728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender

FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender

Replacing an entire fence can be an expensive and difficult task. Now it's easy for you to get your fence back in shape and your home back to looking its best. Simpson Strong-Tie offers a line of products designed specifically to help you make some of the most common fence repairs, easily and economically.
Overall rating:
4.594 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
94%of customersrecommend this product60 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.6 out of 5
5
(52)
4
(6)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
94%of customersrecommend this product60 of 64reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer reviews for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Review 1 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from San Antonio, TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product for correcting leaning fence

PostedDecember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I found this idea and product by watch YouTube about how to correct leaning fence. Well, I found out online that Home Depot carries it. Ordered five to correct poorly installed leaning fence posts on one side of the backyard. They worked like magic and the corrected posts with the menders feel quite strong in a straight position. I bought another one for all the posts on that side.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Good Shape, Great Value, Economical, intuitive
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Georgetown, Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

A real time saver!

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The E-Z Mender is an incredible time saver! Instead of replacing the post and using some type of cement to help anchor the post, one or two E-Z Menders will secure the post even if the base is rotten all the way through. There are a few things to keep in mind to make things easier. As someone else had mentioned use two hand sledge hammers. Place one sledge hammer on the little lip that is suppose to be hit and hit that first sledge hammer with a second one. I used a smaller 2.5 pound placed on the lip and a heavier 4 pound sledge hammer to strike the smaller one. If you hit each hit fully on the face of the hammer you'll pound the E-Z Mender into the ground pretty quick.
Also, drill a pilot hole about half the size of the lag bolt you're using. Using a washer with the lag bolt will insure the E-Z Mender gets pulled snug to the post. If you are using two E-Z Mender make sure that one is slightly lower than the other one since the lag bolt may run into the other. Depending on your driver you might over tighten the lag bolt and shear the lag bolt head off.
Take your time and you'll be rewarded with a great repair in a fraction of the time it takes to put in a new post!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Exactly as advertised

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I used 8 of these to prop up an old wooden fence around a rental property. The posts weren't cracked but they were very loose as they were not anchored with cement at all on some and partially on others. They worked as advertised - I drove them into the ground with a hand sledge and as you drive them, they straighten the post. Then drill some good exterior screws in them and you are done. If the ground around the post is really open because you pulled out old cement, maybe drive a couple wooden stakes in there for extra measure. Truthfully, if I had a fence on my own property, I would probably dig out the hole and pour in new concrete, but that's me. This is a great fix that takes maybe 10 minutes per post and I'm sure will last awhile.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Fort Collins, CO
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

The brilliance is in the simplicity and efficiency of the product

PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Consider first, that a standard pressure treated 4x4 fence post is ~$25. Pair this with the time (if it is yours) and/or cost associated with removing the 2x4 railing that connect to the the old post, removing the post itself, setting the new post in concrete, allow concrete to cure (at least 2-4 hours with fast-setting mix) and reattaching the 2x4 railing. Per post, you are looking at about ~$100 per post if you are paying someone and at least a 6 hour job (if not much longer when you are working on more than a single post) if it is your time with an added inconvenience of this timeline if you have dogs.
I used ONE EZ Mender per 4x4 post, of which I fixed two, which were leaning about 8" off of vertical, falling into my neighbors yard. Driving the EZ Mender on my respective side of the fence without detaching any component of the fence took ~3 minutes per unit. Both EZ Menders were driven through a concrete footer using a 6 lb. sledge. All things considered, I fixed a severely damaged section of fence for the cost of two EZ Menders ($20 total) and a box of 2.5" decking screws ($5), which is the price of a single new pressure-treated 4x4, which at that price, is only laying in the bed of your truck...with hard work and time, you can put that $25 dollar post into a new home!...or just use the EZ Mender.
TIP: The driving surface for the Mender is slightly convex but is intended to collapse after initial impact and span out. This dramatically increases your surface area. So, in your first several hits with the sledge, use courage and strength!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality, Economical, Reliable
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from darien illinois
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great product

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The posts I am supporting are still intact but its more preventive that Im putting them on, I've seen a neighbors fence just drop down like so..... these add support even with winds. I installed them with a AIR HAMMER so they go in real good
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Great Value, Easy to Clean, High Quality, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Independence, Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Seem to work as descibed

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The EZ Mender can be difficult to install. You will need a sledge hammer and a piece of angle iron to lay on top of the stake as you pound it in. There is a raised area about halfway down I believe you are supposed to hit but it gets bent up. I have installed 10 of theses on my fence and they stiffened it right up. Make sure you use a piece of angle if striking the top or it will get all bent up also.
Pros: Performs Well, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mending shaky fence post ... Much easier than installing a new post

