728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Pressure Washers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer

2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer

The Homelite 2,700 psi 2.4 GPM Gas Pressure Washer features a Subaru 4-cycle OHC chain-drive engine designed to deliver powerful performance for a multitude of household cleaning projects. This pressure washer includes a 5-in-1 quick-connect changeover nozzle to enable you to choose the right spray pattern for the job. It has onboard detergent tanks for convenient soap application and storage. The durable roll-cage frame offers added protection.
Overall rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
69%of customersrecommend this product47 of 68reviews
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(13)
3
(2)
2
(3)
1
(18)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
69%of customersrecommend this product47 of 68reviews
Customer reviews for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
Review 1 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Beaverton Oregon

good pressure

PostedMay 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When all else fails read the manual. It says to pull the trigger on start to relieve the pressure or else you'll never get it started. On a cold start it takes me about 3 to 4 pulls, on a warm start it always goes on the first pull. Works great, has excellent pressure. It's not loud and the 5 in 1 nozzle is very convenient. The stats say it has a 1 gallon gas tank, not true it's .22, about the size of a typical lawnmower which last maybe 50 minutes probably the one real negative for me. But after using this unit five times for about three hours at a time i'm a satisfied customer. Good machine and good price. For those folks with starting issues make sure you thoroughly read the manual. I'd recommend to others.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Camas, WA

Great design and build quality

PostedApril 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this up from my local store after comparing a number of other ones from Home Depot and other outlets. I found this one to be well designed and good value for this class of washer.
The engine is a Subaru and looks smart. The frame is really duty-rated and the top handle a comfortable foam - unlike some others that had hard plastic. You can fold it down if you need to make it more compact. The hose and connectors fit easily and securely and the wand has an excellent 5 in 1 selector that pops on the end - no screwing or exchanging heads required. Rotating the head allows you to swing left to right, or backwards and forwards. I found myself switching between 45 degrees and 25 degrees spays most of the time and occasionally 0 degrees so this 5-in-1 head design was useful. The hose length is ample to keep the machine away from the work area. There's a large soap reservoir on the front, but I haven't used that yet.
The unit was assembled by Home Depot, so it took me about 10 minutes to get set up. Just hook up the garden hose, fit it up with a bit of oil (it comes with a bottle) and fill with gas. The only difficulty I had was the very first pull start. I didn't expect it to catch on the first go, but it rotated enough to create some pressure in the pump. Subsequent pulls were then difficult and the engine couldn't catch. The solution was to have someone hold the wand spray open to keep the pressure low and then I could pull start the motor easily. Since that first time, I've had no problem getting it started.
I used this for concrete cleaning my driveway and a rough path and it worked well. If you haven't used a washer before, be prepared to get wet and wear eye protection. After I finished, the washer cleaned up well with just a wipe and stores great. The bungy cord for the wand hose is a nice touch.
This washer is a little more expensive that I planned to pay, but I expect it'll last more than a few seasons so it'll pay off.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer

Works great once I figured out the starting problems

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For all those having problems with keeping it running more than 20 seconds.
Turn the gas valve the opposite way. Yes, what should be off is actually on on some of the units. I was at my wits end with this thing, so as a last ditch effort I reversed it and Presto - worked like a champ. Go figure. Only drawbacks I see w/ it - If you use the soap settings the water pressure is poor - dosnt go very far on gas. other than that it did the siding and the deck porch w/ no problems.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Portland OR

well built and designed

PostedMay 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm a PW newbie as this is my first PW purchase. After reading several reviews I liked the specs and price on this guy. Fortunately the machine was assembled when I purchased. Got it home put in the oil and gas, connected the hoses and like some others I had a hard time on the first start, it probably took ten pulls. Subsequent starts take about two or three pulls but I always pull down on the trigger to relieve the pressure. It put out good pressure and helped me clean up a doug fir stained driveway with ease. The engine is not as loud as my neighbors, the build looks good and seems well designed. Subaru motors are usually very reliable. I like the 5 in 1 nozzle and I liked the on board soap container which I used easily. The only negatives really are I wish the hose was longer and I wish the gas tank was bigger. I had to refill the tank after about an hours use. But overall at this early point of ownership I'm pretty satisfied with the product and I would recommend to others.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from King of Prussia

