728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

The Malibu Low voltage Outdoor 300 watt Digital Transformer safely converts 120-volt household electricity to 12 volts. It's compatible with new or existing Malibu low voltage outdoor lighting systems. Power your low voltage outdoor lighting with the Malibu Low voltage Outdoor 300 watt Digital Transformer.
Overall rating:
2.911 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(56 reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
50%of customersrecommend this product26 of 52reviews
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
2.9 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(4)
3
(4)
2
(7)
1
(21)
Appearance 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
2.8 out of 5.0
2.8 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
50%of customersrecommend this product26 of 52reviews
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
Review 1 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

FIX UPDATE - Quit working after one year

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Since Malibu was unwilling to replace the unit and I had nothing to lose, I decided to take the unit apart and see if I could identify the problem. I was successful. After taking apart the body of the unit, I exposed a small circuit board (approx 1" X 3"). On one side of this board a red wire and a black wire connect to it. Both of these connections were wiggly and needed to be re-soldered. I soldered the connections and reassembled the unit and it seems to be fine now. Hope this helps someone out there with the same problem. Still wish Malibu would stand behind their work a little better and take ownership of a clear product deficiency.
+41points
42out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasts 2 Years at Best

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This the 2nd one to go out on me. One of the wiring connectors was green & corroded. Cleaned & reattached wires, still not working, but you could hear it click on. Opened it up. The wire that fed the connector was totally disintegrated. It was green, corroded, brittle and no vinyl sheathing after the first inch coming from the transformer! Just a bare wire inside and I cannot replace it. I'm going back to 2 separate transformers in another brand!
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: poorly assembled
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

Junk - plain and simple! Do NOT buy!

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1- My first one quit after 11 months - and it was replaced.
2- The second one lasted 10 months - and it was replaced at no charge.
3- The third one died after 2 days!!!!!!!!
My guess is that it has something to do with the light sensor. I am amazed that Home Depot is STILL selling these. I noticed that Amazon states they are no longer available.
I will give Home Depot credit, however, they did swap them out at no charge. The question, really, is why do they continue to carry them? This really gives Home Depot a bad name! Malibu products really seem to be going down hill - FAST! But, that's another issue.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Florida, USA

Burned out but easy repair

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Transformers have no moving parts and rarely fail. What goes is the timer, the switch, etc. I have a 300 watt Malibu and they cost almost $100. So when mine failed after about 3 years, I opened it up, cut the wires that went to the timer and the on/off switch, closed it back up and attached it to a $25 outdoor timer with a photo eye. Plugged it back in and bingo... Works just fine.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from South Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedJuly 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Six months after installation, the digital clock totally went dark and the unit stopped working. I am taking it back and see if The Home Depot stands by the product!!
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: junk
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Missouri
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer Keep Looking

PostedJuly 11, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It is easy to install, but what of it. At night when it comes on it makes a lot of noise. I've only had it running about a week. The programming is a no brainer, again so what. It's still a lot of buzzing noise.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for backyard landscapes!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This transformer works great! Our favorite feature is the automatic on/off at dusk/dawn feature as it takes the guess work out of setting up the schedule! the "magic eye" senses when the sun rises and sets and turns it on and off at the right time of day!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Punta Gorda, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Malibu Transformers Great Product

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have had the same Malibu lights and transformers for 9 years and they still work great. We are just now having a problem with the timer on one transformer. We started with a 120 watt, upgraded to 2 200 watt transformers. We live in southwest Florida where nothing lasts outdoors for very long. These transformers still look good after all these years. The lights still look decent, too. I put a coat of paint on a couple of them and presto...like new! I saw negative comments and I wanted to let others know that some of us have positive comments. Sorry they have not had good experiences with Malibu.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Piece of Junk

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one went out after one week. The second went out after 2 days. Installed by electrician. He said these are junk. Do not buy.
Cons: piece of junk
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

Will it last?

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like the programmable features as well as the light sensor; however, the only drawback I have is to how long the timer will be functional before it no longer is operational. Seems as though 18 months is the norm. I use four of these around my house for different areas.....but they are rather costly to replace. Either the price needs to drop or I need to find a better quality timer.....made in America it isn't. :( Time will tell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Lutz, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Please carry another brand

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mine failed within a year. First time I used the light sensor. Went back to the store and couldn't find another option. These ARE junk. Home Depot needs to get another product line. Going elsewhere to replace it.
Cons: doesn't last, not well made
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Mt Royal, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The transformer was easy to install and works perfectly
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Pinckney, MI 48169, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

malibu lighting

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This transformer replaced two smaller transformers that were installed in an area that was not easily accessible , it was fairly easy for me to install in a new location [ prior electrical experience helped ] and was easy to program , works great , all my lights now work at the same time [23] 7 watt deck lighting very nice product
Pros: Well Made, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Winfield, IL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

seems ok so far

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought this despite the reviews because are old one just plain died and i have no choice to wait on something. Its been installed and running for about a month with no issues so far. We will see how long it lasts. I think the is in my case its covered up by a large overhang and not rained on etc..
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Kansas City, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit working after 1 year

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to set up and digital controls are easy to use. The only problem is that it quit working after 1 year and 2 weeks. Malibu transformers fail - I had a 88 watt unit that almost caught on fire. I'm looking online for a transformer with a ground fault and pro grade. This is junk! Home Depot shouldn't carry this stuff.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, easy to use - but fails
Cons: poor quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Dallas, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

it works

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
im very happy with the product,.does what it to do and easy to set up as well
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
Cons: Appearance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from mt. jackson, va
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good, solid purchase

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far, so good. I have another similar transformer, and have had no problems with it. I like Malibu products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Mandeville, LA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unreliable

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install, clock timer and photo cell worked great. Transformer failed after 6 months. I can see why it only comes with a 90 day warranty.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

Just went out after 2months

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unit just quit working after 2 months of use. I used my volt meter and no 12v reading at the output anymore. Kinda smells like something burnt inside the back of unit. I guess I am going to try to get it replaced/exchanged tomorrow. Well see how long the new one last.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Kalamazoo, MI, USA

low quality

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one had a malfunctioning photocell. The second one had a crazy digital clock. Jumping from 6 pm to 9 pm in just 30 to 40 minutes. I would not recommend this brand. Very bad quality control obviously. I had to return it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>