728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cabinet & Countertop Paint or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)

Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)

The Rust-Oleum Cabinet Transformations 9-Piece Light Color Kit is a 4-step process that will give your outdated cabinets an extreme makeover. Stripping, sanding or priming is unnecessary. The decorative glaze will make your cabinets shine and the light tint base provides 11 color choices for a custom look. The kit covers up to 100 sq. ft. The durable acrylic and latex base features strong adhesion and easy cleanup with soap and water.
Overall rating:
4.242 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
84%of customersrecommend this product27 of 32reviews
Rating Breakdown 33 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(7)
3
(4)
2
(2)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
84%of customersrecommend this product27 of 32reviews
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer reviews for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
Review 1 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Sachse, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I love my "new" kitchen

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the second time I used this product. In November I did my two bathrooms and laundry room with Espresso and they turned out fantastic. I chose Quilter's White (I did not use the glaze) for my kitchen and the results speak for themselves...I love it! This is a very time consuming and very detailed project, but if you do it like the instructions say, you will have great results.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Chicago
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

New Kitchen on a budget! Great Product!!

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had 1990 honey oak cabinets that had to go, but I didn't have the $25K for new. So I purchased this kit in Pure White. My home depot associate recommended primer in addition to the steps mentioned in the kit. First, I used TSP to clean my cabinets - just to be safe. I also lightly sanded them to even out some wear. I followed the instructions and they came out great. Took me over a week (I had 40 cabinets). I didn't use the glaze. My only regret was that I brush painted them (very time consuming and left some streaks) instead of rolling. (You cannot roll if you are glazing!) Other than that - PERFECT!! i got an updated kitchen with some sweat equity built in. 2 months later and they are holding up beautifully, no chips or wear. See for yourself - before and after pics included.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+51points
51out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does exactly what it claims to do

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excellent way kit to change how your cabinets look. I used the linen color to change my '83 oak cabinets into white cabinets, without using the included glaze.
TIPS:
1. Don't take shortcuts - this kit is the shortcut.
2. Purchase the kit untinted to see how the different colors look in your home and then bring it back for tinting. The home depot near me had no problem with that when I asked.
3. Put your doors on canned goods to paint the edges at the same time as the top.
4. Use an air tight plastic bag to store your brush between coats so you don't have to wash it out.
5. Paint with the wood grain to minimize brush strokes.
Obviously replacing cabinets is prohibitly expensive, and wasn't in my budget. I knew I was going to paint the cabinets, and felt this kit was a good alternative to the more labor intensive traditional way to refinish cabinets.
I have included a before and after picture as well as a picture showing how the cabinets looked during the process. While my cabinets looked horrid prior to being finished, I have now used this kit to paint both my kitchen upper cabinets and a bathroom vanity and am very statisfied with the results.
With this kit, it is very important to follow the directions exactly. I am absolutely guilty of trying to find a short cut- this kit IS the short cut over sanding, scraping, etc. I had some yellowing on my cabinets - where I didn't deglaze well enough, including the entire front of one door I skipped deglazing. I used white primer, more linen paint, and more protective coat to resolve that issue. When I used this kit for my second project, I choose to do the deglazing twice.
My cabinets did look weird and brush stroked and blue - after one coat. I choose to put three coats on the front of my cabinets and frames and two on the back of the cabinets. Even a very close inspection shows few brush marks and they are exactly the color pictured on the box. I liked how the linen looked so well I choose not to use the glaze.
Time wise, it seems no matter how many cabinets are being painted, this process takes three days because of the dry time needed between coats. That time frame was true when I did a dozen large kitchen doors and when I was just painting two for the bathroom vanity. It's simply a matter of drying time.
Overall, I am very happy with this product. I had a contractor in to help with another project, and he wanted to know where I had sent my cabinets to be painted because he thought they'd been done professionally. I am very happy with the results and intend to buy another kit to paint my kitchen lower cabinets and other bathroom vanity.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+77points
78out of 79found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)

Amazing Product!!