The Lowdown

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got a great deal on this machine. I bought a refurbished machine for $75 off the regular price. I assume it had been returned by one of the many who couldn't start the engine. (See negative reviews.)
I had read all the reviews and noticed that they fell into two categories: people who had no trouble starting and loved the machine and people who couldn't get it started and returned it. I looked at the starting instructions on the side of the machine, which looked clear enough, and decided to buy it.
When I got it home I noticed they had given me the wrong owner's manual (one for a Husky Powerwasher), but, following the instructions on the unit, I was able to get it started. I later checked the instructions in the manual (I got the right one in PDF from the manufacturer's web site.) and noticed that they were WRONG, just as one of the reviewers said.
This is where a little technical knowledge really pays off:
1. A shutoff valve is always ON when the lever aligns with the flow path, OFF when the lever is perpendicular to the flow path. Kind of intuitive when you think about it.
2. A switch marked "|/O" is ON in the "|" position, OFF in the "O" position. If you work with computers this is obvious. (A 0 bit is false or off; a 1 bit is true or on.) Anyone else would probably find this confusing, though, so I don't know why they're using this on everything these days.
So I've been feeling pretty smug for the last few weeks, thinking I got a really good deal thanks to those people who couldn't figure out how to start these things, but today my smugness wore off. I really needed to do some pressure washing, but the thing wouldn't run. I had a very hard time getting it to start at all, and when it did start, it wouldn't stay running. It sounded like a fuel problem--and it sounded just like one of the bad reviews!
I finally found the problem: blockage in the carburetor inlet. I took the plug out of the bottom of the float bowl, and a little gas leaked out, but not a full bowl by any stretch, so I removed the bowl and found it empty. Then I opened the fuel valve and saw that nothing was coming out, so I closed it and disconnected the fuel line from the carb side of the fuel valve and connected it to a syringe. At first I couldn't blow air through the line, but as I increased the pressure, something gave and a spray of gas came out of the carb inlet. I checked to make sure I didn’t kill the needle valve, then I put it all back together, started it up and pressure washed my fence.
So now I think I see the whole story. At least some of those people who had problems were right. There is a problem with this machine. There's no inline fuel filter between the gas tank and the carburetor. That's a pretty big oversight in a piece of equipment that's fueled by hand, but at least it's easily remedied.
If you buy a fuel filter, make sure you get one for small engines with gravity flow. I suggest you put it between the shutoff and the carburetor so you can change it without having to drain the tank or clamp the line.
By the way, in case it isn't obvious, folding down the handle makes refueling a lot easier.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Kentucky

Homelite 2700 PSI Pressure Washer

PostedMay 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was special price for $299. At store, were out of stock. Same price online, free shipping plus found a $10 off coupon. Shipped direct to my work address. Very easy to assemble. Bought because of the good reviews of Subaru engine. Very well designed. Good hose keeper system, soap tank, fold down handle. Really like muti-jet head. Seems very well built. Starts pretty easy, but not on first pull. Very powerful spray. Seems like a good value for price.
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer

Works Great!

