728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender

FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender

Replacing an entire fence can be an expensive and difficult task. Now it's easy for you to get your fence back in shape and your home back to looking its best. Simpson Strong-Tie offers a line of products designed specifically to help you make some of the most common fence repairs, easily and economically.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product24 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(22)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product24 of 25reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer reviews for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Review 1 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Frustrated
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

E-Z Mender is 3.825" W--too wide for a net 3.5" x 3.5" post

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a great product, I suppose. But, for some odd reason they don't fit the common 4x4 post, which is actually only 3.5x3.5" net. I tried to pound this into the old concrete's opening, around the rotted-out post...to discover it won't go in! Simpson should specify on the label that these only work for a true 4x4 post. What a wate of a bunch of time. And why don't they make two sizes??
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Elise111

Very sturdy- great product.

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are stronger than the original wooden post. Very thick steel. My pressure treated posts were set concrete. I used the technique listed by others- one 4lb sledge resting on the cut-out and another 4 lb sledge to hit it in. Took a lot of hits, but was installed in a few minutes. My existing concrete was the type was mixed in a tub and poured around the post, I suspect that if I had used the 'set/fill/add water' type concrete, it may have split from the force of pounding in the e-z mender.
I found that I only need to do one side of the post, so I did the side that gets the least amount of sprinkler spray. I also used the Simpson SD #9 1 1/2in structural connector screws so the post can be replaced in the future.
In the past, I've spent hours chiseling out the old rotten stump and shaving down new posts to fit in the old hole. I thought that was the way to do it right. Not true- the post is will just fail again. I'm sold on this product!
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
AussieBob
from St. Louis, MO, USA

Saved a lot of time and effort

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A tornado in the area blew down part of my fence and with it the 4x4 post. Instead of getting a post hole auger and digging in frozen ground, I just banged in this Mender and attached it to the post. Now the fence is up and is secure.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Will
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It really works

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about a quick fix product like this but it worked like a charm. I had a little trouble hammering it in at first but once I got going I managed pretty well. For my post one mender seemed to do the trick and my fence is no longer leaning. I'm putting another post for support just in case using the spike base made by Simpson Strong-Tie makes.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
CKP70
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick economical repair

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent product to be able to repair a broken fence post at the bottom which saves you time and money. Only thing you'll have to do is notch the picket fence to fit flush over the portion of this unit that sticks out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Fieldhky04
from Chesapeake,Va
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

The product works as advertised. Easy to work with, and saves time .

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This saves considerable time, by not having to dig a new fence post. It is very stable.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Fencefixer
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very good to fix rotten fence posts

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical the E--Z Mender would "fix" my rotten fence posts, but I gave it a try based on the reviews I saw here, and this product is great. I only needed one per the four posts I had to repair for a patio fence, including a gate post! That post is quite secure and strong now. I heartily recommend the E-Z Mender. Suggest using two sledge hammers, one to place on the product as a hitting block and the other sledge to pound in the E-Z Mender.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Dongger1
from Independence, Missouri
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product save me time and money on my fence

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is takes some work to put in place. You have to swing a sledge hammer to work it down between the existing post and concrete. I would like to see some sort of tool that would aid in the hammering down of the product. I bent the top of several of mine from having to beat them down. The product has an area on the front side of it to pound on but it is very hard to hit every swing. Although it was not the easiest thing I have ever done, I saved a lot of time and digging to replace 8 new post. I will be using the Simpson Tie again when the time comes.
Pros: Performs Well, Great Value, Economical, Reliable
Cons: Difficult to Install, needs a tool to pound on
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Brad
from Hoover, AL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I give it an A+

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This works great on rotted or broken fence posts. To get the best results, use one on each side of the post, but one will strengthen and straighten the post greatly. I don't recommend using a standard hammer to drive this into the ground. You will need a heavier hammer, like a short sledge hammer.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Hammertime
from Austin, TX
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These work great!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used a pair to fix a completely broken fence post. Started one side, then put post between the first and a second E-Z Mender, and drove both Menders down. Secured the post to the Menders with several galvanized nails. Repaired post stronger than before!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
schlafe
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick fix for rotten fence posts.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I only needed to repair two posts in the middle of my fence. The E-Z menders allowed me to fix the posts quickly without dismantling full sections of the fence. Following the advice of several reviews I used to the two sledge method, one on the the E-Z Mender and the other to strike the sledge. The E-Z Menders are not cheap but I suppose it is all relative to the ease of installation vs how much time it would take to disassemble the fence and replace rotten posts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Rwilks
from Gurnee, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Excellent!

PostedDecember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't normally post reviews, but this item is worth it. Any sign of future fence post rotting, and I'll be getting more of these!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
tjlum
from albany, ny
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Worked great.

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Price was very reasonable vs price of a new post and the digging. Really firmed up the posts. very easy to use and doesn't take long to install. I just wish they came in white also.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value
Cons: only come in black
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
steamer

this post mender makes it extremely easy to repair broken posts

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My mail box was post was broken off at the base, I used two e-z menders to repair the damage. Since my post was set in concrete, in stead of needing to dig up the old concrete, get a new post, and set it in new concrete, two e-z menders had my mail box back up in 20 minutes, and just as strong
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Value
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
MartyD
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked as expected....excellent

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to use and does the job easily. It saved me from having to go thru a much more time consuming process and more expensive.....well worth the cost !!!!
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Frank
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product was easy to install and made repairing three posts uneventfull.

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This E-Z mender is very easy to install. I used this product to repair three broken fence posts. I purchased six of them- two for each post. They were all installed in 80 minutes. The fence is now more solid than ever. I will continue to purchase this product if I have any more broken fence posts.
Pros: Easy to Install, High Quality
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
daniel

I love it

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
good quality good shipping i like the product strong and reliable
Pros: Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Rick
Gender:Male
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Did the job

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
worked as promised. A larger area to hit it with the sledge hammer would be nice.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
FenceGuy
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It Works

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I used the product to stand up 30 feet of fence posts that had rotted out. The fence is back to plumb and stronger than when it was new, Much easier that replacing the posts.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Reliable
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
jenni
from Lake Forest, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

A perfect fix!

PostedJune 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was super easy to use and took only seconds to install! Our posts were completely rotted at the bottom. We were impressed at how sturdy our fence was after adding them to 2 posts. Our fence stood straight up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>