728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Raised Garden Beds or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta

24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta

Turn your patio into a personal garden with the City Pickers 24-1/2 in. Patio Garden Kit. The self-contained watering system automatically waters your plants and has drainage holes to help prevent over watering. The mulch cover helps prevent weed growth, and the aeration screen helps provide a sufficient amount of air to the plant roots.
Overall rating:
4.709 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(103 reviews) 103
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product96 of 98reviews
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(81)
4
(17)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product96 of 98reviews
Customer reviews for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
Review 1 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
WorkingDrive
from Acworth, Georgia
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Be prepared for an abundance of vegetables or fruits!

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought City Pickers because I wanted to grow tomatoes on our patio at our home that had awful soil (rocky, clay, uneven, sloped, etc.) I followed the City Picker instructions to a 't' for prepping for tomato plants. I planted three plants, and their growth rate was incredibly fast!
Our harvest that year was 127 tomatoes from three plants that grew to 7-1/2 feet tall.
Keep in mind that the planter gets quite heavy once it is filled, watered, and growth starts to take off, but in the beginning stages with rapid Georgia weather changes (including hail storms!) it was easy enough to move in and out of the house to the back patio to prevent damage from hail and high winds.
I plan on purchasing at least three more for this growing season and trying other vegetables and fruits.
Photos: the initial planting and exactly TWO months later! (April 11th....June 11th)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
Horsetail
from Gresham, OR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Loved it!

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I live in an apartment, so all of my garden has to be in containers. I purchased this raised bed, as I wanted to get some larger planters so that my plants had more room to grow.
I planted two tomato plants (one roma, one better boy), three celery plants, and a few flowers. The plants went *crazy*! I had to buy a bunch of 5' tall bamboo supports so that my plants could hold the weight of all the tomatoes I grew.
The celery did really well. I still had them until we had a major ice storm and got down to below 0 with the wind chill. I had my plants covered, but two of the three died. One made it through it all and is still with me now (mid March). I've had the plant almost a year now.
The flowers were great for attracting pollinators to my tomato plants.
I don't know if they have changed it, but my cover was similar to a plastic bag. I used it at first, but my plants just were not doing well. I took it off and the plants took off like crazy. The cover would just get moved around by the winds we have, which would then damage my small plants.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Strong, Great Quality
Cons: did not like the cover
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
Grumpy
from Seabrook New Hampshire
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This is a great Way to Garden!!!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I advise you to pull up on the tie wrapped black tray and pull out the instruction sheet while you're still in the Home Depot. You can then figure out the correct potting mix, lime additive and vegtable fertilizer needed during the set up. If a wheel stem doesn't snap in as supposed to, just wrap a bit of the packing cellophane around stem and it will be tight when inserted. I put eight starter tomatoes in and will leave in front of patio door for now while we finish out this lingering winter of April 2013'. Second unit set up and waiting for cucumber starters to arrive at my Home Depot in Seabrook New Hampshire.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Great Quality, much better price at home depot.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+39points
43out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
Bebecca
from Lexington KY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

One of our best purchases ever

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have dabbled with deck vegetables with little results but a friend recommended these last year so we bought two. We followed the instructions exactly and grew tomatoes and peppers, mostly heirlooms, and our results were amazing-and I don't use that word very often. The tomatoes vined up over the deck rail and down into the yard, maybe five feet. We took pictures of the progress and sent them to friends and all of them are buying these rather than yard gardening. We kept our neighbors and friends in tomatoes for two months.
We're going to buy two more and try other vegetables. If more people knew about these, they would be huge sellers. By the way, the woman I bought the plants from (at our local farmer's market) said we were not lazy deck farmers (my term), we were urban farmers. I like it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
HappyCamperToo
from Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

fool proof!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the idea of growing my own food, but have an uncanny knack for over watering, under watering, etc. I read the reviews and decided to try it. I followed the directions exactly, and the do require you to use specific potting mix and additives, so definitely read instructions before you jump in.
Pros: it works!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
GiGi

easy to assemble, ready for planting in minutes, worth the price

PostedApril 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these to plant with my 7 year old grandson. It went together and was ready quickly. He can't over water it and we already have vegetables growing. Can be used over again
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape, Durable, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
stef

Awesome

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This thing rocks!!! I was at first skeptical after reading the instruction and needing lime. I bought 2. In one, I spent money on fancy soil. One I didn't. Didn't use the cover and my growth in both is insane. I planted 4 zucchini plants the same day. 3 in ground, the one in planter and the difference is astonishing. I AM A BELIEVER
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+27points
32out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
Ellie
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price for a self-watering system!