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit new and have ran two tanks through it so far.
It has ran flawlessly with plenty of power for my tasks. I used concrete cleaner combined with this power washer on my driveway and it looks wonderful.
I had read the reviews about starting problems and I did have problems starting this unit at first. Then I figured out that the controls were left in the running position from the factory so when I tried to start it I had turned the controls to what I thought was the ON position, to the OFF position. This is my first power washer so I was not to familiar with the control positions. After looking closer and realizing what had happened I had to laugh, then I thought maybe this is what is happening to other people so I thought I would tell my story.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Miami, Fl

Awsome Machine

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
PW newbie. Bought it Reconditioned from the local store. Looked brand new. Probably a return from someone that didn't follow the operators manual. Got it home, filled with gas, connected the hoses. Followed the operators manual starting procedure and started on second pull. If it does not start on first pull squeeze the trigger to relieve the pressure. It puts out good pressure. Used it for 2 hours today and worked great, Had to fill the gas tank half way through the job. Having a Subaru engine I expect it to last. The 5 in 1 nozzle and the on board soap container are a plus. I'm extremely satified. Highly recommend to others.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Mississippi

Great Washer, Bad Instructions!

PostedAugust 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading the reviews here, I purchased this Homelite power washer and was careful to follow the instructions very meticulously. When the time had come, I pulled the cord to crank 'er up ... and nothing. During the next 75 pulls, I only got the occasional sputter. So after a few choice words for Homelite, my arm about to fall off, and suffering from heat-stroke, I decided to change the fuel valve setting. She fired right up and has proven to be an awesome machine.
So ... despite what "Figure 13" clearly shows, the "Fuel On" position is when the knob is horizontal, not vertical.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Kennewick, WA

Not a good unit

PostedAugust 20, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Like others that already have posted about this product, I could not get it started. It literally took me an hour to get it to start. WORSE THAN THAT WAS THAT IT BURNED ROUND SPOTS IN MY GRASS! Yep, you heard me right. While using this product to pressure wash my fence It left scorch marks every place that it sat running and burned 14" round marks in the grass - and now my beautifuul lawn has ugly round burn patches. Has any one else had this problem too?
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy THD CustomerServiceAugust 24, 2011
Hi There,

We reached out to the manufacturer to see if they had any helpful tips for operating this pressure washer. This is what they said:

The discolored grass issue you are experiencing is the result of the Thermal Relief Valve expelling water. This happens when the unit is running but not in use. In order to cool the pump, this valve releases hot water. All gas pressure washers have a Thermal Relief Valve which may cause discolorations in the grass. Ensure the unit is placed on a surface that will not be affected by hot water discharge.
Review 11 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer

works great easy start first pull

PostedMay 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
just got mine today easy assemble easy to use
starts one pull
dont know why others are saying hard to start
fill oil and gas turn on fuel flo turn on switch push choke in
and pull cord starts one pull
not rocket science
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Portland OR

No problems starting and my patio looks great!

PostedMay 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have to admit I was pretty worried when I read all the troubled reviews here the night after I bought it. As a result I read the entire manual very carefully and everything went just fine. I was sure to:
1. Not overfill the oil reservoir (there was about 3 oz left in the container when I was done filling).
2. Used fresh gas purchased the day I used it. (I suspect this could be the issue with some of the others that have had problems. Old gas can separate and needs a stabilizer to be used)
3. Have the hose on and the trigger pulled on the wand when I pulled the starter rope.
4. Returned the choke to the run position about 6 seconds after it started.
All of the important directions are printed right an the side of the machine and it couldn't be easier. One the first start I needed to pull the rope three times, and each time after that (the engine was still warm) it started on the first pull.
The power seems good for the price and the soap feature worked great on my concreate patio. I am very pleased with this purchase and look forward to using it for years to come.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer

Great Product

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used this product twice. Each time it was easy to start and runs with no problems. I wish the gas tank was a little bigger, but not a big problem. The power is great and I like the nozzle. I can change the setting just by rotating the nozzle attachment. Just be careful if you power wash in the yard. I was doing my fence and did not realize the heat from the machine was burning my grass. I have spots all over the yard. This was my fault and I figured I would warn people.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Delaware

Use common sense when starting

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the hard starting problems, I tried to start
mine and after the 7 or 8th pull I thought Full choke on a 85 deg. day was too much, dropped to 3/4 choke and it started right up. Used it until it ran out of gas.
Did a great job with the adjustable nossle. swiches between soap and rince automaticly!!!. Refilled with gass and started right up. Next day set choke to 3/4 started on 1st pull. LOVE IT. the full choke must be for really cold days! so if your having a hard time starting think about what your doing, the manual does not fit all seasons.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Atlanta, GA, USA

It's simple...

