728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

The Malibu Low voltage Outdoor 300 watt Digital Transformer safely converts 120-volt household electricity to 12 volts. It's compatible with new or existing Malibu low voltage outdoor lighting systems. Power your low voltage outdoor lighting with the Malibu Low voltage Outdoor 300 watt Digital Transformer.
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3.0
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
51%of customersrecommend this product33 of 65reviews
Rating Breakdown 69 reviews
3.0 out of 5
5
(26)
4
(6)
3
(4)
2
(8)
1
(25)
Appearance 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
51%of customersrecommend this product33 of 65reviews
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
Review 1 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

FIX UPDATE - Quit working after one year

PostedOctober 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Since Malibu was unwilling to replace the unit and I had nothing to lose, I decided to take the unit apart and see if I could identify the problem. I was successful. After taking apart the body of the unit, I exposed a small circuit board (approx 1" X 3"). On one side of this board a red wire and a black wire connect to it. Both of these connections were wiggly and needed to be re-soldered. I soldered the connections and reassembled the unit and it seems to be fine now. Hope this helps someone out there with the same problem. Still wish Malibu would stand behind their work a little better and take ownership of a clear product deficiency.
+50points
51out of 52found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Foster City, CA
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Value!

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a professional electrician, contractor, lighting consultant and installer for indoor and outdoor lighting products. As far as transformers are concerned, Malibu products are easy to install, use and has the best value. I have used 200 watt and 300 watt models.
I use these transformers in a smaller area than I would use "professional quality transformers." The expensive transformers have different leads for different voltage to make up for the voltage drop in a very large yard or landscape. I use Malibu transformers with 3 to 6 or 7 fixtures in a smaller yard/landscape where distances are not too great. They work like a charm. Malibu option will allow outdoor lighting to be possible for budget conscious customers. I spend money on buying more quality fixtures for the customers. I do tell them that this product will not last as long as more expensive products, however, it is a great product at a very affordable price. It seems like the most complaints come from light sensor setup. I do not use that option. I use the timer.
I recommend Malibu transformers for small yard/landscape applications!
Pros: best value
Cons: light sensor?
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

Junk - plain and simple! Do NOT buy!

PostedFebruary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
1- My first one quit after 11 months - and it was replaced.
2- The second one lasted 10 months - and it was replaced at no charge.
3- The third one died after 2 days!!!!!!!!
My guess is that it has something to do with the light sensor. I am amazed that Home Depot is STILL selling these. I noticed that Amazon states they are no longer available.
I will give Home Depot credit, however, they did swap them out at no charge. The question, really, is why do they continue to carry them? This really gives Home Depot a bad name! Malibu products really seem to be going down hill - FAST! But, that's another issue.
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

Malibu 300 watt transformer

PostedAugust 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Yes I have two lines. The screws can handle another set. It's tight but I have two sets and it works fine. Just watch to total wattage. Normally 300 is plenty.
Bill
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Florida, USA

Burned out but easy repair

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Transformers have no moving parts and rarely fail. What goes is the timer, the switch, etc. I have a 300 watt Malibu and they cost almost $100. So when mine failed after about 3 years, I opened it up, cut the wires that went to the timer and the on/off switch, closed it back up and attached it to a $25 outdoor timer with a photo eye. Plugged it back in and bingo... Works just fine.
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

Great Transformer. Highly recommended.

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have 12 lights around my pool & back yard and it works great. Digital LED Transformer is user friendly and the memory back up keeps the time when home power is lost so there is no need to keep adjusting the time daily when the city decides to trim trees along the streets, or any other loss of power. I also have one for the lights in front yard and it's simple to have them all activated at the same time. Best up grade Malibu made to their low voltage lighting system. Highly recommended.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from South Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

So Far So Good...

