728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Awning Windows or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window

Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window

The Tafco Jalousie window is masterfully engineered to provide the slim profile that elegantly compliments both modern and traditional styles of architecture. Tafco's jalousie windows are created with maximum air ventilation and light penetration in mind. Jalousies are the only window style that can remain open during a rainstorm allowing fresh washed air to enter your home. Careful attention has been given to each feature of these windows to ensure that your windows are the finest, most maintenance-free jalousies available. The Tafco jalousie window will add charm and warmth to your house. Every window has a deluxe, accurately fitted, recessed insect screen.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
Review 1 for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
from Houston TX
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product is cheaply made and creates more problems.

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a builder and bought 8 - 36 x 48 Tafco Jaloise windows for a screen house.
The windows have been installed for 4 weeks and we have had two of the window cranks strip out (do not work) and need replacement.
There is a foam strip at the bottom of the sash where the last pane rest against the frame when closed. The glass pane sticks to the foam strip when closed. The only way to open - crank the windows out is to have someone on the outside lift or pry the botttom pane away from the foam strip while another turns the window crank on the inside.
Cons: cheap parts - inconvenient
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
from Ky

Super nice looking

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
We needed a window for our 12X12 Chicken house for more airflow. Needing one that is wider than tall, we choose this one because it gives maximum airflow when open.
Installation was easy, it is very easy to operate and my husband put a custom made heavy duty metal screen outside the window so the raccoons won't find a way in.
Looks great and we love it and our pet chickens are happy!
Pros: Multi Use, Beautiful Appearance, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Great Detail
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
from Jacksonville, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Jalousie Windows

PostedFebruary 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Jalousie Utility Aluminum Window
Nice window if you don't need an insulated window. Would be great in a Florida Room to replace screens. I used them in an Aviary to replace screens so that I could close them in inclement weather. They couldn't be used in an area that is heated or cooled because they are not very air tight. But they are not meant for that anyway.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
from Sayreville, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Too Many Problems

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
I ordered 8 windows. 2 came without ANY glass. Home Depot had Tafco send the glass. 16 out of 26 pieces sent were broken. Tafco sent the 16 pieces of replacement glass. Home Depot deserves praise for resolving all of these issues. Windows are great but I would be fearful of ordering them online again. Still don't know where I could buy replacement glass if a pane should break. The Home Depot doesn't sell it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
from Hawaii, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good and cheap product for use in Hawaii

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
Good value for the price. Would recommend for anyone living in Hawaii.
Pros: Great Value, Functional, Well Made
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
from New Mexico

Fabulous product!

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Screen Window
We got this small window for our cabin's attic and it's perfect! It lets in light and ventilation and offers a little view. It does all we hoped and are very happy with it!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window

Happy with service.

PostedSeptember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Screen Window
Good product, a couple of pieces of broken glass-We replaced. Delivered lightning fast.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
from Granbury, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One of the easiest installations I have ever done. Home Owner

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Jalousie Utility Aluminum Window
One of the easiest installations I have ever done. Home Owner
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Great Detail
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
from CLEVE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Screen Window
ONLY CONCERN IS THAT I WAS EXPECTING THE CRANK OPERATOR INCLUDED TOO. BUT I THE PRODUT IS A GOOD QUALITY AND EXCELLENT SHIPMENT.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional, Well Made, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
from Oregon
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for shop or garage.

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
Arrived promptly and in good condition. Used them for a garage/shop that I built. I am pleased with the result.
Pros: Beautiful Appearance, Easy to Install, Great Value, Functional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
from Molokai, Hawaii

pleased

PostedMay 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
It was very easy to order this product on line and the product was great, arrived at my house in just a few days with no hassles. as for the window I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
from PA

Looks good

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:Jalousie Utility Louver Aluminum Window
I bought two of these for a shed we are building. I was pleased with how quickly they came and the ease of install. They look very nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.