PostedSeptember 10, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My mom bought me one of these at first, to encourage a little bit of veggie gardening in my third floor balcony apartment. After she told me the price and I compared it to similar systems, I bought two more! The price can't be beat unless you make your own. The plants we have grown have done pretty well (tomatoes cucumbers, snap beans, a "fairy eggplant" and a baby bell pepper) and the self watering system is great for apartment dwellers. It holds about 2-3 gallons of water at a time, which can sustain a few small plants for a few days, or a huge thirsty tomato for one. The instructions that came with the kit were not very helpful, but fortunately I also got the book "The Vegetable Gardener's Container Bible" by Edward C. Smith. It is a must-have if you are serious about container gardening and being successful. The biggest drawback about this or probably any veggie-container gardening system is the lack of trellising. One of our tomato plants (supposed to be a bush early girl-determinate and great for containers but not behaving as advertised) has become huge and pretty unruly (but full tomatoes:). A stake will not hold well due to the shallow nature of a container. So we have a complicated system of twine tying the plant to our railing. Not pretty, but effective. I recommend researching small varieties of plants (like tiny tim tomatoes, fairy eggplant, or baby bell pepper) and growing 3 or 4 of those in one container, or sticking to one "regular" variety in a container and building some sort of trellis that is supported outside of the container. Overall, it is a decent system that I recommend more for those without yards, and who are willing to do a little research on the process
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+37points
41out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
Mick
from San Diego, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The best gardening product ever!!

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a lot of garden space available, so I wasn't sure if this was the right product for me. However, the results I've gotten from using it, and the ease of use has prompted me to buy two more. As an experiment I planted 8 vegetable plants in the Patio Garden Kit, and the same 8 plants in a regular pot. The vegetables in the Patio Kit are giant and thriving while the plants in the regular pots are sad looking and shriveled, even though I water and fertilize them regularly . The Patio Garden Kit gives the perfect amount of water so I can't over or under water. It's idiot proof, and perfect if you don't have a green thumb. You can also roll it in our out of the sun easily which is great.
+58points
58out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
Gregory022
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for the Deck or Patio

PostedAugust 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product, I received it directly from the manufacturer and it has produced great results and it was simple to set up and use.
Pros: Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
Juliet
from CT
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wow!

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband just ran one of these beds over with his F-150. It was full of somewhat newly planted vegetable and fruit plants. Guess what. It survived! Only one wheel broke too! I was able to adjust the plants, refill the water and he got to live. *lol*
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality, Good Shape
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
CrazyMama
from South Carolina
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Too many vegtables!!!!!!

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought four City Pickers planters last year and cannot believe how the huge the yield is. We have picked twenty pounds of cucumbers from two planters! We should have enough pickles to last through the century. The tomatoes, in the other two planters are not red yet, but the vines are so heavy with green tomatoes that the wire cages we bought have bent over. I will look for stronger tomato cages next year. Previous comments are very helpful: Open the box, read the instructions and make sure you get everything you need at the store while you are there so you can start planting right away and not make another trip.
Pros: Durable, Multi Use, Easy to Clean, Functionality, Great Quality
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
Carol
from Sarasota, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

City Pickers Patio Garden Kit

PostedJune 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love mine. It went together fast - Did the 3 rows of plants. I now have tomatoes and peppers growing in my Florida lanai area. Since we can grow just about all year round down here in Florida - I am looking around for 2 more to fill with veggies. My only complaint is that I wish they had an attachable hand to put on when you want to move the box a round instead of having to bend down and push it around.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
AHCA

No drainage holes!!!

PostedApril 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered 2 of these and none of them had drainage holes!!! Unfortunately, I didn't inspect the product before planting and had to repot everything after taking an electric drill to the containers. If you decide to buy these, make sure you inspect the containers carefully.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: poor quality control, no drainage holes
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
caelb1
from Arlington Heights, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ideal for TOMATOES!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Grew some huge tomatoe bushes in this grow box last year. At first I thought it would not have the depth to grow really deep roots but my plants grew over 5 feet and produced deep into fall. Well thought out and the directions and included shopping list were ideal - Very pleased. I like these boxes over cedar plank raised garden beds which are more permament; these are so easily moved around to another area and if I move i can take them with me. I will be buying more to expand my garden and buying some for family..
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
DesertGardener
from Southern California
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