PostedJune 2, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The 200 watt model seems to last about a year. Ive been through 2. So I thought I'd go up in wattage without changing my outdoor lights at all. It is working is all I can say. It works exactly as designed but they all have before they failed. The previous 200's lost the ability to Auto Turn on the lights at dusk. Ill see how it goes and do another in a year. I must say its pretty heavy to hold in place. I was able to use the previous mounting screws as they are the same distance apart as this 300.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Acworth, GA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality Product

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Only complaint is that I purchased this to replace an earlier version and the mounting positions were off from the earlier version forcing me to need to drill new holes into the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Terrible product design

PostedMay 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can accept that mechanical appliances do not last forever. The transformer is still working fine, but the timer is completely useless. You shouldn't have to figure out work arounds to make a product work properly. It wouldn't be that difficult for Malibu to design the transformer so that the weak link in the product was at least user replaceable. Instead I have a $99 boat anchor.
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Punta Gorda, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Malibu Transformers Great Product

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have had the same Malibu lights and transformers for 9 years and they still work great. We are just now having a problem with the timer on one transformer. We started with a 120 watt, upgraded to 2 200 watt transformers. We live in southwest Florida where nothing lasts outdoors for very long. These transformers still look good after all these years. The lights still look decent, too. I put a coat of paint on a couple of them and presto...like new! I saw negative comments and I wanted to let others know that some of us have positive comments. Sorry they have not had good experiences with Malibu.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Piece of Junk

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The first one went out after one week. The second went out after 2 days. Installed by electrician. He said these are junk. Do not buy.
Cons: piece of junk
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Wayne, NJ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked great for 18 months...then stopped.

PostedMay 23, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this 18 months ago. put on several Malibu LED lights equaling 144 watts total. Worked great until one night it wouldn't turn off. I turned the knob to off, hit the red reset button and unplugged it for the night. The next morning still wouldn't turn off. Expected the product to last much longer.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Lots of Features, Nice Design
Cons: poor quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Maumelle, Arkansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male

Great Equipment

PostedApril 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great improvement over the original. Install very easy & easy to understand instructions
Pros: Functional, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst transformer ever

PostedApril 16, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
50 yrs electrician retired now, Malibu used to have good name. went thru 2-200W units & 1-300W all 3 failed within 9 months. Looked at other reviews of this product others agree. Would never recommend any Malibu product anymore. Sad
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Kansas City, KS, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quit working after 1 year

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to set up and digital controls are easy to use. The only problem is that it quit working after 1 year and 2 weeks. Malibu transformers fail - I had a 88 watt unit that almost caught on fire. I'm looking online for a transformer with a ground fault and pro grade. This is junk! Home Depot shouldn't carry this stuff.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, easy to use - but fails
Cons: poor quality
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasts 2 Years at Best

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This the 2nd one to go out on me. One of the wiring connectors was green & corroded. Cleaned & reattached wires, still not working, but you could hear it click on. Opened it up. The wire that fed the connector was totally disintegrated. It was green, corroded, brittle and no vinyl sheathing after the first inch coming from the transformer! Just a bare wire inside and I cannot replace it. I'm going back to 2 separate transformers in another brand!
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: poorly assembled
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Lutz, FL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Please carry another brand

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mine failed within a year. First time I used the light sensor. Went back to the store and couldn't find another option. These ARE junk. Home Depot needs to get another product line. Going elsewhere to replace it.
Cons: doesn't last, not well made
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Florida
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Landscape Lighting

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Small amount of initial investment, easy install and much, much cheaper than professional landscaping company.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material
Cons: none
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer

Just went out after 2months

PostedJanuary 22, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unit just quit working after 2 months of use. I used my volt meter and no 12v reading at the output anymore. Kinda smells like something burnt inside the back of unit. I guess I am going to try to get it replaced/exchanged tomorrow. Well see how long the new one last.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Low Voltage Outdoor 300-Watt Digital Transformer
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent for backyard landscapes!

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This transformer works great! Our favorite feature is the automatic on/off at dusk/dawn feature as it takes the guess work out of setting up the schedule! the "magic eye" senses when the sun rises and sets and turns it on and off at the right time of day!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>