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
If you do a few simple things this pressure washer is no trouble to start.
--fuel valve horizontal
--switch to (-) position
--connect water source
--pull trigger with one hand AND continue holding to release pressure
--position yourself behind the handle to hold unit steady and in place and then pull the cord with other hand
The key is the HOLDING the trigger in while starting and not just once and letting it go.
I have used it 5 times already for short periods. Warm temperature starts and one 42 degree morning. All 5 times it started on second or third pull. Restarts were all first pull starts.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Severna Park, MD

Great product don't pay attention to the negative reviews!!!!

PostedJune 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this is a great power washer with plenty of power for the household user looking to clean your house, driveway cars and just about anything you would want to pressure wash. I bought the floor model that someone had returned because they could not figure out how to use it and I got a great deal on it so thank you to who ever could not figure the simple machine out. You don't have to use new gas or anything else other than follow the simple instructions.
1)conect water hose (garden hose) make sure pressure hose is connected to nozzle and outlet valve on bottom of washer.
2)turn gas on left hand side.
2)turn power switch on. Left hand side next to gas.
3)keep red pin in to start. Next to power switch.
4) pul trigger on nozzle and at the same time pull rip cord. Pull red pin to run and wash away.!!!!
It's that easy!!!!! No tricks no defects just read the directions and make sure you are pulling the trigger as you pull the rip cord.
I would buy another one at full price. Great washer at at great price point. You are missing out if you pay attention to the people who could not get theirs started or better yet do what I did and buy the returned one and get a even better deal!!!! :) :) :) :)
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Michigan

Excellent perfrormance so far

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I picked this machine over the other 2700 psi model based on the slightly higher flow rate and because my research indicated that Subaru does make a good engine. Although I've only used it for a couple of hours (2 tanks of gas), I've been really happy so far. Prepped 40 feet of fence for staining. The first time I started it, it took 2 pulls. I found after that in order to start the machine it is necessary to hold the trigger while you pull the cord and it starts every time on the first pull. Since this is my first gas pressure washer I'm not sure if it's the same on other models. I'll post back if I run into any issues.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Arlington Virginia

Similar problems as others

PostedMay 21, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was hopeful as this one looks great out of the box and is a snap to put together. I read the instructions, filled the oil and gas, hooked up the water supply and started it up. At first it fired up and ran rough. (smoke and an uneven idle) I played with the choke and got it to run smooth. Within 2 minutes of working with the pressure washer the motor cut out. (not good) I was able to get it running again but it was not an easy start. Again the engine cut out after two minutes. A third time of messing around with the engine to get it going....15 minutes later it starts again and stalls...It should not be this hard....this one is going back.
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Albrightsville, PA

I recommend this product to anyone looking for a quality product.

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Before purchasing this subaru pressure washer I read all other reviews pro and con. When I purchased this pressure washer I followed the instructions exactly. It fired up after 2 pulls and performed excellent. The one thing I did not do was wear saftey glasses. On one occasion I got water in my eyes. I was lucky it was only water. I recommend this product to anyone looking for a quality product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2700 psi 2.4 GPM Subaru Engine Gas Pressure Washer
from Kentucky

Waste of Money

PostedJuly 7, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just bought this and it's horrible! I'm returning mine immediately. WIth all the reviews discussing the difficulty with starting this unit, you would think the manufacturer would fix it. My mistake that I didn't read the reviews prior to buying it. I read the different "fixes" other consumers used to get the item to start. If I purchase a brand new item, I don't expect to have to "fix it" myself.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>