728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Raised Garden Beds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta

24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta

Turn your patio into a personal garden with the CITY PICKERS 24-1/2 in. Patio Garden Kit. The self-contained watering system automatically waters your plants and has drainage holes to help prevent over watering. The mulch cover helps prevent weed growth, and the aeration screen helps provide a sufficient amount of air to the plant roots. The resin used in this product is a food safe High Density Polyethylene. It is chemically inactive, BPA free and Phthalate free and is perfectly safe for growing edible garden vegetables. The resin also includes chemically inert UV additives to prevent long term degradation from direct sunlight.
Overall rating:
4.371 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(232 reviews) 232
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product199 of 223reviews
Rating Breakdown 232 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(151)
4
(48)
3
(14)
2
(6)
1
(13)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product199 of 223reviews
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
Review 1 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Arkansas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Gardening for Dummies (like me!)

PostedMarch 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've never left a Home Depot review before, but as I was contemplating adding a new box to my existing two City Pickers, I thought I should share my enthusiastic recommendation. My first box last year wildly exceeded my hopes and expectations. I've been trying to grow veggies in containers and a 4X4 raised bed with pretty awful results for years. I probably over planted the box: one grape tomato, one beefsteak, a bell pepper, a jalepeno and a (supposedly) dwarf cucumber. The yield of the grape tomatoes and cuke was unbelievable. They just kept pumping out fruit all summer. The jalepeno and beefsteaks did great, too. I had to fight the grasshoppers to get a few bell peppers, but the ones we got were fine.
I planted a second box with a summer squash, but vine borers got the best of it, as has happened in my raised bed previously. I don't want to use conventional pesticides, so I've just decided my squash will come from the market this year, but I will be planting both boxes with other crops, and maybe even a third. The boxes stayed outside all winter (I drained them), and seem to have held up just fine.
The only complaint I can come up with is the same as what's been said by others: the caster wheel housing is ridiculously weak. Expect at least one to break. But I didn't really move my boxes around that much, so it wasn't a big deal. I used an old set of casters I had laying around as replacements, and while they were apt to fall out if I lifted the box up, they were fine for rolling the box back or forth a short distance.
If I had a big deck, there's no telling how many of these boxes I'd have. One of my best gardening purchases ever.
Pros: Durable, Functionality, Good Shape, Easy to Use
Cons: weak wheel housing
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
29out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Glendale, Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great container garden and great customer support

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have bought three of these 'City Pickers' gardening system. They work great and we're getting pretty good yields of vegetables out of them.
The second one we bought had two damaged wheels. (Actually, one wheel had a chip in it; and the second wheel broke while I was trying to force it into it's socket). I called the company and spoke to the receptionist. She said to send her an email with a mailing address and if possible a picture of the damaged wheels. She would take over to their customer support folks and get new wheels sent to me. Three days later I had my wheels.
Attached is a picture of two of the gardens. One garden was planted in November (left); the other garden was planted in late December. (I live in Glendale AZ). As you can see, they work great!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, customer support
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Yadkinville, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works year round

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this item last Spring to raise vegetables on the back deck. Anything planted in the ground around my house was subject to being dinner for the deer and rabbits. I was pleased with the way it produced grape tomatoes and basil for my caprese salads. After the growing season I planted pansies so I would have flowers through the winter and they turned out beautifully.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Lighthouse Point, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little planter!

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It was very easy to put together and only took a few minutes, and amazingly, my plants are growing very fast in the mix they recommended. My tomato already has buds and I've already made my first batch of pesto from the basil, and it's been less than three weeks since I planted them! I would've given it five stars except for a couple small things. First, there is a large rubber band that holds the mulch cover down, which is just a sheet of black plastic. The rubber band only lasted two weeks before it became brittle and broke, and the black plastic is really too hot for South Florida, the plants look a little heat stressed. I plan to take it up and put down a sheet of white plastic if I can find something to attach it with, probably the green plant support twisty tie stuff on a roll. One good recommendation I saw on another review that I will definitely do when I replant in the fall, is to put a sheet of plastic weed cloth over the aeration screen, to keep the dirt from falling through into the reservoir. That should keep my patio cleaner when I accidentally overfill the water reservoir. Overall a great product that I highly recommend!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Good Shape
Cons: rubberband breaks, only has black plastic mulch cover
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Pell City, AL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ideal for a deck garden

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These grow boxes work better than I expected. I planted two tomatoes and four marigolds in each box a few weeks ago. I followed all of the manufacturer's directions for fertilizing and watering and my tomatoes are already 5-6 ft. tall with many flowers and some green tomatoes!
Pros: Functionality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Indiana, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male

Great Patio Garden

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have 8 City Pickers around my pool. Last year harvested tomatoes, jalapeno peppers, sweet banana peppers, zuchini, green beans, peas, cucumbers, green peppers, carrots, strawberries and assorted lettuce. Produced more produce from those containers on a small footprint than tilling up a garden ever did for me. Make sure your tomatoes have lime and dolomite otherwise your fruit will get blossom end rot.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+48points
48out of 48found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Acworth, Georgia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be prepared for an abundance of vegetables or fruits!