PostedMay 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can’t express enough how happy I am with this product!! My husband and I redid our cabinets in January 2013. We went with the white-washed look (pure white with the glaze application). We were reluctant to do this because the product sounded too good to be true. Plus we have a very large kitchen. So if it didn’t look good, we had a lot of ugly to look at! However, it is absolutely beautiful!! We love it!! It looks like we bought new cabinets and we only spent about $200, including paint accessories. The product does exactly what it says it will. It’s truly amazing!! I can’t tell you how shocked and pleased my husband and I are. I was expecting a temporary fix, but I will keep this look for as long as it lasts!!
It’s funny, every time someone comes to our house, they are amazed at how nice our kitchen looks and how much lighter it is!!
It was incredibly time consuming (but bear in mind we have 23 cabinet doors, 9 drawers, and a peninsula that has a solid back – plus we did the inside of the cabinet doors to make it look more professional), but worth it. We followed the instructions exactly so I am not sure if shortcuts are possible. We didn’t have any problems and fortunately the steps get easier as you go. We spent a ton of time scrubbing with the de-glosser to make sure everything would adhere correctly.
The only issue we had is that we needed to apply more coats of paint than the product recommended. We had darker cabinets to begin with and we needed to apply 3 coats to everything. There was not enough paint in the package to do this. However, we called customer service and they happily reimbursed us for more paint. They were incredibly easy to work with and quick to remedy our problem.
Thank you Rustoleum!! You saved us a ton of money!! And gave us a beautiful kitchen!!!
Pros: Very Adhesive, Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Modern, Dries Quickly
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+27points
30out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from California
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product, great results, except...

PostedFebruary 26, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have actually bought three of these kits...the first kit was for two of my bathrooms and linen closet, they other one for master bath and last for kitchen. The first kit was linen. I was a little nervous about running out of glaze because of other reviewers on a different site saying they ran out of glaze so I only glazed the fronts not the back. Had I know that the glaze would do all of the cabinets and have some left over I would have done the backs too. The only complaint I have about the glaze is it does not make your cabinets look like it is wood grain it looks like it is antiqued, which could be called "dirty" looking. I liked the glaze look better when it was not rubbed off too much. I did the same color in my powder room and rubbed the glaze off to much. I wanted to give it a different look and do not believe it looks as good as the other. Now for the kit I bought for the master bath. It is called River birch. The color that it comes out is so not the color on the sample. It has major green undertones NOT beige. So if you are trying to get the beige color this is NOT the color for you. I did not put the glaze on these because the glaze has a brownish tint and when I did a test peice of wood with the River birch it just made it look like a camoflauge gross green color. I have not done the kitchen yet, but have tested it on a peice of wood. It is called Winter Frost and I think it is pretty true to color. It seems to have a grey undertone which works well for me. I would recommend this product to anyone who has more then a weekend to do it. It is not a weekend project. I allowed more drying time due to humidity, but I still believe it is not a weekend project you need more time then two days. I plan to use the left overs from the kits I have from the master bedroom for two dressers I have. I do plan to mix the base coat from the linen kit with the river birch to hopefully come up with a more beige color. The picture is my linen closet. It is the linen kit. The other is my master bath with the River birch kit without the glaze.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Skip the topcoat & use a foam roller for pure white cabinets

PostedOctober 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Overall, great product and made a huge difference for a small amount of money. Definitely takes longer than a weekend, unless you have like 4+ helpers and you work non-stop.
If you want pure white cabinets, here are some tips:
We were going from honey-oak colored cabinets and wanted nice white cabinets (we picked Linen), so we decided to skip the glaze.
Since we weren't doing the glaze, we used rollers. After some trial & error we figured the best combination to get the best coverage was:
Coat 1: Paint with a brush, somewhat heavy handed - get good coverage but not so much there are drips
Coats 2 & 3: Use a 6" foam cabinet roller - I wouldn't say I did these with 'light' application, but not as heavy as coat 1, and I made sure they looked even and there was no build-up in the corners
Using the roller on the last two coats gives a more professional, even look. (You may only have to do 2 coats if you are going darker, but since we were going lighter, it needed the 3rd coat for it to be perfect).
A note of warning: Although it says the top coat doesn't yellow, my experience was different. I first applied the top coat LIGHTLY to the backs of cabinets and a couple drawers only and came back to find that it had settled into the cracks and was leaving a bit of a yellow-ish residue.
If you decide to use the glaze you may not have this problem (since the glaze would've already settled into the cracks), but if you are going pure white, I suggest skipping it (which is what we ended up doing after seeing the results on the backs).
I'm not sure how long the cabinets will hold up without top coat, but so far its been a few months and no problems. There are a couple very small chips that happened during re-installation, but nothing I can't touch up with a white paint pen.
For us this was just a great option until we save up for brand new cabinets, and I thought overall it was a great deal for the money. You definitely have to put in the time, but I think its worth it!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Baltimore, MD, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't be mistaken. It's just paint and not magical.

