728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)

Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)

Give your faucet a face lift with the DANCO Trim Kit for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets. Featuring 2 styles of handles for a choice of design, this trim kit includes various adapter combinations to help ensure compatibility with most Moen faucets.
Overall rating:
2.231 / 5
2.2
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
31%of customersrecommend this product4 of 13reviews
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
2.2 out of 5.0
5
(1)
4
(3)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Value 
1.9 out of 5.0
1.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
31%of customersrecommend this product4 of 13reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)
Review 1 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)
from Lisle, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

don't bother

PostedJune 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the second Danco product I've purchased and the second Danco product I've returned. The center inset is deeper than the rim, so it doesn't sit flush against the wall. Don't bother with this product unless you're prepared to put a bigger hole into your shower wall to accommodate the inset. The center inset is also removable and kept popping out as I was working with it, as did the gasket, which is not secured to the rim. This is not a true replacement part, just a cheap imitation that requires a substantial amount of effort and aggravation to use. I wish I had read the reviews before purchasing this product.
Cons: Difficult to Install, not the same as the item it is designed to replace
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)
from maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works well

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I picked it because it was chrome and looked good in the packaging.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)
from Cumming, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT BUY!

PostedJuly 1, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is so cheaply made. Do not waste your money on this product. It's plastic and the parts are not even equivalent to the older metal replacement parts! I am switching from brass to chrome and this (I thought) was going to be perfect for our shower. The kit was missing a screw, I had double of another screw and one part of the shaft was the wrong size by a few milimeters. The faceplate does not sit flush up against the shower wall - leaving about a 1/3" gap between the wall and the plate. Seriously, do not buy this cheap product...especially not for the $$
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Made the same mistake as everyone else!

PostedApril 27, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Listen to the other reviews people, they are correct. Bought this because I wanted a nice metal handle. Try all you want, you cannot get it tight enough to use without wobbling. So okay, I'll use the plastic knob instead. Nope! I have a genuine MOEN 1222 cartridge, and the handle in this kit will not fit it. The center shaft is circular and the MOEN cartridge has straight sides. So back to Home Depot to buy the genuine MOEN plastic knob, which installed correctly in 10 seconds. This was a *complete* waste of money. Only use this if you have a Danco cartridge, and even then if you don't mind throwing half the kit away, because you will. Agree with the other reviewer who wonders why HD even sells this brand.
Pros: taught me not to by off-brand anymore
Cons: won't fit moen cartridge, too expensive for what you can actually use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)
from Winfield, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

easy kit

PostedApril 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i used this kit to replace an order style shower handle that kept stripping out and so far it has been a great replacement. It is a much better design then what i was using previously. .
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Metal handle is loose!

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The main reason I bought this was for the nicer looking metal handle. Better than the cheap-looking plastic one. After putting the metal handle on, it is impossible to completely tighten the little screw with the provided Allen wrench, so the handle is just wobbly. I heard someone else say they used silicone to fix this, but that doesn't seem like it will last long. It should work without that.
Also, because the back of the faceplate protrudes out in the center, I had to cut the bathroom tile around the opening to get the whole face plate to sink in flush with the wall. Took a long time. After doing all that, I find out about the loose the metal handle. Really, really bad product! Taking it back after I figure out how to get everything back into the packaging.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)

Not a direct OEM replacement

PostedJanuary 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Be prepared to widen the opening around the mixer valve. The OEM Moen trim plate needs 1.75" less in diameter around valve than the replace aftermarket plate. I do like the looks of the product and installation is a snap to replace when the opening is correct size. Plus, replacing the plastic handle with a handle updates the look of the shower.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong Water Pressure, Looks Great, Modern
Cons: Wish It Came In More Finishes, not designed as an oem replacement
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)

Very disappointed with this product

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Handle is too heavy and drops back down into a neutral position making it impossible to control the water temperature for type B valves forcing you to settle for the clear plastic knob. The plate behind the knob is made of plastic and for the price I was expecting more.
Cons: cheap, flawed design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)

Pleasantly surprised

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After reading all the negative reviews about this product I went ahead and purchased it anyway. I figured the polished chrome handle was better than the cheap looking plastic knob. The handle is a nice heavy polished metal but the face plate was made of plastic, but who will ever know...you can't tell by looking at it. I have seen some of the high end expensive trim kits come with plastic spouts. There was one problem with the handle being loose no matter how much you tighten it, but that problem was easily solved by putting some silicone where you attach it to the stem. Looks great...
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Modern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)
from Knoxville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth the money

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read the reviews, understood that the escutcheon was plastic, and bought the product in hopes of using the metal handle. Looks great once installed and only I know how cheap the product feels. Was hoping to use the metal handle which sets the product apart from a stock (and much less expensive) replacement item. The handle was so heavy that it rotates towards the middle on its own. Resorted to using the plastic knob. Could have save $20 to $30 dollars by ordering the stock replacement which is well made and comes with a metal escutcheon.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: expensive over stock component
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)

Cheaply made

PostedApril 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well I tried to install and ended up using my original face plate because the one provided would not be flush with the wall. Everything else was installed and looked good. But after 2 uses, the handle is already loose. Seems the screw that holds it on that goes in the cartridge becomes unscrewed. That is stupid.. Now I have to tighten it every two days. It may go back, but is such a hassle to uninstall again.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: cheap.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)

Lose this product line, please

PostedMarch 10, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The plastic is cheap, so when you're supposed to fit the correct plate into the faceplate it's two plastic tabs. The moment you put pressure during screwing it in, it detaches. If Part A only goes with Part B, does it kill the company to assemble them together? I had to apply adhesive foam over the plate (to protect against the sleeve) and it bent inward over the gap because it doesn't fit properly. Finally, the plastic ring that supposedly fits into the faceplate - it doesn't fit at all because the plastic supports block any kind of fit. As soon as you turn it vertical, the rubber detaches, allowing water to leak behind the faceplate. Terrible product, I don't understand how a store could continue to stock lazy manufacturing. And after opening the package and peeling adhesives, I'd be embarrassed to try and return it. Ouch.
Cons: Difficult to Install, cheap fittings, does not work as advertised
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Single-Handle Valve Trim Kit in Chrome for Moen Tub/Shower Faucets (Valve Not Included)
from Ogden, U
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This kit is the apitome of Chinese cheapness!

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The collar does not fit, and the allen screw to put on the handle is some odd size that is not included in standard allen wrench kits. If you do happen to get the collar on the valve, good luck trying to get it back off without mangling it!! If I could do it over, I would pay extra for genuine MOEN parts.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: pieces do not fit well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.