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had a good wind storm that knocked over a fence post which had a good lean to it already. After searching for how to replace the post I came across the mender product. Grabbed 2 of them, some good outdoor screws and a mallet.
Install was very easy, even in very tough Texas soil. Took me about 20 minutes to get the fence post repaired.
Since installing the post itself is very solid and has held up to some strong 50+mph wind gusts during the recent tropical storm.
Pros: Easy to Install, Economical, Reliable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from SF, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Great to repair wooden fence posts

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good product to repair failing wooden fence posts. Just straighten the post, hammer the unit into the ground at the post, nail it to the post above ground, and if desired put new cement around it to further strengthen the fence. The fence should last many more years.
Pros: Easy to Install
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Hanford, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Better than New

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent way to mend a weak fence post. The E-Z Mender is a quality product that is very strong and easy to install. It took just a few minutes to remove a couple of fence boards, fit it against the post and drive the E-Z Mender into the ground. The notches on the side made it very easy to hammer into some very hard soil. It was a perfect fit and made the post better than new! No wobble and very sturdy. If you want a hassle-free way of strengthening a weak fence post without having to dig it out, give the EZ-Mender a try. You won't be disappointed.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Encinitas, ca
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Easy fix for a rotten fence post

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Good product, easy to install....... It saved me having to dismantle part of the fence to replace a rotten fence post. Simple, easy, cheap........
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Straight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender

Great product

PostedAugust 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Worked really well...quick install. One suggestion, definitely go with a sledge hammer for the installation. I used a regular hammer and it took forever to drive them down.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Portland, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

works if no buried concrete or rocks

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
If the post was originally embedded in concrete or there are rocks below there's little chance of driving the repair channels in far enough to hold. The metal guage is good enough to do the job. If you have adjacent failed posts you're better off replacing the posts in the conventional way, but this is good for a 'quick fix'.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, quick fix
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Louisville KY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Saved me a small fortune!

PostedAugust 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The sign in front of our church fell in a storm from high wind. The wood posts were weakened from being in the wet ground and partially rotted.
These E-Z Menders installed very easily and are secured with two large bags of concrete. Good as new after cutting off the rotten wood first. Sure glad I did not have to replace those posts, sign was not made in a way to make that easy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender

Very sturdy- great product.

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These are stronger than the original wooden post. Very thick steel. My pressure treated posts were set concrete. I used the technique listed by others- one 4lb sledge resting on the cut-out and another 4 lb sledge to hit it in. Took a lot of hits, but was installed in a few minutes. My existing concrete was the type was mixed in a tub and poured around the post, I suspect that if I had used the 'set/fill/add water' type concrete, it may have split from the force of pounding in the e-z mender.
I found that I only need to do one side of the post, so I did the side that gets the least amount of sprinkler spray. I also used the Simpson SD #9 1 1/2in structural connector screws so the post can be replaced in the future.
In the past, I've spent hours chiseling out the old rotten stump and shaving down new posts to fit in the old hole. I thought that was the way to do it right. Not true- the post is will just fail again. I'm sold on this product!
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Clinton, MT
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works on a round post

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We took down a garden fence, but the perimenter fence posts needed support. The mender did the job.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very good product!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had a loose fence post and after installing one of these, the post is now much more stable. It was easy to install and did a very nice job. I drilled out the holes to accommodate larger 2 1/2 inch screws to secure it. I'm very happy with how well it worked. After installation I painted it brown to match the post color. Sure beats replacing the post! In fact, I liked it so much, I ordered another one because the store only had one in stock. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Austin, TX
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These work great!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used a pair to fix a completely broken fence post. Started one side, then put post between the first and a second E-Z Mender, and drove both Menders down. Secured the post to the Menders with several galvanized nails. Repaired post stronger than before!
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Cleveland Heights
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

EZ Mender/Post Holder Review

PostedJune 23, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Per my contractor, they worked well for putting up the posts in backyard. Made installation easier and posts stay in place.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical, goes into the ground well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Buellton
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Fence post Repair

PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Was very easy and fast, fence was leaning over from 80 mph winds and rain repaired in 2 hours with post menders, repaired 8 posts huge labor saver.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not at advertised....

PostedMay 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is advertised to fit a 4x4 post. The outside dimension is 4" but not the inside where you wrap the post. I wrote to Simpson's customer support email address and received a prompt reply. "The E-Z Base products are sized to fit nominal 4 x 4 posts (3.5" x 3.5" actual). We do not offer this product in rough sawn (true) sizes." Needless to say, my posts are 4 x 4. I was hoping this would be a solution but it's not.
Pros: Economical
Cons: not 4x4 as advertised
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>