happy customer

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in one of the most difficult of gardening climates. Sunset Zone "2222,". I call it for too hot, too cold, too dry, too windy.. Growing veggies is a battle against the elements. I hope the Pickers will give me an edge in at least one area.
I have one box planted in peas and one planted in lettuce and I plan to roll them in and out until the weather warms a bit. I love that they come with casters! I also like the square design.
The assembly instructions were easy to follow. The only caution I would offer is to make sure you end up with the water-in tube and the overflow hole on the SAME side of the planter, otherwise it will be difficult to tell when you have added enough water.
I like being able to purchase my own potting mix components and mix it up in the planters. As a caution to new users, DO NOT USE POTTING SOIL. It is also very important to pack the soil more tightly in the wicking corners than in the rest of the box or your box won't irrigate properly.
So far so good. The negatives: A. I would like a color choice. I think the dark green may hold too much heat in the summer. B. I would also have liked a reversible mulch cover. I ended up using a white garbage bag for the lettuce bed, so that the tender roots won't bake. C. The units do not have a way of attaching a trellis for vining crops, but I am sure I will be able to work something out.
I look forward to seeing reports from users who have been through a whole season cropping up in the various gardening discussion groups. I hope everyone is as happy with the planters as I anticipate that I will be.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
gldcoastgirl
from Michigan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for anyone who has a "Brown Thumb" - makes growing plants easy!!

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a great sub-irrigation box similar to an Earthbox. The color was the standard plastic terracotta orange, but I spraypainted the outside of mine to look more polished. You will need to separately purchase ProMix, Dolomite (aka hydrated lime) and a pellet type of fertilizer to set this box up - so it would have been helpful if the City Pickers box stated these other items needed clearly on the exterior packaging instead of in the interior instructions. I would also recommend laying a small piece of garden fabric over the reservoir before covering it with soil, to prevent the roots from growing down into the water reservoir. The box has made watering of my vegetables easy, even in this super hot and dry weather. And my tomatoes and green peppers are absolutely thriving in my City Picker box - twice as much as my plants that are in standard pots. The only things that could make this box better would be (1) if Home Depot would offer a trellis system option similar to the Earthbox trellis and (2) if there was a way to purchase replacement plastic covers for next year when I re-use these boxes. Very happy with this purchase and highly recommended to anyone with a brown thumb - it makes vegetable gardening easy!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong
Cons: no trellis system available, no replacement plastic covers available, need to purchase growth media separately
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
GoldenIslesGrowerGirl
from Brunswick, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love It, Love It, ABSOLUTLEY LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Absolutley Love this Product!!! Bought one for my family and one for my Father-In-Law, who used to garden regularly but lost his eyesight a few years ago, leaving him totally blind, and hasnt been able to garden. But thanks to the City Picker he has been having a blast doing what he once loved to do. With regular watering, you wont be let down, I Promise... My only complaint is that the mulch cover that came with the planters was too small to fit the container, so we didnt use them. This is probably better in the long run because the planter is able to accept rainfall also. But other than that little snafu we are thoroughly enjoying our planter. I may have crowded ours but you wouldnt ever know it by the looks of the plants and the amount of blooms and fruit that are coming in on them. Mine was planted with 4 "Roma" Tomato plants and 3 "Straight Eight" Cucumber plants and all are thriving and fruiting very, very well. I would recommend this especially for an older person who loved to grow and cant handle a large garden anymore or a person with a disability because it is so easy and simple to take care of. But anyone who likes growing should give it a shot.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
UrbanGardener
from Philadelphia, PA

I have an amazing garden growing in my City Pickers!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 2 city pickers about 1 1/2 months ago, one for myself and a second for a family member. A week later, I set up one for myself, following the instructions exactly. I went on to add the mulch cover, and it was much too small so I used the cover from the second. The next day, I called their 800 number (on instruction leaflet, gave them my address. Within in days I had a replacement cover. Their customer service is excellent. The cheap mulch cover is the reason I gave it 4 stars. My garden? I have the most beautiful tomato plants, three cucumber vines, and a pea vine that are growing amazingly. Additionally, I only need to water apx. once per week. Much cheaper and larger than the Earth Box!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 24.5 in. x 20.5 in. Patio Raised Garden Bed Kit with Watering System and Casters in Terra Cotta
HappyGardener
from Fishers
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Easy Assembly

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this little unit. Occasionally I have to be gone for a couple of days and the self watering aspect assures I won't come home to dried up lettuce and flowers. This is perfect for so many reasons, one of them is the portability, I can move this little unit wherever I want it without too much hassle, so depending on what I plant in it, I can easily move it into direct sun or a more shady location in a snap.
Great product!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Install, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>