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought City Pickers because I wanted to grow tomatoes on our patio at our home that had awful soil (rocky, clay, uneven, sloped, etc.) I followed the City Picker instructions to a 't' for prepping for tomato plants. I planted three plants, and their growth rate was incredibly fast!
Our harvest that year was 127 tomatoes from three plants that grew to 7-1/2 feet tall.
Keep in mind that the planter gets quite heavy once it is filled, watered, and growth starts to take off, but in the beginning stages with rapid Georgia weather changes (including hail storms!) it was easy enough to move in and out of the house to the back patio to prevent damage from hail and high winds.
I plan on purchasing at least three more for this growing season and trying other vegetables and fruits.
Photos: the initial planting and exactly TWO months later! (April 11th....June 11th)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+53points
55out of 57found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Portland, OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for a sidewalk garden or urban farm!

PostedMay 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I’ve had my City Pickers planted for seven weeks now and absolutely love them. I bought four, then added a fifth for more salad veggies. You can see the progress from week to week in my video. I live in a condo where the only direct sun is in the afternoon on the front sidewalk and along the side of the building. City Pickers work wonderfully there because they are attractive and easy to keep neat, very quick to water, give just the right amount of water to the plants, and hardly drain at all onto the sidewalk (you stop watering as soon as a few drops squirt out the overflow holes), so they really save on water. The wheels are extremely helpful for moving them into place once the potting mix has been added.
Because the plants are up off the ground away from bugs and slugs, I’ve had very little insect damage. The leafy greens are beautiful and grow very fast. I love stepping out my front door and snapping off a few leaves for salads or green smoothies. Pretty soon I’ll be planting tomatoes and squash. I set a pair of black metal garden obelisks on top of one planter to use as an attractive snap pea trellis – they may work as a tomato cage, too.
A few suggestions: Check the overflow holes before planting to make sure they are not blocked by casting extrusions. If they are, use a skewer or chopstick to open them. The wheels can be difficult to install – some are tight, some are loose. If you have problems, try swapping the wheels and see if that helps. I broke a wheel and got a quick replacement from the very helpful Emsco customer service. They know about the wheel problem and are working on it. For now, if a wheel is hard to insert, they recommend holding a block of wood over the wheel and using a hammer to tap it in.
I’ve tried both transplants and direct seeding. The transplants generally worked better, and for the number of plants you’ll probably be using, the cost is not that different. The top layer of soil is a little dry for the seeds, so you’ll need to top water the soil to get them started. Once their roots grow down a few inches into the soil, they take off. I made my own organic potting mix with peat moss, perlite, compost, worm castings and minerals, plus dolomite lime and organic fertilizer. Later I found an organic potting mix that has practically the same composition (without a lot of bark dust, which doesn’t wick moisture well), so I’ll be using that from now on.
Initially I used the mulch covers, but on a hot sunny day, some of the plants wilted badly, so I removed them. I’ll probably use them again for the tomatoes. Last year’s mulch covers with the sewn on elastic work much better than the plastic sheets with big rubber bands that they are including this year, so I used their plastic sheets and sewed elastic onto them myself, just like fitted bed sheets.
The one thing I don't like about the City Pickers (and all self-watering planters) is that they are not intended for winter use – the water in the reservoir could freeze and crack them. So as an experiment, I made a drain hole in the bottom of one that I can close during the warm growing season and open to drain the reservoir in the winter. With the drain open, it becomes a regular planter that should survive overwintering. I’ll try growing winter hardy plants such as kale and see how it does.
I've been very pleased with the City Pickers so far!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Video Review:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Gresham, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Loved it!

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I live in an apartment, so all of my garden has to be in containers. I purchased this raised bed, as I wanted to get some larger planters so that my plants had more room to grow.
I planted two tomato plants (one roma, one better boy), three celery plants, and a few flowers. The plants went *crazy*! I had to buy a bunch of 5' tall bamboo supports so that my plants could hold the weight of all the tomatoes I grew.
The celery did really well. I still had them until we had a major ice storm and got down to below 0 with the wind chill. I had my plants covered, but two of the three died. One made it through it all and is still with me now (mid March). I've had the plant almost a year now.
The flowers were great for attracting pollinators to my tomato plants.
I don't know if they have changed it, but my cover was similar to a plastic bag. I used it at first, but my plants just were not doing well. I took it off and the plants took off like crazy. The cover would just get moved around by the winds we have, which would then damage my small plants.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: did not like the cover
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Stockton, CA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love it

