728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED

8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED

MegaMulch is the all natural beautifying ground cover that lasts up to 2 years. Only about 1 in. thickness is required for full coverage, since the combination of coconut fibers and chunks form a kind of mesh that helps prevent chunks from blowing away. Megamulch also helps prevent soil erosion.
Overall rating:
3.9 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product4 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(5)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product4 of 7reviews
Customer reviews for 8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for 8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED

Love this mulch!

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put down this mulch the other day and I love the chunky look of it. Looks so much more natural too than the red mulch everyone seems to be using now. We didn't have a wheelbarrow as it shows to use in the diagram so we used big white bucket and broke the mulch into smaller pieces with our hands and the back of a hammer. Then we put those in the bucket and added water. I think this stuff is easier if you break it up prior to adding the water. Otherwise it seems like you may have to wait longer than it says to be able to break it apart easily with your hands. It is very tightly packed together so not super easy to get apart with hands alone. That's why we used the back of the hammer on part of it. The brown dye also will stain the edges of your nails for a couple days if you don't use gloves. Some people here mentioned that this was more difficult than regular mulch, but I would think that would be obvious when the pic shows an 8.3 lb block that you have to hydrate and break apart. If you don't want to do a little extra work, then you just shouldn't buy this mulch. I personally liked that this came shipped in a small block as I don't have a lot of room to sit things like this around. We had part of a block left and it is easy to wrap up and store for later without a mess. On the coverage I would recommend buying a little more than it recommends for the square feet. If you spread it thin enough that you can cover 24 square feet with one block, I don't think most people would be satisfied. We liked it better with a bit thicker layer than the instructions said.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED

I love this product

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I wanted something other than "bark dust" that always seems to give me splinters and tracks into the house, etc. Mega Mulch is chunky, looks great, easy to handle because I (female) can do it myself and don't have to have someone else haul it. It seemd a little spendy, but I think it's going to be a great value in the long run. Besides, it's coconut shells instead of bark. It's not as messy. In the moist NW, I just open a bag and leave it out in the rain - no need to soak it - let nature do it. Then I spread it out after it's broken apart.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED

good product

PostedOctober 29, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Megamulch is effective in helping the soil to retain moisture. The dark color is a good contrast to our lighter colored clayish soil. I like the coconut fiber texture even though it does not look the same as wood shaving mulch.
I also like that it is compactly packaged and expands when mixed with water.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED

Wish I'd known about this sooner!

PostedJuly 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Soft on the feet, easy on the eyes, clean and wind-proof--what's not to love? Well, it is a little expensive, but perhaps the price will go down as this gets more popular. I didn't mind spending a bit more for an environmentally sound option.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not the exact product I wanted

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was shopping for dark brown fine mulch coir to amend my soil. It lasts 10 years or more and keeps my garden weed easy and fun to play in! I loved the price on the product I found thinking it was the same as I bought from Home Depot last year. When I got it home and started working with it I found it had very large chunks and not the fine product I wanted. I used it anyway, but I am afraid those chunks will be chunky for a very long time.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

Nice but little coverage

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The mulch is very nice, looks good and works well. However, it said one block would cover 24 sq ft. I bought 10 blocks, in total it covered about 24 sq ft and we spread it thin as instructed.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED
from Kingsport, TN, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff is Great!

PostedMay 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is totally renewable so it's good for the environment. You don't have to pile it on in order to retain moisture. I little does go a long way. I have it in all of my beds. I have no weeds in it. It does take more than 5 minutes to expand completely--it has taken about 20 minutes but that has not been a problem for me. I'll keep buying it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Install, Functionality, Sharp, Stylish, Great Quality, beautiful, termites have left it alone
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED

Worked Well and Environmental

PostedOctober 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used it for about 1.5 years, and still holding up well. Also much more environmental because the small packing size saves freight space (i.e. fuel because they can fit more into a truck), and less harmful to environment for finding new use for previously not-so-useful materials.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED
from ny
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

wastee

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product was very disappointing it required a lot if work and water to loosen the mulch. For the time n money spent I could have done a whole lot better. Plzz don't waste your money
-4points
5out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 8.3 lbs. Dark Brown Mulch-DISCONTINUED

Nice thick mulch

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Great service from home depot. However I did not appreciate the mulch would be dehydrated and require soaking and breaking up before use....quite challenging in 80 degree heat! I am not convinced it grew 5 times when water added either. Bags of regular mulch goes much further with less effort.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.