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had 12 cabinet doors and 4 drawers to "transform" from medium stained oak to Pure White. Don't think you're going to get all that done in one weekend. It is very labor intensive. The deglossing takes a lot of elbow grease and you'll need more scrubbing pads than what the kit supplies. We started and completed the top cabinets first. After putting 4 coats of the tinted Pure White Bond Coat to finally cover the cabinet doors thoroughly, I decided to use the recommened oil based primer for the bottom cabinets. The kit claims it should only take 2 coats of the Bond Coat but obviously that didn't happen. After applying a coat of primer then I only needed 2 coats of the Pure White. Using the recommended brush type still leaves obvious brush strokes in the Bond Coat and Protective Coat. Watch for drips and runs at the corners and backside of whatever your painting. I had to go back multiple times to whatever I was working on and smoothout the runs and drips. I noticed that the Protective coat "pools" up in the corners it will not cure clear. The Protective coat turned yellow where it I hadn't smoothed out all the excess. So I gues I have go back and redo those doors that have yellowed. I learned from that mistake and I made sure I didn't have that problem on the bottom cabinets.
So in all, the cabinets look great from 5 feet and further away. But, since we are on a budget and didn't want to spend thousands on new cabinets this is good enough for now. It's brightened up our kitchen since we painted the walls dark and will look great with the new black countertop, glass/stainless steel backsplash mosiac and stainless steel appliances
Pros: Dries Quickly, Easy to Clean, cheap alternative to cabinet replacement
Cons: brush strokes noticable, labor intensive, multiple coats with pure white
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Layton, UT
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked much better than we expected!!

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We debated for months how to best transform our cabinets and finally decided to try this kit out. We talked with the Home Depot team member for a little while about pros and cons and he advised high quality synthetic brushes and a gel roller. Crucial to buy legit paint supplies. It's really important to be patient and follow instructions carefully. If you do exactly what they tell you, you'll get great results!
A few tips:
- Use the de-glosser liberally - you'll have plenty!
- Quickly wipe up dripping paint to prevent thick patches in grooves/edges
- Final top cot (poly-acrylic basically) needs to be a thin even coat - don't let edges fill in or to much in grooves or it dries yellow (can fix with white nail polish and looks fine)
- Start with the front to ensure proper coverage and then move to back - we had to use 3 thick coats of step one with light oak cabinets
Overall would definitely recommend this as a budget refresh for a kitchen or bathroom. 1 small kit completed our kitchen. If you're debating whether this will work, it will if you are patient and detailed.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, affordable
Cons: last coat can dry yellow if not careful
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Oklahoma

Rustoleum Cabinet Transformation

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just bought this product after months of trying to find the right way to update my tired and worn out cabinets. The cabinets were originally an ugly pink color that after a year and a half had to go and now they are gorgeous! The cabinet transformation kit is perfect for the do it yourselfer who doesn't want to spend a lot of money or have a lot of time. It can be done in just a few days if you are like me who works full time and has a family to take care of. I just wish i would have had this product months ago. It would have saved me a lot of money and time. However i would recommend lightly sanding the surface with a 220 grit sandpaper before starting for a smoother finish.
+47points
47out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Lake in the Hills, IL

Look like custom cabinets

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I have been trying to find an economical way to update our cabinets for the past 2 years. We have seen this product several times and weren't sure of how the results would be. After seeing a cabinet door that was done in a demo, we figured we would give it a shot. We spent a full weekend (Friday afternoon through Sunday) doing this home improvement project, but the results made the weekend totally worth it. We did add crown molding to the top of the cabinets and some handles to them as well. Nobody would know that we only spent $189 (including the handles) on our "new" cabinets. I would definately recommend this product to anyone who is looking for an economical solution with AMAZING results.
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Kansas

I love this product

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great product. I spent quite a bit of time looking for info on this product but could not find any. I decided to give it a shot to see what would happen. This completely exceded my expectations. It completely changed my kitchen and looks incredible. My girlfriend and I did the majority of the work in a weekend. I did take down the cabinet doors and had to fill a few holes so there was quite a bit of prep work. I used it on the cabinet doors, trim and a bathroom door and it looks great. If you follow the directions and take your time, I beleive you will be happy with this product as well. There is a good video on rust-oleums web site that shows the entire process. Next project is the rust-oleum countertop transformation.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product delivered exactly what it promised!

