728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

The Malibu Low voltage Outdoor 300 watt Digital Transformer safely converts 120-volt household electricity to 12 volts. It's compatible with new or existing Malibu low voltage outdoor lighting systems. Power your low voltage outdoor lighting with the Malibu Low voltage Outdoor 300 watt Digital Transformer.
Overall rating:
2.733 / 5
2.7
 / 
5
(45 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
44%of customersrecommend this product18 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
2.7 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(6)
1
(19)
Appearance 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
Value 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
44%of customersrecommend this product18 of 41reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
Review 1 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
azolivas
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for backyard landscapes!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This transformer works great! Our favorite feature is the automatic on/off at dusk/dawn feature as it takes the guess work out of setting up the schedule! the "magic eye" senses when the sun rises and sets and turns it on and off at the right time of day!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
thebanker

FIX UPDATE - Quit working after one year

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Since Malibu was unwilling to replace the unit and I had nothing to lose, I decided to take the unit apart and see if I could identify the problem. I was successful. After taking apart the body of the unit, I exposed a small circuit board (approx 1" X 3"). On one side of this board a red wire and a black wire connect to it. Both of these connections were wiggly and needed to be re-soldered. I soldered the connections and reassembled the unit and it seems to be fine now. Hope this helps someone out there with the same problem. Still wish Malibu would stand behind their work a little better and take ownership of a clear product deficiency.
+32points
33out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
diverlady
from Punta Gorda, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Malibu Transformers Great Product

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had the same Malibu lights and transformers for 9 years and they still work great. We are just now having a problem with the timer on one transformer. We started with a 120 watt, upgraded to 2 200 watt transformers. We live in southwest Florida where nothing lasts outdoors for very long. These transformers still look good after all these years. The lights still look decent, too. I put a coat of paint on a couple of them and presto...like new! I saw negative comments and I wanted to let others know that some of us have positive comments. Sorry they have not had good experiences with Malibu.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
Steve

Junk - plain and simple! Do NOT buy!

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1- My first one quit after 11 months - and it was replaced.
2- The second one lasted 10 months - and it was replaced at no charge.
3- The third one died after 2 days!!!!!!!!
My guess is that it has something to do with the light sensor. I am amazed that Home Depot is STILL selling these. I noticed that Amazon states they are no longer available.
I will give Home Depot credit, however, they did swap them out at no charge. The question, really, is why do they continue to carry them? This really gives Home Depot a bad name! Malibu products really seem to be going down hill - FAST! But, that's another issue.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
beanie
from Florida, USA

Burned out but easy repair

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Transformers have no moving parts and rarely fail. What goes is the timer, the switch, etc. I have a 300 watt Malibu and they cost almost $100. So when mine failed after about 3 years, I opened it up, cut the wires that went to the timer and the on/off switch, closed it back up and attached it to a $25 outdoor timer with a photo eye. Plugged it back in and bingo... Works just fine.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
Lary

Light sensor turn-on feature is great

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This transformer is really great. The unexpected light sensor turn-on feature really is great. It turns on at dusk for a selected set of hours. My previous Malibu transformer (16 years old) worked great, but the mechanical timer gave out-- the biggest problem was setting the turn-on time with a clock-- now the sensor does it correctly all of the time.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Nice Design, auto turn on with light sensor
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
Recommend
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Piece of Junk

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one went out after one week. The second went out after 2 days. Installed by electrician. He said these are junk. Do not buy.
Cons: piece of junk
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
Cricket
from Lutz, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Please carry another brand

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mine failed within a year. First time I used the light sensor. Went back to the store and couldn't find another option. These ARE junk. Home Depot needs to get another product line. Going elsewhere to replace it.
Cons: doesn't last, not well made
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
grooveinc
from Palm Springs, CA

Save your money.

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Didn't last 3 months. Poor quality product. Buy a simple timer instead.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
steve

pure garbage. 5 months in will no longer turn on

PostedJanuary 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
cant get the stupid thing to power on to save my life. Just dont do it. I typically dont care about reviews because its usually the whiny people reviewing, but this is just garbage.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
RSinKC
from Kansas City, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit working after 1 year

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to set up and digital controls are easy to use. The only problem is that it quit working after 1 year and 2 weeks. Malibu transformers fail - I had a 88 watt unit that almost caught on fire. I'm looking online for a transformer with a ground fault and pro grade. This is junk! Home Depot shouldn't carry this stuff.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, easy to use - but fails
Cons: poor quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
Lazyhorse
from Mandeville, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unreliable

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install, clock timer and photo cell worked great. Transformer failed after 6 months. I can see why it only comes with a 90 day warranty.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
KzooNJ
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA

low quality

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one had a malfunctioning photocell. The second one had a crazy digital clock. Jumping from 6 pm to 9 pm in just 30 to 40 minutes. I would not recommend this brand. Very bad quality control obviously. I had to return it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
swimmer10
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Didn't Last Three Months

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Electrician Mounted on the house to 230 Watts exactly. All Malibu lights. Burned a hole in the stucco and failed before 3 months old. Great features and easy to use, it just doesn't work.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: fails very soon after hook up
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
lml2000
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Caveat Emptor

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was my 2nd purchase of this product, 1st from Home Depot. No problems until after 1 year, 9 months. Noticed lights were going out, reset button popping out, anywhere from 5 minutes to 2 hours after turning on via photo cell. Call to customer support @ Malibu was useless, as after describing problem was informed there "was no way" transformer could be causing problem." Fact is, it was. After trouble shooting & determining it was NOT my wiring, but the transformer, there was an unwillingness of the manufacturer to stand behind its product. None.
Based upon comment I read here, I opened up box & discovered burnt wires. Bottom line, this is POORLY designed box for outdoor use. A product such as this should have @ least a 3-year warranty, if not 5 years. If product gives u trouble after 1st year, you're on your own.
Cons: not well designed to protect inside wiring
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
jayrodau

Just went out after 2months

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unit just quit working after 2 months of use. I used my volt meter and no 12v reading at the output anymore. Kinda smells like something burnt inside the back of unit. I guess I am going to try to get it replaced/exchanged tomorrow. Well see how long the new one last.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
PAWoodchuck
from Pennsylvania
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It turns the lights on and off

PostedNovember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
All it has to do is last for a product made in China. I would rather purchase products made in the USA versus the China version which only increase corporate profits!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
Joseph
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would not buy this product again. It is a piece of junk

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Worked for about two months and quit. Tried everything, nothing. A real piece of junk. Had one about 15 years ago and worked great for many years. These new one is very disapointing.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
Sandi
from Taylor, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Great Features

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I use the Transformer for lighting in and around our water garden pond.
It was used to replace a transformer that was 10 years old with auto on at dusk and off after 2, 4 6 or 8 hours (that no longer worked), always on or always off.
I liked the fact that it is so versatile. It can be set with auto on/off at dusk/dawn, auto on at dusk and off after 2, 4, 6 or 8 hours, set for a specific time for on and off , always on or always off.
I also like the fact that the electronic eye is on a long cord which allows me to put a faux rock over the transformer to make it blend in with the rocks surrounding the pond and it still works. The electronic eye is so small I placed it on top of the rock and it isn't even noticeable.
Pros: Functional, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
RoyR
from San Diego
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't understand the negative reviews

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two of these units, going on two years now with no issues...Easy to install, and the ON at dusk, OFF after 4 hours works great!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>