728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)

Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)

The Uncle Ethan's Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack) can keep your fire burning for up to 3 hours each. These logs are made from environmentally-friendly recycled fibers. They include no chemicals.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product9 of 14reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(6)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Appearance 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
Value 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product9 of 14reviews
Customer reviews for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)
Review 1 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)
from South Holland, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

It's firewood--for a fire, people (smile)

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'd used Uncle Ethan's in my firepit and it worked great, so when I bought a chiminea I thought I'd try it in that and it worked fine. The reason I don't give it 5 stars is because of the starting instructions. Instructions say--use the "free" firestarter in every pack. I guess that's the little stick that seems to be included but I can't figure out exactly how to use it. Instructions say--break off the disks and light them. But it's not like the disks are marked on one of the logs. Instructions say--make a pyramid which is not easy to do in a chiminea. Finally I realized I was making too big a deal out of it so I made a bed of newspaper, soaked it with charcoal lighter fluid put in more balled up newspaper, laid in the Uncle Ethan's and gave 'em a hit of charcoal lighter fluid. They caught easily and burned a nice, long time. That's why I measured quality at excellent. I don't light a fire that often (maybe 5 or 6 times a year), so I don't need to keep a lot of firewood sitting around. That's why I rated value at excellent.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Waste of money

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Kindling (the one lousy piece) wouldn't even light. Followed instructions. Hard to build a pyramid with one piece of kindling. Finally tried newspaper, still wouldn't light.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)

Good alternative to wood

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was using another similar fire log to supplement the wood supply for my wood stove. They're no longer sold where I'd purchase them, so I tried these. I'd say these burn better. I add them after I've already got a fire going - haven't used the lighting instructions. I don't have a large supply of wood, what I do have isn't really seasoned - sometimes there is smoke. Not with these logs. Good to know these are available at a reasonable price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)

fire logs

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
they work well and it gives you a good hot fire. the only thing i did not like about them is when they start burning good the log will expand about 4-6" so make sure there is room in your fireplace for it to do that or it may fall out! I would say break it in 1/2 and put them side by side. i will be getting more because they do work well
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)
from Stillwater, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Great logs

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For 2 years I have been using the fire logs with my regular kindling to start my green logs which is the only thing I have to use for my fires. The chunks work great and I would like to get more but there is not a Home Depot in my area. I have had no trouble getting the chunks to ignight.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)
from Ann Arbor, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you know what you are doing this provides a good, hot, clean burn. For a fire place line you log cradle with galvanized rabbit wire formed into a small basket to allow good airflow under your logs this also prevents them from falling thru your log cradle while they burn. Use your own fire starters placed on the bottom of the wire basket and break the logs onto 3 - 5 inch chunks then light 2 newspaper balls under your log cradle that works best when starting them..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)
from New Jersey, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Good for wood burning stove

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I see a lot of the issue of lighting and we found it a little hard to light as well but we took them and cut them easily with ban saw in half and they light a lot easier as the inside does not have that coating on it. Love them for heating our house and will buy them again this year. It heats hotter then logs and you don't have to worry about sparking. I love them. Once at the end they smolder hot for a few hours more giving us radiant heat. Burns clean. Would and have told friends to buy and use.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, afordable, works well
Cons: a little hard to light due to coating on outside
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Non Fire Logs

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
If you have lots of old newspaper that you want to get rid of then buy these logs. Don't give Uncle Ethan any money. Send him a card once a year and see if he learned how to make his logs burn.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)
from Irvington, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Outstanding value, great product

PostedNovember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is our favorite fireplace log because it 1) is the best value we have found in terms of dollars per pound; 2) burns hotter than regular wood, which helps to heat up our big home; 3) leaves a minimum of ashes, which means that we can run many fires before the ashes need to be removed; 4) burns clean, with very little smell; 5) does not leave wood "crumbs" on the floor everywhere like firewood; and 6) provides real warmth for at least an hour or two after the flame dies down (after many logs have been burned, the remnants continue to provide good heat). The cons are not an issue for us, but it 1) breaks apart and crumbles under pressure; 2) changes shape and can move around a bit as it heats up; and 3) is difficult to light (It requires a lot of heat before it starts burning, so we use another product to get the fire going).
Pros: Energy Efficient, High Quality of Material, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, burns hot and clean
Cons: difficult to light, changes shape while burning
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)
from New Jersey
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

worked good but hard to start

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ok I bought these for my wood stove because I don't like using wood because it sparks off. 1st time lighting did as said but they just smoldered and went out. Then I bought another product which is the fire nuggets starters which work just great. Put two under the log and light. Started the logs with no problem (forget the fire stick that comes with it). Get the fire nugget starter (home depot has these) and these logs work just great. I will buy more of them. Oh also part way through break apart and fire will burn really hot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)

Good Product

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First off, the lighting instructions that are included are best used to help you light the logs.
The instructions have some claim about breaking off 3 discs from one of the logs and using that to start it. Logs are nearly impossible to do this with. I even went so far as to get a wedge (paint scraper actually) and a hammer but to no avail. They may light a LITTLE easier than real wood, but just assume same lighting procedure for real wood and you will do fine. Supplied fire starter was not enough to get it going, but with some help from me blowing on the hot parts of the log I was able to get it to go.
Once started logs provided substantial heat and a large, roaring fire. I used all three of them at once...because I used up all the fire starter...and I think that was a bit much. Would heat a room just fine used one at a time. Fire lasted 3-3.5hours. Hot coals provided heat for 1.5-2hours after that. Logs burnt completely to fine ash, no char coal.
A little more expensive per-fire than a duraflame log if you use a whole pack. But used one at a time I find the claim of 3hrs per log totally believable and they heat much better than duraflame.
Recommend you buy fire starters.
Pros: Energy Efficient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)
from WI

Absolutely do not buy

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Looking for a reasonable alternative to pricey logs and picked this up. Huge mistake. Really a terrible product that stores should be ashamed to stock. Wish I could add picture of the pitiful flame this puts out
Cons: awful
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)
from Florida, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

I'll never cheat on Duraflame again!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you're looking for logs that smell up the house ,smoke but never burn ,then these are for you. Tried to start by the instructions, added paper ,fat wood, and the logs wouldn't do more than smolder.
Cons: don't burn
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)
from Doraville, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

At least they are cheap. This product doesn't perform. I love the company story and Georgia ties but

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The product doesn't perform as well as higher priced competitors.
Pros: Looks High End
Cons: Cheap Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fire Logs 15 lb. (3-Pack)

Better than nothing

PostedNovember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Used these logs during a 5-day power outage and the best I can say for them as it was better than nothing to burn. They're basically compressed sawdust and don't burn that well, they tend to smolder with very little flame.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.