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with the outcome of my cabinet restoration. It was a lot of hard work, but if you follow the directions exactly and take your time, the results are fantastic! I did the white glazed effect on my 18 year old white cabinets and I cannot believe the difference. They are beautiful. My only "constructive" comment: It takes 2 people longer than a weekend for a standard sized kitchen. I have 29 cabinets and drawers (combined), and it took us 4 straight days of hard work to complete (and I am not counting taking everything out of the cabinets, putting doors back on and putting everything back into the cabinets). But again, the results are well worth it. Don't skimp on the "de-glossing" stage. We scrubbed every area for at least 2-3 minutes, and I think this makes the difference. Just take your time and don't rush. For the $69 (on sale) I spent on the kit and maybe another $100 in random supplies, I have new cabinets that look professionally done.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Greenwood, Indiana

5 stars with caveats

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I give this product five stars, but have some caveats as to its' use. As a veteran refinisher and painter I have used many, many products and this product appealed to me in the fact that all of the components were in the kit. One issue I did have, is that the the paint colors as listed on the brochure and in the store are at least two shades lighter than they appear. I simply took my cans of bond coat back to the store and asked them to tint it to the darker shade. Now the caveats......while the instructions call for two coats of bond coat, I would recommend AT LEAST three coats, very lightly sanding in between each coat with 400 grit sandpaper. The bond coat has goes on with the consistency of and dries similarly to a primer, which is a bit grainy. Even on a smooth wood like maple, sanding in between does not cover the grain of the wood necessary for a quality glazing result. Glaze the various components of a door with molding separately, taping off each component. This ensures a truly professional finish. I taped off the center portion of my doors, glazed them and put the finish on them before moving on to the outside moldings. If you use the new Frog tape, you can successfully tape off each section with one days drying time. It is a bit more time consuming, but absolutely worth the effort. To get a truly professional looking finish this IS NOT a weekend job, but the time it takes was worth it. I had plenty of all of the products to finish my job.
+40points
40out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)

Outstanding look for a very reasonable price

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the updated and light look this product gave my 32 year old dark walnut cabinets. Much better choice than painting. You dont see any brush marks and the light glaze gives a "distressed" look which works very well with older style cabinets. The only reason I gave it four stars instead of 5 is that the manufacturer should let you know that this process takes a LOT of time. After watching the instructional DVD (which is excellent by the way) it becomes clear that completing an average size kitchen will take you 5 days to complete and that's only if you setup a production line that let's you work on all of your doors at once. I had to clean out my garage and setup stations to work on 20 cabinet doors. One reason it takes so long is that the first two coats have to dry 3 hours each. Then the glazing step has to dry 8 hours before you can move to the top coat and that has to dry 12 hours before you can reassemble your cabinets. Not to mention all these same steps have to be applied to the cabinet frames also. You'll be happy with the results but only if you're willing to follow directions completly and invest a week of work. I definitiely feel like I got a $2,000 upgrade for $150.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Looks High End
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Maryland, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazed!

