728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Construction Connectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender

FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender

Replacing an entire fence can be an expensive and difficult task. Now it's easy for you to get your fence back in shape and your home back to looking its best. Simpson Strong-Tie offers a line of products designed specifically to help you make some of the most common fence repairs, easily and economically.
Overall rating:
4.725 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product39 of 40reviews
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(3)
3
(1)
2
(2)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product39 of 40reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 37 Answers
Customer reviews for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Review 1 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Fort Wayne, Indiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very good product!

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had a loose fence post and after installing one of these, the post is now much more stable. It was easy to install and did a very nice job. I drilled out the holes to accommodate larger 2 1/2 inch screws to secure it. I'm very happy with how well it worked. After installation I painted it brown to match the post color. Sure beats replacing the post! In fact, I liked it so much, I ordered another one because the store only had one in stock. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best easy fix.

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to use. Quick to install. Holds the post solid.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Great Value, Economical
Cons: could be longer
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from chicago, il
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Saved us from a $500 fence repair bill

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The post cracked at the base from nasty storm). My husband was able to drive this into the concrete and secure to the post to give us some time until spring until we can replace the entire fence properly. We bought another to use on a rotting post, and both are now solid, even the one that was in 2 pieces..
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender

Very sturdy- great product.

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These are stronger than the original wooden post. Very thick steel. My pressure treated posts were set concrete. I used the technique listed by others- one 4lb sledge resting on the cut-out and another 4 lb sledge to hit it in. Took a lot of hits, but was installed in a few minutes. My existing concrete was the type was mixed in a tub and poured around the post, I suspect that if I had used the 'set/fill/add water' type concrete, it may have split from the force of pounding in the e-z mender.
I found that I only need to do one side of the post, so I did the side that gets the least amount of sprinkler spray. I also used the Simpson SD #9 1 1/2in structural connector screws so the post can be replaced in the future.
In the past, I've spent hours chiseling out the old rotten stump and shaving down new posts to fit in the old hole. I thought that was the way to do it right. Not true- the post is will just fail again. I'm sold on this product!
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked Well

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked very well for me. Price was reasonable and installation was pretty simple. My fence was leaning pretty good and I didn't have access to the other side of it. I put 2 of these on consecutive posts and they straightened the fence out perfectly. They have holes in them to screw the mender to the wooden post and keep it in place. Much much easier than replacing an entire post and at a reasonable cost.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Denver
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Worked well and easy to use

PostedJune 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This was very easy to install with a few hard hits, and straightened the fence very quickly. I used a regular hammer and it worked fine. A bunch of screw holes on the face and on the sides to screw it firmly in place against the fence post after its hammered into place.
Very pleased with the ease of use and the resulting straight fence. I used one "mender" only since I didn't have access to the other side of the fence (neighbors yard, and he had a wire fence up against my wood fence on that side).
You might be able to spray paint it if you prefer another color? Not sure....black worked fine in our yard. Seems like it will hold up well over time, but will likely be years before I'll know for sure. Good economical fix for now.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, Economical, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Columbia, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Good fix and labor saving product

PostedJune 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product for the first time today and was skeptical but surprised. I have a 10 year old cedar fence and several posts have broken due to storms and too much moisture where the post meets the concrete. If the post is broken but the fence is still in tact this product should save you a lot of time. I used 2 of these on my gate post that was broken at the base and the final result was very sturdy. After I pounded them in evenly on both sides I ran a long carriage bolt through the predrilled holes after drilling through post and tied them together.
Pros: Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Worked so well and Easy to install!

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wasn't sure if this would work with my type of fence post, but you just hammer it into the ground along side the post and screw it in. It was as easy as that! This was a definite home run as it kept us from having to replace an entire fence section of older wood just to fix a post. Would recommend this to all.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from the woodlands, tx
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

quick and sturdy

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the suggested method is the 2 hammer method where 1 is laid on the mender and you hit that hammer, but i don't have 2 hammers so i improvised and pounded on the top of the mender, then, put a piece of angle iron in the slot and pounded the angle iron. so far, so good with the post.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from San Francisco, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Very good to fix rotten fence posts

PostedApril 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical the E--Z Mender would "fix" my rotten fence posts, but I gave it a try based on the reviews I saw here, and this product is great. I only needed one per the four posts I had to repair for a patio fence, including a gate post! That post is quite secure and strong now. I heartily recommend the E-Z Mender. Suggest using two sledge hammers, one to place on the product as a hitting block and the other sledge to pound in the E-Z Mender.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Austin, TX
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

These work great!

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used a pair to fix a completely broken fence post. Started one side, then put post between the first and a second E-Z Mender, and drove both Menders down. Secured the post to the Menders with several galvanized nails. Repaired post stronger than before!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Save time with this product.

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install. Save time and the cost is about the same as replace the pole without going through take the fence apart or cement the pole base. Very useful for old fence but not for 4x4 fence pole.
I saw a video on U tube and that gave me an idea to go with this product instead of replace my old fence.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:25 to 34
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

It really works

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was skeptical about a quick fix product like this but it worked like a charm. I had a little trouble hammering it in at first but once I got going I managed pretty well. For my post one mender seemed to do the trick and my fence is no longer leaning. I'm putting another post for support just in case using the spike base made by Simpson Strong-Tie makes.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Great Value, Economical
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from elgin, il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Works well.

PostedJune 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Braces are solid and easy to install. It would have been handier if it came with some mounting hardware but that's a personal call.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Straight, Seals Well
Cons: could be a little wider for warped or twisted post
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Forest Hill, MD
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Weekly

Mailbox Fix

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The product was easy to use. The result was only fair in securing the mail box post. Still wiggles, but less than before.
Pros: Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Chicago burbs
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick fix. Working so far.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used two on each of our 3 1/2" x 3 1/2" wood post. The post was stabilized even before the nails and bolt were in. Ask HD for help finding a bolt/lug nut to go with this product, none available. Use their recommend over sized 5" bolt and nails. This steel product will fit a 4" x 4" post. Glad to have paid this product price than the price of a contracted repair.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Ashburn, VA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Did The Job Well for a Mailbox Post

PostedJune 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this to repair a wooden mailbox post the wife had inadvertently run over. Worked well and it's holding the post up in a very sturdy manner. Made a 2 hour job (with restaining and all) into a 15 minute one at 1/5 the cost.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, High Quality, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

E-Z Mender is 3.825" W--too wide for a net 3.5" x 3.5" post

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It's a great product, I suppose. But, for some odd reason they don't fit the common 4x4 post, which is actually only 3.5x3.5" net. I tried to pound this into the old concrete's opening, around the rotted-out post...to discover it won't go in! Simpson should specify on the label that these only work for a true 4x4 post. What a wate of a bunch of time. And why don't they make two sizes??
Cons: Difficult to Install
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender

Fence menders

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
They work ok for their intended purpose. However, they are too narrowl to fit older posts that are actually 4x4.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, High Quality, Economical
Cons: too narrow
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for FPBM44E Black Powder-Coated 12-Gauge E-Z Mender
from Broomfield, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Monthly

it did what it was meant to do, held up my post and easy to install

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
it did what it was meant to do, held up my post and easy to install. would recommend it any day.
Pros: Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>