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Container gardening is the best solution for me to grow organic food on my balcony with small water usage, necessary for CA drought. Few weeks ago I planted organic tomatoes plants an loose leave lettuce and after a few weeks I see already tiny tomatoes growing.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Seabrook New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is a great Way to Garden!!!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I advise you to pull up on the tie wrapped black tray and pull out the instruction sheet while you're still in the Home Depot. You can then figure out the correct potting mix, lime additive and vegtable fertilizer needed during the set up. If a wheel stem doesn't snap in as supposed to, just wrap a bit of the packing cellophane around stem and it will be tight when inserted. I put eight starter tomatoes in and will leave in front of patio door for now while we finish out this lingering winter of April 2013'. Second unit set up and waiting for cucumber starters to arrive at my Home Depot in Seabrook New Hampshire.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality, much better price at home depot.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+50points
57out of 64found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Prescott Valley, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Garden Bed Kit great for small or large spaces

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
So far all of our veggies and herbs are doing great in these containers and we love the fact that they have wheels so they can be easily moved if needed. We now have 4 of them in our yard. I would recommend it to anyone whether they are a beginner or professional at gardening. The instructions are simple and easy to follow.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Strong, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

fool proof!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love the idea of growing my own food, but have an uncanny knack for over watering, under watering, etc. I read the reviews and decided to try it. I followed the directions exactly, and the do require you to use specific potting mix and additives, so definitely read instructions before you jump in.
Pros: it works!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Western MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Makes gardening easy!!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have back problems but love to garden. I have had three of these on my deck for years and they just keep on producing great herbs and veggies every year. Don't have to weed because of the included mulch cover which you can replace each year for a nominal cost. The rubber band that holds the cover does not hold up so I just clip mine on. You can fit up to 5 or 6 items(depending on size) and use your cages or stakes as needed. Love these mini gardens!!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, easy reach
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female

Mulch cover was a joke

PostedMay 13, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
A week after planting seedlings the ridiculous rubber band that secured the mulch cover snapped and exposed my garden to the elements and nearly snapped one of my cherry tomato plants. The band seemed dry-rot and cheap. The next day my second garden mulch cover band snapped and almost took out a cucumber seedling, I ended up having to tape it down. After seeing these advertised with a cover similar to that of a shower cap only to bring it home and set it up with a "trash bag" and a giant rubber band that broke in less then 2 weeks I'm rather disappointed, especially since extra covers aren't readily available at your local home depot. The planter itself is nice but thats it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
Cons: mulch cover and rubber band are cheap
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Tennessee
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome little garden !!!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedJune 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I don't live in the city but I LOVE my city picker. It will grow more veg/herbs per square foot than you can in the ground. I first purchased this because I travel and was having a hard time properly watering my in ground gard en. The first year I grew tomatoes and had the vines growing up to 11 feet along my deck! Last year I grew eggplant and cilantro. This year I have marconi peppers, apple mint, lemon thyme, and parsley. I find planting compatable herbs around the vegtables keep away pests as I don't use pesticides. For me the plants grow fast and strong and I don't have t worry if I'm away a couple of days as long as I fill it up before I leave. I'm getting more !!!
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Install
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from new york
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

raised garden bed kit

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
the garden kit is easy and produces veggies allot! We are getting tomatoes and squash and have lettuce and peppers coming on a daily basis. We have a total of 5 and one as a back up!! Best part is they don't take up much space and the wheels make them easy to move around and get sun light on all sides.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Austin, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like these a lot!

PostedApril 17, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
These were easy to set up and get going. The plants (tomatoes, peppers and herbs are all doing great and getting big. It is very nice that they roll around. With the wheels I can move the boxes (I bought two) to different locations depending on the sun or if I just need to get them out of the way.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price for a self-watering system!

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
My mom bought me one of these at first, to encourage a little bit of veggie gardening in my third floor balcony apartment. After she told me the price and I compared it to similar systems, I bought two more! The price can't be beat unless you make your own. The plants we have grown have done pretty well (tomatoes cucumbers, snap beans, a "fairy eggplant" and a baby bell pepper) and the self watering system is great for apartment dwellers. It holds about 2-3 gallons of water at a time, which can sustain a few small plants for a few days, or a huge thirsty tomato for one. The instructions that came with the kit were not very helpful, but fortunately I also got the book "The Vegetable Gardener's Container Bible" by Edward C. Smith. It is a must-have if you are serious about container gardening and being successful. The biggest drawback about this or probably any veggie-container gardening system is the lack of trellising. One of our tomato plants (supposed to be a bush early girl-determinate and great for containers but not behaving as advertised) has become huge and pretty unruly (but full tomatoes:). A stake will not hold well due to the shallow nature of a container. So we have a complicated system of twine tying the plant to our railing. Not pretty, but effective. I recommend researching small varieties of plants (like tiny tim tomatoes, fairy eggplant, or baby bell pepper) and growing 3 or 4 of those in one container, or sticking to one "regular" variety in a container and building some sort of trellis that is supported outside of the container. Overall, it is a decent system that I recommend more for those without yards, and who are willing to do a little research on the process
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+42points
47out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta

Awesome

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This thing rocks!!! I was at first skeptical after reading the instruction and needing lime. I bought 2. In one, I spent money on fancy soil. One I didn't. Didn't use the cover and my growth in both is insane. I planted 4 zucchini plants the same day. 3 in ground, the one in planter and the difference is astonishing. I AM A BELIEVER
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+34points
40out of 46found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>