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I used the small kit in Linen our gross, contractor grade, faux-oak cabinets over Labor Day weekend and we STILL can't believe how beautiful it turned out. It makes huge, huge difference in the brightness and overall look of our kitchen and was definitely worth the blood, sweat, and almost tears it took. it's holding up well, and most importantly the cabinets are easy to clean. I love the linen color and think it was a much better choice than white would have been - it's still WHITE, but looks softer, in my opinion.
With the small kit we had more than enough product to do the frames, 12 doors (front & back), 8 drawers (front & back), as well as the top of a large buffet (I want to say it was 89 sq ft of cabinets). The cabinets required 3 coats, the buffet 5 coats (I don't think I de-glossed the buffet enough, so, that's probably why). Like the directions say, you [probably] won't have enough to paint the insides; we painted the inside of ours a fun seafoam green - a whole'nother project - having that pop of color I think adds to the bright effect of the white cabinets.
The best advice I got from scouring reviews was: "don't take shortcuts, this IS the shortcut" (so thanks, if that was on here). Remember that. Also from pouring through other customer experienced I was literally terrified of the top-coat step, having anxiety about it yellowing - but guess what...if you're very careful, don't glob it on, and work quickly but pay close attention to any build up/drips: it won't!
It's not a quick project by any means, you need a little more than a weekend..and it's kind of like getting a tattoo...once you start, you can't stop, you're in it for however many days it takes. We started Saturday morning and the cabinets were ready to go on Tuesday. It was a pain to basically give up the kitchen for 4 days, plus how much goes in to every step of the "transformation" because you really need to take your time (be careful, be precise), but 1,000% worth it in the end if you want a BIG change on a teeny-tiny budget.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Good Protection, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from jefferson hills pa

rust-oleum done it again

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This kit was great did everything and more.The only problem I had is their was not enough of the decorative glaze in the kit and you can not buy this seperate.Everything else was enough.Great product.great finish I loved it.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Olathe, KS

Cabinet Transformations

PostedMay 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The product is great! Make sure you read all of the information before you start. You have a lot of time inbetween coats and to make the best time you need to do everything in the same step. The bond coat has a lot left over, but the glaze is very short handed. Get your time right because everything I did seemed to take longer to dry. With the final protective coat, you will put it on and it doesn't feel right, take some fine fine sand paper, rough it up a little bit and re-coat it with the top coat. It will come out smooth as can be. Worked great!
+20points
24out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Texas

GREAT product, but...

PostedMarch 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
... not enough glaze. We used this kit for existing cabinet frames and new fronts. We distressed our frames and fronts before applying the bond coat. It covers beautifully (just make your brush strokes according to instructions). We wanted a rich, distressed look, so we began applying the glaze. It took two coats to achieve the look we were after. Rust-Oleum only supplies 1/2 pint of glaze with each kit which fell way short and we were not glazing inside the door fronts. You cannot purchase the glaze. I contacted Rust-Oleum. They asked me several questions about my application then said they would send me more glaze with proof of purchase. I have not received the extra glaze yet, so my project has come to a standstill. I still give this kit 4 stars because it is such a great product. I know we will be very happy once we get the extra glaze. Just be warned.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from Rochester, NY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this product but take your time!

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our story is no different than countless other new homeowners who inherit the "dated 1980's kitchen cabinet look." We're on a budget so getting new ones weren't an option. Discovered this kit (we used the color linen and glazed them lightly) and the kitchen is a showstopper now! Everyone who comments on our cabinets thinks we bought new ones. Plus, they've even commented ours look better than the glazed cabinets you buy. We discovered the trick is to take your time...there is no way you'll complete this well in a weekend (as Rustoleum says) unless you only have a few cabinets and you don't sleep at all. A lot of people had trouble with the last step (poly) with it gunking up and casting a whitish haze on the cabinets. I used a 1-inch brush and applied two light coats and I had no problems at all (don't use a heavy hand or you'll be sorry later). Also, I don't like the heavy-edged technique you typically see on glazed cabinets (tends to look dirty, in my opinion) so I glazed them lightly and "airbrushed" them using the gauze pads for a smoother finish. Highly recommend this product is you don't mind an involved project!
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: takes more time than the manufacturer suggests
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Light Color Cabinet Transformations Kit (9-Piece)
from monterey ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

exceeded my expectaions

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product to paint over our shellacked, 30 year old, wood kitchen cabinets. The shellack was a dark stain with a high gloss finish. I used the deglosser & scuffed the wood surface with 180 grain sandpaper to ensure good adhesion. Having never worked with kitchen cabinetry I was very careful to follow every detail of instruction available to me. The result was astounding. A deep rich authentic looking wood grain with a nice shiny top coat. I went from a dark mahogany to buttercup. And I do highly recommend using the optional glaze that is provided in the kit as that step is essential in creating a rich authentic looking professional finish product.
Pros: Looks High End
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>