decent ($799) for the features. A few places had washers to compare with it, at about half again the price. Had to drive to 6 hours to pickup, because of CARB. Was well worth the drive. The washer has great pressure, you can clean paint off with the red tip. The idle down feature is really nice and fuel economy seems decent ran for several hours washing on less than half a tank. The only feature I didn't know it had because it was not stated and maybe all pressure washers have. Is a soap dispensing port. It works really nice and will draw some soap. All in all this is a great machine and the Cat pump works flawlessly. The Yamaha engine works great also. Well worth the purchase
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED

Its a cannon!

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Granted, I have only used an hour. However, this machine produces serious results! Wouldve taken 3 hours with my old 2400 psi model. Which by the way, literally got knocked over by this from 6 feet away. Ha!!!
I was missing gun hanger brackets in the box. Easy as pie phone call to the manufacturer. Assured me 3-5 days they will be here.
I will be putting this through its paces over the next few weeks. Will update afterwards
Signed
Mr. Happy
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good features for the price

PostedJune 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used the Yamaha/Cat washer for several hours now and it's a nice combination. I've had no issues at all starting it. The idle down feature is really nice! I expect many years of service from the washer and would recommend it to someone looking for something better than entry level but not wanting to spend the money for a full blown professional unit.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED

Buy it- Cant see how you would go wrong!!!

PostedJune 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this pressure washer for a year and use it professionally on a weekly basis...I bought it because it was a Cat Pump and the fact that Cat licensed a company to assemble this product- so I expected that the pressure washer would stand up as well as their pumps do. I was not disappointed. The warranty is great and the only issue I have had is the pull cord fly wheel locking up, once, but it released itself when I pulled it lightly to release the spring....I too had a minor leak from the pump assembly but it was easily corrected by tightening the stem that feeds into the pump......Overall, the machine is well built and built to easily service. Thus far, I have had no issues and dont expect to.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good features, NOt a true CAT PUMP.

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I picked this unit up instore, two weeks ago, It was a breeze to get it up and running. I have been looking at new pressure washers for the past year, I loved the features, and most of all that it had the cat pump. I was not happy to find out that the (CAT) PUMP, is made by homelite. i have had no luck with homelite in the past, AS of now my review is based on the cat pump, that homelite purchased from them. We will see how this unit holds up in the future. The seals for life, is great, however i have never had a problem with the seals going on the pump. I recommend spending the extra money and getting a true CAT pump
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
from Mooresville NC (nascar country )
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

3800 PSI yamaha pressure washer

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this unit on JULY 2 2012 and have used it about
8 hours total so far. WHAT A MACHINE !!! This thing is so
neat i'm in love already. started second pull ,idle down is
wonderful. restart NO problem if you choke it and relieve the pressure on wand. The greatest machine i've ever
used to date.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3800 psi 3.5 GPM Gas Pressure Washer-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cat pump leaks

PostedMay 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought the Cat pump because of the high ratings.........leaked the first time I used it. Took it back for refund. Home Depot was easy to deal with.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>